Asus VivoBook S15 M533IA review (AMD Ryzen, Radeon Vega)

12 Comments

  1. william blake

    August 24, 2020 at 8:43 pm

    1. i know, right? this type of a screens marketing segmentation is dumb as hell. give us an option for gods sake. no instead they buried this good machine alive.
    there is literally zero chance for a more or less educated person to prefer this over some models with the much better screen.
    2. i guess it would be cool if you specified the amount of shared video memory in the tech specs.
    3. as far as i know, memory is always dual channel but only this way-4×2 in 4500u models and 8×2 in 4700u models.
    4. in my place(moscow) 487 eur for 4500u/8/256/win10 M533IA-BQ160T

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 24, 2020 at 9:26 pm

      1. it's standard, I don't think there's any way to change that on this laptop.
      4. 500 EUR is a great price. Question is, can you live with that screen?

      • william blake

        August 24, 2020 at 11:34 pm

        some hp and lenovo laptops has a much better screensat this price range, if im not mistaken. but not these vivobooks.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 25, 2020 at 11:28 am

          Not over here. The IdeaPad 5 gets the same kind of screen and the IdeaPad 3 is cheaper, but plastic built. Not sure about the HP options, which one are you referring to?

  2. Taosif

    August 28, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    There is a asus vivobok s15s533(core i 5 & mx250).Which one will you recommand????can you compare these two model??

  3. Dorian

    August 31, 2020 at 11:47 pm

    Is there any table/list of laptops with screen info (brightness, sGRB coverage, etc)?

    That would help a lot, since it seems that screen is a big letdown for a lot
    of otherwise excellent laptops..

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2020 at 9:21 am

      not for now, but noted, and will work on it

  4. Adam

    February 17, 2021 at 1:58 pm

    There is a hope for a better screen
    https://www.asus.com/Laptops/For-Home/VivoBook/VivoBook-S15-M533-AMD-Ryzen-5000-Series/techspec/

    15.6-inch, FHD (1920 x 1080) 16:9, IPS-level Panel, Anti-glare display, LED Backlit, 400nits, sRGB: 100%, Screen-to-body ratio: 86%

  5. Adam

    February 17, 2021 at 4:03 pm

    You write that “Asus doesn’t offer any power profiles for this VivoBook in the MyAsus app”
    but here https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1038576
    they show there are 3 fan profiles
    Standard mode–Dynamically selects the best fan speed for everyday tasks
    Whisper mode–Dynamically minimizes fan speed for the quietest operation
    Performance mode–Dynamically maximizes cooling performance for demanding tasks

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 17, 2021 at 4:04 pm

      Yep, that has been updated in the meantime. I'll add a note in the article.

  6. Asmodeus

    April 6, 2021 at 4:10 pm

    I would like this a lot too. You all do great work here at UltraBookReviews with your screen nit measurements. Fantastically objective reviewers! It would be wonderful to have all of this data you put so much hard work into to be integrated into one article :D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *