Asus Zenbook UX303LN / UX303 review – faster than ever

196 Comments

  1. Entaro

    April 1, 2015 at 10:21 pm

    I bought UX303LN model, but i noticed light bleeding problem in bottom left corner of the screen. Do you think this is acceptable or i should return it? http://screenshot.net/o9y9lun.jpg

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2015 at 7:54 am

      I think it’s OK. but if it bothers you in everyday use or when watching movies, return it. It’s important to be satisfied with your laptop.

  2. Pedro Lourenço

    April 2, 2015 at 8:01 am

    I returned mine because de left hinge broken in 2 weeks. For nothing. It was ok in the morning then I went to work and when I was arrived I’ve tried to open the lid and it just didn’t open. Too bad… Plastic painted hinge with bad quality. You will have problems here!

    I’m going to HP Spectre Pro x360 now…

    Andrei: will you write a review?

    Thank you very much.

    Regards from Portugal,

    Pedro

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2015 at 8:12 am

      Hi Pedro. I’d love to but the X360 is not yet available over here.

  3. Andrew Art

    April 7, 2015 at 11:14 am

    Hey Andrei,

    The spec of Zenbook XPS 303LN that’s here in SE Asia: i7 5500U, DDR3 8 GB, HDD 1 TB Sata + SSD 24 GB, Nvidia GT840M 2 GB. It’s selling for ~US$1100.

    I would like to ask your opinion. I’m also looking at Zenbook XPS 305 (same spec as your XPS 305 review but the RAM is only 4GB here in SE Asia) at ~US$750

    From the two choices above, which one do you think presents the better value for its spec?

    Thank you for doing these reviews!

    • Andrew Art

      April 7, 2015 at 11:44 am

      I forgot to mention the XPS 303LN I mentioned is also not touchscreen.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 8, 2015 at 9:25 am

      Well, those are completely different machines and both are OK for what they are. The UX305 is a thin and light laptop made for casual use. It’s also fanless. the UX303LN is something to consider for performance and especially for gaming, due to the dedicated graphics it offers. Pick based on what you need.

  4. Walid

    May 16, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    my notebook Asus ux 303-L came with 8 GB RAM , can i increase ram to be 16 GB ,if possible ,is it useful with performance or not ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 17, 2015 at 5:38 pm

      No. The Hardware section of this review explain all there is to know about the RAM

  5. Mark

    June 5, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    > If we’re to look at Battery Bar readings, the laptop
    > discharges with about 6 mW per hour when idle (with
    > the above mentioned settings) and about 10-11 while
    > running a Full HD video on Youtube.

    The W/h unit in the above statement makes no sense. Perhaps you meant energy consumption (Wh), or power of the load (W or Wh/h), or maybe you meant a battery voltage drop (V/h).

  6. mehdi

    June 16, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    I have purchased this model but i hear a light squeaked sound like a whir when i power the laptop on. i had this problem from the beginning. the support technicians told that this is usual in this model because of its compact design. but this is really annoying. anyone had this problem? what can i do? is that a normal sound?

  7. Rebecca

    July 21, 2015 at 5:27 am

    Hi, I just bought this laptop and I LOVE it, but there is just one issue I could find. The keyboard is supposed to be backlit, there are literally two buttons that are clearly the backlit on/off toggles, yet I cannot for the life of me figure out how to turn on the keyboard! Could someone please tell me how? I feel so stupid as it seems very obvious. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2015 at 9:47 am

      press FN (lower left side of the keyboard) + the according F key that turns keyboard brightness up at the same time. I can’t recall exactly which F key is that, but there’s a pictogram on it.

      • Rebecca

        July 24, 2015 at 4:44 am

        Yes, I have tried that. Fn + f4 should turn it on, but nothing happens. When I first turn on the laptop the backlight comes on for a few seconds but then it just turns off as soon as t goes to the lock screen. I don’t know what the problem is! It’s really annoying as I do like having the backlight even when using the laptop in high light areas.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 24, 2015 at 7:03 am

        That’s weird but I don’t know what to advise. You’d better contact Asus Support and see what they have to say about that

  8. Ayelet

    August 4, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    I own this laptop for a while now. A month after I bought it I started having problems charging it- the charging indicator would just go on and off constantly, as the laptop was connecting and disconnecting continuously.
    I had it fixed, and was told the charging port solders broke. Now, six months after I had it fixed, it broke again =(
    Anyone else had a similar problem? Does anyone know what can be the cause of the breaks? Bad charging port/ bad charger/ bad battery? Any way to fix it permanently and so I won’t have to pay every few months to get it soldered back together?
    Thanks!

  9. Sasha

    August 6, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    Hi, I bought this laptop a month ago and only until I came across your review do I know where the ventilation is, cause it does get hot a bit too easily. I don’t really know the best way to use a cooling pad or something to help it cool down for this kind of product, what do you recommend and how? Thank you

  10. Emma

    August 10, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    I’m going to be using this laptop for school and personal use. Can anyone tell me how the laptop holds up after several months of everyday use? As well as if they experienced any other structural and otherwise problems after owning the laptop after a while?

    • Jim

      May 18, 2016 at 10:56 am

      my display broke off after 1 year. because i opened it from one side only, not the middle.. falls not under warranty..

  11. Tran Son

    September 1, 2015 at 6:51 am

    Hi Andrei,
    i live in asia, in my country, i have UX303 i5, 8gb ram, ssd 256, gtx 840m. I work with photoshop, illustrator, proshow gold every day in my office. Should i buy this UX303 ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 1, 2015 at 11:59 am

      What’s the screen resolution of that unit? if it’s 3200 x 1800 px, stay away, that panel is not able to reproduce colors accurately. If it’s 1920 x 1080 px then it’s going to be OK.

      • Tran Son

        September 2, 2015 at 4:25 pm

        It’s 1920×1080, so it will be ok with my job, right ? Just graphic design. Thanks Andrei !

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 2, 2015 at 4:49 pm

        Yes, should be OK

  12. Cosmin

    January 3, 2016 at 12:12 am

    Salutare ! Ai putea te rog sa partajezi wallpaper-urile stock sau un link catre ele ? Multumesc frumos !

  13. Mr HU

    January 8, 2016 at 7:55 am

    Hellow
    Just randomely found this review about this computer, I had it for a year and quite happy about it (despite being about to format it due to some random very high CPU usage)

    >>> but I was more wondering if anyone here knows about a fix/solution for the color problem ?

    Did asus released anything ?

    Would be great.
    thanks a million,
    CheerS!

  14. Lawrence Myers

    January 8, 2016 at 11:56 am

    The hinges on my Asus ux303ln broke completely off after just 3 months of careful use. I sent it back to Asus and they did the repair which included replaced hinges and screen. My question is when Asus makes this repair do they use a different design or better hing to screen assembly or do they replace with the original cheapo plastic design? I cannot tell by looking at it as the vent shield hides the hinge assembly and I don’t want to try taking it apart.

    Thanks for any help on this issue.

    • Dave

      February 13, 2016 at 4:30 pm

      I have had all kinds of problems with the hinges breaking, screen goes crooked, etc… terrible

  15. Chorong

    February 3, 2016 at 4:23 am

    I currently have the i7 4510U+QHD Touch+256 SSD+8gb ram+840M variant of the UX303LN. It is a great ultrabook at this price point pack with all these specs, but one problem I’ve been having is that the CPU would TDP throttle at around 70 degrees Celsius.

  16. nasser

    February 13, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    sound from hardisk.. is that normal? ASUS ZENBOOK UX303 i7

    like that
    youtube.com/watch?v=nsiN8sNLPXs

    thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2016 at 8:32 pm

      Well, yes, that’s how HDD’s sound, more or less. You can replace the HDD with an SSD if you want something quiet.

  17. Jim

    May 18, 2016 at 10:54 am

    i cant recommend the ux303! the display broke off after only 1 year of use! support says its my fault so no warranty! i shouldnt have openend it from one side only, the hinge was not designed for that!
    my thinkpads hinge was, it lasted 5 years with no problems.. then i bought an asus.. mistakes were made..

  18. Paul McRae

    January 26, 2017 at 6:01 pm

    I have many laptops, this Asus is stunning, you need to upgrade the SSD to the high speed version, fresh install Win 10 and you will get a working day out of the battery together with a laptop that can play the most compressed 1080p film or even render 3DsMax in real time which most desktop i7s struglle with. Laptop and charger runs cold and the big plus point is that the air comes out the rear (and goes up the screen) so if you leave it on your bed, it does not self destruct like all HP laptops!
    Big Big disadvantage… the hinges on the actual screen are held in by 3 screws (on each side) that are brass insert pressed into plastic with a wall thickness of about 2mm, the hinges themselves are well designed and substantial but the engineering along the display attachment is more reminiscent of Amstrad not Asus. My screen has broke twice, luckily I am an engineer with a workshop that can fabricate anything and I CNC machined two inserts from a piece of solid brass and epoxied them into the wells and so far, seems to have resolved all issues. My conclusion is that if you have a 2000 sq ft shed at the bottom of the garden containing 6 figures worth of precision machinery AND you have retired so you time is free, you will enjoy this laptop!
    Oh! it is possible to lock this laptop, it gets stuck in half un-hibernate, its not actually bricked just screen dead with all the symptoms, it can be fixed.

    • Nilly Mos

      August 27, 2017 at 9:19 am

      How did you fix the bricked problem? Mine, suddenly after the anniversary update decides to not shutdown completely or hibernate or sleep completely: the screen is black but the power switch is lit. I have to hold for 10 counts and hard reboot to get it working. I've updated all I could, and reinstalled win 10(everything gone except for asus original files) by going into system reinstall. No change. It's been a half year of frustration as I can't fix it. Any suggestions?
      And how did you fresh install?

      • Andrew Jones

        April 30, 2019 at 4:09 pm

        I had the same problem and wasted much time before discovering that it was windows 10 that wasn't asking weather or not to update the graphics drivers. I re-installed the original (recommended by Asus) graphics driver and set win 10 to never update it. This works until microsoft decides to dish out a major update which overrides the setting. Really simple once you know. Just wish Asus could have worked this one out and let us know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.