ASUS ZenBook Flip S Evo UX371 review (2020 UX371EA model) – Intel Evo + OLED touchscreen

9 Comments

  1. mik

    November 5, 2020 at 1:18 pm

    Is it possible to remove the thermal tape? Could it improve the air flow?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 5, 2020 at 1:24 pm

      It should be possible but I'm not allowed to on these review samples. Will double-check. Not sure of the impact without trying it; in theory, there's a reason they create the thermal design in this way.

  2. mik

    November 5, 2020 at 3:03 pm

    There might be a reason for them but there must be a design flaw if they need this. Other devices have open air intakes for good reasons. The fan/heatsink itself looks beefy to me for such an ultrabook. It would be interesting to see how it affects the cooling.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 5, 2020 at 5:40 pm

      They might have gone this route to make sure the laptop is properly cooled on Tablet mode, when the screen is closed over those intake grills. They ue the same design on their Flips, but also on the ZenBook S UX393, while the other ZenBooks go with a full or partially open back.

  3. Jon

    November 14, 2020 at 5:16 am

    The screen uniformity looks terrible. Left side is yellow, right side is pink.

  4. Maria

    December 12, 2020 at 1:14 am

    Based on your reviews of both the Zenbook Flip S UX371EA and the Zenbook Flip UX363EA, do you feel the former is worth the extra expense if a 4K screen isn't a necessity? Also, are there differences between the two in terms of how well the laptop folds into tablet mode, as I have read there are issues fully closing at the hinge to use in this mode, but I'm not sure if it's consistent across both models?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 13, 2020 at 10:40 am

      The two are almost identical, and I feel the tablet mode could use some work on both, as the screen and main-body don't stay put together as I'd expect. the UX363 is the better value imo, especially if you opt for the lowe-tier configuration.

  5. Maria Agathangelou

    December 16, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    Thank you – how do both of these models (Zenbook Flip S UX371EA and the Zenbook Flip UX363EA) compare to the HP Spectre x360 13 (11th gen i7 processor) in terms of usability in tablet mode, battery life, general performance & usability etc

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 17, 2020 at 11:00 am

      I haven't yet reviewed the updated Spectre 13, but based on past experience, the Spectre wins at typing experience and is a bit more ergonomic as a tablet. General performance should be similar, but with a slight edge for the Spectre. The ZenBooks last longer on battery, but not by a significant margin. Out of the three, the Spectre is the overall better pick, but you'd also have to account for how much each cost in your region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *