MSI GE76 Raider review (2021 GE76 Raider 10UH model, RTX 3080 Laptop 150+W)

15 Comments

  1. Lexi

    March 23, 2021 at 6:43 pm

    Hey Andrei,

    Been waiting for you to review this new laptop! Great write-up, as usual. :)

    IT's a bit off-top, but given your expertise, I was curious to ask what laptop (or laptops) made the biggest impression in terms sound quality alone in the last decade or so? Which ones had the best sound quality in your vivid memory?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 23, 2021 at 7:22 pm

      Thanks! As far as I remember, the Apple MacBook Pro 16, the MSI GE63/GE75 Raider and even the latest Asus ROG Scar 17 have great speakers (as far as laptop speakers go). Older MSI and ROG laptops had great speakers as well.

  2. Lexi

    March 23, 2021 at 7:46 pm

    Aah, the old MSI laptops. Those had great sound! Which ones in particular had stellar sound, in your opinion?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 23, 2021 at 8:17 pm

      you can't get more than good sound on a laptop imo. it's physics, good sound requires physically bigger speakers, and there's only so much you can squeeze inside a laptop body

  3. Lexi

    March 23, 2021 at 8:24 pm

    Of course, but great sound, in this case, means very good sound for a laptop ;) Which MSIs were good in your opinion? And also, what did you think of Predator 17X?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 23, 2021 at 8:30 pm

      I already answered. I don't remember the Predator 17X, it's been a while since I reviewed that

      PS: I remember, it has 4.2 speakers and good audio, but I noticed some weird vibrations on our sample at the time

  4. Cagri

    March 27, 2021 at 12:00 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    You stated that the "orange light" doesn't make any sense.
    There are some topics in reddit regarding this orange light issue, especially for the gs66 model:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/MSILaptops/comments/gp9naj/msi_gs66_orange_light/
    So this might be related to dpgu/ igpu usage.
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 27, 2021 at 1:08 pm

      hey still shouldn't have placed it there, though, in my line of sight. Also, this is a big laptop with an MUX, so we can assume that most will use it on Discrete mode. Perhaps the LED color make sense on something like a GS66 that uses Optimus, but not hjere

  5. Qhhdbdn

    March 30, 2021 at 8:36 pm

    Jarrods’Tech did a YouTube review of the Raider with a 4K 120hz screen. That’s a screen option that should be mentioned. Not just 1080p

  6. Anondarrk

    April 2, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    levix.nl/msi-nb-ge76-raider-10uh-200nl-17-4k-i9-10980hk-64gb-2tb-rtx3080-w10

    This model has a 4K 120hz panel (120hz mentioned in the specifications).

  7. Ted

    April 28, 2021 at 6:54 am

    Do you know if this and the scar 17 can support 3 external monitors? Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 28, 2021 at 9:49 am

      Both should support at least 2, one through HDMI and one through DP. 3 should work as well, but I think you'd need an HDMI splitter or some sort of DP dock for that

  8. Arjan

    April 29, 2021 at 11:13 am

    I currently have the GE76 10UH-200NL with the 4k 120Hz screen and i bought it in holland end of march so they are definitely available ;) Absolutely great screen with super colors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 29, 2021 at 11:29 am

      Thanks, I've updated the article to make people aware that the 4K 120 Hz is available in some regions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *