Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Intel Core i7-8750H benchmarks (Coffee Lake, 8th gen) vs i7-7700HQ and i5-8300H

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on April 24, 2018

The Core i7-8750H is the new mainstream processor for gaming and other types of performance laptops released on April 3rd 2018, as part of the Intel Coffee Lake platform.

It’s one of the first 6-core mobile processors from Intel and it’s meant to replace last year’s mainstream option, the Core i7-7700HQ based on the KabyLake platform.

In this article we’ll talk about the i7-8750H’s main traits and features, and then we’ll show you how it fares against the Core i7-7700HQ and the more affordable Coffee Lake Core i5-8300H, but also how it compares to the Ryzen 7 1700 architecture available on a limited number or performance notebooks.

For starters, the Core i7-8750H is a six-core processor with HyperThreading and TurboBoost, part of the Intel Coffee Lake H family of high-performance mobile processors, and built on the revised 14++ nm lithography. The Cores are clocked at 2.2 GHz, but they can Turbo up to 4.2 GHz (Max Single Core Turbo).

Other technical details include a max TDP of 45W, 9 MB of L3 Cache and support for up to 2666 MHz dual-channel DDR4 memory. Coffee Lake also introduces the new Intel 300 chipset, with support for enhanced audio and IO, including faster wireless connectivity, better optimized TB3 support and configurations with Intel Optane memory, which supposedly helps speed up everyday tasks like opening documents and loading games. You’ll find more about the Coffee Lake platform for laptops from this article.

The table below includes the i7-8750H’s main specs and shows how it compares to the mainstream KabyLake i7 and the more affordable Coffee Lake i5 alternative.

i7-8750H (Ark)
i7-7700HQ (Ark)
i5-8300H (Ark)
Litography14++ nm14+ nm14++ nm
TDP45W45W45W
Cores/Threads6/124/84/8
CPU Base Frequency2.2 GHz2.8 GHz2.5 GHz
Turbo – All Cores3.9 GHz3.4 GHz3.1 GHz
Turbo – 1 Core4.2 GHz3.8 GHz3.5 GHz
L3 Cache9 MB6 MB8 MB
Memory
DDR4 – 2666 MhzDDR4 – 2400 MhzDDR4 – 2666 Mhz
GraphicsIntel UHD 630Intel HD 630Intel UHD 630

Compared to the i7-7700HQ, the Coffee Lake i7 gets two more cores and four extra threads, while maintaining a similar TDP of up to 45 W. The cores are clocked lower, with a Base Speed of just 2.2 GHz, but can reach higher Turbo frequencies (4.0 for four cores and 3.9 for all the six cores), which means performance per core is increased if the cores are able to maintain their top Turbo Boost Speeds in demanding loads. The i7-8750H also gets more cache memory (9 vs 8 MB of RAM) and support for faster DDR4 memory.

All these translate in superior performance in benchmarks, as you’ll see in the next section of this article, as well as in real-life multi-thread loads.

i7-8750Hi7-7700HQi5-8300HRyzen 7 1700
3DMark 11 – Physics108918838936012345
3DMark – Fire Strike Physics14228106311187216682
Cinebench R15 CPU1087 cb734 cb801 cb1416 cb
Cinebench R15 CPU – Single Core175 cb159 cb166 cb143 cb
Cinebench R11.5 CPU11.51 pts8.1 pts7.73 pts15.61 pts
Cinebench R11.5 CPU – Single Core1.98 pts1.8 pts1.86 pts1.63 pts
Geekbench 3 32-bit – Single Core4176 pts3675 pts3740 pts3800 pts
Geekbench 3 32-bit – Multi Core20868 pts14102 pts15050 pts26873 pts
Geekbench 4.1 64-bit – Single Core5138 pts4635 pts4771 pts4092 pts
Geekbench 4.1 64-bit – Multi Core20041 pts14783 pts14788 pts23725 pts
PassMark CPU~14450~8900~978014522
PCMark 10 – Productivity~7200~7000~69507006
PCMark 10 – Digital Content Creation~5400~5400~46006351
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 1205.69 fps168.4 fps188.3 fps156.7 fps
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 266.53 fps46 fps51.38 fps65.5 fps

The i7-8750H results above are based on a single test unit (as of April 3rd 2018), a mid-range gaming laptop with 32 GB of DDR4-2666 MHz RAM and PCIe SSD storage. They can differ from implementation to implementation and we’ll update them as we test more laptops built on this Coffee Lake i7 hardware. The i7-7700HQ results are based on the averages from notebookcheck.net, while the i5-8300H results are based on a few of our own test units. We’ve also included the Ryzen 7 1700 in here, which motorizes the Asus ROG GL702ZC, just to show how the i7-8750H fares against one of the most powerful CPU configurations available in a notebook right now.

According to these results, the i7-8750H is about 10% faster than the i7-7700HQ CPU in single-core loads and 15-25% faster in multi-core loads, due to having more cores/threads and its ability to maintain higher Turbo Boost frequencies. The Coffee Lake i5-8300H is mostly on par with the i7-7700HQ and even a little faster in multi-core loads, so the Coffee Lake i7 tops it as well, but is also a significantly more expensive option ($395 for the i7, $250 for the i5).

As far as the comparison to the Ryzen 7 1700 build goes, this ones retains its lead in multi-core loads, as it’s an 8-core/16-threads solution, but the i7-8750H outmatches it in single-core tasks.

When we draw the line, the Coffee Lake i7-8750H is a significant upgrade over last year’s i7-7700HQ and a solid reason to go for a configuration built on this 8th gen i7 in the second part of 2018. I expect most gaming laptops and high-performance notebooks to get a hardware refresh in the weeks and months to come, and there’s a fair chance many will get a few extra tweaks as well. And don’t forget that this 8th gen platform is not just about the bump in performance, but also about the extras provided by the new chipset (improved IO, Optane support, fast integrated wireless).

Bottom point, if you’re in the market for a new powerful notebook and plan to run applications that can benefit from the extra oomph provided by the 8th gen CPUs (programming/engineering software, VR, content editing, streaming), you should get a configuration based on the i7-8750H. On the other hand, if you’re primarily interested in a gaming laptop, you should also consider than you could save a pretty penny with an i5-8300H or even an older i7-770HQ configuration, without majorly affecting your gaming experience.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

10 Comments

  1. TheRyGuy

    April 10, 2018 at 7:35 pm

    "I expect most gaming laptops and high-performance notebooks to get a hardware refresh in the weeks and moths to come"

    I think you mean "months"

  2. Ignatius Reilly

    April 15, 2018 at 6:03 pm

    off-topic: any chance of a asus ux461un review?

  3. Thesis86

    May 24, 2018 at 5:32 am

    So…I like the look of the i5-8300H. I'm only gonna be using my high end laptop for my music purposes. And I see both the Cinebench and Passmark scores report some modest improvements and support for faster RAM

  4. Hepi

    June 19, 2018 at 9:57 am

    Hi guys,
    on the frequency clock speed of intel i7-8750H is 2.2Ghz and up to 3.9Ghz or 4.2Ghz, how and where to set in the laptop for getting up to that 4.2Ghz ? Is it set automatically by the system in each running program or need to set it up manually ?

    Would you please help to advice me ?

    [img]http://i.imgur.com/z4zcppJ.jpg[/img]

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2018 at 11:11 am

      This CPU adjusts its speed automatically based on load and the app you're running. Just make sure to set the computer on Maximum performance in Windows and you're good.

      • Hepi

        June 20, 2018 at 1:17 am

        Hi Andrei,
        Thanks for your response and advice. Ok, I’ll do as your suggestion

    • Iluv2raceit

      July 19, 2018 at 5:11 pm

      Yes, this is automatically set within the BIOS. To get the most performance, make sure to change your power plan option to "High Performance". And make a note that the 4.2Ghz clock speed refers to a single core, not all cores ;-) You will have to manually overclock in order for higher clock speeds above 3.9Ghz with all cores.

  5. PK

    July 1, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    I'm looking to get a powerful laptop for virtualization (vmworkstation). Would you recommend this CPU over other mobile processor in the range?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *