Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Strix GL504GW Scar II Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ROG Strix GL504GW Scar II review and benchmarks (i7-8750H, RTX 2070, 144 Hz screen)

23 Comments

  1. hexaae

    February 14, 2019 at 5:09 pm

    Can you please check if the display suffers the same inverse ghosting issues of GL703GS's AUO B173HAN03.2?
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?107902-GL-Series-(-more)-display-panels-affected-by-inverse-ghosting

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2019 at 5:26 pm

      Hmmm, Should I just look for the green ghosting pictured in the video, or does it also manifest in other ways?

      • hexaae

        February 14, 2019 at 5:31 pm

        If present you'll see some dark trails at the borders of moving distant object (move slowly at constant speed mouse/pad), especially with a bright sky behind or in the fog (white everywhere), as you can see in the very first video at the posted URL…

        Best site for gaming laptop reviews BTW, thank you! ;-)

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 14, 2019 at 5:33 pm

          OK, I'll look into it.

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 18, 2019 at 9:29 pm

          I can't see any of this ghosting on this panel, however, take this with a grain of salt, maybe there is some and I'm missing it.

          • hexaae

            February 18, 2019 at 9:48 pm

            I've seen GL704GW comes with Armoury software that has a special option: Panel Overdrive in the bottom right… maybe this cure these kind of artifacts for this model.
            Unfortunately GL703GS's Gaming Center has no such option, yet :(

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 18, 2019 at 10:06 pm

            That was also an option on the GL504, and it was ticked on during the tests. Can you not install the Armoury Crate version for the GL704 on the GL703?

  2. hexaae

    February 14, 2019 at 5:22 pm

    May sound strange but I love g-sync for one only reason: compatibility with old emulators (MAME, WinUAE etc.) using weird video refresh like 55.4Hz or 50Hz. They look perfectly smooth on g-sync/freesync only since video refresh is adjusted accordingly to current FPS in the emulators ;-)

  3. Michael Smith

    February 17, 2019 at 10:45 pm

    So I have the gl504gw, bought it from micro center. It has a 512gb nvme ssd. Can you tell me if it supports a 2.5” drive ? When I opened it up it has a 2.5” drive bay but no sata connectors or a power connector. Any ideas ? If someone wants a picture to see what I’m seeing, let me know. I’ll gladly send you one.

    I really love this unit, but I’d love it even more with a 2.5” SSHD :)
    Mike

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 17, 2019 at 11:52 pm

      Link the picture in a reply, let's have a look.

    • Jcarlos

      March 22, 2019 at 1:10 pm

      There is an adapter for the sata connection inside the box.

  4. Michael Smith

    February 18, 2019 at 1:48 am

    Link from where ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 18, 2019 at 11:17 am

      upload it on imgur.com or other services, and leave the link here :)

      • Michael Smith

        February 19, 2019 at 3:02 am

        Here is the link to the photo….

        This is the 2.5” drive bay

        https://imgur.com/gallery/G0acK0M

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 19, 2019 at 11:36 am

          Thanks. Looks like they don't include the HDD cage and the connectors. I would try to contact support and ask if they sell those on the side. I'd also contact 3rd party sellers like xoticpc.com, gentechpc.com or hidevolution.com first, and ask if they can sell you that part, you might have better luck with them.

          • Michael Smith

            February 19, 2019 at 4:26 pm

            Where would they specifically plug into though ? Don’t even see wires for it

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 19, 2019 at 4:58 pm

            As far as I can tell, this is the connector: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/rog-connector.jpg , but I haven't taken out the HDD cradle on my unit.

            You would need to find both the metallic cradle and the actual connector, which on one end hooks into the HDD, and on the other gets the ribbon and connector pointed out in the picture.

  5. Michael Smith

    February 20, 2019 at 3:13 am

    Hey! Thank you very much for your help, it turns out that Asus put the connector in the packaging and not in the case.

    I just had to connect the connector to the motherboard and it works now.

    Thanks again !

    Ps — anyone else that has this issue check in the little box where the warranty manual is, etc.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 20, 2019 at 11:32 am

      Ha, cool, never thought of that. Did they also include the metallic cradle?

      • Michael Smith

        February 20, 2019 at 6:39 pm

        Yeah, they did.

        It was inside of the laptop

  6. bombili

    March 13, 2019 at 4:32 pm

    Hi,
    I am new in the gaming laptop section, and I would like to ask one question about this laptop? as you mentioned below GPU tempature is higher than any other laptop but could you suggest any other laptop which has RTX 2070 card and price around 2000 euro? or is this really affect FPS a lot in any other game if we dont consider repasting?
    Regards

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2019 at 5:10 pm

      no, the performance is excellent, even with the higher temps

      • bombili

        March 13, 2019 at 11:22 pm

        Thanks for the feedback. I am so confused right now. I am planning to buy MSI GF72 8RE or this laptop but cant be sure which one should I choose. Do you have any idea about the MSI GF72?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *