Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus TUF Gaming FX505 GE Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus TUF Gaming FX505 review (FX505GE – i7-8750H, GTX 1050 Ti, 144 Hz screen)

31 Comments

  1. Nikita

    August 22, 2018 at 8:46 pm

    FX705 review ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2018 at 10:36 am

      In a few days.

      • John

        September 4, 2018 at 5:37 pm

        Did u forget about it? I'm very excited about new review.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 4, 2018 at 5:39 pm

          No, it's in the works, but cause this laptop is not yet available, I decided to delay it for other more pressing reviews. Should be published in the next 7-10 days.

          • Martinez

            October 23, 2018 at 3:22 am

            Please help me. I purchased this laptop, and I believe it came defective. The fans are extremely loud at all times, even when idle. And when I load up any light game, they sound like an airplane. Absolutely unbearable. I'm going to the shop tomorrow anyway, but I wanted to hear your opinion. Thanks.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 23, 2018 at 12:19 pm

            Fan noise on our sample is discussed in the article.

  2. Harsh

    September 10, 2018 at 2:45 pm

    When Asus tuf fx 505 launch in India.

  3. Alok

    September 15, 2018 at 10:01 pm

    Urgently launch in India before festive season, lots of buyer now or else they will switch to msi.

  4. Lucas

    December 4, 2018 at 3:40 am

    Hi I wonder if Red Matter model with the same specs has a RGB backlit keyboard like this model which is able to change colors? O r is this feature only for Gold Steal model?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:12 pm

      That's a good question. From what I'm seeing, the red Matter model comes with a red keyboard, but that might differ from country to country.

  5. Vivian

    December 4, 2018 at 6:16 pm

    That was a very comprehensive review. Thanks

    • John

      June 13, 2019 at 7:24 am

      Totally agree, great review.

  6. Reiz

    December 27, 2018 at 2:40 pm

    Thanks for the great in-depth review. Bought the FX505-MBQ202T and it's really bang for the buck!

  7. Daniel

    January 10, 2019 at 12:10 pm

    98% sRGB is not average color space. lol

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 10, 2019 at 12:57 pm

      It actually is imo, in today's market.

      • Daniel

        January 10, 2019 at 1:07 pm

        In your opinion it can be. But in common sense it is not. 98% sRGB is fully sufficient for professional content online creating.

  8. Gargamel

    June 19, 2019 at 9:41 am

    Hello. Some TUF FX505 notebooks are depicted with aditional vent on the right side and some are not. Information on internet and from various eshops are confusing. Where is the truth? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2019 at 2:12 pm

      The newer models have some intake vents on the right side.

  9. Max

    August 2, 2019 at 4:57 pm

    Hello,
    my Red Matters ASUS-TUF-Gaming-FX505DY gets on full load 90°C until 100°C. Is something wrong with it or normal?
    all the best

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2019 at 5:12 pm

      The AMD versions run very hot, unfortunately, and there's nothing you can do about it.

      • Max

        August 3, 2019 at 12:43 pm

        But I got the Intel Version..

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2019 at 8:49 pm

          OH, sry for that. You should undervolt the CPU then, that should help with the temperatures.

  10. skywalker

    August 4, 2019 at 10:43 pm

    will the temperatures damage the laptop ? i have the intel version itbdoesnt lag in games but it definitely runs high af

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 5, 2019 at 9:07 am

      Theoretically, no. Practically, I'd personally be comfortable with 80-85 for the CPU in a gaming laptop

  11. windu

    August 23, 2019 at 2:07 am

    my asus fx505gd i5 8300h runs at 95 it spikes up to 97 and gets back to 95 degrees under anytype of gaming … its summer here so temp in ly room is about 29 dzgrees … is it normal or shall i bring it back ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2019 at 9:41 am

      try undervolting. Unfortunately, the FX505GD/GE series runs hot, the thermal module is rather limited for that hardware inside

  12. windu

    August 23, 2019 at 9:44 am

    is an acer nitro 5 i5 8300h gtx 1050 4gb a better alternative for the same price … especially in term of heatibg management
    thank you for your time

  13. johny

    September 13, 2019 at 12:50 am

    Hey Andrei,
    I’m debating between two laptops you reviewed which cost about the same where I’m from and I’d love to get your recommendation on which one to go for.
    Asus TUF Gaming FX505GD / i7 8750H / 1050ti / 1TB HDD + 256GB M.2 SSD
    or
    Lenovo Legion Y530 / i7 8750H / 1050ti / 1TB HDD + 128GB M.2 SSD
    Thanks

    • johny

      September 13, 2019 at 12:57 am

      They both have 60 fps screens

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 13, 2019 at 10:59 am

      I'm leaning towards the Y530, mostly due to the better thermal module. The FX505 of that generation tend to get really hot, with a slight impact on performance, and a potential reliability impact as well, long term

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *