Asus ROG Strix Scar 17 review (2023 G733PY model – Ryzen 9 7945HX, RTX 4090)

13 Comments

  1. Manu

    April 5, 2023 at 8:16 pm

    Excellent review.
    Thanks for the detailed cover of thermals and performance in the various Armory Crate modes.

    Now choices choices… G733PY or G834JY? :)

    • Manu

      August 13, 2023 at 4:27 pm

      Well, got an offer for G733PY-LL021W that i could not refuse (combined with G834JY lack of stock and higher noise under load and XMG being really inconsistent with promotions – i was interested in a Neo17+Oasis)

  2. Malcolm

    April 12, 2023 at 8:15 am

    If I don't really care all that much about GPU performance, but care a lot about multithreaded cpu performance…
    Is there any real reason I should consider the 7945HX scar over the 7945HX G17, what other differences other than GPU do the two have?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 12, 2023 at 1:41 pm

      The cooling is different, as shown in the two reviews. But the CPU temperatures are fairly similar under load on the two.

  3. NikoB

    April 12, 2023 at 8:37 pm

    By mistake, I wrote a comment under the review for Asus ROG Strix G17 (G713PI 2023), and not here, although it was intended for this "top". Please move the comment here, because. the claims written there are more appropriate for a laptop with such a price, and not with that one. In addition, the review data has already been independently confirmed by another review, which twice indicates the poor quality of the screen in the "top" laptop, from which you only expect a universal panel 4k@144Hz at least, but all other problems are more appropriate to discuss here.

    Unfortunately, Andrei still doesn't do AIDA64 tests (especially the Mem & Cache benchmark screenshot), as they do on another site, and it's immediately clear that the "top" laptop has extremely mediocre RAM performance, which again, like in models 2022 is about 1.45-1.5 times worse compared to the top processors from Intel – take at least the memory speed in Alienware 18m with 13980HX and DDR5 5800.

    So there were no tests in AIDA64, I didn’t write about a very amazing situation – the processor has 28 pci-e 5.0 lines, but in order to serve them at the same time, you need almost 111Gb/s at the level of pumping RAM, and with 100% use of its bandwidth , which obviously should not be – the norm – when the load is not more than 20-25% maximum of the total memory bandwidth. But then the 7945HX memory controller should be, like Apple's in the M2 Max, 512 bit (or be 8 channels at 64 bits per slot), and not 128 bit, in order to at least have the maximum theoretical speed, like there in 400Gb/s – which gives less than 30% load on RAM if all 28 pci-e 5.0 lanes are used at the same time.

    In practice, we get an unfinished processor that does not need these 28 lanes at all, because it cannot serve 12-13 such lanes at the same time, because its maximum reak bandwith of dual channel RAM in 7945HX with DDR5 4580 in such laptops from Asus is no more than 60Gb/s (read/write/copy).

    The question is – why did AMD put such a pci-e 5.0 controller in the chip, instead of using this budget for a more advanced integrated video chip, at the level that we are promised in Zen4 Phoenix? This would be a much more balanced solution for top cpu, especially if the discreet gpu is disabled in the BIOS (for max battery time for example), because. the capabilities of even the Zen4 Phoenix video decoder are much higher than those of the primitive gpu built-in in the 7×45 series.

    What is the point in "gaming" laptops in 28 pci-e 5.0 lines, if even in the "top" Asus did not install USB40 / TB4 ports and other more advanced options for other ports? I don’t understand such a poor decision from Asus for such money…

    ps,
    By the way, I draw your attention to the fact that all tests in 4k video mode on YouTube, for example, in VP9 show that AMD has been losing in terms of battery life with its built-in video chips for a long time – the load on cpu+igpu is much higher than that of Intel from generation to generation. That is, on average, AMD usually wins in terms of laptop battery autonomy from Intel, but on the contrary, it loses with hardware decoding of 4k+ video… When can we expect a normal, with minimal consumption, hardware video decoder in 4k-8k from AMD?

  4. hexaae

    April 19, 2023 at 3:43 pm

    Got one (the G733PZ with 4080) for 13 days. It's a very good machine, powerful and relatively silent even during gaming (!). The only 2 annoying things of this model are: flickering at desktop and unreliable USB-C ports on the rear.
    – R9 7945HX (APU 610M) has annoying random fast flickering at desktop (not the "black screen" issue but… let's say "blinking" for 0.1sec randomly) reported by all users, probably due to AMD Adrenalin drivers (23.4.1 still affected). I really hope will get fixed in future AMD drivers even though it seems a common problem for AMD…
    – USB-C ports on the rear were unreliable: failed many times backup/restore through Macrium Reflect 8 booted from pendrive (WinPE minimal environment!), and with one external drive (ViaLab chipset controller) it suddenly BSODed (!!). It seems these ports are based on ASMedia chipsets and the other day an official hotfix from ASUS came out just for them, so maybe this issue is now finally fixed now crossing fingers.
    – minor problem with AMD drivers: some old games like NFS: Hot Pursuit 2010 (Steam) and Max Payne 2 (Steam) didn't want to switch to dGPU using (Advanced) Optimus for some reason, even if I set them for "High Performance" under Windows 11 Graphics settings. I hope this too will be addressed with future AMD Adrenalin drivers (or Win Updates) to better support hybrid 7945HX's APU 610M + NVidia 40×0 systems.

    In the end, unfortunately my unit was faulty: at normal desktop usage (e.g. watching YT video) it frequently rebooted by itself all of a sudden! I even tried in MUX dGPU mode only, and was much more stable but once it rebooted unexpectedly there too! Looking around ("AMD random reboots") it seems a common issue with some AMD faulty CPUs, so probably mine was just a defective unit, sigh…

    MY VIRDICT
    Honestly, if all minor issues including annoying flickering screen at desktop while on APU will be fixed I'm going to re-buy one in the near future, because all in all was a very good machine (screen is definitely "good", a powerful beast with 17155 at TimeSpy with simple "Performance" profile in QHD, good audio with included license for Dolby Surround set to "Dynamic" mode, and quite silent for a gaming laptop!).

    Uh, FYI: you can install "Kingston Fury 5600 SODIMM" in this laptop. They are perfectly compatible, running at max 5200 (R9 7945HX limit) by simple plug'n'play (be patient for ~30 secs at first boot where BIOS/UEFI will auto-test and auto-reconfigure them).

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2023 at 4:55 pm

      I haven't noticed that flickering, probably I'm not that sensitive to it. Interesting findings on the USB-C ports, I didn't have any issues with them when transferring the files that I use for reviews, but I don't test them in any other way.

      Thanks for the ample feedback!

    • Alek

      April 23, 2023 at 3:00 pm

      Hi! Do you think that using memory on 5200Mhz (synced from 5600Mhz) would work stable in this laptop? Would it create higher CPU temps on high load? Even now, as I've tested on my Scar 17 (rtx4090), temperature was around 95-96C in total, with one CCD0 on 85-86C max and other CCD1 on 95-96c max (with shortest spike to 101C (max registered) during CB23 testing, but 99,9% of time kept on 95-96C).

      • hexaae

        April 26, 2023 at 4:02 am

        Yes and no: could actually make it a bit hotter theoretically, but in real world usage I don't think there are significant changes.

    • xl

      April 25, 2023 at 12:57 pm

      Did you test with two 16GB or with two 32GB? I wonder if it can handle two 5200/5600 32GB modules

      • hexaae

        April 26, 2023 at 4:00 am

        Yes, up to 64GB (32+32)

  5. hubek

    April 23, 2023 at 8:50 pm

    such an LCD panel in such a laptop is a sad joke. There is no explanation for this. This laptop should be steered clear of.
    This price – miniLED 16:10 or GTFO.

    • Manu

      August 18, 2023 at 11:45 am

      Well, i have the laptop and the screen is really beautiful.
      Bright enough and gorgeous colors

      (miniLEDs have their own issues, btw)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *