Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Strix Scar III G531 review (G531GW – Core i7, RTX 2070, 240Hz screen)

15 Comments

  1. Igor

    October 22, 2019 at 11:26 am

    Hello, tnk for review!
    Then you doing reviews MSi prestige 15 and prestige 14?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 22, 2019 at 12:10 pm

      We don't have those yet, we should in the next few weeks.

      • Igor

        October 22, 2019 at 5:50 pm

        Cool! I waiting your verdict)

  2. Martin Brankov

    December 4, 2019 at 5:19 pm

    Really like this model but the lack of G-Sync and horrible usb-ports positioning is a no-go! Hopefully 2020 models will improve!

  3. Javdat

    December 9, 2019 at 9:40 am

    Hello! Thanks for the review. I'm debating over this Asus Scar III and Asus Zephyrus S GX502GW(RTX2070). Can you please advice whether the G-Sync worth it and which one's battery life is better (they seem to be almost identical from your reviews). Thanks again!

  4. Andreas Bel

    January 3, 2020 at 4:16 am

    hello!
    awesome review!
    i have a question, how can i calibrate the color accuracy?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 3, 2020 at 12:20 pm

      You need to buy something like a Spyder or Xrite calibrator. Or you should just look for a calibrated .icc profile in one of the reviews and load it in Windows. We sometimes include these with our reviews, but we don't for this laptop

  5. eofytons

    January 22, 2020 at 4:51 pm

    HI man great job i love your reviews. what do you mean by under volt the CPU?

  6. Adrian

    May 19, 2020 at 6:33 pm

    Hello!

    I see the M.2 slot is placed close to a heatpipe, somewhat similar to AMD TUF Gaming A15 FA506IU which you reviewed. This is also true for the 17 inch G731GU Scar III.

    I'm curious to know whether the SSD runs hot on the i7/GTX 1660 configuration for those 15 and 17 inch variants, especially since they only offer one SSD M.2 slot. That could be enough of a reliability problem to stop considering buying these laptops.

    Also, how many heatpipes are there with the i7/GTX 1660 configuration?

    Thanks!

    • Adrian

      May 20, 2020 at 3:10 pm

      Now i see that the WiFi card sits crowded under the NVMe SSD, so they are both close to the heatpipe. Even without the heatpipe I think the WiFi card and SSD would heat one another too much. What's your take on this?

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 20, 2020 at 4:19 pm

        I didn't used to log SSD temperatures back then, so I can't comment on the matter. I'll review the 2020 Scar models in the next 2 weeks, so if you can wait for those reviews…

        • Adrian

          May 21, 2020 at 2:25 pm

          I'm looking forward for those reviews. Thanks for your answer!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *