Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Lenovo Legion Y530 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Lenovo Legion Y530 review (i7-8570H, GTX 1050 Ti, FHD 60 Hz screen)

17 Comments

  1. ZM Fong

    August 30, 2018 at 5:34 pm

    How do you compare Y530 to Y520 in terms of build quality, cooling and audio?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2018 at 5:49 pm

      build quality – about the same
      cooling – better on the Y530 – good performance, but the i7 1050 Ti versions run hot
      speakers – about the same, as far as I can remember

  2. gurpreet singh

    October 2, 2018 at 4:06 pm

    how to check which screen panel i got. so i can apply color profile on it

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 2, 2018 at 4:13 pm

      Use HWInfo or Check for the screen's hardware ID in Device manager

  3. Tiwo Satriatama

    November 7, 2018 at 10:04 am

    This laptop cost like $1000 in my country

  4. Juggernogg

    December 28, 2018 at 5:36 pm

    What should i go for fx505 or y530, does fx505 have a flimsy keyboard , screen . The speakers also sound tiny when compared to y530 . Does fx505 really feel better to use than y530?

  5. Federico

    May 6, 2019 at 7:36 am

    Would you recommend this, either the i5 or i7 version for photo and video editing? Color accuracy is not a huge deal for me, I'm just an "enthusiast" and looking for something reliable, fast enough to run Adobe Lightroom and Premiere. Fast rendering speed is not my main target, just fast editing process and fluid playback of FHD and 4K videos. I have not been able to find a good review in this matters since most people want to get this sort of laptops for gaming and good rendering quality. Could you please help me with some ideas? Is the i5 8300h processor enough, trying to add more RAM? Does the Ti video card would bring a noticeable improvement in the editing process?
    THANKS!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 6, 2019 at 9:38 am

      CPU performance is the most important aspect to consider for photo and video editing, and as you can see in the Performance section, this does very well in the Cinebench multi-loop test, which simulates a 100% load on all cores. You'd have to undervolt it to get the best performance, but that's simple.

      I'd also get at least 16 GB of RAM and if the budget allows, a sufficiently sized SSD

  6. Sunil Yadav

    May 14, 2019 at 12:41 pm

    Which one I should go for legion y530 i5/1050ti/128G ssd or asus tuf fx505 i5/1050ti/256G ssd (note:I am getting asus at a lower price) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 14, 2019 at 12:46 pm

      You can find both reviews on the site. If they also get the same screens, I'd go for the FX505.

  7. Ingrid N

    June 3, 2019 at 6:05 am

    should I go for the LEGION Y530 i7/1050 4g/8GB RAM/ 16GB OPTANE or the less expensive ASUS TUF FX505GE i7/1050 Ti/ 8GB?

    I need it for daily use of architecture and design software including Autodesk, Adobe and rendering programs such as 3D Max, also how important is a SSD? is the Legion Optane memory worth the $400 difference? I've read the reviews and they sure helped me to narrow down my options to these two, however I'm still unsure and I haven't found many other reviews about user experience

  8. Alan

    August 4, 2019 at 7:12 pm

    So these few days i've been comparing many laptop based on your page review.
    I am planning to get a laptop for design purpose, mostly i use photoshop for high res digital painting (sometimes 4k) and other adobe family for animation.

    I know photoshop is depend on cpu, and not so much in hyperthreading. The i7-8750h got my attention though but it seems it has very high temperature ?. so can you suggest me some laptop please ? i have a budget between $800-$900.

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 4, 2019 at 8:57 pm

      You need a fast CPU and as much RAM as possible, and you might find an i7 with 16 GB of RAM and a lower-tier (1050, 1050Ti) GPU for that budget. As for thermals, those vary between each laptop, but the more affordable one usually compromise on temperatures and that's just something you'll have to accept.

      You should, however, make sure to undervolt the CPU on your laptop, it will help with both the performance and the temperatures.

  9. Lucas

    September 12, 2019 at 9:40 pm

    Hi,
    I have to buy a laptop and I'm considering between Acer Nitro 5(AN515-52) and Lenovo Legion y530 – both with same CPU i5-8300h and GPU GTX 1050Ti. Recently, I had a chance to see them in the local shop, but sadly – the versions with just gtx1050. I have no idea if they had different display panels than these that are in 1050Ti's versions, but it was certainly plain to see the better panel in y530. Colors seemed to be more accurate and way more saturated(but in a proper way). Furthermore, display was noticeably more bright in y530. Viewing angles was an another benefit of y530(comparing to that model of nitro 5).

    I'm trying to find an affordable laptop for studying and occasionally gaming.
    If you could compare somehow these two laptops, that would be great.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 13, 2019 at 10:57 am

      I'd lean towards the Y530 as well. Better looks, more compact, better cooling, among some of the reasons.

      • Lucas

        September 13, 2019 at 12:21 pm

        How's about overall build quality? It might be hard to answer it, but hypothetically, which one would better to handle travelling? For the very first touch I couldn't see significant differences. Both bow under the pressure at a comparable rate, but as I remember there was a one difference when it comes to the lid flexibility. The first had more rigid lid's back and the other was more resistant to bow on the front. Unfortunately, I don't remember which one is.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 14, 2019 at 11:33 am

          Hmm, they're about the same as far as I remember.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *