Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

Huawei Matebook 14 review (AMD Ryzen 5 4600H, 3:2 display)

10 Comments

  1. Colin

    December 5, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    Hi @Andrei,
    Thanks for this review that also helps me build my opinion about the Honor MagicBook Pro.
    I expect this latter, with its 16" chassis, to better cool the processor and let it run at lower temperature or higher performance level.

    By the way, I would like to point out an error in the specs : the dimensions you mentionned match with a classic 16/9e 14" chassis.
    Dimensions advertised by Huawei are 307.5 mm (w) x 223.8 mm (d) x 15.9 mm (h).

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 6, 2020 at 12:11 pm

      Thanks, you're right about the dimensions. Updated.

  2. Piotr K.

    December 6, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 7, 2020 at 10:22 am

      Right. Sry for the confusion, and updated

  3. wck

    December 6, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    The name of this laptop is Matebook 14,not D14.
    They are different.

  4. Rev

    December 6, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    Slight mistake, the model D does not have 4600H, it is just Matebook 14, please double check it but so far this is how it is in EU

  5. Garett

    January 7, 2021 at 7:12 pm

    Thank you for a very fair review of the Matebook 14. I am still facing some difficulty deciding if I should purchase this laptop.

    I understand that at 15% more of its price, I could buy Asus UM425IA which has a 4700U processor, a larger battery and weighs considerably lighter. At the same price point, I could also get a matebook 14 with the 4800H processor and a touch screen. Unfortunately, Huawei has not brought that into my country yet.

    Would be grateful if you could share your thoughts on this. Should I spend a bit more to get the UM425IA? Or should I wait on the chance that Huawei brings in the 4800H alternative? Are there worth the higher prices?

    I will be using the laptop for both work and leisure. The former involves lots of reading (dozens of Chrome tabs, PDF, Google Drive and word documents open at the same time) and handling of large Excel databases. The latter would really be just be Netflix and music.

    Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 7, 2021 at 8:00 pm

      You don't need the Ryzen 7 4800U for those activities, but if possible, I'd get a configuration with 16 GB of RAM with either Ryzen 5 or Ryzen 7 processor.

      The choice is mostly between the 3:2 display with a brighter panel on the MateBook, and the lighter weight and larger battery of the ZenBook, as well as the fact that the MateBook is glossy and the ZenBook is matte. Hard choice, I personally would lean towards the ZenBook because I resent glossy non-touch displays, but that's just me. Also, the ZenBook has been around for a while and perhaps you could hunt for some discounts if not in a hurry.

  6. Pi

    January 13, 2021 at 12:19 am

    Hello Andrei, thank you for your detailed review! This laptop is one of the two I'm considering, with the M1 MacBook Air. In particular, the two configurations I'm evaluating are respectively:
    Matebook 14 R5 4600H 16GB/512GB for about 850 euros;
    Macbook Air M1 8GB/256GB for about 1050 euros.
    I'm a Machine Learning student, so the main use of the notebook would be related with coding and training some ML models, besides doing some browsing and other basic stuff.
    My concerns are as follows:
    Is it worth to spend 200 euros more for the MacBook?
    Is it convenient to invest on a 8GB of RAM device? Besides, I read that these 8GB devices use a lot of swap memory which should adversely affect the life of the non-replaceable ssd. Do you think this can have a significant impact on longevity?

    Thanks in advance :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 13, 2021 at 8:49 am

      You're probably put that extra memory to good use with your needs, so I'd favor the Huawei. Also, think about whether all your coding software is going to properly run on ARM M1 hardware, that alone might be a reason to go with a more standard x86 architecture

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *