Lenovo Ideapad Slim 7 Carbon review (AMD Ryzen, OLED touchscreen)

16 Comments

  1. Bill Wood

    February 16, 2022 at 11:57 pm

    My unit has Windows Hello. Works great.

    • Derek Sullivan

      February 17, 2022 at 12:28 am

      Camera or fingerprint?

      • Bill Wood

        February 17, 2022 at 5:01 am

        Camera. It also has proximity sensing. When you walk away from the laptop, it goes to sleep shortly after; when you come back, it wakes and Windows Hello signs you in.

      • Derek Sullivan

        February 17, 2022 at 5:27 am

        Wow, very strange that mine doesn't have that. What model number is yours?

  2. Bill Wood

    February 17, 2022 at 5:36 am

    Mine is the IdeaPad Slim 7 Carbon 14ACN6.

    I think its the same as yours. It has the integrated graphics and 512gb hard drive, 16gb memory.

    • Derek Sullivan

      February 17, 2022 at 5:47 am

      Oh crazy, I checked device manager and apparently it was disabled. It works now. Thx for pointing it out or I would have sent it back not being able to try it. Will adjust the review.

  3. Bill Wood

    February 17, 2022 at 6:06 am

    You're welcome. BTW, the summary at the top still mentions "lack of biometrics" as a negative.

  4. cafan

    February 17, 2022 at 11:45 pm

    > And it seems to get worst at higher temperatures. Perhaps some uneven expansion of metals is the conflict.

    Would you mind to ask Lenovo what they intend to do about this? Can buyers get this fixed? It seems that every Slim 7 Carbon 14 has this problem: https://youtube.com/shorts/HeKRdYx8XSw?feature=share

    • Derek Sullivan

      February 17, 2022 at 11:52 pm

      Wow, they is WAY worse than what I had. I'll reach out and ask.

      • cafan

        February 18, 2022 at 4:24 am

        Thanks for your support. It's really correlated to the heat level as you noted and while my Carbon isn't as loud as in the video it's still super loud and not what anyone would expect from a Lenovo Carbon brand.

    • Bill Wood

      February 19, 2022 at 8:36 pm

      Thankfully, mine has no squeak like that in the hinge.

  5. Bill Wood

    February 19, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    > The laptop only charges through one of the USB-C ports on the left-hand side, as the other two don’t support charging.

    Mine charges through both ports on the left-hand side, but not the one on the right.

  6. Chritopher C.

    April 26, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    Can you compare this model to the new asus zenbook 14 (UM3402)? Which one would you choose? Pick one for me please.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 27, 2022 at 6:49 pm

      we'll have a review of the Zenbook 14 soon enough

  7. Jet

    May 20, 2022 at 6:36 pm

    Great detailed review!!!!

    Amen to your comment: "But I consider the lack of IO to be a missed opportunity, especially since they could have an USB-A. If it were me, I would have put a power delivery enabled USB-C on each side and turned the third one to USB-A. There is an included dongle, though, which supports a single USB-A port, VGA and HDMI."

    I wish every manufacturer that allows for charging via USB-C would allow you to charge the machine from either side. Over time having to wrap the power cord around the laptop to charge it can puts pressure on the USB-C port and cause it to get loose over time (this happened to me on my X1 Carbon (6th Gen)).

    I would add that not having a SD slot (even microSD) on this machine (or at minimum on the included dongle) to be a missed opportunity. Also wish they had a matte IPS screen option. Much to my chagrin, it looks like manufacturers are going all in on OLED screens…Personally I prefer to see the content on the screen rather than a reflection of myself or the background. OLED screens are very reflective and almost unusable in well lit environments.

    To ALL the laptop manufacturers I'd say please offer a matte screen option for those that care about function over form. I buy laptops for portability…and that means using them in a variety of locations..including well lit areas..and OLED screen limit your options due to the reflectivity of the screens. I'll vote with my $'s and only purchase a laptop that has a matte screen option (preferably with a 400-500nit brightness). I'm jussayin….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.