The ThrottleStop Guide (2022): How to Lower Temperatures, Increase Performance and Boost Battery Life

The ThrottleStop Guide (2022): How to Lower Temperatures, Increase Performance and Boost Battery Life
By Douglas Black, last updated on September 28, 2022

Author’s Note: I wrote the first edition of this ThrottleStop guide for UltrabookReview as part of a short undervolting/tweaking guide several years ago. I previously published a ThrottleStop guide for Notebookcheck back in 2017, but wanted to update the guide here to cover the new features and changes, as well as improve the readability and organization.

The current stable version of ThrottleStop can always be found at TechPowerup, and at the time of writing is ThrottleStop 9.5. It works for Intel 12th Gen Alder Lake Desktop and Mobile CPUs.

What is Throttlestop and how does it compare to Intel XTU?

ThrottleStop is an original program by Kevin Glynn, a.k.a. “UncleWebb”, which in simple terms is designed to counteract the three main types of CPU throttling (Thermal, Power Limit, and VRM) present in modern computers.

It started as a simple means to counteract some throttling mechanisms used in older laptops, check temperatures, and change CPU clock speeds. Initially much simpler and more limited than Intel’s Extreme Tuning Utility (XTU), ThrottleStop has grown in feature-set and stability over the years, and can be used for undervolting, “set-and-forget” temperature/clockspeed profiles, benchmarking, SST tweaking, and temperature monitoring.

In theory, XTU’s main advantage over TS was to be able to set PL limits and undervolt settings that would be kept applied automatically and would not require the program to keep running in the tray (as TS does). However, there have been quite a few bugs with XTU involving lost settings and frequent hard crashes upon resume from sleep, and for those reasons I have personally abandoned XTU in favor of TS. If you are reading this guide and plan to switch to TS from XTU, be sure you reset your XTU settings to default, uninstall it, and restart your PC before starting TS for the first time. Failure to do this can result in ThrottleStop reading your XTU-tweaked CPU register settings as the defaults (which they are not).

You might be thinking that these kind of programs are for the most advanced users or geeks who spend days trying to get their benchmarks a few points higher or temperatures 1-2C lower. While those stereotypes might be true for some TS users, the fact is that a few minutes of tweaking with the program will likely provide you with significant objectively measurable decreases in temperatures and increases in battery life and real-world performance.

TS splash

A standard disclaimer when adjusting voltages and other settings on your CPU. There has never been a CPU damaged by this software to my knowledge.

Throttlestop Installation and first-time launch

Hopefully I’ve made my case for why you might want to install TS and give it a try. Luckily, there isn’t much to downloading and installing TS. You can find the latest version of ThrottleStop at the top of this article or at its TechPowerup homepage.

After that, simply unzip the archive into a folder in a location of your choice (I like to keep a dedicated folder for tweaking utilities in my /Program files directory). I wouldn’t recommend installing it to the desktop if you have any intention of using the app, because later we will be automating the startup of the program using Task Scheduler, and if you move the TS director after doing so, you’ll need to do that all over again.

Once you’re ready to begin, double-click “Throttlestop.exe”. You will see a disclaimer regarding melting your computer; read it and then click “OK”. (I do not believe TS has ever melted anyone’s computer.)

After first opening ThrottleStop, you will be greeted by the main window of the program interface. It’s important to remember that all settings you see in ThrottleStop will be initially set to the default settings that your manufacturer has set for your CPU. If you ever want to revert back to your original settings for troubleshooting or benchmarking purposes, simply go to your ThrottleStop folder, locate the “ThrottleStop.ini” file and rename it or delete it, then shut down your computer cold before starting it (not restart). This will clear any settings or registers set by the program.

Note: If you get an error that TS could not be started because a file called “MFC120u.dll” could not be found, you will need to download and install both the 64 and 32-bit 2013 Visual C++ Redistributable Packages.

Annotation 2019 09 10 125627

If you ever run into problems with your settings causing immediate crashes or all else fails, delete the ThrottleStop.ini file to reset all changes you’ve made.

The interface

We’re going to now go over the main features and terminology you will need to know to make your way around TS. If this is your first time tweaking your CPU registers, a lot of this terminology will be new to you. However, once you grasp the basic meaning and functions of each setting, tweaking will start to become second nature to you. As this is the latest (2019) edition of this guide, let’s start by introducing the newest features.

ts main

The main window of ThrottleStop 8.70.6. Also accessible from here are the options panel, TS bench utility, FIVR (voltage), and TPL (turbo limit) snap-ins.

New Features since 2017 (8.48)

Custom Logo – Starting with TS 8.70.5, it is now possible to customize the app with your own custom graphic. This can be done relatively easily by adding an image to the TS main directory called “logo.png”. The image can have a maximum size of 230×90 or less.

MHz/VID Min – You can quickly minimize the TS app by clicking on either the numbers next to the VID or by either of the MHz readings. Note that the app will minimize to either the tray or the taskbar depending on how the app is configured.

mhz min

Clicking either the VID or MHz values will immediately minimize the app to your location of choice.

Main Window: Bottom

In the bottom bar of the main TS window you will see some buttons with basic functions: Save, Options, Turn Off(On), TS Bench, Batt, GPU, and a collapsing arrow to hide this bar.

Save – Saves the current settings to the ThrottleStop.ini file (found in your TS director).

Options – Goes to the options menu for ThrottleStop.

ts options

Clicking the “Options” button will open the options snap-in (right). Here, you can rename the 4 possible profiles, set tray icon settings, enable temperature alarms, battery profiles and monitoring, closing app behavior, and HotKeys. We will return here later when we setup profile alarms based on temperatures.

Turn On/Off – The developer has recently admitted that while this button used to do something years ago, it basically doesn’t do much anymore. Assume that TS will be governing your CPU as long as the program is running.

TS Bench – Opens a built-in benchmarking program. Though not strenuous, it is useful for detecting how recent tweaks you made will affect your CPU under load. In the top left area of the window, you will see four radio buttons. Each one has a customizable name (in the Options dialogue) and each refers to a separate settings profile for the program. A few settings are universal across all profiles, but most settings are profile-specific. We will discuss using more than one profile later.

tsbench

TSBench is a handy tool to not only measure performance quantitatively with different loads, but also testing to see whether sustained performance is improved with your currently active settings/tweaks.

Main Window: Left

On the left half of the window you can find general settings that affect either CPU clocks or the way the program functions:

tsmain highlighted

Outside of Undervolting, done in the “FIVR” snap-in, this section is where you will find most of the settings you will likely use to determine the behavior of your CPU.

Clock Modulation/Chipset Clock Modulation – These settings were designed to counter an older method of throttling which told the CPU or chipset to run at a percentage capacity. For most newer chips, this method is not used, and enabling the feature in ThrottleStop will have no effect.

Set Multiplier – This is another obsolete setting; on older CPUs, the clock speed is determined by multiplying the bus speed of the CPU by a multiplier. For example, an old Pentium III-M with a bus-speed of 133MHz set to a multiplier of 10 would be operating at its full speed of 1.33GHz. On modern CPUs, the multipliers are set differently. With a Core i CPU, simply increasing the default value by 1 will tell the CPU to run at full turbo clocks. Setting it higher will have no effect, and setting it lower will be the same as not setting it.

Speed ShiftEPP (Energy Performance Preference) – Starting with Intel’s Skylake, this became the new low-level (non-software) method for governing CPU behavior. It replaced the older “SpeedStep” technology, which required software-level governance. This means that EPP should be significantly more efficient and effective than SpeedStep was. If you have a Skylake CPU or later, this should be enabled. Note: On some Skylake machines (such as the DelL XPS 15 9560), this feature was never enabled via BIOS/firmware, despite that the chipset supported it. If your system has a Skylake or later CPU but it is not enabled by default in the BIOS, you can enable it by going to the “TPL” button and checking the “Speed Shift” option in that dialogue box.

Speed Shift – EPP operates with values between 0-255, where 0 means the CPU will prefer its maximum frequency (into the turbo range, assuming you have not checked “disable turbo”), and 255 means the system will prefer running the CPU at its lowest base clocks. I would recommend a setting between 0-32 in whatever profile you will use while plugged-in or want maximum performance on, and at least 128 for your unplugged/power-saving profile. You can play around with this setting yourself and watch how the clocks change while performing a strenuous task or running TSBench. This, along with “disable turbo” and the maximum turbo clocks under FIVR are the main variables you will likely want to adjust when creating different TS profiles.

Power Saver – Power Saver is a legacy feature that isn’t necessary on modern CPUs. Only available when turbo boost is disabled, Power Saver will tell your CPU to reduce its clocks to minimum when idle. This feature is redundant on anything newer than a Core 2 Duo, I believe.

Disable Turbo – This option will disable the turbo boost ability of your CPU when checked. For example, an i7-7700HQ has a base clock of 2.8GHz but can turbo up to 3.8GHz for a single-core workload. If you had tas this CPU and checked this box, the CPU will never attempt to boost above its base clock of 2.8GHz. This is useful when trying to limit spikes in power consumption (such as on VRM-throttling machines like the XPS 15 9550/9560/9570) or just in controlling temperatures when a dedicated GPU is in use as well.

BD PROCHOT – Short for Bi-directional Processor Hot. PROCHOT is an emergency throttling method triggered when a CPU hits its maximum temperature (100 or 105C). You will often see this triggered on MacBook Pros, for example. Bi-directional PROCHOT is a system some laptops use where the CPU will be throttled when another component, such as a GPU, reaches a set temperature even though the CPU has not his its maximum operating temperature. Disabling this box should disable this feature, meaning a hot GPU temperature trigger should not cause CPU throttling. Be aware that this may result in even higher chassis temperatures, and I would not recommend disabling it.

Task Bar – Ticking this check box will prevent ThrottleStop from minimizing to the tray and instead will keep it in the Taskbar. Set this to your preference. Note that this also determines where TS will minimize to by clicking on VID or MHz.

Log File – This will create a timestamped text log in your ThrottleStop folder. This is useful when you record your clocks and temperatures by the second during a benchmark. Keep it off when not needed.

Stop Monitoring – Clicking this will toggle the sensors and recording abilities of ThrottleStop.

Speed Step – On older CPUs (pre-Skylake), toggles the software-level governance of CPU clockspeeds.

C1E – This should be kept on anytime you are mobile or do not need the absolute minimum in system latency (DAW work, etc.). Turning off this option should prevent the turbo boost from shutting down cores automatically. When off, clocks should stay near maximum and the CPU will use more power.

On Top – This keeps the ThrottleStop window on top of any other windows.

More Data – Logs data at eight times per-second instead of once per-second.

Main Window: Right

ts main 2

The right side of the TS interface is more for monitoring purposes, though there are a few clickable elements.

The table will be headed with your CPU model, current voltage, and clock speed. In the table, each entry here represents one of your CPU’s threads. In the above screenshot, you can see that my CPU, a 6-core Intel Core i7-9750H, has 12 threads visible. If you were to turn off hyperthreading in BIOS, you would only see 6 in this window.

FID C0% Mod Temp Max
Frequency identifier/clock multiplier. This is usually equal to the current CPU frequency divided by the FSB clock. Percentage of time the CPU thread is in its highest-performance state (C0). This should be lower when idle and higher when under load. Refers back to the “Clock Modulation” options. Should read 100% on a modern CPU. Current temperature reading (C) of that CPU core/thread. The highest temperature reached by that core/thread. On a properly functioning thermal solution, the maximum temperatures of all cores and threads should be within a few degrees C of each other. This is useful for determining if you have a warped heatsink or poor thermal paste application. Can be cleared by clicking the “CLR” button below the readout.

Package Power – An estimate of how much power your CPU is drawing as a whole.

Temp – The current reading of the chip sensor (C). Note that this is often different than the individual core temperatures.

Limit Reasons – The two boxes here, one radio and one tick, serve to notify the user if any throttling has occurred. If TDP Throttle’s radio box is filled, then that means the CPU has throttled due to Thermal Design Power (TDP) restrictions. For example, if you have a laptop with a 135W AC adapter powering an i7-9750H and Nvidia GTX 1650, running an intensive game or benchmark may cause the combination of these components to exceed the total TDP allowed for the system, and thus it will throttle. If the PROCHOT [#]C box is ticked, then the CPU has at some point hit its OEM-designated max temperature. In the case of my ThinkPad X1E Gen 2, was set by Lenovo to 92C in a previous BIOS update.

ts main 3

FIVR, TPL, and C[#] are the more technical modules.

Below this chart lie 5 buttons: FIVR, TPL, BCLK, C#, DTS, and CLR. Only three of them do anything significant, however, and we will be mostly only be concerning ourselves with two of them: FIVR and TPL, though C[#%] is handy for ensuring your CPU is properly entering lower-power states.

CLR will reset throttling and temperature records.

Clicking DTS will simply change the temperature readings into degrees from the thermal limit rather than an absolute temperature (i.e. 25 DTS would mean 80C, 0 DTS would be 105C on many chips).

C#% will show the status of each of your CPUs threads in terms of its power state and utilization. This is useful when tracking down rogue programs and optimizing battery life.

BLCK sends a request to recalculate the bus and clock speeds of your CPU when pressed.

TPL is the Turbo Power Limit module, which is mostly useful for enabling Speed Shift on supported notebooks that don’t have it enabled in a BIOS update (i.e. the XPS 9550 and 9560). On some machines, some users have claimed to be able to set PL1 and PL2 limits through this module, though I personally have not been able to do so.

FIVR stands for Fully Integrated Voltage Regulator, and this is where we will soon go to undervolt our CPU soon. First, though, let’s take a trip back to the options to 

Options

options

Use the Options dialogue to set up alarms and profiles for automatic functionality.

Before we go into undervolting, it’s important to set some options first. You may wish to give each profile a name or number so it’s easier to keep track of them. I recommend setting at least one profile to AC and one for battery, as well as “Start Minimized” and “Minimize on Close”, as I always run TS in the tray on all my computers. If your computer has a dedicated GPU, check the box corresponding to your card (Nvidia or AMD). Once you’ve chosen your GPU (if any), close and re-launch ThrottleStop for the settings to take. Now you should be able to see your GPU temperature displayed below your CPU temperature. It may be worth noting that if you don’t plan to use your GPU temperature to trigger any secondary profile, then you won’t need to check this box. It is possible that polling the GPU temperature may wake it up on occasion, but I doubt it will have any significant effect on battery life either way.

Undervolting with Throttlestop

The first thing we’ll do is reduce temperatures and power consumption while increasing performance by undervolting. Undervolting slightly reduces the voltage supplied to the CPU. The first thing people ask is “why doesn’t Intel do this by default?”, and the answer to that is that every chip is different: some can undervolt to -160mv, others only to -60mv. Silicon manufacturers like to give a bit of headroom just in case, though some OEMs like Apple and Razer are now undervolting their notebooks’ CPUs out of the factory. You will still be able to undervolt a pre-undervolted chip, but don’t expect to see as much of an improvement as you would otherwise, of course.

There is no risk to undervolting (unlike overvolting), and the worst thing that can happen if you try to undervolt too much is that you will get freezes or BSODs (often under stress tests, but also at idle). To test an undervolt, run a benchmark. Sometimes it will crash immediately and you will know you have undervolted too much. Other times, an undervolt will work for benchmarks, but can lead to crashes on idle. In my own experiences, I find that undervolts are least stable on battery. If your undervolt is stable at idle and load while on battery, you can be sure it will happily run at those values when on AC power. If you do get a crash (often a BSOD, but sometimes a hard freeze), try reducing all your undervolts by 5mv at a time and see if the problem persists. Generally, too much of a CPU undervolt manifests itself in a freeze or BSOD, while too much of an Intel GPU undervolt will lead to a crash when running a graphics benchmark.

fivr

The FIVR module: Here is where the undervolting magic happens. We are mostly interested in undervolting “CPU Core” and “CPU Cache”.

Click the FIVR button to go to Turbo FIVR Control. You will see a lot options and sliders here, this process is actually very simple. Check to make sure you have the right profile selected (voltages can be profile-specific) then check the “Unlock Adjustable Voltage” box under “CPU Core Voltage”. There are 6 elements under “FIVR control”, but we only care about three: CPU Core, CPU Cache, and Intel GPU. In fact, CPU core and CPU cache should almost always be set to the same value.

Make sure the radio button for “Adaptive” is selected, as well as CPU core, and now we can select an undervolt for it. Only adjust the Offset Voltage. How much you should undervolt depends a fair amount on what chipset you have. In general, modern mobile CPUs undervolt very well (between -125-165mv) while older (3rd and 4th gen Core-series chips) may only be able to undervolt 40-50mv. For this guide, I suggest a conservative undervolt of -80mv for your CPU Core. Once that is done, click “CPU Cache” and perform the same steps. CPU Core and CPU Cache should generally have the same undervolt. It used to be suggested to run a modest -50mv undervolt on the iGPU, but there’s some consternation about this at the moment. Some have claimed this leads to stability issues waking from Standby and does little to reduce temperatures. If you are in doubt, just leave it at 0.

Once you have done Core, Cache, and iGPU, I recommend pressing “Apply”. If the voltages take and it doesn’t crash immediately, select “OK – Save voltages immediately”, as it is very annoying to re-enter all your voltages after a crash during testing. Before applying your undervolts to your other profiles, spend some time using your computer in various scenarios to confirm they’re stable.

Profiles

Once your undervolts have been set, it’s a good idea to set up at least two profiles (if you have a laptop). The first profile should be set in Options to be your AC profile. Check the box for “Battery Profile”, and select another profile to use on battery (see above screenshot of the options for an illustration of this). This will cause ThrottleStop to automatically switch between the two profiles based on whether it is on battery.

Your AC profile should probably be the highest performance one, because there are no considerations needed for battery life. I recommend setting your Speed Shift value to 64 or lower for maximum performance on this profile.

Now click on the box in the main window for whichever profile you want to use while on battery. If battery life is a concern, I recommend checking the “disable turbo” box. Additionally, a more conservative Speed Shift value will help preserve battery life as well. Values from 128-256 are values that are biased towards battery life.

A third profile can be useful as a failsafe to cool off the laptop once a certain temperature has been hit. Go back to the “Options” dialogue box and you will see a section labeled “Alarm”. Rather than making a loud noise to wake you up, this feature will activate a profile of your choice while certain conditions are met. Remember that DTS refers to the number of degrees from max temperature, so a DTS of 1 means 100C on an i7-7700HQ. That is still quite hot, so I like to use a DTS of 20 (80C). Below that, you can enter which profile you want activated (select the number of your “failsafe” profile). Repeat the process for the GPU if you are monitoring it, noting that this box is measured in Celsius and not DTS. This method is quite useful for controlling throttling on machines that have been poorly configured to limit their TDPs, such as the XPS 15 7590 on launch

Click “OK” and navigate to your failsafe profile from the FIVR module. This third profile should be set to be triggered by one or both of your alarms (set in options). This profile should be designed to tame your CPU for various reasons, such as allowing your GPU more power and thermal headroom in a system with a shared heatsink. Once in FIVR, you probably want to lower the maximum turbo frequencies on the lower left. For example, if you set 32 as the maximum multiplier for all operations using 1-6 cores, then your CPU will never boost above 3.2 GHz on that profile. In the main window, you could also play with higher EPP values, such as 128-256. Alternatively, you could check “disable turbo” in the main window on this profile to limit the maximum frequency another way, but given the low 1.x GHz base frequencies of Intel’s chips nowadays, that might reduce performance a bit too much.

Now, when your CPU or GPU hit your desired temperature limit (set by the alarm setting in Options), ThrottleStop should automatically switch to the designated profile until the temperatures drop. Once they drop below the threshold, it will automatically return to your default AC profile.

This method of keeping temperatures in check is often preferable to letting the laptop manage its CPU and temperatures according to the manufacturer’s settings, as this allows you to effectively set your own customized temperature ceiling.

Automating TS to launch on startup

Once you have finished this guide and your computer is running more efficiently, let’s set ThrottleStop to launch on startup using Task Scheduler. There is step-by-step guide for this written by Kevin himself here once you’re ready.

Conclusion

This concludes your introductory guide to the wonderful, performant world of ThrottleStop!

Due to the nature of modern CPUs and variants between systems, there is always a possibility that a feature that previously worked one way may behave slightly differently on newer machines and architectures. If you notice something isn’t quite working as described, try leaving a message here or searching in the archive of the NotebookReview (now defunct) official thread! Happy tweaking!

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
Douglas Black is a Technical Writer, Analyst, Teacher, and DJ currently based in North Carolina.

128 Comments

  1. Roberto

    May 15, 2021 at 1:05 pm

    Hi, can you tell me the best settings for my new notebook (Clevo X170KM-G) with i7 10700k (125W tdp) and rtx 3070 (140W tgp)?
    I would like to keep the temperatures as low as possible without losing performace during long gaming sessions with recent games. What profiles can I set? What voltage values to set and how to set the clock speed for gaming?

  2. Nguyễn Trọng

    May 23, 2021 at 4:39 am

    Hello Douglas Black !!!

  3. Nguyễn Trọng

    May 23, 2021 at 4:46 am

    I am using Dell G7 15 7590 Service Tag: FTHKHS2. I'm not a computer professional, can you help me with a standard throttle stop configuration for my laptop? If you can, please help and email me [email protected] . I really thank you very much.

    • Douglas Black

      May 23, 2021 at 5:00 am

      Hi Nguyen,

      It's important to not disclose your service tag online, for security reasons, Nguyen. Do you have undervolting enabled? https://www.reddit.com/r/Dell/comments/kpaouc/g7_15_7590_uefi_unlock_undervolting_and_remove/

      If you are after private consulting for issues, I do offer that, but there is an hourly fee associated with it, and I don't think you need that for this situation to be honest.

      • Josh

        April 28, 2022 at 3:59 pm

        Hi, Douglas.

        I am reporting a dead link: "forum.notebookreview.com/threads/the-throttlestop-guide.531329/#post-6865107".

        It does NOT direct to the step-by-step guide written by Kevin. It redirects to techtarget .com with a message that the forums are inactive. Please tell us where I can go for the step-by-step guide. Thanks.

      • Douglas Black

        April 28, 2022 at 5:09 pm

        Thanks for highlighting that the article still directs to NotebookReview. I will update it with a link to an archive.

      • Josh

        July 19, 2022 at 12:51 am

        Douglas,

        For some reason when people post comments they are being sent to MY email address. Shouldn't that info be sent to the admin and not me?

        PLEASE make the corrections so that comments are sent to the correct person, and remove my email address from your system to prevent this from happening in again in the future.

        Thank you!

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 19, 2022 at 11:53 am

        Sry for the inconvenience. There's a link to update your comments subscription settings in each email. Regardless, I've removed the notifications from the backend.

    • Alwin

      April 3, 2022 at 5:56 am

      Can you give me a throttle stop configuration for my msi laptop
      Specs:i7 9750h
      Gtx1660ti
      16gb ram
      180w ac adapter

  4. Lucas

    May 29, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Hi Douglas, I just bought a new Dell laptop with an Intel i7-1165G7 processor and the temperatures reached 90-95ºC just by using Chrome. I've found and read this article to know how I could undervolt it and control the temperatures, but the FIVR Control options aren't available in ThrottleStop, because my processor isn't supported yet. So I only want to see if by reducing the max turbo boost I'll be able to reduce the temeratures. Do you know if I can do it with this program? And how? Thanks!

    • Douglas Black

      May 30, 2021 at 12:34 am

      Hi Lucas,

      For one, you shouldn't be hitting 90+c in any basic app. Are your fans on? What cpu % utilization are you?

      If you want to throttle the cpu, you can try to set the max turbo multipliers in the FIVR tab, or for sure the "disable turbo" button on the main screen.

  5. Josh Laws

    July 1, 2021 at 7:07 am

    So I have noticed that with a recent update, Im assuming with nvidia, having gpu checked in throttlestop has a significant hit on battery life. it seems to poll about every 5 seconds an jumps the wattage usage significantly. I noticed a battery issue which I tried everything with, including a reinstall of windows. I then reinstalled throttlestop and found that this gpu polling was the culprit. Without it checked my estimated battery is 8 hours. with it checked 2 hours. I have a razerblade 2080 maxq. Before a couple of weeks ago my gpu temp would only display when plugged in. When on battery it was null. but since those few weeks it would show every 5-10 seconds while on battery. Not sure what happened, jut thought id share this in case anyone else was having an issue. UNchecking GPU and restarting throttlestop makes the problem go away

    • Douglas Black

      July 1, 2021 at 6:12 pm

      Thank you for this info! Am asking about it and will update.

  6. Nick L.

    July 16, 2021 at 7:29 pm

    ThrottleStop, SpeedFan and few other goodies have been my go-to when repurposing old Dell and HP computers. One issue I've noticed though, if you could help me, Douglas Black;

    Regarding the Unlock feature, it correctly allows the multiplier on unlocked CPUs to be moved up and down correctly, however it miscalculates the FSB on CPUs with FSB. For instance:

    Dell T3400. If I put a QX6700 or an ES Q6700, the FSB TS reveals is 265.999(x10). Windows 10 Taskman and CPU-Z/AIDA64/etc report this correctly. Upon enabled the unlock feature, the FSB and Multiplier are fine, but upon moving to say an x11 multiplier, the FSB is reported as 241.817(x11). TS and MSTaskMan report 2659.99, which CPU-Z/AIDA64/ETC report 265.96(x11) for a total of 2925.56GHz.

    I use TSC but I do use platformtick, if that matters.

    Here's where I initially discovered the issue. My clock is always incorrect on machines I use TS to control multiplier. So, how do we handle this can you contact anyone?

    • Nick L.

      March 22, 2022 at 9:55 pm

      Any help?

  7. Willian Tavares

    July 18, 2021 at 4:27 am

    so it is safe to say that when i see the first "error" message in ts bench is when i should stop undervolting?

  8. Ngô Nguyễn Tấn Phúc

    August 9, 2021 at 10:16 am

    Hello Douglas
    I have a little question. When AMD supported for throttlestop because Im having a bit of trouble with ryzen 7 5800H its so overheating to 75 degrees for website and 96 degrees for gaming. I hope you supported for AMD. Cheerio

    • Douglas Black

      August 9, 2021 at 6:09 pm

      AMD is a different architecture and the microcodes are all different, I believe. I haven't seen any intent to create such a program for AMD. However, you could at least possibly control voltage limits and clockspeeds with an app called Ryzen Mobile Tuning. I have never tried it myself as I do not have a Ryzen laptop (yet)!

  9. Faeez Hendricks

    September 13, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    Hi,

    I hope someone can assist me. I bought a 2021 Nitro 5 laptop. It comes with the i7 10750h, 16gb ram and a 3060 rtx card.

    I noticed everytime i try to run need for speed heat that suffers from heavy frame drops. On ultra it runs between 35fps up to 45fps and then drops down by 15 fps and then back up 20fps.all my other games run max settings 60fps and above. Like Doom eternal runs at 146fps at max settings, the Witcher 3 max settings over 60fps as well.

    It seems my cpu is hitting 90 degrees celcius and possibly throttling.

    Can someone assist me with specific settings for this laptop?

    Im hoping undervolting can help. I dont really want to open and add new thermal paste. Incase i mess something up. Cant risk it.

    Assistance would be amazing!

    Regards
    Faeez

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2021 at 7:22 am

      I don't think Throttlestop works with the 10th gen i7 in that Nitro 5. Give it a try, and try XTU as well. None of them might work, though, Acer laptops offer very limited undervolting support with these latest gens

      • Faeez Hendricks

        October 13, 2021 at 12:48 pm

        Hey Andrei,

        Sorry for such a late response. So my laptop is definitely locked. No undervolting possible. Its a shame cause even after applying Grizzly Kryonaut thermal paste it still throttles as per normal. I don't see any thermal changes which is odd and i did apply the thermal paste correctly.

        Strange but thanks though.

        Regards
        Faeez

      • Faeez

        December 30, 2021 at 4:54 pm

        Hey Andrei so i managed to unlock my cpu. Used throttlestop. My current config is CPU Cache -100.6mV and CPU Core – 100.6mV. If i go over this, it crashes. My IccMax is at 140a. My temps now is between 65 degress celsius and 80 degrees celsius. Sometimes a little more, but never goes over 85degrees.its weird when my laptop is hitting constant 68 pr 70 degrees that the laptop is still super hot to touch. I use a cooling pad as well. Thought I'd share.

  10. Ali F

    October 1, 2021 at 2:11 am

    Hi Douglas.
    This is actually what I want to apply to the desktop. Anyway, I used to have an amd laptop that was quite hot because it was a "gaming" laptop. Because it's only used for light typing, I once intentionally lowered the temperature of the cpu by undervolting to extremes, but for maximum and stable results, it must be accompanied by underclocking as well. My question (for desktop):
     1. Can a locked intel processor be underclocked? Is there a difference in flexibility between this method and pure underclocking/volt using a z-series mobo + k-series cpu/mod bios?
     2. How about Intel Gen 10 which cannot be underclocked and undervolt because of the issue of plundervolt attacks?  Can only certain gen (gen 6 – 9)?
     3. [In general, modern mobile CPUs undervolt very well (between -125-165mv) while older (3rd and 4th gen Core-series chips) may only be able to undervolt 40-50mv.]
    Does this mean that every cpu has the same maximum undervolt value? I.e. i7 6700k and i7 6500 have a maximum value of undervolt -165mv, even though the two cpu are in different classes.

    Thanks! And sorry for the long question (lol)

    • Douglas Black

      October 1, 2021 at 10:31 am

      Sorry it's taken me so long to reply:

      1. A locked CPU can still be "underclocked" using XTU or TS by limiting multipliers or disabling turbo altogether (though this is not desirable anymore since Intel started misleading people by lowering base clocks an raising turbos). You will not have as much control as with a modded BIOS, but I think it should still be good enough to limit turbo multipliers.
      2. I think you can still limit clocks on ice lake, but I do not have an ice lake computer to test.
      3. Maximum undervolt value changes for every single CPU. While generational differences definitely exist as you pointed out, you can still get an exemplary CPU that can UV by 165 or one that can only go 65. It's part of the natural variance of the manufacturing process.

      Hope that helps; wish I had more access to test.

  11. Alex

    October 13, 2021 at 5:12 am

    Thanks for this helpful guide. I just received a Gigabyte G5 KC (i5 10500H & RTX 3060) which is notorious for its loud fans. Setting custom fan profiles hasn't helped much as the issue seems to be how fast the temps spike under load.

    I think undervolting could help, but I'm uncertain about one thing. The laptop comes with a Gigabyte control centre which offers 4 power profiles: Battery Saver, Quiet, Media and Performance. I have done some testing and these return different 3dMark results even if I set the same custom fan curve for all of them, so I assume they are modifying power delivery too. If I want to undervolt using ThrottleStop, should I avoid changing the Gigabyte control centre power mode in case that causes instability? Or do you think it won't interfere with an undervolt?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2021 at 8:21 am

      Based on my experience with some Gigabyte laptops, their Azure software might already apply an undervolt on some profiles. You might want to check that first with HWinfo >> sensors. Also, check if Throttlestop or XTU even allow undervolting on that 10th gne platform

  12. AF1

    December 15, 2021 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Douglas

    I have an Inspiron 3793 with i7 1065G7 Ice Lake. I have followed your guide but cannot overcome the power throttling on Core, GPU & Ring.

    I opted for a conservative -50v as others had issues any higher with this spec laptop.

    Have you any further advice please?

    For others with chronic overheating, I fixed mine in HWinfo by clicking on the Fan Icon, Activating "Custom Auto", setting fan speeds, and setting 'Respin period' to 0ms. Its now cool but noisy!

    • AF1

      December 30, 2021 at 11:46 am

      Could I have a reply to my previous post please from Douglas, Andrei or somebody???

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 30, 2021 at 12:37 pm

        Hi, sry for the late reply. Undervolting can only do little on the U-class processors such as that 1065G7, mostly because the culprit with these designs is normally the limited thermal module.

        But what's causing the throttling on your unit? If the CPU is power-limited in the software, I don't think there's much else you can do. If it's thermally throttling, you can lift up the back of the laptop from the desk to improve the airflow, or use some sort of cooling pad. Repasting the CPU might also help, but that's voiding warranty and should proceeded with care

      • AF1

        December 30, 2021 at 3:22 pm

        Hi Andrei. Thanks for responding.

        Thermal Throttling is not the issue. I'm not getting enough power to CPU, GPU & ring, but do not understand how to do this – what settings.

        When running stress test the total system power does not exceed 30W.

        PSU is 65W

        How can I increase power please?

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 30, 2021 at 3:33 pm

        you can't, as far as I can tell

    • Douglas Black

      December 30, 2021 at 6:54 pm

      Hi AF1,

      Ice Lake 10th gen are very poor chips for sustained performance in my opinion, and they seem to function more like an "M" series CPU than a "Core" series. I know of no methods to improve their sustained performance. Tiger Lake will be significantly more capable of sustained multi-core performance.

      Regards,
      Douglas

      • AF1

        December 30, 2021 at 9:55 pm

        Thanks for responding Douglas,

        Why is it that the whole system is only using less than half the 65W available power (30W Benching) and therefore power throttling???

        Are you agreeing that there is no way to increase this in TS?

      • Douglas Black

        December 30, 2021 at 9:59 pm

        The chip has been told by the manufacturer that it cannot use more than a certain amount of power in a certain amount of time, and there is not any way I know of to overcome that. It's possible perhaps with BIOS hacking, but that is not something I have any experience in .

  13. AF1

    December 30, 2021 at 3:36 pm

    Someone else said "Are you using the built in bench in TS to test as you go? Is the CPU hitting 65w when benching? You could look at increasing that to 75w PL1/90w/PL2 and see if it s still throttling."

    Unfortunately they did not say how and have not reponded to that question.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 30, 2021 at 3:46 pm

      hopefully, others can pitch in, but as far as I remember, I don't think that's possible on the IceLake Core U processors.

  14. AF1

    December 30, 2021 at 3:49 pm

    Seems very odd that the ststem is only using less than half the available power and throttling because of that???

  15. Aaron

    December 31, 2021 at 11:43 am

    I've been operating a Lenovo ThinkPad T480 since mid-2019 and only a few months ago encountered severe CPU throttling and down-clocking to Pentium 3 levels while watching videos or playing games.

    Turns out this is actually a huge fiasco among plenty of Lenovo T series users; CPU gets locked down even to 399MHz while on video conferencing with Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc. Even when the CPU is nowhere close to overheating (e.g. 50-70°C).

    The problem can be temporarily brushed aside by restarting Lenovo "Intelligent" Thermal Service. Sometimes it doesn't work though, with the CPU continuing to remain in sub-GHz rates.

    Are there any "conflicts of interest" when running ThrottleStop concurrently with Lenovo Intelligent Thermal Service and/or Intel Dynamic Platform and Thermal Framework service? Should those be disabled?

  16. anthony

    January 17, 2022 at 6:53 am

    hi, I know that this is not related to the article but I am somehow not able to go to the forum or the community tab at notebook review for some reason, as if it doesn't exist. it says that I can't reach the page

    • Douglas Black

      January 17, 2022 at 7:37 am

      Hi Anthony! That sounds like an annoying situation. Does it happen when you log out? It is possible you were banned?

  17. Jim Hughes

    January 31, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Notebookreview.com seems to have been discontinued. Can the resources and information that you linked at that site be found elsewhere?

    • Douglas Black

      January 31, 2022 at 9:09 pm

      That is a good question. If people could help identify us some of the most important resources that NBR used to host, it's possible I could create articles out of them. Or we could use web archive cache links.

      • Eboe Thrasher

        April 24, 2022 at 6:18 pm

        Most of the NBR forum was backed up on Archive.org. For example, the last FULL backup of the guide on NBR was backed up on January 26th, and is housed at: https://web.archive.org/web/20220126143452/http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/the-throttlestop-guide.531329/ – but archive.org can be wonky to navigate as it will sometimes go to an older archive when you click on the next page. But they MANUALLY archived the forums to it, rather than them being randomly scraped, so they tend to work a little better.

        It would be a good idea to link to that with your link above or perhaps, there is another site that archived all of it as read-only also, and the link to the same thread there would be: https://www.nbrchive.net/xfa/hardware-components-and-aftermarket-upgrades.27/The%20ThrottleStop%20Guide/

        nbrchive.net is fairly less intuitive to navigate, and the wrong click will land you back at the site where it tells you the forums closed. The banner at the top informs you that current discussions have moved to notebooktalk.net – I hope all of this is helpful!

  18. SadBOSD

    February 4, 2022 at 3:20 am

    What to do if it says CPU not supported?

  19. Tomer

    February 6, 2022 at 4:06 pm

    Hi Douglas,

    I'm tryin to undervolt my ASUS ZENBOOK PRO DUO. It has a core i9-10980HK Which runs super hot…. but unfortunately the controls for voltage are locked. I tried the intel XTU, with the same issues.

    I see some people talking about bios updates in Dell laptops, but I'm wondering if you have experience, with Asus, and with this CPU model? can it be unlocked?

    Really hope you can help. I got this for video editing and it's jsut throttling all the time. and running hot…. upto 100. :(

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 6, 2022 at 4:09 pm

      I don't remember if that ZenBook allowed undervolting. I do remember that XTU and Throttelstop are locked out of the box, but I'm not sure if there are any undervolting options in the BIOS? If not, then I don't think there's anything you can do about it.

    • AF1

      February 6, 2022 at 5:10 pm

      Hi Tomer. Copied from above, don't know if it will work with yours but worth a try "For others with chronic overheating, I fixed mine in HWinfo by clicking on the Fan Icon, Activating "Custom Auto", setting fan speeds, and setting 'Respin period' to 50ms. Its now cool but noisy!"

      • Tomer

        February 12, 2022 at 1:59 am

        Hi AF1, thank you for the suggestion.
        I've installed HWinfo, which came in the form of Hwinfo64, but I don't see any controls for the fans :(… why is this so hard. On the other hand HWinfo64 seems to say I can undervolt the cpu, but it does not offer such control. I would appreciate more guidance if possible. Really have to sort this out.

      • AF1

        February 14, 2022 at 1:31 pm

        Hi Tomer, right click on the icon in the tray and choose sensors. You will then see a graphic that looks like a fan along the bottom. Click on that will open Fan Control, then follow my instructions above.

      • Tomer

        February 15, 2022 at 8:32 am

        Hi AF1.

        Unfortunately I don't have that icon, and I've watched a few tutorials that mention that if I don't have the icon it means the system is not supported… which sends me back to square 1 :(

  20. Kole

    February 25, 2022 at 3:06 am

    Hey so I followed basically all of your steps and once I got to around the part about undervoltage I kept getting the BCOD (blue screen of death, about my computer running Into a problem and having to restart) and now I can't even start It up anymore It Just gives me the same error, I've tried reseting the PC and using system restore and they both come up as an error or are Just don't work, I've also tried various other different things to no avail. I'm basically at my wits end, any help would be appreciated

    • Douglas Black

      February 25, 2022 at 3:42 am

      Sorry to hear about your issues, Kole. If your computer is BSODing only after starting Windows, then it's likely in this case that it would be caused by undervolting too much in TS, as ThrottleStop should only be able to apply the UV when the app is run. However, if you suspect your undervolt is stuck even after turning off, I would suggest shutting down, opening the laptop, and carefully unplugging the battery for a minute. I hope this helps.

      • Kole

        February 25, 2022 at 3:58 am

        I am unsure about how I would go about doing that, because I have an Acer aspire F15 laptop and I can't Just take the battery off separately I'd have to unscrew everything at the back, what do you suggest I do?

      • Douglas Black

        February 25, 2022 at 4:11 am

        If you are not confident about opening up your laptop yet, I would suggest reading through a guide or two at https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Acer_Aspire — they may even have your model. Laptop media also has a guide, I see: https://laptopmedia.com/highlights/inside-acer-aspire-f-15-f5-573g-disassembly-internal-photos-and-upgrade-optionss/. Unplugging the battery for a few minutes should clear any settings stuck to the CPU registers, I think.

      • Kole

        February 26, 2022 at 3:02 am

        Just finished taking everything apart and unplugging the battery but It still doesn't work

      • Douglas Black

        February 26, 2022 at 4:40 am

        Sorry to hear that, Kole. I would suggest taking it to a shop for a diagnosis if you can.

  21. Matthew

    March 4, 2022 at 11:43 pm

    Hey! It was really helpful by making me improve a lot of fps on rainbow six, I had 29 and now I almost have 70!! but I wanted to ask y there is a small guide or configuration for TPL?

  22. anthony

    March 21, 2022 at 9:04 am

    hi, anthony again.

    i want to ask something first before i start messing with tstop. i have an intel i5 5200U which i know is underpowered since its for battery life, with HD graphics 5500. Does it have less of an effect on U series instead of H/K series CPUs?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 21, 2022 at 10:58 am

      yes, the impact is lower on the U series laptops. I'd suggest starting with a -50 mV undervolt and see how that goes. I wouldn't go over -80 mV for stability, and even that might be too high.

      • anthony

        March 22, 2022 at 12:55 pm

        thanks, andrei.

        its been 2 days and i set it to a modest -40 mV and haven't experienced any issues in both idle and heavy load, although i haven't used a proper benchmark to stress test. i'll still try to lower the offset more as per your recommendation but im fine with it for now as i do not want have any issues until i save up enough for a proper gaming laptop, although its nice i get to practice and learn about tstop so that i won't even get the chance to wreck a new gaming laptop. question, do you guys plan to make a complete guide for most, if not all, of the options in tstop? im quite curious about all the other stuff like limit reasons and what each of those limits mean. anyway, thanks for making the guide and especially replying to a noob like me.

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 22, 2022 at 2:54 pm

        I don't think we will have a more detailed update at this point, because we're a small project with already a lot of other topics on our hands, and because most of the newer Intel processors no longer support Throttlestop, so the interest for the software is diminishing. Plus, the important aspects, those that will make a difference for users, are already covered here

  23. Bruno Pugliese

    April 4, 2022 at 4:10 pm

    Hello!

    My laptop has an "Intel i7-7820HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz"
    While trying to undervolt, the "Unlock Adjustable Voltage" checkbox is disabled and I can't do anything else on FIVR Control. Am I doing something wrong, or is it just not compatible with my processor?

    Best Regards

    • hexaae

      July 1, 2022 at 9:49 am

      It typically means your BIOS locked Intel undervolting. Search in your manufacturer forum for more infos if an older BIOS flash could solve the problem.

  24. Hexaae

    July 1, 2022 at 9:31 am

    Can you be more specific about the Speed Shift EPP and Speed Step?
    Should I chek also main panel Speed Shift EPP or is enough through TPL?
    Should I disable Speed Step if SsEEP is on?
    I have a i7-8750h.

    Thank you

    • Arc

      July 17, 2022 at 8:17 pm

      Speed step is mostly a legacy feature for old CPUs.

      If Speed Shift doesn't had a green SST next to it, then it's off in hardware and you need to turn it on in TPL or BIOS.

      Windows 10-11 use SS, when turned om, so it's probably better to set a value in windows, rather than have it fight with throttlestop and constantly overwrite each other.

      you can enable GUI 'Processor energy performance preference policy' in regedit (set attributes to 2) and then set a % that will convert to an EPP value, import your power configs with the pluse buton and set one for the TS profile. The system defaults are "High Performance" EPP 0, "Balanced" EPP 153 and "PowerSaver".

  25. Peter Banton

    July 18, 2022 at 12:27 pm

    Hello, I have just downloaded and installed Throttlestop V9.5. When I open the FIVR page, most of the panels are greyed-out and I cannot change anything. Eg. I cannot check Unlock Adjustable Voltage, CPU Core and Adaptive are checked, but greyed-out, Offset Voltage is greyed-out (I can't change it).

    Any help would be gratefully received.

    Regards, PB

    Dell Latitude 7410
    i7 10820U
    Win 10 64 bit

  26. Nick N

    November 6, 2022 at 3:05 pm

    Douglas, Thanks very much for developing and supporting ThrottleStop – huge benefit to the community.

    My 5 year old Dell i7 started CPU throttling about a year ago – it doesn't seem to be temperature related. I went through a range of freeware apps, the initial BIOS help to disable FID locking (on Micro$oft sites I suspect) was useless.

    It was kind of under control until a week ago, now it reverts to throttling all 8 cores at 10% base freq every single resume from hibernation. This has been reported as a Dell specific issue on other forum sites. I note with alarm that Dell features disproportionately high in comments here.

    My feedback is that I've added ThrottleStop to the startup apps and so can disable all the following (which get set by default during a restart) as windows resumes

    Clock modulation
    Turbo
    BD PROCHOT
    SpeedStep
    C1E

    Clock Modulation seemed to be the worst offender when it comes to throttling.
    I'd hibernate the laptop overnight, when resuming windows all the other CPU settings I changed manually remained set, but the resume process re-enabled clock modulation.

    No direct question, just my feedback and thanks.

    Nick

  27. Arafat

    November 17, 2022 at 2:30 pm

    Hi,

    How can I completely remove the throttlestop from my pc? I mean how can I uninstall or revert back to it's default setting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.