Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus Zenbook UX302LG Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX302LG / UX302 review – the GAMING 13 inch ultrabook

213 Comments

  1. Aegrum

    October 7, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Thunderbolt?! Really?! Can you confirm via Device Manager that Thunderbolt is present? (under System devices)

    The thunderbolt > vga adapter could just be a mini-displayport > vga as they’re the exact same thing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 7, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      Well, I haven’t find anything about THunderbolt under device manager. And since i don’t have any Thunderbolt device to test the port with…

      I don’t know what to say here, it might be just a Mini Display port. But that Thunderbolt Logo sure creates confusion. I’ll try to get a comment from Asus, maybe a list of official specs or something

  2. mark

    October 8, 2013 at 5:38 am

    u should review the dell xps15 with GeForce GT 750M. i know its not the screen size but it looks pretty beasty. with its 3,200 x 1,800 screen. Can it run dota2 natively at that resolution on low?

    i hope so. im deciding wheter to get the xps 15 or ux302 u just reviewed.

    i always check ur site, update it moar!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2013 at 3:40 pm

      Dell’s are a bit difficult to grab over here, but I’ll see what i can do

  3. Jim

    October 9, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Asus put two thunderbolt ports on their ET2300 back in 2012. Here is a comparison of the ET2300’s ports (top) and the UX302’s port (bottom).
    http://i.imgur.com/VRDsyDg.png

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 9, 2013 at 8:48 am

      Uuu, that’s really useful Jim. Thanks, You don’t mind if I’ll add that to the post, do you?

      • Jim

        October 10, 2013 at 8:05 am

        Not at all, I’m curious on your thoughts on it too. I think it would be awesome if it had a thunderbolt port. Having this as a possibility would be pretty sweet….https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZZdwkICE3M

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 10, 2013 at 8:44 am

          still haven’t find anything from Asus yet. hopefully they’ll get back to me

  4. Mark Kramm

    October 9, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    I thought it would have ac WiFi not jut n.

  5. Mister Argyle

    October 9, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Am I reading this correctly? The unit you tested had a Nvidia GeForce GT 630M GPU while the the five variants at the bottom of the article all have the 730M?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 9, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      No, my unit has the same 730 chip. that’s a typo, I’ll go ahead and fix it

  6. Jacob

    October 9, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    What are the other dimensions for the laptop? Width/Depth?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 10, 2013 at 8:43 am

      well, i forgot to measure it properly. but i’d say it has the same footprint as the UX32VD

  7. Kristian

    October 11, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    i didn’t quite understand the deal with the “Warranty void if removed” sticker. Are you able to change the HDD without breaking the warranty?

  8. diego

    October 11, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    where did you get it from? At amazon.com and amazon.de i couldn’t find it yet =/

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      it’s a test lease from Asus, it’s not yet available in stores

  9. Kevin

    October 13, 2013 at 12:38 am

    does SD card stick out of the chassis on the SD card slot??

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 16, 2013 at 11:22 am

      About half of it sticks out

      • kbear

        October 17, 2013 at 3:54 pm

        An SD reader that leaves the card half way out is completely useless on a notebook. What were they thinking??!!

        SD readers are essential for boosting storage if you don’t want to splurge on a large SSD.

  10. Joseph

    October 14, 2013 at 2:27 am

    Is the battery accesible as well? If so it is replaceable without sending it in for service right? Thanks in advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 16, 2013 at 11:23 am

      You can take it out, but I’m not sure of that’s going to void your warranty or not

  11. Markk

    October 17, 2013 at 5:53 am

    Any word on the thunderbolt situation?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2013 at 3:40 pm

      No, but I’m more and more confident that’s just display port. My contacts at Asus couldn’t say anything for sure either

  12. JIm

    October 17, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    “the extra m-sata connector towards the left, which sits empty in our case”

    Does that mean I can buy the 750GB HDD and install my own 256 GB mSATA drive to go along with it? Is it half mSata or full?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2013 at 3:41 pm

      It’s half mSATA

      • Lucian

        October 18, 2013 at 7:32 am

        Right, for the noobs now: how bad “half mSATA” is? Half of rated data transfer speed?…Even worse? Is it even worth it anymore?…
        Another one, Andrei: the configs you posted are much better priced than the ones I could find on foreign shopping portals (I’m a Romanian…)So, are your infos accurate enough to keep the hopes high? Care magazine le vor aduce, deocamdata n-am vazut decat UX301LA pe eMag (sau evoMag…). Si cand, ca nu mai rezist, de doi ani astept ceva similar!!!…

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 18, 2013 at 9:15 am

          Half mSATA means a smaller module, it’s not about the transfer speed. Those configurations are the ones available for the Romanian market. However, each company chooses what they will bring. We should see these in stores in November

          • Lucian

            October 23, 2013 at 4:56 am

            Thanks for the reply, but just to clarify things once and for all:is there a replaceable HDD or there is a bay where you can fit an additional SSD to go along with the HDD (as Jim says…)?
            Cheers!

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 24, 2013 at 11:25 am

            The 7mm 2.5 inch drive can be replaced. In my case, that’s the 256 GB SSD.

            There’s also a half mSATA port available, where Asus plugs their caching 16 GB SSDs on the lower configurations. In theory, it could then take an SSD as the one mentioned by JIM. IN practice, I can’t tell for sure before trying, and I can’t do that, as I don’t have such a drive and I don’t have the laptop around anymire

    • Aegrum

      October 18, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      You’d want to get something like this: http://www.amazon.com/128GB-mSATA-Mini-Half-SATAIII/dp/B00BMV4B7O

      Fits into a half-mSATA size.

  13. kbear

    October 17, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Would it be possible to setup raid 0 in this machine? The UX301 comes with raid 0 out of the box, so was wondering if it’s possible here.

    I don’t think I can get over that silly SD slot design, though.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2013 at 9:17 am

      I don’t think so, but I’ll look into it. What you can do is put a faster SSD inside. Get the standard version with the HDD and replace it with an SSD of your own choice.

      As for the SD card, that has always been the case with Zenbooks and quite a few other ultrabooks as well.

  14. Dominique Delande

    October 18, 2013 at 11:38 am

    It seems that there is a SO-DIMM module. Is it possible to replace the existing module (4GB + 2GB on the motherboard?) to increase the RAM size (say 2+8 GB or 2+16GB)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2013 at 1:32 pm

      you can replace the existing one (4 GB in this case) with an up to 8 GB one.

  15. DF

    October 18, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Hi, I was looking for same great piece of hardware, like ux301 and found this article. At the first blush, it looks like what I wanted (I wanted zenbook infinity with 4558U, cos it has some hope in face of Iris 5100). But there are some differences. So, could you say, is UX302 made premium feel as well as ux301 and has the same level of build quality? Display surface also made from Gorilla Glass 3? Is it really just 2mm bolder than ux301? Thanks in advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2013 at 9:41 am

      Hey DF, I’m currently working at an article and a video comparing these two laptops. it should answer all your questions. should be available in 1-2 days

      • Mihai Pop

        October 23, 2013 at 7:24 pm

        I am waiting forward for your review specially that I am planing to buy one this weekend :D Probably going for the 302.

  16. Cheezzzus

    October 20, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Hey, are the prices you stated with or without taxes. Because on the german amazon de 1350 euro variant is selling for 1600 euros! And in that case I might be better off spending my money on something like the zenbook u500vz…

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      With, in my country, Romania. But like I said, those prices might differ from region to region. Still, that’s too big of a difference to be right. Maybe you should wait a bit for more stores to get this in stock?

      • Cheezzzus

        October 21, 2013 at 6:05 am

        Most probably (hopefully) I was getting a bit anxious because the taxes in Germany are 19% and 1.19*1350 is about 1600. But oh well we’ll see what the future will bring, one thing is sure though: I’m definitely buying this combination of the beauty and the beast ;)

  17. jorrms

    October 20, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Hello!
    Please, talk a little slower and clearer. Also please refrain from saying “anyway” all the time, it tends to get a bit annoying.. :) Great review otherwise!

  18. Alex

    October 22, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Do you have any word on the international availability of UX301/UX302?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 24, 2013 at 11:22 am

      Should be available by early November, from what I’ve been told

  19. Mark

    October 22, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Hi! Thanks for the review. I have been waiting for anyone to review this unit. Anyway, how is the screen? Does it have any backlight bleeding issues? I just hope that Asus already fixed that as it is a very common issue in the previous zenbook series.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 24, 2013 at 11:23 am

      Yes, some backlight bleeding is present on the lower part of the frame, like with all Zenbooks tested before. otherwise, it’s good, see the video

  20. Alan Chan

    October 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Did you get a chance to try to open up the monitor in addition to opening up the bottom of the laptop? I would have loved a fixit teardown to see how hard it would be to upgrade the wireless antennas from 2X2 wireless to a 3X3, especially since 802.11AC is coming out.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 24, 2013 at 11:26 am

      I don’t have the tool or the skills those guys have, so unfortunately I can’t do more than what I already did. Sry

  21. diego

    October 24, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    hi, first thanks for the review, i watched all from 301 to 302 reviews you did and it answered all of my questions about them!

    Anyway, i’ve got another for u, kind of specific: i’ld prefer buying the full configuration option (256 SSD and 6gb ram – not 8gb, am I right?), but as you and other reviewers said , it would be bettter buying a cheaper one and upgrade myself. So, my question is, which 256 SSD and 8gb DDR3 module would u recomend for faster performance?

    thanks in advance

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 24, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      I’ll look into this and get a post together in a few days.

      • Ben

        November 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm

        Do you know when this laptop is going to be released.

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 14, 2013 at 9:45 pm

          It’s already available in some countries in Europe, not sure for the rest of the world

  22. Gina

    October 24, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Hello!

    Where can i find the article comparing this with UX301?

    I’ve heard the battery on the UX301 isn’t that good. Bad if comparing to UX31LA. Is the battery on this one just as bad?

    Thanks for a great review!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 24, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      Will e posted tomorrow. I’d say the battery life is somewhat better that on the UX31A. Can’t say much about the UX31LA, but, do not forget that I’ve tested the COre i7-4558U version of the laptops, the COre i5 and i7-4500U options will last longer, given the slower processor

      • Gina

        October 25, 2013 at 7:21 am

        But wasn’t it an i7-4500U on the ux302 you tested?

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 25, 2013 at 8:22 am

          ON the UX302 yes, but that also has the dedicated graphics (on the config I tested). The UX301LA will also be available with the same i-74500U, without the graphics

          • Gina

            October 25, 2013 at 8:48 am

            Yes!

            Well that was exactly my question :) maybe i was unclear :) I will rephrase;

            considering that the UX302 has a dedicated graphics and i7 4500U would you say that it has better or worse battery life than the ux301 you tested with the i7 4558U??

            ( I am interested in a UX302 with i7 4500U with dedicated graphic and the SDD but are a little bit spooked about what i’ve heard about the sister UX301’a battery life)

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 25, 2013 at 9:58 am

            The UX302LG and the UX301LA that I tested have similar battery life results, with let’s say 10% better results for the UX302. that’s because on the UX301LA you have the 28W processor and larger resolution screen, while on the UX302LG you have the graphics.

            A detailed post comparing the two is going to e available soon, it’s mostly finished, and I have a larger section on battery life. Not sure what You’ve seen about the ux301LA, but the one I tested offers 5 to 7 hours of everyday use, 5 when watching more movies and multitasking between more apps, 7+ when using it lightly.

  23. Nilay

    October 25, 2013 at 12:41 am

    I have found Asus Zenbook UX302LA and would like to do a self upgrade of ram and ssd. Which one would you recommend. BTW here is my config, core i5-4200U, 4gb Ram (2gb onboard + 2gb module), 500gb HDD 5400rpm.

    Now i would like to Increase the ram to 10gb (2gb onboard + 8gb module). Can we do that? Which ram module would you recommend that is speedy and consumes less power.

    Also i would like to keep the current 500gb HDD intact and Use the empty ssd msata slot to add an additional SSD may b a 256gb or 512gb if possible. Please suggest.

    Thanks.

    • Nilay

      October 25, 2013 at 12:52 am

      Also does this have an mSata slot or an mSata Mini slot ? By the pic i think its an mSata Mini. Would you be able to measure the ssd slot space in cms and let us know please ?

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 25, 2013 at 8:19 am

        it’s a mini slot

        • Nilay

          October 25, 2013 at 11:36 am

          Thanks. Which SSD and Ram module would you recommend for this model ? I would want to keep the 500GB HDD and add a 256gb SSD or 512gb SSD + 8gb ram module to make total ram of 10gb.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 25, 2013 at 1:51 pm

            I’ll look into that and have a post soon, there was another request for such a post

  24. gadgetingadget

    October 25, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    Thanks for the great reviews. Any word on when these laptops will be released in the US and at what prices? We haven’t really heard much from ASUS since they were announced.

  25. Mark

    October 26, 2013 at 2:10 am

    If I don’t want to spend more than $1300 CDN on an ultrabook, should I wait to see what base configuration will hit the Canada market at a given price point, or just go ahead and buy an UX32VD-DB71, which has an i7-3517U with a 620M?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 28, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      if you’re planning on running games on this one, i’d better get the ux302LG with an I5 and the GT 730M than that config you mentioned.
      or, as an alternative, the cheaper Asus Vivobook S301 (look for the review on the site)

  26. Jiant

    October 26, 2013 at 6:55 am

    Hi mike,

    I’m considering the ux302lg comparing against the gigabyte u24t and a clevo w840sn. Apart from the gorilla glass, looks and touchscreen for the clevo, which one do you think is better value for money. For some reason, no one seems to have reviewed the clevo w840sn yet.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 28, 2013 at 3:22 pm

      haven’t reviewed either the clevo or the gigabyte, so can’t say much about those

  27. Nilay

    October 26, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Thanks a lot, Andrei.

    Eagerly looking forward for that post.

    BTW UX302LA is now available to purchase in USA for $999.

  28. jim

    October 28, 2013 at 1:01 am

    Any word on a release date for the UX302lg in the US? If not what would be your best guess?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 28, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      I was told early November, but take that with a grain of salt

  29. Ryan

    October 29, 2013 at 2:32 am

    Great Review as always! Went to Best Buy here in the USA today. They had the base model UX302LA-BHI5T08 Asus – ZENBOOK 13.3″ Touch-Screen Laptop – 4GB Memory – 500GB Hard Drive. For $999 it’s got everything I need and it’s cheaper then I thought it would be. BUT…. ONLY BLUE!!! Not a huge deal but I hate greasy ass fingerprints and I hope they make this base model in white. Either way this will be my new travel laptop. Keep up the excellent work!

    • Nilay

      October 29, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      Ryan – Can you find out the contents of this based model of UX302LA. Does it come with the blue sleeve and usb adapters and all?

      I am not in the US so unfortunately i can’t find out by visiting bestbuy.

      • JIm

        October 31, 2013 at 12:43 am

        It does here are pictures of somebody who just bought the ux302la from bestbuy… http://i.imgur.com/In9pqsU.jpg

        And here is the forum post…
        http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/734016-asus-ux302-4.html

        There is some good discussion in there about the machine also.

        • Nilay

          October 31, 2013 at 11:40 am

          Thank for the reply Jim, That was my request on that forum for that pics, so GTRagnarok uploaded all the pics, I go there by ID: nilays

          I am gonna put in some more requests and some tests. SO keep following that thread there for more info.

  30. Alan Chan

    October 29, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    @Ryan Thanks for the sighting! It's great to hear that the UX302LA version of the laptop is for sale in the US nationally now. It breeds hope that the UX302LG version will be available soon, as well!

  31. paul

    October 30, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    As always, awesome review from you, Mike!
    Nice to see you’re among the first to have a review of Asus’ newest Zenbook model. Guess it’s about time to replace my 1st gen Zenbook with this one!

  32. Nilay

    November 1, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Mike based on your reviews and GTRagnarok’s discussions info on notebookreview.com forum i finally pulled the trigger and bought this ultrabook. Thanks.

    Now would you be able to suggest me the best 128/256gb mSata Mini SSD to replace the 16gb mSata drive it comes with?

    I will have to buy it today or max by tomorrow or else i will not be able to get it. So a quicker response is appreciated.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 1, 2013 at 9:58 pm

      I haven’t yet managed to properly document on this subject, sry. I will have a post soon, but it might be too late for you by then :(

  33. George

    November 2, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    Thanks for the review! There is hardly any info of the UX302 online so it’s great to see someone has already done an in-depth review. Do you know if the UX302 will only be available in blue or if it will also have a white version like the UX301?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm

      I haven’t heard anything about a white UX302 yet

  34. Carsten

    November 3, 2013 at 9:57 am

    Hi,

    Love this review and have probably read/watched it 10 times. I want this ultrabook – specifically the C4002H version and then upgrade ram/HDD to 8GB/256GB SSD. Are you sure you can upgrade the ram on this model. This site says it will not be possible and max ram is 4gb: http://www.laptopshop.nl/product/371352/category-1289-accessoires/asus-zenbook-touch-ux302lg-c4002h.html

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      All UX302LGs use the same architecture, that site got things wrong. You get 2 GBs soldered and another 2GB DIMM that can be swapped later on for an 8 GB one

  35. Jim

    November 4, 2013 at 6:23 am

    Hi Andrei,
    Asus’s twitter just said ux302lg will not be released in the US, only Canada. Do you think it’s possible they misspoke? Please tell me it is! https://twitter.com/ASUSUSA/statuses/393071975717163008

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 4, 2013 at 10:31 am

      I saw that. I think they know better than I do. I don’t have contacts with Asus US.

    • Alan Chan

      November 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      Lame! I just tweeted them back with a hopeful tweet that they should consider a 2560×1440 touchscreen ultrabook with discrete graphics for 2014 in the US.

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 4, 2013 at 7:32 pm

        i doubt any 1440p ultrabook will be able to run games alright at that resolution. At least not a 13 incher. So I think that’s overkill, you’re buying something for dedicated graphics in order to run games and native resolution with as much details as possible, right?

        • Alan K. Chan

          November 4, 2013 at 7:54 pm

          I'll most likely need to set the detail a bit lower at that resolution but I'll also be using the laptop for other things and I want text to be high DPI, "retina" so to speak, when I am doing work on it. I'm all about getting the most power and versatility in a portable package. That was one of the reasons I followed this blog back in the day called "JK on the Run". It was back when they were running XP on computers the size of a chunky 5" tablet before Android was around. I'm still looking for something small and powerful, that when I'm at home or at work, I can plug in an external monitor and run a high resolution screen but still high resolution when I'm on the road too.

  36. Ravi

    November 4, 2013 at 6:41 am

    “but I did end up pressing it a few times when searching for Delete. In which case, the laptop just goes to sleep, without asking you if you really want it to do that.”

    I think there’s a workaround for that power button. Scripts in AutoHotKey could disable the Power Button for short presses, and enable it for long presses. I haven’t used AutoHotKey much except for text expansion and application shortcuts so I’m not really sure.

    If anyone has a problem with the power button they might wanna check that out.

    Andrei, great review. I love your complete list on Haswell ultrabooks, it’s an invaluable resource when I’m looking for laptops for freshman year!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 4, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Yes, you can disable the power button. But I wish Asus would have thought about that. On Win 7 there was a piece of software that asked you if you’re usre you want to put it to sleep, etc. Looks like it’s missing on the Win 8 versions

  37. Touko

    November 8, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Why can ASUS not manage to make these available half a year after the anouncement, while Sony is selling their Vaio Pros like hotcakes since June!?

    There must be some kind of supply or manufacturing issue…

    Or massive oversupply of last year’s models they’re desperate to sell off first?

    I understand that all PC manufacturers are in trouble, since by necessity of our ponzi-style paper money system, all businesses that borrow require perpetual growth. So, when sales stagnate or drop – even if the drop is small – its immediate trouble.

    So they are all spending tons of R&D money on weird hinges and clunky, expensive hybrids (Bay Trail models excluded) but casual gamers, who are one of few groups who has more of a ‘need’ to upgrade than most others have been all but ignored throughout the Haswell rollout.

    You might say that Haswell is focused on battery life, but exactly the low TDP is also an opportunity to fit a better GPU into the same thermal envelope that was designed into last year’s Ivy Bridge laptops.

    Nobody has done it, lots of people would buy a good implementation.

    And for crissakes make touch screens optional, by allowing all those who don’t want a cosmetics mirror for a display to uncheck that box.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 8, 2013 at 10:37 am

      I so agree with everything you said. There are very few powerful and compact laptops these days. But I’m not sure if building such laptops is actually worth it for these companies. I doubt there are that many potential buyers willing to spend 2g+ on a computer like, let’s say, the Asus UX51VZ (or a successor). But at the same time, the R&D costs for such a device would surely be high. And in a continuously shrinking market, I doubt many can afford those costs

      • Touko

        November 9, 2013 at 11:46 pm

        I remember some nice laptops with dedicated GPUs like the Vaio S, the Acer M5 and the Samsung 8 (euro version) that cost “only” around a thousand bucks and were still pretty small and light.

        That prices for units with a GPU have to be around 2k in 2013 looks an awful lot like the inflation seen in food prices is now showing up in electronics, ending the ever welcome price declines on ever better gear.

        Or is it just the fault of all those obsessed phone and tablet buyers starving PC manufacturers?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 14, 2013 at 10:01 pm

          I was thinking about that lately as well. It’s strange how PC makers have been pushing their prices UP, while Apple have been pushing theirs down (while cutting things like dedicated graphics on the base MBP or not including a high res screen on the AIR). I’m pretty sure Apple got it right (or more right, if that could be said) and ultrabook makers wrong. Price is extremely important for most users, not to mention the overpraised BRAND behind Apple’s MacBooks.

          A decent priced 13 incher with dedicated graphics is the Vivobook S301 from Asus, although that AMD chip is not very fast. Besides that, most options are easily North of $1000. That’s wrong. Ultrabooks should get way cheaper if they were to stand a chance, given how everything is getting mobile these days (tablets, phones).

  38. darklight1113

    November 13, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    when will this be in the usa will it be out by november?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 14, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      I’ve heard rumors that It’s not going to be available in the US at all this year, only in Canada. talk to Asus US for more details

  39. jerry

    November 14, 2013 at 7:30 am

    were you able to find out if the mini display is a thunderbolt?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 14, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      No, but I’m almost sure that it’s just a regular DP. the logo got me confused

  40. Andrew

    November 15, 2013 at 3:34 am

    is there any place i can gat it shipped to the us? and were did you here the rumours?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      It will be available in Canada. The rumors came from Asus’s US official Twitter account. Or North America Asus, i think someone posted about this in a previous comment here

  41. Nemanja

    November 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    Compliment for your high-quality reviews, they provide a helpful insight.

    One more question : Working as an online video-reporter, I need to purchase a laptop with good video-editing performance. Could you be more specific concerning the video editing and transcoding skills of this unit (Useful machine for Adobe premiere pro ?) ?

    I am highly tempted to switch to a light 13-incher with dedicated graphics (at last!) and SSD, yet I’m unsure about the real possibilities of the dual-core Processor and the Nvidia gm 730 for this kind of use- especially as the latter is not listed as supported by Premiere on Adobe CC’s requirements page. Can you estimate how much of a stepback this laptop would be for this kind of tasks compared to an Ivy Bridge rMBP 15 ? Of course quad core is stronger, but how much ? I’m hesitating between this two different models, but am leaning towards the much lighter machine if difference in transcoding time is not too important. Would be an awesome help to me.

    Thanks for your expertise and greetings from France.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      I haven’t tried it in premiere and I don’t know if Premiere recognizes and uses the graphics to accelerate processes.

      However, I did use this and the UX301 in Movie maker for somethig very basic, and the X301 was faster, with the 28 W processor.

      What’s the processors inside the rMBP 15? The exact code? I can’t find it anywhere.

      I’m pretty sure this processor will be faster then the 4500U in the 302LG, I’d say maybe 20-30% faster at least, given how the 28 W dual-core CPU inside the UX301 was also faster, and that at its term is going to be slower than what’s inside the rmbp

      • stacey

        December 3, 2013 at 12:18 am

        Hi again,
        Have another question about the 302. After reading your great review, & then reading this one digitaltrends.com/laptop-reviews/asus-zenbook-ux301la-review/ I have another question for you. The above review talks about the RGB color, & the not so great blacks of the 301 more of a charcoal gray than black on the screen. Did you notice this with the 302? Was the black more of a dark gray? Thank you again, Stacey

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 3, 2013 at 3:02 pm

          Hi again,
          Have another question about the 302. After reading your great review, & then reading this one digitaltrends.com/laptop-reviews/asus-zenbook-ux301la-review/ I have another question for you. The above review talks about the RGB color, & the not so great blacks of the 301 more of a charcoal gray than black on the screen. Did you notice this with the 302? Was the black more of a dark gray? Thank you again, Stacey

          I do not have a colorimeter, so cant’ say much about the RGB. However, from the reviews I’ve seen, the UX301 has quite an accurate display when it comes to colors. As for the blacks, yes, the screen is somewhat too bright and the blacks are on the dark-grayish side, but I had no problem with those unless I kept the screen at 100% brightness. Which, to be frank, is not something anyone would do very often, given how bright this screen is.

          All in all though, there’s an overall very good screen on this Asus. Not perfect, but in my opinion, better than what you’re getting on most other ultrabooks

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 3, 2013 at 3:04 pm

          I do not have a colorimeter, so cant’ say much about the RGB coverage. However, from the reviews I’ve seen (trustworthy sources, notebookcheck.net for instance), the UX301 has quite an accurate display when it comes to colors. As for the blacks, yes, the screen is somewhat too bright and the blacks are on the dark-grayish side, but I had no problem with those unless I kept the screen at 100% brightness. Which, to be frank, is not something anyone would do very often, given, again, how bright this screen is.

          All in all though, there’s an overall very good screen on this Asus. Not perfect, but in my opinion, better than what you’re getting on most other ultrabooks

          • stacey

            December 10, 2013 at 10:33 am

            Thank you so much for the response!! It seems the more I read, the more questions I have, don’t mean to bother, but since you are the only one with hands on experience doing reviews, I feel your the best one to ask :) I’m trying to make up my mind between the 301LA & the 302LG high ends on both.

            So here is my question, I use Adobe suit CS5 will upgrade to CS6 photoshop with 3d illustrator dreamweaver, etc. I want be able to use 1 or 2 of these programs, the internet with lets say 6-8 tabs, email, and maybe 1 other program like file zilla all running at once & hopefully not have to close anything if this is possible.

            In reading CPU & GPU performance comparisons here http://versus.com/en/intel-core-i7-4500u-vs-intel-core-i7-4558u#intel-core-i7-4558u & here http://www.game-debate.com/gpu/index.php?gid=1782&gid2=1248&compare=iris-graphics-5100-mobile-vs-geforce-gt-730m

            The intel 4558U vs intel 4500U I read 40 vs 20. 20 more GPU execution units.GPU with a greater number of execution units can deliver better graphics. I guess what I don’t understand is what is meant by better? Does this mean the quality of the image, sharper?

            In the 2nd link gaming is compared between the 2 graphics cards of the UX301 & UX302 this is said, “In terms of overall gaming performance, the graphical capabilities of the Nvidia GeForce GT 730M are noticeably better than the Intel Iris Graphics 5100 Mobile.”
            “The GeForce GT 730M has a 325 MHz higher core clock speed and 24 more Texture Mapping Units than the Graphics 5100. This results in the GeForce GT 730M providing 20 GTexel/s better texturing performance. This still holds weight but shader performance is generally more relevant, particularly since both of these GPUs support at least DirectX 10.”
            “The GeForce GT 730M has a 325 MHz higher core clock speed and 12 more Render Output Units than the Graphics 5100. This results in the GeForce GT 730M providing 10 GPixel/s better pixeling performance.”
            “The GeForce GT 730M has 4096 MB video memory, but the Graphics 5100 does not have an entry, so the two GPUs cannot be reliably compared in this area”

            If it doesn’t have Vram then should I even consider it?

            “The Iris Graphics 5100 Mobile has 160 Shader Processing Units and the GeForce GT 730M has 384. However, the actual shader performance of the Graphics 5100 is 784. The Graphics 5100 having 400 better shader performance is not particularly notable, as altogether the GeForce GT 730M performs better when taking into account other relevant data”

            What I’m trying to determine is what does this mean in terms of photoshop 3d rendering speed? I’m not concerned in the least with power/energy consumption, just performance quality & colors, including blacks, rendering speeds, file transfer speeds, on one hand it sounds like the UX301’s processor is 30% faster but on the other hand it sounds like UX302’s graphics are 50% better quality & speed?
            So I guess then the question is which should win out, CPU or Graphics in these 2 computers? If you are unsure as to which 1 I should choose can you recommend someone to ask that might know the answer? Not only is it a high ticket item, but 1 I will be using for many years before it can be replaced. Thank you again for your patience & knowledge!! Kindly, Stacey

          • Andrei Girbea

            December 13, 2013 at 7:29 pm

            Stacey, you should not rely on these spec comparing websites, they are confusing.

            For your needs, both the I7-4500U and the i7-4558U should do fine, if paired with 8 GB of RAM.

            The 4558U will offer a performance boost in most programs. If you’ve read the review, I’ve compared the 4500u and the 4558U when rendering a video and the 4558 is 10-20% faster. So in real life, that’s what you should expect in terms of speed gains, up to 20% (but usually less).

            Of course, there are many variables (what you’re doing, drivers, SSD speeds, etc). If you’ll be using programs that can benefit from the GT 635M graphics chip in the UX302LG, the gap might get smaller. However, you’ll only trully benefit from the graphics in the UX302 when running games. that’s it. Except for these, the UX301LA with the i7-4558U will outperform it, despite the fact that on paper, the UX302 might seem superior. And that’s because software like Photoshop, Premiere and most others rely more on CPU power than on graphics.

            Hope this helps, Andrei

  42. Tim

    November 16, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    thanks for the insight into this machine, not a lot of info out there right now. how would, in your opinion, the Asus Ux302lg in top configuration with ssd and 10gb of ram perform in hd video editing tasks with, say, adobe premier pro and 1080p avchd footage?

  43. Stefano

    November 22, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Where did you buy it? Because if you tried it, means that i can buy it. I asked this afternoon to Asus (or better..to a person that i know, working for Asus) that in Taiwan has been decided to stop the production of this specific ultrabook, so in other countries. How could this information be wrong?
    If you think i’m wrong, please tell me how can i find it even on internet. Thanks

  44. Stefano

    November 23, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Why did you delete my comment? Or better why didn’t you approved it? :-(

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2013 at 1:02 pm

      Moderating comments takes a bit of time, sorry for the inconvenience :)

      • Stefano

        November 27, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        Could you answer me please? I even accept a response like: “I can’t tell you where or i don’t know”. Thank you so much :-)

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 27, 2013 at 7:16 pm

          Sry, I missed your previous comment. I haven’t bought it, I received it from Asus as a test sample. It was available in stores for a little while here in Romania, but it’s not anymore. Don’t know exactly WHEN it’s going to be available again, for the moment

  45. Nick

    November 27, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    Do you still have the ux302la? could you plug in a ubuntu live image usb stick and see, if the most important stuff is working (sound, touchscreen, touchpad, microphone, webcam, etc.) or aren’t you in linux anyways?

    thx!

    Nick

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      I only had the UX302LG and I’ve returned it a while ago, sry

  46. Morten

    December 3, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Hi

    Great review and youtube videos.

    If you upgrade the UX302 HDD version with say a samsung 840 pro ssd, wouldn’t that be way better at handeling games than the UX301? Or does the faster read and write speed not have an effect on performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 3, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      Morten, the SSD won’t have a big impact on gaming performances. games will load faster, but that’s the biggest improvement you’ll see.

      Regardless, the UX302LG delivers superior gaming performances to the UX301LA, given the dedicated graphics chip on this unit.

  47. Nabuco

    December 4, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Hello Andrei! Thank you for another excellent, direct-to-the-point review.

    Even though I love the convenience of an ultrabook, I am always a little apprehensive about the unavoidable deterioration of the battery. Do you know if, for this particular model, a sufficiently skilled person could order a new battery from Asus and replace it when the time comes?

    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      In theory, yes. But I don’t know if Asus sells these types of batteries or if they will ever sell them. That’s a longer story and I should look into it and have a post about that on the site

  48. Alexander

    December 9, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Just recieved 302lg.. The touchpad isnt working properly.

  49. Jeffrey

    December 9, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    Good review thanks, could you please tell me if the dedicated graphics is DDR3 or DDR5 ? I guess GDDR5 would be a faster clocked one. Please confirm.

    I see that though (14inch) Aspire v7-482PG-9884 has 4gb of dedicated graphics it is still ddr3 so was curious about this one.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm

      It’s GDDR3 if I remember correctly. See the HW Info picture in the Hardware and Performances section

  50. Maverick Sim

    December 13, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    Thank to you review, it was very helpful for me. I just wanna ask how annoying is the sharp forward lip when typing? how bad it is?

    thank you!

  51. Nick

    December 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Now I got hands on and installed Ubuntu Linux (14.04 daily alpha)

    As far as I can see, almost everything works out of the box, including

    – touchscreen & pad
    – sound
    – suspend/resume
    – to be tested is still microphone & webcam

    what is NOT working is currently the brightness levels, it runs only with full brightness.

    you should follow the ux301la installation notes on ubuntu forums (disable secure boot in bios in order to be able to boot from a stick), edit the grub menu line and add “nomodeset” where is “quiet splash”, otherwise screen stays black after boot).

    rgs

    Nick

  52. Alex.

    December 16, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    probably a stupid question:
    can the empty mSATA slot be used with let us say 128GB mSATA as an OS disk?

    BR Alex.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      there’s only room for a half-sized mSATA drive in there. In theory, it can be used for a boot drive, but I haven’t tried it myself, so better dig though the forums for more details

  53. Nike

    December 24, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Hi;

    SSD drive, graphics card and RAM

    Can be upgraded later?

    I can use, the display card alternatives do I have?

    Thanks

  54. Nike

    December 24, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Hello
    * Later Graphic Card, SSD and RAM installed Does?
    * For the graphics card, different alternatives do I have?
    * These changes disrupt Does Warranty?
    Thanks

    • Alan K. Chan

      January 7, 2014 at 4:44 pm

      Um, it's a laptop. Graphics is integrated so you'll want to look at a different laptop if you want a different video card. If you really want the flexibility of swapping out graphics cards, you'll want to buy a desktop computer with PCIe x16 slots instead. Very few laptops allow you to change out the video card. And yes, traditionally, opening up your laptop and swapping out parts voids their warranty. There's a reason why they use torx screws to discourage the average user from opening up the laptop.

  55. wathando mughandira

    December 26, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Well, I got this Asus model from Best Buy, San Diego, CA. After a few days it just shut down and could not start again. So I checked on the internet and I was told to unscrew the back with 11 screws using TORx screwdrivers and disconnet battery from main board and connect it to the main. It switched back on. Now the annoying thing is this keeps happening every week!!! Why? I’m about to let it go!

    • Alan K. Chan

      January 7, 2014 at 4:46 pm

      Was this on the UX302LA or the UX302LG model? As far as I know, if you want the UX302LG laptop in the US, it has to be imported from another country like Canada while the UX302LA is available widely including at Best Buy.

  56. e11world

    January 9, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    I would love to get something like this but with a screen that turns into a tablet. If anyone knows of such a device please let me know. I’ve done so much research already.

  57. Andrew

    January 19, 2014 at 9:47 am

    Hi Andrei,
    Thanks for the review. I’d really like to get the 301 but finances don’t allow so I was wondering what my options are to increase the RAM of the 302? can I only increase it from 6 to 8 gb or can I install a ‘larger’ chip? Can you suggest a chip?
    Also, I don’t mind the HDD/SSD setup but if I was to go to a full SSD system can you also suggest a good unit? I’d be interested in something around the 500gb range.
    thanks for your time

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      Hey Andrew, I haven’t upgraded it myself, so can’t really suggest any good units. Head over to the forums on notebookreview.com, you’ll surely find there a few others who upgraded their units and can help with specific modules.

      As for the RAM, I don’t think you can get 8 GB on the UX302. Either 2, 6 or 10, since it comes with 2 GB soldered and you can then add either a 4 GB or and 8 GB extra stick

      • Andrew

        January 19, 2014 at 10:41 pm

        Ok, thanks for that information, I’ll go checkout notebook review!

  58. Nick Constantino

    January 21, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Thanks for the post!

    Do you know where I could buy the ASUS UX302LG in C4014 config with an english(US keyboard is fine) keyboard for delivery to the UK?

    Asus UK are only stocking the LA and I can only one company in Germany willing to send but they only stock German layouts.

    Many thanks

    Nick

  59. Maverick

    January 24, 2014 at 2:35 am

    Hi Andrei
    what do you mean by this “As for temperatures, nor the hardware inside or the laptop’s body get annoyingly hot in any conditions, not even when running games for hours.”

    does it get hot? or it doesn’t get hot? its confusing me. thank you Andrei!

  60. Sourav

    January 26, 2014 at 11:39 am

    Is it avilable in india? where can I get it and at what price?

  61. angry reader

    January 28, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    Just bought the UX302LA.

    Seriously disappointed!!

    I actually purchased based on your review stating battery life of 6-7 hours. However it is more like 3-4 hours with standard use as you describe! I feel cheated and will not be reading your reviews any longer.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2014 at 3:42 pm

      which version of the UX302LA did you purchase? And how exactly are you using it (which power mode, level of screen brightness). I’m sorry if I misguided you in any way, but I hope you understand that these battery life expectations vary on a lot of factors…

      • angry reader

        February 27, 2014 at 1:28 pm

        Of course battery life will vary depending on usage however even if i leave it on the desk doing nothing but displaying the desktop at 50% brightness i do not get 7 hours. i get 5.2.

        Also your complimentary remarks about the keyboard and trackpad are seriously erroneous. This keyboard is absolutely terrible. The worst i have ever owned. Feels very cheap. The switch mechanism underneath the keys is poor quality. The left shift key on mine has so much x/y movement that occasionally i press it and it gets stuck on the metal. The top arrow key is permanently depressed on one model i received (i went through 4 models before settling on the least defective one i could find). Even worse, the whole keyboard is bulging! Everything from around the F key is lifted up (keys and metal frame around keys). From the F key to the enter key there is about 4-5mm height difference. That is serious keyboard bulge and all 4 i received has this defect!!!

        Other defects include the left front foot floating off the desk and the feet on the monitor not touching the desk evenly when opened.

        A very poor product not living up to the class standard it tries to fit itself into. I really wanted to like this system but its is so full of flaws I am disappointed they were not adequately reported in your review.

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 28, 2014 at 10:13 am

          I’m not usually publishing reviews from someone who DOES NOT GIVE A PROPER NAME AND EMAIL. I will make an exception for now, but please come back and put a name to what you’re saying. I’m not saying you’re wrong and I’m sry for your experience, but I usually don’t trust anonymous reviews.

          • angry reader

            February 28, 2014 at 12:05 pm

            My real name is Edmund Lithgow but that is irrelevant. You have my IP as well. Thats enough id.

            Dont trust that what i am saying? Why should we trust what you are saying? Does Asus compensate you for reviews? I am just trying to warn others that read your glowing review and may be mislead. There is a thread on notebook review that has a lot of real world comments from actual owners. forum.notebookreview.com/asus/734016-asus-ux302-36.html
            If you read through it you will find that:
            -they frequently mention a battery life lower than achieved in your review.
            -they frequently mention a warped keyboard and other keyboard defects.

            So next time maybe you can do a better review. or risk losing readers.

            Thanks for your time.

            Im out!

          • Andrei Girbea

            March 1, 2014 at 9:56 pm

            Well, one thing is for sure: Asus does not pay me anything for this reviews. In fact, no company does. that’s not the point.

            I did not argue about what you said, I just don’t like anonymous comments. And don’t trust them. that’s all.

            As for the keyboard/battery, I do my best to write as thorough reviews as possible, based on the product I got to test. While the battery life figures are really subjective, I didn’t find the keyboard that bad. Again, that’s just my opinion, based on all the other laptops I’ve ever tried. It’s not the best keyboard out there, that’s for sure, but it’s clearly not as bad.

            Bottom point, I really appreciate the fact that you took your time and posted this feedback. And I thank you for that. Hopefully the other readers will find it useful.

          • alit putra

            March 27, 2014 at 3:27 pm

            Why you dont test it before you buy it ?
            Actualy, iam trust this review. Why ?
            Becouse this site almost complate review than other review site

            Sorry when iam wrong say english league :)

        • Toni Sundqvist

          March 3, 2014 at 8:58 am

          Guess I’m a bit late to the party, but reading this I instantly remembered that I had read about the battery life issue before in another review.
          I do not own this laptop myself so I cannot really confirm this, but this review suggested that the turning off the “screen backlight management system” in the power options, they got approximately two more hours of battery life. Hope that might help.
          Review: trustedreviews.com/asus-zenbook-ux302_Laptop_review

          I don’t think Mike should be blamed for making an honest analysis on a model he receives. For a complete picture you cannot rely on only one review alone and make a purchase thinking you’ll know exactly what you get.

          • Andrei Girbea

            March 3, 2014 at 10:33 pm

            Hmm, thanks for pointing that. I DID turn Auto-brightness OFF on the laptop for this review. In fact, that’s something I do with every laptop I ever test. I will add this small update to the review.

        • Walter Penfield

          March 8, 2014 at 8:07 pm

          I have owned this laptop for about a month now, and can say that I can’t agree less with this reader.

          I admit I only tried one out other than the one I own, but both keyboard were very reasonable. Although I dislike chiclet style keyboards in general, this one functions well, has less give than some HP laptops I tried, and I have had no problems with movement.

          I’m not the world’s greatest fan of the trackpad, but it does work well, just not as well as the Macbook trackpads, which I knew before I even started looking into the laptop.

          Additionally, the overall build quality is top notch, with no pixel problems and good fit and finish.

          As a final note, my battery life expectancy has run between 5 and 6.5 hours with lower intensity usage (word processor/pdf/excel, occasional web browsing), with the higher battery life coming with a low screen brightness and wifi mostly off.

          Overall I’ve been impressed. And I must thank Andrei for the sensible review.

    • kimmy

      March 2, 2014 at 3:48 pm

      his review was on the ux302lg not the ux302la
      the ux302la is the cheaper version

  62. Jacob

    February 2, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    Can the ux302 be upgraded to 20gb of ram if you use a 16gb ram card like this one?
    amazon.com/Corsair-Channel-SODIMM-Memory-CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9/dp/B006DI9PG8/ref=pd_sim_sbs_e_1

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2014 at 3:58 pm

      no. read Hardware section of the review and you’ll see that this laptop can only take an up to 8 GB DIMM in the only available slot, for a total of 10 GBs. You could put a bigger module in there, but best case scenario, only 8 GBs will be usable, and worst case scenario, it won’t work at all

  63. pepelepe

    February 28, 2014 at 12:14 am

    Only below model is available in my country:
    Zenbook UX302LG-C4007H – Intel Core i7-4500U, Nvidia 730M, 750 GB HDD + 16 GB SSD, 8 GB RAM

    What if I replace 16gb cache memory (which is Sandisk U110 mSATA micro) with a greater capacity mSATA micro of the same brand, such as Sandisk U110 128gb? Is it possible then to install Windows onto the SSD and use 750gb HDD as storage only?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 28, 2014 at 10:19 am

      I haven’t tried doing it myself, so can’t comment on that. Best thing you can do is head to the Owner’s Lounge at forum.notebookreview.com and ask if others have done it. It it’s possible, others sure did it already. Or at least tried

  64. Ryan

    February 28, 2014 at 6:00 am

    I bought a UX302LG after reading your review. My product came with 8GB of RAM, 256GB SSD, and GT730M Dedicated Graphics. It is a beautiful laptop, but my only problem with it is battery life. On your review you said it survived from 6.5 to 7 hours, but on my computer I struggle to get to 5 hours with brightness at 50% and wi-fi on. Is there a possible reason for this, and is there anything I can do to increase battery life on my computer?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 28, 2014 at 10:22 am

      The entire battery life thing is very subjective. Yes, with my usage scenario, the UX302LG lasted 6-7 hours. Maybe you’re running more videos or other things that put the CPU and graphics to work? As long as you have the latest BIOS and Power4Gear version, I don’t think there’s anything else you can do right now. But I’ll look into it

      • Garion

        March 23, 2014 at 9:01 am

        I’m using the laptop, battery lasted more than 6 hours with default settings however I’m only having documents (Microsoft word)and IE open.

  65. trixo

    March 1, 2014 at 12:25 am

    Here is a good hint about batterie life : trustedreviews.com/asus-zenbook-ux302_Laptop_review

    That confort both battery life experience.

    Enjoy

  66. Kevin

    March 2, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Hi! just wanted to say I found your review to be very thorough and helpful. I’m a senior about to go to college next year and i’m trying to find the most appropriate ultrabook for college. aside from the usual word editing and web browsing I was hoping to get a laptop that could handle some light gaming ex: counter strike, battlefront 2, minecraft, half-life 2 etc. while I do not need to run games like bioshock infinite and skyrim, i still want to get decent framerates and preformance. so my question is, will i be able to get what i need through the standard UX301la (which i prefer aesthetically) or should I look into getting the UX302lg. thank you! (btw im in the us so im not sure is the 302lg is even available yet?)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 3, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      Hey Kevin. Well, as long as you’re OK with running those games in 13 x 7 with medium details, you should get playable frame-rates with any Intel HD 4400 equipped ultrabook. I did run a couple of games on the Sony Vaio Duo 13 with that kind of graphics, so you might want to have a look at the review here on the site.

      So, to answer your question, yes, the UX301LA (base version, with the COre i5-4200U CPU) should run those games OK. However, if you want to run them on native FHD resolution or need higher levels of details, you should look at someting with some sort of dedicated graphics, or even the Core i7-4558U version of the UX301LA

      • Kevin

        March 5, 2014 at 2:04 am

        Thank you very much!

  67. Ryan

    March 6, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you for that information on how to elongate battery life. Mine now lasts for 10 hours! And to what I said before, this is an absolutely beautiful laptop. The body feels sturdy and strong and the aluminium finish is beautiful, the keypad is perfect and has the right amount or travel, the touchpad is so good, with very little grip, I now use it instead of a mouse.The screen is also beautiful. And now I can comment on battery life. 10 hours! Who needs more than that? I highly recommend this laptop. (As long as you can afford it)I even believe the troubles you have with it are superficial. The sharp edge is not really that bad, and for the “delete key” On button, have a look at the Mac Book Pro. Where is their on button? Overall, this laptop really has almost no flaws. I have even done some CAD work on it, and the NVIDIA graphics card is the perfect tool for this level of detail. Thank you so much for the review on this laptop, I wouldn’t have wanted anything else.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2014 at 10:17 am

      Hey Ryan, what exactly did you do to make it last 10 hours on a charge? Could you elaborate for a bit? thanks

      • Ryan

        March 7, 2014 at 9:06 pm

        Hey Andrei, I got my battery life to last like it did through a few means; firstly I turned off the auto brightness, and then turned off backlit keyboard. I also turned down the brightness on my screen to about 30%, as there is no real difference! Finally, I went through my settings, and found areas I could turn off, (Such as bluetooth). Hope this helps!

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 10, 2014 at 3:35 pm

          Thanks, Ryan!

        • Anthony E.

          June 5, 2014 at 7:24 pm

          I have my settings similar to Ryan, and I can do two full library sessions and still have about 20 percent battery left over. My library sessions involve writing code and sometimes booting up the Android emulator and they last 5 hours (2 x 5h sessions = 10 hours.)

          I have gone days with less than that time though, that’s usually if I put it in high performance mode for whatever reason. And on those days, I get at least 5 hours before needing to plug it in.

          Another thing that may help, that most people overlook, is to FOLLOW THE MANUFACTURER’S INSTRUCTIONS WHEN PERFORMING THE INITIAL CHARGE OF THE BATTERY!

          P.S. You handled yourself really well with “Angry Reader” Andrei. And, thanks for the review. This website was instrumental in helping me decide on a new laptop when I made the UX302LG purchase in February. Keep up the great work!

          • Andrei Girbea

            June 5, 2014 at 8:38 pm

            10 hours really sounds awesome and it’s more than I ever got with this machine. I’d reckon you turn the AC Off, dim down the screen, turn OFF keyboard illumination and keep it on the Power Saving mode for this result?

            As for the PS, I’d reckon there will always be some dissatisfied customers, each manufacturer should do their best to fix their problems. I empathize with them, but I just don’t think posting angry Anonymous comments on the Internet solves anything. And I’m glad my articles helped you ;)

  68. Josh

    March 11, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Dear Andrei

    I’ve been looking to purchase the UX302LG in the US but for the life of me cannot find a retailer that sells the model with the discrete graphics card…and the “show me discounts” link only take me to the Amazon page with UX301 model. Please help..?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 12, 2014 at 11:49 am

      Sry Josh, I have no contacts with Asus US and can’t say if they will or not bring the discrete option version over there. Best thing you could do is contact Asus North America or some of the bigger shops and ask about it

  69. Ryan

    March 12, 2014 at 8:48 am

    I have had my UX302LG for about a month now, and it is a brilliant laptop. Annoyingly, my space-bar has started to squeak when pressed on the right hand side. Does anyone know why this would do this, as it is really annoying. Can anyone help with a solution to this problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 12, 2014 at 11:51 am

      I encountered the same annoying issue with my test model. Did not find any solution for it, at the time

  70. Kevin

    March 13, 2014 at 5:07 am

    Hey Andrei,

    I’ve been reading a lot about gaming ultrabooks lately. I am currently torn on whether I should try to find a UX302LG, or another very good contender that I found: Aspire V7-482PG-9642.

    I am a college undergrad and I’m not sure whether it’s worth to pay the 400$ difference for what seem to be very similar computers on paper. Perhaps you have had the chance to test them both out. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2014 at 10:46 am

      I haven’t thoroughly tested the V7, but it is for one bulkier than the UX302LG and probably not as carefully built either. I’ve read a few reviews and many were complaining about the trackpad and keyboard. The cooling system is another concern of mine, but you should look into more reviews and see if that’s a problem.

      On the other hand, the V7 is more powerful than the UX302LG (in terms of graphics) and much cheaper. And the UX302LG has some issues of its own. Somy buyers reported clunky keyboard and poor wi-fi performances.

      So, my advice, try to read some USER reviews, from those who actually bought and used these products for more than a week, like most reviewers get to do. those should help you find the potential hidden issues. Expect to find mostly negative aspects in those reviews, but that’s OK, for the positive ones you can read the spec sheets :P And then device based on those pros and cons for each side

  71. Ivan

    March 13, 2014 at 9:28 am

    Hey, I bought this model a week back and I upgraded it to Samsung 840 Evo 500gb and 10gb of ram. I’ve tried playing games on it, pretty darn good for such a slim laptop! I even overclock the GT730m memory to +200, now even able to play Diablo 3 at 1080p with low settings, at average 30fps.

    But the main issue, and worst is the static electric leakage while it’s plugged in! Did anyone of you guys experience this? The grounding is poorly designed imo, so those who wish to test it must be bare footed and with power adapter plugged in, try feeling across all the corners.

    PS: Found mine with dead/bright pixel, going to get it exchanged!

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2014 at 10:46 am

      Yes, static leakage was present on my test unit, but I can’t say it bothered me that much

  72. FaqyaK

    March 13, 2014 at 9:40 am

    Salut, super tare acest ultrabook :D crezi ca se merita sa il recomanzi pentru noi romanii?

  73. trixo

    March 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

    Hey,

    Good to read it can last that long! I’m still reading test, reviews and users comments but I found some opposite spec regarding the max ram, is it 8, 10 or 12gb the real max size? (4+4gb dual chan mode,2+8gb single chan mode or 4+8 single mode )
    I guess the dual chan config must be the most efficient, didn’t you?
    I’m still looking for a ux302lg models list as I’m looking into small hdd with 4gb ram soldered for the lowest price I can found, any links?
    Regarding ssd upgrade does it improves battery life that much?

    Thanks

  74. Ryan

    March 15, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    Hey Ivan, yes I have found that the UX302LG does create static when the charger is touched to the machine, but I don’t really find that a problem. More of a problem for me is the squeaky space-bar and three dead Pixels on my screen. A part from that, I see no problem with it. I even managed to get the battery life up to 13 hours with Wi-Fi off!

  75. Ryan

    March 17, 2014 at 9:51 am

    I also found my laptop with three dead pixels. I do not want it to get replaced, but with a squeaky task bar I might have no choice. As I need my laptop regularly, I am not sure when I will have time to do it.

  76. Ryan

    March 18, 2014 at 6:12 am

    I’m sending my laptop to get replaced tomorrow. I would rather not, as I need it, but I think that if I spend that much on a laptop, I want it to be perfect. Apart from these minor blemishes, it is perfect. A beautiful laptop. :)

  77. Sepehr

    March 20, 2014 at 4:45 am

    Hi
    I have bought ux302LG with 750GB HDD and 16GB SSD. I want to upgrade it with 128GB SSD but my question is after I change the storage drive can i use the 16GB SSD or not?
    thanks

    • Ryan

      March 21, 2014 at 1:01 am

      Hey Sepehr,
      I had my Zenbook UX302LG upgraded from 750GB HDD to 256GB SSD. My 16GB SSD still works, as it is soldered onto the motherboard.
      Does this help?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 21, 2014 at 8:43 am

        Ryan, can you access that small SSD as a regular drive in Windows? And are you sure it’s soldered? I was under the impression that it’s not and is placed in what was that spare slot next to the cooler, on my test unit (3rd picture in the section where i showcase the internal configuration).

      • Sepehr

        March 21, 2014 at 4:41 pm

        Hey Ryan,
        thanks for your answer, I found that asus made that 16GB SSD an OEM partition, what is OEM partition?
        and can I make a single drive with my SSD and the 16GB soldered SSD(128+16GB)?
        thanks

        • trixo

          March 28, 2014 at 7:35 pm

          Hi,
          Following this useful thread : http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/734016-asus-ux302-1.html
          Upgrading the 16gb Msata ssd to a 128go half size format and disabling the Intel caching software, many have a bootable windows on it and have either a ssd or keep the hdd 2.5″. Some even replaced the he’d by a full size and fixing it with sticky rubber. But as 2.5″ ssd avoid crucial M500 as hardware isn’t recognized by windows 8 – 8.1, study on the way at crucial HQ.
          As note upgrading ram is also specific as some ram avoid boot…

          To end, after reading the full thread watchout to following probable defects:
          Backlight bleeding on screen,
          Keyboard metal plate warping,
          Speakers defects (one side lowder),
          Ubuntu latest, no Xserver working (ok on older distrib), fedora 20 ok
          So it’s recommended to test every feature before real use.

          Br
          trixo

  78. Ryan

    March 21, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    Hey guys, yes I was under the impression that the 16GB was soldered onto the motherboard in my model, but I am currently unable to check, as it is off at Asus getting the Dead Pixels fixed on the screen. As for the OEM, I think this is just recovery hardware. Another note, the people at Asus said that the squeaky space-bar on my model was normal, and it happened in all laptops. BS! I have never had a laptop with a squeaky space-bar before! What do you guys think?

  79. Ryan

    May 10, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Just to clear up some confusion, here are some test results done on my UX302LG
    Full Machine Test
    * System Information
    SN: DCN0CY15296950F
    WTP Version : 2.5.1 for NB
    Model Name : UX302LG
    OS Ver : Windows 8 Professional
    BIOS Ver : UX302LG.207
    CPU Type : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz
    CPU Speed : 1800 MHz
    CPU TEMP : 41 C
    Fan Speed : 0 RPM
    Memory Manufacturer : Micron
    Memory Size : 4096 MB
    Memory Manufacturer :
    Memory Size : 4096 MB
    Video Memory Size : 4020 MB
    Battery Designed : 4429 mAh
    Battery Full : 4097 mAh
    Battery Cur : 3688 mAh
    Battery CycleCount : 41 times
    Battery Cap : 90 %
    Battery STAT : charging
    HDD Model : Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series
    HDD Size : 238 GB
    HDD Model : SanDisk SSD U110 16GB
    HDD Size : 14 GB
    LAN MAC :
    UUID : bd7713379dfd5a50c7c7bcee7b292b73
    USB 2.0 : Kingmax USB2.0 FlashDisk USB Device
    USB 2.0 : USB 2.0 Flash Disk USB Device
    USB 2.0 : SanDisk Cruzer Switch USB Device
    Your OS is activated.
    Log folder: C:\Users\User\Desktop

  80. Carene

    June 1, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Which laptop will make a better laptop for university students? A MacBook Air 13 inch or a UX302LG ultra book?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 1, 2014 at 6:10 pm

      Do you need the dedicated graphics in the UX302LG? Are you planning in running games? If yes, then go with the Zenbook. If not, consider the MBA 13 or other options

    • Ryan

      June 1, 2014 at 9:28 pm

      Hey Carene,
      I am a university student studying Architecture, and for what I am studying, my UX302LG is perfect. It is not too heavy, and the battery life lasts all day. I guess it depends on the graphics, and what you are studying. For Architecture, the NVIDIA GT 730M graphics are perfect for CAD software, but if you don’t need graphics performance, maybe have a look at the Zenbook UX301, the Toshiba Kirabook or Sony’s VAIO pro? They are all good options, and all similar to the UX302LG. Hope I can help!

  81. Eric

    July 1, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I’ve been trying really hard to find the UX302LG online, but I’m not sure which countries are selling it. Australia and the U.S. don’t carry it. Canada does, but it’s only available in store in the lowest end model(canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=710_577_1044&item_id=065230).

    I’m looking for the top end model with the 256GB SSD from a website that ships internationally.

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2014 at 10:44 am

      The UX302LG has been discontinued from what I know. You might want to have a look at the UX303LN though, which is more-or-less its successor.

  82. Petter

    July 30, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    Has the UX301LA been discontinued aswell?

    How much better battery in your opinion does the 301 have over the 303?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 31, 2014 at 9:49 am

      The UX301LA is still available in shops but I don’t know if it’s still manufactured or not. It probably is though, as Asus has no proper competitor for it.

  83. Petter

    July 31, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Okay, thats what I figured too.

    Did you notice any battery differences between the 302, the 301 and the 303? In the reviews, you seem to state similar battery lifes, eg. 5 to 6 hours and such. But seeing as the UX301LA has a 6cell battery, it should last longer, right?

  84. satego

    September 3, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    Anyone tested / experienced the Game: World of Tanks on this Ultrsbook with the GT730M ? Somehow possible to play it at least on low settings ?

    • satego

      September 6, 2014 at 6:15 pm

      So I got my UX302LG now – and World of Tanks is running very nicely at 1920×1080 with low Settings and Vsync stable at 60 FPS – This Ultrabook is really a Masterpeice !

  85. Dinesh

    December 30, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    I was actually looking at UX303LN initially but i can’t accept the colours being that bad. Is UX302 free of that issue or it is similar?

  86. Rino Rivera

    March 25, 2015 at 7:34 am

    Good Day Sir Andrei,

    I found your zenbook reviews very great & well detailed. Can I please ask you a favor? Which zenbook can you recommend for me :

    Zenbook UX301
    Zenbook UX302LA/LG
    Zenbook UX303LN

    I will be using it for stuffs like web surfing, downloading/watching movies, ms office works, and some little gaming. :) Hoping for your reply.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2015 at 11:55 am

      I’d look at the UX303LA with BRoadwell hardware, that should offer the best for the buck. If you need better gaming abilities, aim for the UX302LG or the UX303LN

  87. eric

    March 31, 2015 at 3:36 am

    Hello,

    I was just wondering if anyone has experienced USB power issues with the UX302LG’s two left USB ports? It seems that I can only use the one USB port on the right side with reliable results e.g. if I use the Ethernet adapter in either of the two left USB ports, the adapter constantly blinks on and then off, and Windows makes the connect disconnect chime. When I was in Taiwan last fall, I decided to go to the source and bring it to an ASUS tech center and the technician told me that due to the ultra thin design of the unit, the USB ports to the left are further away from the power source and therefore cannot maintain consistent power. He recommended that I use the one USB port on the right of the machine for anything that requires consistent power. This seems a bit odd and a bit of a letdown considering how expensive this unit was. I was wondering if anyone else had the same problem?

  88. Simone

    June 7, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    Hello all! I would like to post my review of this laptop and let you all kmow my experience and impressions…

    I bought this laptop in January 2014 at a local shop after reading this same review. It was priced 6000SAR which is around 1200EUR at the time.

    After just 48h I started having WiFi issues, the type of issues that don’t allow you to connect to any of the visible SSIDs near you. I started updating the impossible but it seemed to happen randomly.

    After a few weeks later I noticed the video card (nvidia) was not working properly so I simply decided to reformat and start from a fresh OS and driver install. Video card fixed but the WiFi remained. I solved the WiFi by buying a nano WiFi USB card which now blocks one of my Three available USB ports.

    A few months after I started noticing that the PC one morning stopped booting (black screen with apparently power led bootlooping?) And without thinking to much I simply opened the notebook and removed the battery and replaced it. PC restarted normally.. A few days later again the same issue so I start reading around solutions that simply said to disconnect the battery and reconnect! Seriously???? I mean I spend 1.2k on a notebook that I need to open once a week just to make it boot???? Is this normal for Asus to release such a piece of crap to the market?

    Thinking that I though Asus was one of the best notebook manufacturers around.. I started loving it back in 2005 but this last experience really broke all the positive impressions I had of them.. In March 2014 I also bought for the office a 600$ Lenovo (flex 14) which believe it or not seems to be at least three order of magnitude better than this piece of poop I am using at home.. Really disappointed! What a disaster! I still feel mad for this purchase even though more than a year has past.

    • Simone

      June 7, 2015 at 8:52 pm

      Not to mention I updated the Bios from 209 to 210 and guess what the PC started bootlooping directly into the Bios.. In the bios in the boot menu there where no more options for boot even though in the sata configuration panel I could see the HDD and sdd… I again had to open the pc , remove the HDD and sdd and boot the PC without them installed and reinstall them back in and reboot to fix this issue! What a joke!!!!!

    • Wathando Mughandira

      June 8, 2015 at 12:52 pm

      I also bought asus zenbook UX302L from best buy in November 2013 in San Diego, CA. The laptop just doesnt boot at times and one has to open the back with TORx screws and disconnect battery from the main motherboad and reconnect it. This keeps happening every fortnight or so and I am very dissapointed with Asus and I do not think I will buy their laptops ever again coz I spent a fortune on this laptop. The challenge is I live in Africa and could not return it hence just had to find the TORx screw drivers and move with them wherever I go with the Zenbook. I really dont understand why these faulty laptops could be allowed to go on the market. Whilst in the USA the same thing happened when i had just bought it so naturally I went to best buy and exchanged it. The one i got has given me same problems ever since.

  89. Atal Wardak

    July 25, 2016 at 6:47 am

    Hi,
    I have 500GB HDD and 16 GB SSD. so I want to upgrade both of them to larger size SSD.

    Anyone can tell me how larger SSD can be compatible with this PC?
    And why they created two place for storage?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2016 at 2:56 pm

      You’ll have to replace the HDD with a compatible 2.5″ SSD. That would make the 16 GB caching SSD obsolete, but it’s the only way to get a large SSD on this laptop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *