Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus M GU502GU Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ROG Zephyrus M GU502 review (GU502GU model – i7-9750H, GTX 1660Ti)

15 Comments

  1. Igor

    June 14, 2019 at 8:03 pm

    Hello! Thank you for review! What will you choose gu502 1660ti vs msi gs65 stealth 1660ti?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 18, 2019 at 10:59 am

      Both have their pros and cons, but the GU502 is stronger built, so that's the one I'd get IF Thunderbolt 3 would not be a must.

      • Igor

        June 18, 2019 at 9:47 pm

        Thanks for the answer! Why is everyone talking about Thunderbolt 3? What cases do you want to use it in? Connecting an external video card is pointless, where else?

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 19, 2019 at 9:15 am

          pretty much connecting a dGPU, everything else (video, charging, transfer) is possible via the available USB-C port

  2. Stefan Simov

    June 15, 2019 at 4:14 am

    Was really surprised to read that there is only a $100 difference to the RTX 2060 S model. Although I also highly prefer not to have the AAS, as it overcomplicates things (LED inside the AAS, and the possibility of dust getting inside there), if it offers better cooling with more heatpipes, it's not an easy choice to make. A further $100~$200 cut to the price would be great.

    Looking forward to the Glacier Blue versions as well! They seem to have struck gold with the color choice there.

  3. Sandy

    June 15, 2019 at 10:18 am

    Great review as always. Yes, I agree that it's expensive, and in my country with that price you can get an RTX-powered laptop.

    Please review the new budget Asus ROG Strix G G531. It looks good on paper, and comes with attractive price (at least in Malaysia and Thailand). I'm curious about your view on it. Thank you.

  4. Jauquin Thomas

    July 7, 2019 at 10:45 pm

    How easy is it to tear down and repaste the laptop? Anything I know before attempting to repaste?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 8, 2019 at 9:47 am

      Not complicated as long as you know what you're doing, the screws are visible once you remove the thermal tape pieces. there's a warranty sticker on one of the screws, so I'm sure you know that repasting voids warranty.

  5. Jasper

    July 15, 2019 at 8:23 pm

    My TimeSpy score is weirdly low on my GU502, it's only getting around 5800 and mines even a 2060 model. I only have it undervolted to -50mv. Do you know what may be the problem? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 15, 2019 at 8:27 pm

      what are the CPU and Graphics subscores?

      • Jasper

        July 15, 2019 at 8:31 pm

        The GPU scored 6116 and the CPU scored 4455.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 15, 2019 at 8:36 pm

          Looks like the CPU is the issue.
          Are you running the laptop on Turbo?
          Try to run the Cinebench loop test explained in this article and see if you get the same speeds in the Hwinfo log. You can also look at the 3Dmark monitoring numbers and compare the findings to ours, perhaps your CPU heats up very fast and clocks down more aggressively than the one on our unit.

          • Jasper

            July 15, 2019 at 8:39 pm

            I'll try to run the Cinebench test and see. As for the temperature, it only slightly get past 80C and the max clockspeed is 3,990 MHz.

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 15, 2019 at 9:41 pm

            It should score higher than that. Can you confirm you have the latest drivers from the Asus website and you're running on Turbo from Armoury Crate?
            The CPU clocks down for some reason, again, you can check our its behavior with HWinfo >> Sensors and then click on the Core ) frequency >> Show graph and compare to ours in the review.

          • Jasper

            July 15, 2019 at 8:50 pm

            I've run Cinebench for about five times, and the average score was about 1125, which is lower than the score you tested.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *