Dell XPS 13 Plus review (XPS 9320 2022 model, with OLED)

18 Comments

  1. Ben

    June 21, 2022 at 11:33 pm

    "I also took some benchmarks with a few games, varying in age"
    ^– Should've been "varying in *avg*"

    Great review as always, much appreciated (:

  2. Brad

    June 22, 2022 at 7:48 am

    What is your number 1 laptop right now?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 22, 2022 at 2:20 pm

      At this class I still liked the Ideapad Slim 7 Carbon the best. It has a lot more to offer, especially considering the prices are similar to this Dell.

  3. Diego

    June 22, 2022 at 7:08 pm

    Derek, very nice review as always. Im looking for an upgrade later this year (still waiting for some refresh from razer to the book and the surface laptop 4), but as of right now, between this one and Asus ZenBook S 13.. Is it possible for u to post a side by side comparison? I have the measurements, and know this one is smaller but just a lit bit heavier.

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 22, 2022 at 10:37 pm

      I don't think I'll be reviewing that one but I can take a look in my local store and see if they have one I could tinker with a little bit.

  4. Alex

    June 24, 2022 at 8:28 am

    I just received my XPS 13 plus this week and am really turned off by how hot it gets.

    I really love the design, screen, and speed but the heat is a real dealbreaker, even with running in cool mode.

    Are you aware of any comparable laptops that run much cooler? I prefer PC but I am intrigued by these new Apple M2 chips assuming their lower power consumption equates to less heat. I'm just not a fan of the bottom tier retina displays. That XPS OLED is so nice…

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 24, 2022 at 9:16 am

      As far as I can tell, Derek's thermal readings are showing that this laptop actually runs cooler than other ultraportables of the same size and with similar specs.

      If you need something that feels cooler to the touch, my suggestion would be to go with an option that's not made out of bare aluminum, but rather magnesium/plastic/carbon fiber alloys. Or/and go with a lower-power hardware platform. Something like the ThinkPad X1 Nano comes to mind, but up to you if it's fast enough.

  5. Tim Wilson

    June 24, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    My Dell Gaming Laptop died in 4/6 months. Warranty was useless. Dell took 87 days to refund after a long fight with them….Never buy Dell

  6. Sanaz

    June 24, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Thank you for the thorough review.
    I need this laptop for machine learning works.
    Is it suitabale?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 24, 2022 at 10:02 pm

      I don't know much about what's required for machine learning. Assuming it doesn't need a GPU though, it's probably fine. The CPU in this little laptop is pretty powerful, especially if you go the 14-core route.

  7. Michael

    June 25, 2022 at 2:16 pm

    Can you say something about Coil whine?
    I have a XPS 13 Plus since yesterday. On Battery or with Dell AC Connector everything is fine.
    You can hear it minimal.

    But when i plug in the 13 Plus in my Dock (LG 4K Monitor with 90W PD), then you can hear relativly loud coil whine.

    Can you test this with your unit?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 25, 2022 at 2:35 pm

      I don't have any coil whine on or off the charger. But I don't have a dock at home to test either. Will check next time I'm in the office on Monday.

  8. neotexh

    June 26, 2022 at 12:42 pm

    Nice Laptop Design, although that battery is definitely is not good for an ultraportable (?) correct me if I'm wrong
    And do you have any chance to review the G15 from 2022 since it didn't get as many reviews on youtube as last year..

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 26, 2022 at 1:00 pm

      Slim chances on the 2022 Zeph G15 from me.

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 26, 2022 at 1:00 pm

      If you mean the Dell G15 then probably not. We don't get many review units from Dell so we'd have to purchase one.

      If you meant the Asus g15, that's something that Andrei might cover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.