Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 3 SF313-53 review (2020 – Tiger Lake hardware and 3:2 display)

14 Comments

  1. Me

    October 6, 2020 at 6:09 pm

    Thank you for the review!
    Can you please check Tiger Lake AV1 decoding support?
    For example with this 8K YouTube video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1La4QzGeaaQ

    But at first you need to instal Microsoft AV1 extention
    https://www.microsoft.com/de-de/p/av1-video-extension/9mvzqvxjbq9v

    And you need to activate AV1 support in YouTube settings.

    Please share YouTube statistic for "Nerds" + Task Manager info with cpu/igpu usage.

    Thank You!

  2. mik

    October 7, 2020 at 5:35 pm

    Can you try this driver?

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/en/download/29904/Intel-Grafikfenster-10-DCH-Treibern?product=80939

    Btw, the Swift 5 seems to have a higher sustained PL1 setting based on other reviews.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 7, 2020 at 5:39 pm

      I no longer have this around. The 14-inch Swift 13 that I'm currently finishing up also runs at 28W sustained and higher temperatures, so there's a fair chance the retail 13-inch model will run at higher power as well.

  3. mik

    October 7, 2020 at 6:12 pm

    Then you could test the new driver on the 14 inch model. From the release notes:

    Intel® Turbo Technology Power and Performance Enhancements

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 7, 2020 at 6:20 pm

      I did. While with the previous driver the CPU was running at 28W and increased temperatures, with this new driver it only runs at 17W.

  4. mik

    October 7, 2020 at 7:04 pm

    Interesting but how is it possible that a graphics driver could effect the PL1 setting of a device? I was expecting a power budget distribution improvement/change between CPU and GPU. The Bios/software side from Tigerlake seems to be immature at the moment.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 7, 2020 at 7:09 pm

      it probably affects the CPU as a whole. I'm seeing similar results on the UX393 ZenBook that I still have around.

  5. mik

    October 7, 2020 at 8:25 pm

    I wonder if this is intended and I wonder if other 28W devices like the MSI Prestige will be slowed down to 17W as well. If yes it can't be intended from Intel.

  6. mik

    October 8, 2020 at 5:19 am

    To be honest this must be a bug, they cannot force every device to run into a 17W limit. Imagine that every Tigerlake device is forced to run with 17W out of a sudden, even the better devices like MSI Prestige which is Intels reference system. There is something wrong.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2020 at 7:43 am

      Probably an issue with this early model. I rolled back the driver and it runs at 28W again.

  7. william blake

    October 8, 2020 at 7:33 am

    so, one extra heat pipe makes miracles?
    imagine extra fan. and then 1,5 times more thickness and diameter for it. silence.
    21 century tech.

  8. mik

    October 8, 2020 at 2:53 pm

    From the UX393EA review:

    "especially since Asus also went for a close back and limited air-intake on the bottom panel, restricted to those narrow grills on the sides"

    So this isn't ideal either even though i don't know if the Acer has more/bigger air intakes than the Asus. Ok by looking at the screens the Acer has much bigger air intakes: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/back.jpg
    https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/back-3.jpg

    No wonder the Acer cooling is better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *