ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 17 G733QS review (2021 model – Ryzen 9 5900HX, RTX 3080 Laptop)

117 Comments

  1. Raymund

    May 13, 2021 at 7:25 pm

    Asus released BIOS 317 for this great laptop, and the Time Spy benchmark score I received is now at par or even better than an MSI GE76. Almost 12,700 GPU Score in Turbo (Non-OC), and 13,100 GPU Score in Manual Mode!

    • Michael

      May 20, 2021 at 1:53 pm

      with stock vbios ?

  2. GG

    May 21, 2021 at 9:39 am

    Can anyone confirm the form factor for the second SSD slot? I am trying to add a second SSD and want to make sure I buy the right one. Is it M.2 2280 Single-sided (80mm long by 22mm wide), such as Samsung 980 Pro? Sorry for the n00b question, but don't want to pop the hood open unnecessarily.

  3. Key

    June 6, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    Great review!

    By the way, is it possible to put 2TB NVME ssd on the remaining slot? or only up to 1TB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2021 at 9:08 am

      I think 2 should work fine, but haven't tried it.

      • Key

        June 7, 2021 at 2:05 pm

        Many thanks!

  4. noper

    June 11, 2021 at 4:23 pm

    What do you think about memory upgrade? I need 64GB to run VMs.
    I want to install Crucial Ballistix 3200 MHz DDR4 DRAM Laptop Gaming Memory Kit 64GB (32GBx2) CL16 BL2K32G32C16S4B but installed memory is 1.2V, and Crucial one is 1.35V, will it work? Can't find any QVL for this model.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 11, 2021 at 5:11 pm

      I haven't tried it, but I think it should work.

      • noper

        June 12, 2021 at 3:10 am

        Checked some forums, there is no XMP support in BIOS, and JEDEC specs of this memory is unknown, best case scenario it will run on 3200/22CL, worst case: 2666/22CL, but not 3200/16CL :(
        I wonder if there is "secret" part of BIOS in ASUS laptops, like on MSI, where you can press some key combination to enter.

  5. Vlad

    June 11, 2021 at 6:19 pm

    I’m lucky to own 64gb RAM/2Tb Nvme Raid0/QHD version. 13226 in Cinebench r23. If you want, I can perform any tests to complete the review. I honestly think we have the most powerful and capable laptop ever made (Quadro monsters aside).

  6. Islam

    June 13, 2021 at 7:41 am

    I got the strix 17 out of the box horrible colors
    I tried to calibrate but there is a very bad hues and hard transtion between colors
    Still working on it but it’s very annoying
    If someone have any idea how to fix it

  7. Anonymous

    August 4, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Hello, how does this 3080 laptop max p compare to the 2080 ti desktop in average ?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 5, 2021 at 9:29 am

      A desktop 2080 Ti is more powerful. you have the numbers, you can do your own comparison.

    • Mistersimon75

      August 28, 2021 at 12:57 am

      I am not able to find Raid configuration in BIOS. Why ? Model cinese with 1 TB SSD and other nvme slot empty. I put 2x 2tb 970 evo Plus bit i am not able to set raid-0

      Simeone can help me? Thanks.

  8. Mistersimon75

    August 28, 2021 at 12:59 am

    I am not able to find Raid configuration in BIOS. Why ? Model comes with 1 TB SSD and one other nvme slot empty. I put 2x 2tb 970 evo Plus but i am not able to set raid-0.

    Someone can help me? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *