Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

While not without a handful of minor inconveniences, the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro is one of the best top-tier ultrabooks money can buy right now. It's sturdy and beautiful, in a very simple way, it packs fast hardware, a fairly good high-resolution display and is cheaper than all of its competitors. On top of that, don't forget about the flipping screen! While not without a handful of minor inconveniences, the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro is one of the best top-tier ultrabooks money can buy right now. It's sturdy and beautiful, in a very simple way, it packs fast hardware, a fairly good high-resolution display and is cheaper than all of its competitors. On top of that, don't forget about the flipping screen! Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/lenovo-yoga-2-pro-review.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro review – Bang for the Buck!

24 Comments

  1. bApTizE

    February 15, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    So those PC manufacturers are going the opposite direction now? Before, it was not possible to upgrade mac laptops but that has changed, i can upgrade RAM, Hard Drive. It looks like PC “laptops” on the other hand lock you up, what a show stopper!! I’m staying with mac for now.

  2. Erik Reppen

    March 15, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    I’m surprised they sent you the base version. Did you request that or are they just really confident the base version would still perform to satisfaction?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2014 at 11:06 am

      I haven’t requested the base model, but that’s what they sent me. Either way, spec aside, the other beefier versions are indentical

  3. Muhammed Salih

    April 22, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Hi Andrei..I’ve read alot of your reviews and frankly I’m impressed, keep it going..I’ve been looking for a new convertible..right now I’m torn between the Ideapad Yoga 2 pro,the Thinkpad Yoga,the Asus Transformer and the Dell XPS12..I’m leaning toward the Ideapad Yoga but my only concern is this:when using it in tablet mode on a desk surface for example..THE KEYBOARD IS PRESSED!! which I find really weird..are the keys directly pressed agains the flat surface? and doesn’t this affect the keyboard on the long term?

  4. Georg G

    May 22, 2014 at 3:10 am

    you should definitely mention the offer at bestbuy.com, the yoga 2 pro with an i7, 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD and win 8.1 for $1198. I so much wanted to buy an ASUS, but I just can’t justify paying more than double the money for the same configuration!

    You are doing an amazing job, thanks for keeping up the good work.

  5. Björn

    June 20, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    It’s possible to upgrade the Yoga 2 Pro. I have one and have upgraded the SSD to Samsung 1TB mSATA and also change the WLAN-card to a Intel AC-7260 and it works greate! I love the PC!

    • John

      October 20, 2014 at 10:42 am

      I hear a lot of rumour about the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro having its SSD upgraded. Some say 512Gb max, others that 1TB SSD should be possible but is not recognised by the machine. What’s your detailed experience? Was the new SSD installed by you or someone else?

    • Daniel

      November 13, 2014 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Björn. Are you able to tell me specifically which hard drive you used for the 1 TB replacement?

  6. Naim

    October 5, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    Hi, thx for the great reviews you make!

    I have some questions, I don’t know if you will answer after so long time.

    I hesitate between 3 laptops
    (I mention the price that I can get and what is not up-gradable so please don’t consider other elements for advice me if possible):
    *Asus UX303-LN, i7, 8Go ram(i know I can upgrade but 8 is enough for me)FHD mat non-touch screen, 1040€
    *Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, i5, 8Go ram, Qhd non-mat touch screen, 1250€
    *Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, i7, 8Go ram, Qhd non-mat touch screen, 1415€

    My use : Internet browsing, Spotify for music, Eclipse for development, VMware for virtualising Linux for really light use (using Terminal for exercice), watching 1080p movie (not full hd rip but real full hd something like 25Go movie) with VLC. All these simultaneously except when using VMware and VLC as you can guess.
    I don’t think I need the dedicated GPU 840M of the Asus for my use lets say we’re comparing the LA model with the Yoga 2 Pro (I know the price is less but in my country I can’t get the LA version without loosing the Full HD screen, there is only the HD+ version). So please don’t advise me based on the GPU unless you think it’s really necessary for my use :)

    The plastic chassis of the Lenovo doesn’t bother me nor does the aluminium body of the Asus.

    What I like and dislike in the Asus:
    +Full HD resolution so no scaling issue or very minor scaling issue
    +price
    –(yes double minus) screen doesn’t open flat (180°)
    -mat screen (yes I like the glossy screen and I always work inside that doesn’t bother me ^^)
    -no touch screen (not a must have but I think it’s great to have as we are in 2014)
    -the brightness max seemed not enough bright on the model I saw and the colors seemed little bit washed (due to the mat screen?)
    -Thicker than Yoga 2 Pro

    What I like dislike in the Yoga 2 Pro i5 model:
    ++hybrid mode (i love that i can put flat my screen as you showed in your review)!!!
    +energy savings option that allow you to keep battery around 50/60% while using always on charge to keep the battery in good state (good option? it seems to me :/ )
    +Stunning on screen colors (in my opinion) the yellow after after bios update doesn’t bother me
    +thinner than Asus
    +touch & glossy screen (i find it beautiful :D)
    +price (the difference between the Asus and this i5 version doesn’t bother me too much)
    +inverted Fn keys with the possibility to get the normal layout in needed in the bios (not a must have though)
    –potential scaling issue due to high resolution and I red that lower the resolution to full HD would give in some case blurry image, text (really?)
    -i5 version

    What I like dislike in the Yoga 2 Pro i7 model is nearly the same as in the i5 version except :
    +i7 version
    -here the difference of price with the Asus bothers me.

    As you can see I really love the Yoga except some things like price , screen resolution, etc

    So if you could answer these questions maybe I could finally make my decision after 2 weeks of research on these two particular unit :)

    Thank you !

    Recap of my questions :
    *Do you think I need the dedicated GPU for my use?
    *Does the mat screens deem the maximum brightness and wash little bit ?
    *The option of the Yoga of keep the battery at 50/60% is a proven tricks? Can we get the same thing with the Asus with any app?
    *If we lower the resolutions of the Yoga to 1080p does it get blurry in some case?
    *Is the difference of performance between the i5 and i7 version in same same configuration really big?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      *Do you think I need the dedicated GPU for my use?
      No, unless you plan on gaming.
      *Does the mat screens deem the maximum brightness and wash little bit ?
      Not necessarily. Check review for the brightness levels of each panel. NOt sure what you mean by “wash a little bit”. If you’re saying colors are duller on matte panels, that’s once again not necessarily so.
      *The option of the Yoga of keep the battery at 50/60% is a proven tricks? Can we get the same thing with the Asus with any app?
      Not sure what you meant by that? Please elaborate
      *If we lower the resolutions of the Yoga to 1080p does it get blurry in some case?
      Yes, at least that was my experience when I tested the laptop, many months ago. But if you scale everything to 4:1 (1600 x 900) and use Windows 8.1 you should be OK. Things might have been addressed in the meantime.
      *Is the difference of performance between the i5 and i7 version in same same configuration really big?
      Fairly big. Since you plan on using VMware and Eclipse, I’d go for the i7

      • Naim

        October 6, 2014 at 8:27 pm

        Hi,

        1) For the washed colors, brightness,etc I found my answer in this comparaison : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFeRaZlzvBU

        2)For the battery, I was talking about this :
        “Optimized Battery Health: In this mode, the battery limits charging to 60% of its full capacity. This can reduce the battery degradation and extend the battery lifespan.” (Source : http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/documents/ht076986 ) .
        I saw in a showroom version that The yoga 2 pro also has this function. So I was wondering if you know if it’s something that can help reduce the battery degradation as it mention. And also if on the Asus I can get something similar.

        3)In term of battery life, as you reviewed the Asus and the Lenovo, I saw that in the similar use the Asus can get around 5 hours and the Lenovo around 6 hours. So do you think in the same condition as yours the Asus can reach the 6 hours of battery life as is has lower resolution(1080p)?

        4)As you reviewed the i5 version of the Yoga and you advice the i7 version for my use, in your opinion the i7 version will last more or less than the i5 version ?

        Thank you for your answering my questions, really appreciate!
        (Do you have any affiliate link for Amazon.fr? I already added your Amazon.de affiliate link to my default link)

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 7, 2014 at 3:10 pm

          1. But that video doesn’t really stand today. You can find better matte panels than those used on that Macbook Pro showcased in that video, which I believe is a 2010 model.
          2. Can’t comment on that but here’s what I do on my ThinkPad. I’ve set the low battery alarm for 25% of its capacity and I’m only charging it to 95%. This way I’ve lost about 3% of the capacity in over 180 cycles (in about 15 months, so I’m using the computer on battery as often as possible). And that’s on an X220 which lacked this particular feature. It’s true that my previous battery died on me when it was at about 280 cycles and 90% of its full capacity, but that just happens. Batteries are consumables these days and that’s why they only come with 12 months warranty (or even 6 months in some cases)
          3. The 1080p screen should have a positive impact on battery life.
          4. Slightly less, but it really depends on what you’re going to do on the computer. FOr light everyday activities, I’d say both configs should last about the same.

          I don’t have an Amazon.fr just yet, but I’ll update my https://www.ultrabookreview.com/thanks/ page once I do. Thanks

          • Naim

            October 7, 2014 at 3:50 pm

            I think I’ll follow your advice and get the i7 version.
            But as the price gap is too high (for me) between the Lenovo and the Asus I think I’ll stick to the Asus.

            As it has a lower resolution so no major scaling issues which is great.
            I’m also saving around 400€(around 500$) and that is nothing, specially for not buying a unit that is already one year old(still at top I know) doomed to be renewed in one year maximum.
            If I don’t like the Asus I can sell it and get something new next year or after :)

            I’ll try to keep the battery between 25 & 95 % as you recommend.

            Thanks for all your advice. First time I see a reviewer answering so much questions of reader’s, really appreciate. Keep going!

  7. Mike

    October 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

    Would you recommend the Yoga 2 Pro for video editing or graphic design using Adobe CS6? After reading many reviews and comparing several laptops/all in one’s, I’m favoring the Yoga Pro 2, but my one concern is its ability to handle CS6.

    Thoughts?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 21, 2014 at 10:47 am

      Probably not, unless you really want a very portable device. In that case, than anything with a Core I7 Haswell processor and 8 GB of RAM should do alright for lighter projects, but for serious work you’d need a beefier processor and more RAM. Other options would be the Asus UX301LA with the faster Core I7-4558U processor and faster graphics/ More RAM, but that’s expensive, as well as the i7 Macbook Airs. But again, don’t expect a whole lot from these low-voltage platforms, they are not made for serious work.

  8. Andy Weysham

    November 29, 2014 at 4:58 am

    Great reviews Andrei, keep em coming. I am still undecided which computer I want.

  9. Danielle

    December 3, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    Hi, I just bought this laptop a few days ago (i5, 8gb RAM, 256GB SSD) and almost immediately noticed the colouring issues. It is a beautiful laptop, truly, but the discolourisation of the yellow is turning out to be terrible. The BIOS update that Lenovo offers doesn’t work, it says “the version of ROM file is not newer than that of the BIOS”, and I can’t find anything after googling. Do you happen to have any tips?

    Also, do you by any chance happen to know which mobile OS software (other than Windows Phones) would work best with this absolutely massive resolution? iTunes looks terrible and I need to switch my phone, so I’m definitely not going to go with an Apple product. Any recommendations?

    Thank you, and you’re doing a wonderful job with these reviews, they were lifesavers while trying to decide which laptop to buy.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      The colors should only be skewed in the most Power Efficient mode in the Power Manager. If they’re skewed in the others as well, make sure you have the latest Power Manager installed.

      I can’t understand your other question, maybe you can elaborate it for me? tahnks

  10. Sergio

    December 8, 2014 at 9:02 am

    Hi Andrei,

    This is a great website, very detailed information on ultrabooks. I recently bought Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, and the only complaint I have is the heat it produces when I use it for heavy computing. Is there any ultrabook with similar features (i7, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD) that produces less heat (none if possible) under video watching and web surfing? Thanks

  11. Mike

    January 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm

    Own a yoga pro 2 for almost 2 years. Don’t waste your money. Lenovo support is terrible. My unit has been dropping the internet constantly, (use AirPort Extreme). A lot of complaints were posted on this problem. Lenovo was well aware that the internet card were defective, but offered no solution, repair, fix, or replacement for this unit. Could have bought 2 iPads for the price of this piece of junk. My opinion

  12. Leandro

    April 29, 2015 at 4:18 am

    Yoga 2 pro (with 256 ssd, 8 gb ram, core i7 4510u) or Macbook Air 2015 (standard version)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 29, 2015 at 10:54 am

      It’s liek this: the Yoga 2 Pro gives you the 2-in-1 form factor and a better screen (higher res, but with some color problems), while the MBA offers a better keyboard and much longer battery life. Also, you do get more RAM and storage space with the Y2P. Personally I’d get the Lenovo unless long battery is extremely important. Make sure you read some user reviews though, the y2P is not without flaws.

  13. Daniel

    April 29, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    I am almost certain the base model does not come with AC, It has Wireless-N I just upgraded my Wireless card.

    Still has major issues with wifi dropping on Non Windows systems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *