Asus Zenbook UX302LG / UX302 review – the GAMING 13 inch ultrabook

100 Comments

  1. Ryan

    March 18, 2014 at 6:12 am

    I’m sending my laptop to get replaced tomorrow. I would rather not, as I need it, but I think that if I spend that much on a laptop, I want it to be perfect. Apart from these minor blemishes, it is perfect. A beautiful laptop. :)

  2. Sepehr

    March 20, 2014 at 4:45 am

    Hi
    I have bought ux302LG with 750GB HDD and 16GB SSD. I want to upgrade it with 128GB SSD but my question is after I change the storage drive can i use the 16GB SSD or not?
    thanks

    • Ryan

      March 21, 2014 at 1:01 am

      Hey Sepehr,
      I had my Zenbook UX302LG upgraded from 750GB HDD to 256GB SSD. My 16GB SSD still works, as it is soldered onto the motherboard.
      Does this help?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 21, 2014 at 8:43 am

        Ryan, can you access that small SSD as a regular drive in Windows? And are you sure it’s soldered? I was under the impression that it’s not and is placed in what was that spare slot next to the cooler, on my test unit (3rd picture in the section where i showcase the internal configuration).

      • Sepehr

        March 21, 2014 at 4:41 pm

        Hey Ryan,
        thanks for your answer, I found that asus made that 16GB SSD an OEM partition, what is OEM partition?
        and can I make a single drive with my SSD and the 16GB soldered SSD(128+16GB)?
        thanks

      • trixo

        March 28, 2014 at 7:35 pm

        Hi,
        Following this useful thread : http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/734016-asus-ux302-1.html
        Upgrading the 16gb Msata ssd to a 128go half size format and disabling the Intel caching software, many have a bootable windows on it and have either a ssd or keep the hdd 2.5″. Some even replaced the he’d by a full size and fixing it with sticky rubber. But as 2.5″ ssd avoid crucial M500 as hardware isn’t recognized by windows 8 – 8.1, study on the way at crucial HQ.
        As note upgrading ram is also specific as some ram avoid boot…

        To end, after reading the full thread watchout to following probable defects:
        Backlight bleeding on screen,
        Keyboard metal plate warping,
        Speakers defects (one side lowder),
        Ubuntu latest, no Xserver working (ok on older distrib), fedora 20 ok
        So it’s recommended to test every feature before real use.

        Br
        trixo

  3. Ryan

    March 21, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    Hey guys, yes I was under the impression that the 16GB was soldered onto the motherboard in my model, but I am currently unable to check, as it is off at Asus getting the Dead Pixels fixed on the screen. As for the OEM, I think this is just recovery hardware. Another note, the people at Asus said that the squeaky space-bar on my model was normal, and it happened in all laptops. BS! I have never had a laptop with a squeaky space-bar before! What do you guys think?

  4. Ryan

    May 10, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Just to clear up some confusion, here are some test results done on my UX302LG
    Full Machine Test
    * System Information
    SN: DCN0CY15296950F
    WTP Version : 2.5.1 for NB
    Model Name : UX302LG
    OS Ver : Windows 8 Professional
    BIOS Ver : UX302LG.207
    CPU Type : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz
    CPU Speed : 1800 MHz
    CPU TEMP : 41 C
    Fan Speed : 0 RPM
    Memory Manufacturer : Micron
    Memory Size : 4096 MB
    Memory Manufacturer :
    Memory Size : 4096 MB
    Video Memory Size : 4020 MB
    Battery Designed : 4429 mAh
    Battery Full : 4097 mAh
    Battery Cur : 3688 mAh
    Battery CycleCount : 41 times
    Battery Cap : 90 %
    Battery STAT : charging
    HDD Model : Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series
    HDD Size : 238 GB
    HDD Model : SanDisk SSD U110 16GB
    HDD Size : 14 GB
    LAN MAC :
    UUID : bd7713379dfd5a50c7c7bcee7b292b73
    USB 2.0 : Kingmax USB2.0 FlashDisk USB Device
    USB 2.0 : USB 2.0 Flash Disk USB Device
    USB 2.0 : SanDisk Cruzer Switch USB Device
    Your OS is activated.
    Log folder: C:\Users\User\Desktop

  5. Carene

    June 1, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Which laptop will make a better laptop for university students? A MacBook Air 13 inch or a UX302LG ultra book?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 1, 2014 at 6:10 pm

      Do you need the dedicated graphics in the UX302LG? Are you planning in running games? If yes, then go with the Zenbook. If not, consider the MBA 13 or other options

    • Ryan

      June 1, 2014 at 9:28 pm

      Hey Carene,
      I am a university student studying Architecture, and for what I am studying, my UX302LG is perfect. It is not too heavy, and the battery life lasts all day. I guess it depends on the graphics, and what you are studying. For Architecture, the NVIDIA GT 730M graphics are perfect for CAD software, but if you don’t need graphics performance, maybe have a look at the Zenbook UX301, the Toshiba Kirabook or Sony’s VAIO pro? They are all good options, and all similar to the UX302LG. Hope I can help!

  6. Eric

    July 1, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I’ve been trying really hard to find the UX302LG online, but I’m not sure which countries are selling it. Australia and the U.S. don’t carry it. Canada does, but it’s only available in store in the lowest end model(canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=710_577_1044&item_id=065230).

    I’m looking for the top end model with the 256GB SSD from a website that ships internationally.

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 2, 2014 at 10:44 am

      The UX302LG has been discontinued from what I know. You might want to have a look at the UX303LN though, which is more-or-less its successor.

  7. Petter

    July 30, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    Has the UX301LA been discontinued aswell?

    How much better battery in your opinion does the 301 have over the 303?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 31, 2014 at 9:49 am

      The UX301LA is still available in shops but I don’t know if it’s still manufactured or not. It probably is though, as Asus has no proper competitor for it.

  8. Petter

    July 31, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Okay, thats what I figured too.

    Did you notice any battery differences between the 302, the 301 and the 303? In the reviews, you seem to state similar battery lifes, eg. 5 to 6 hours and such. But seeing as the UX301LA has a 6cell battery, it should last longer, right?

  9. satego

    September 3, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    Anyone tested / experienced the Game: World of Tanks on this Ultrsbook with the GT730M ? Somehow possible to play it at least on low settings ?

    • satego

      September 6, 2014 at 6:15 pm

      So I got my UX302LG now – and World of Tanks is running very nicely at 1920×1080 with low Settings and Vsync stable at 60 FPS – This Ultrabook is really a Masterpeice !

  10. Dinesh

    December 30, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    I was actually looking at UX303LN initially but i can’t accept the colours being that bad. Is UX302 free of that issue or it is similar?

  11. Rino Rivera

    March 25, 2015 at 7:34 am

    Good Day Sir Andrei,

    I found your zenbook reviews very great & well detailed. Can I please ask you a favor? Which zenbook can you recommend for me :

    Zenbook UX301
    Zenbook UX302LA/LG
    Zenbook UX303LN

    I will be using it for stuffs like web surfing, downloading/watching movies, ms office works, and some little gaming. :) Hoping for your reply.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2015 at 11:55 am

      I’d look at the UX303LA with BRoadwell hardware, that should offer the best for the buck. If you need better gaming abilities, aim for the UX302LG or the UX303LN

  12. eric

    March 31, 2015 at 3:36 am

    Hello,

    I was just wondering if anyone has experienced USB power issues with the UX302LG’s two left USB ports? It seems that I can only use the one USB port on the right side with reliable results e.g. if I use the Ethernet adapter in either of the two left USB ports, the adapter constantly blinks on and then off, and Windows makes the connect disconnect chime. When I was in Taiwan last fall, I decided to go to the source and bring it to an ASUS tech center and the technician told me that due to the ultra thin design of the unit, the USB ports to the left are further away from the power source and therefore cannot maintain consistent power. He recommended that I use the one USB port on the right of the machine for anything that requires consistent power. This seems a bit odd and a bit of a letdown considering how expensive this unit was. I was wondering if anyone else had the same problem?

  13. Simone

    June 7, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    Hello all! I would like to post my review of this laptop and let you all kmow my experience and impressions…

    I bought this laptop in January 2014 at a local shop after reading this same review. It was priced 6000SAR which is around 1200EUR at the time.

    After just 48h I started having WiFi issues, the type of issues that don’t allow you to connect to any of the visible SSIDs near you. I started updating the impossible but it seemed to happen randomly.

    After a few weeks later I noticed the video card (nvidia) was not working properly so I simply decided to reformat and start from a fresh OS and driver install. Video card fixed but the WiFi remained. I solved the WiFi by buying a nano WiFi USB card which now blocks one of my Three available USB ports.

    A few months after I started noticing that the PC one morning stopped booting (black screen with apparently power led bootlooping?) And without thinking to much I simply opened the notebook and removed the battery and replaced it. PC restarted normally.. A few days later again the same issue so I start reading around solutions that simply said to disconnect the battery and reconnect! Seriously???? I mean I spend 1.2k on a notebook that I need to open once a week just to make it boot???? Is this normal for Asus to release such a piece of crap to the market?

    Thinking that I though Asus was one of the best notebook manufacturers around.. I started loving it back in 2005 but this last experience really broke all the positive impressions I had of them.. In March 2014 I also bought for the office a 600$ Lenovo (flex 14) which believe it or not seems to be at least three order of magnitude better than this piece of poop I am using at home.. Really disappointed! What a disaster! I still feel mad for this purchase even though more than a year has past.

    • Simone

      June 7, 2015 at 8:52 pm

      Not to mention I updated the Bios from 209 to 210 and guess what the PC started bootlooping directly into the Bios.. In the bios in the boot menu there where no more options for boot even though in the sata configuration panel I could see the HDD and sdd… I again had to open the pc , remove the HDD and sdd and boot the PC without them installed and reinstall them back in and reboot to fix this issue! What a joke!!!!!

    • Wathando Mughandira

      June 8, 2015 at 12:52 pm

      I also bought asus zenbook UX302L from best buy in November 2013 in San Diego, CA. The laptop just doesnt boot at times and one has to open the back with TORx screws and disconnect battery from the main motherboad and reconnect it. This keeps happening every fortnight or so and I am very dissapointed with Asus and I do not think I will buy their laptops ever again coz I spent a fortune on this laptop. The challenge is I live in Africa and could not return it hence just had to find the TORx screw drivers and move with them wherever I go with the Zenbook. I really dont understand why these faulty laptops could be allowed to go on the market. Whilst in the USA the same thing happened when i had just bought it so naturally I went to best buy and exchanged it. The one i got has given me same problems ever since.

  14. Atal Wardak

    July 25, 2016 at 6:47 am

    Hi,
    I have 500GB HDD and 16 GB SSD. so I want to upgrade both of them to larger size SSD.

    Anyone can tell me how larger SSD can be compatible with this PC?
    And why they created two place for storage?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2016 at 2:56 pm

      You’ll have to replace the HDD with a compatible 2.5″ SSD. That would make the 16 GB caching SSD obsolete, but it’s the only way to get a large SSD on this laptop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.