Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Intel Core i5-8300H benchmarks (Coffee Lake, 8th gen) vs i7-7700HQ, i5-7300HQ and i7-8550U

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on August 5, 2018

As of April 3rd 2018 there’s a new series of Performance Mobile Processors meant for multimedia, gaming and workstation laptops, part of the Intel Coffee Lake line.

This includes a multitude of SKUs, with the most important ones being the Core i5-8300H (quad-core), Core i7-8750H (six-core) and the Core i9-8950HK (six-core).

In this article we’re discussing about the entry-level option in the Core H Coffee Lake series, the Core i5-8300H CPU.

We’ll talk about the new architecture, what’s changed from its KabyLake Core i5-7300HQ predecessor and we’ll have a look at some benchmarks and how this i5 compares to the existing KabyLake and KabyLake-R options on the market.

For starters, the Core i5-8300H is a quad-core processor with HyperThreading and TurboBoost, part of the Intel Coffee Lake H family of high-performance mobile processors and built on the revised 14++ nm lithography. The Cores are clocked at 2.3 GHz, but they can Turbo up to 4.0 GHz (Max Single Core Turbo).

Other technical details include a max TDP of 45W, 8 MB of L3 Cache and support for up to 2666 MHz dual-channel DDR4 memory. Coffee Lake also introduces the new Intel 300 chipset, with support for enhanced audio and IO, including faster wireless connectivity, better optimized TB3 support and configurations with Intel Optane memory, albeit I expect these to be mostly implemented on the higher-end SKUs based on the i7 and i9 CPUs.

Have a look at the table below for a quicker look at the i5-8300H’s main specs and how it compares to the mainstream KabyLake i5 and i7 alternatives. We also added the Core U i7-8550U in here, as we expect the two to cross paths in the lower tiers of multimedia and everyday notebook segments. We didn’t however include the new Core i7-8750H CPU in this comparison because we’ve talked about it in a separate article.

i5-8300H (Ark)
i7-7700HQ (Ark)
i5-7300HQ (Ark)
i7-8550U (Ark)
Litography14++ nm14+ nm14+ nm14+ nm
TDP45W45W45W15W
Cores/Threads4/84/84/44/8
CPU Base Frequency2.3 GHz2.8 GHz2.5 GHz1.8 GHz
Turbo – 4 Cores3.9 GHz3.4 GHz3.1 GHz~2.2 GHz
Turbo – 2 Cores3.6 GHz3.3 GHz
Turbo – 1 Core4.0 GHz3.8 GHz3.5 GHz4.0 GHz
L3 Cache8 MB6 MB6 MB8 MB
Memory
DDR4 – 2666 MhzDDR4 – 2400 MhzDDR4 – 2400 MhzDDR4 – 2400 Mhz
GraphicsIntel UHD 630Intel HD 630Intel HD 630Intel UHD 620

Compared to the i5-7300HQ, the Coffee Lake mainstream i5 gets HyperThreading and thus twice the amount of working threads. The cores have a slightly lower Base Clock Speed of 2.3 GHz, but can reach higher Turbo frequencies and were able to stably run at 3.8-3.9 GHz in benchmarks that put a 100% load on the CPU on our test units (can differ on each implementation). The i5-8300H also gets more L3 cache memory (8 vs 6 MB of RAM) and support for faster DDR4 memory.

All these translate in superior performance in benchmarks, as you’ll see in the next section of this article, as well as in real-life multi-thread loads.

i5-8300Hi7-7700HQi5-7300HQi7-8550U
3DMark 11 – Physics9360883860776581
3DMark – Fire Strike Physics118721063167588157
Cinebench R15 CPU801 cb734 cb514 cb558 cb
Cinebench R15 CPU – Single Core166 cb159 cb142 cb164 cb
Cinebench R11.5 CPU7.73 pts8.1 pts5.8 pts6.2 pts
Cinebench R11.5 CPU – Single Core1.86 pts1.8 pts1.5 pts1.9 pts
Geekbench 3 32-bit – Single Core3740 pts3675 pts3195 pts3779 pts
Geekbench 3 32-bit – Multi Core15050 pts14102 pts9752 pts12523 pts
Geekbench 4.1 64-bit – Single Core4771 pts4635 pts4040 pts4877 pts
Geekbench 4.1 64-bit – Multi Core14788 pts14783 pts11039 pts13759 pts
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 1188.3 fps168.4 fps160.8 fps148 fps
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 251.38 fps46 fps34.1 fps33.1 fps

The i5-8300H results above are based on the two different mainstream laptops (with 16 GB of DDR4-2666 MHz RAM and SATA SSD storage) we’ve tested so far (as of April 3rd 2018) and they can differ from implementation to implementation. Our two test units worked well and didn’t suffer from throttling or other sorts of performance issues. The i7-7700HQ, i5-7300HQ and i7-8550U results are based on the averages from notebookcheck.net, as they have a larger pool of reviewed units.

According to these results, the i5-8300H is 5-10% faster than the i7-7700HQ CPU in most single and multi-core loads, mainly due to its ability to maintain higher Turbo Boost frequencies. Compared to the KabyLake i5-7300HQ it’s meant to replace, the i5-8300H is significantly faster across the board.

Some of you might also want to know how the i5-8300H fares against the i7-8550U processor, as I expect the two to power some full-size laptops in the $800-$1000 price range. They aren’t far apart in single-core benchmarks, as both are capable of reaching Turbo Speeds of up to 4.0 GHz, but the 15W CPU (i7-8550U) clocks down fast with continuous multi-core loads, and as a result the 45W (i5-8300H) processor scores much higher in this case. Thus, if you’re looking for performance in applications that put a constant stress on the CPU (video editing, text editing, programming/engineering software, even gaming to some extent), the i5-8300H is the option for you. On the other hand, if you’re after a balanced everyday computer able to handle most tasks well, while running cooler and for a longer time on battery, a configuration based on the i7-8550U or even the i5-8250U will make more sense for you.

On top of that, if performance is what you’re after, your money would be better spent on a 6-core 12-thread i7-8750U motorized computer anyway, which we’re talking in depth about in this dedicated article.

All in all, despite being the entry-level option in the Intel Coffee Lake line of performance mobile processors, the Core i5-8300H is a very capable CPU that matches and even outmatches in most cases last year’s mainstream Core H CPU, the KabyLake i7-7700HQ. I expect it to power mid-range multimedia laptops and entry-level gaming notebooks in 2018 and early into 2019, as an excellent option for those of you on a tighter budget who aren’t willing to shove the extra $150+ for the i7 or just don’t need the extra performance provided by the 6-core Coffee Lake option.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

8 Comments

  1. ronin

    May 17, 2018 at 4:26 pm

    What performance we can expect with 4 core turbo boost?
    In modern multi core games. In budget friendly laptops like Asus TUF FX504 or Dell G3?

    Can it run stable at least 4 x 3700Hz?

    Can it be fixed to 4 x 3900Hz with some sophisticated cooling solution like cooling pad?

    • Nick

      June 26, 2018 at 4:40 pm

      Asus TUF FX 504 is power limited, the CPU never reaches max frequency, the Dell G3 does reach higher frequencies but at the cost of 100 degrees C on the CPU. A cooling pad will not be enough to reach higher clocks, the TUF FX 504 with a cooling pad and an undervolt only reaches about 2.7GHz on all 4 cores before it power limits itself to 2.3 GHz base clock at 70 degrees C on the CPU.

      • Jon

        August 7, 2018 at 7:03 am

        You will need a vacuum fan cooler that ejects the excess hot air quicker. They attach at the main exhaust grill. Much more effective than the cooling pads (although a pad that allows ventelayion cannot hurt; will help hold the vacuum coolers also.

      • Anand

        September 14, 2018 at 11:21 am

        I have a dell g5 5587 and the CPU reaches 100 degrees C while gaming. I had to turn off turbo boost to keep it around 70 degrees C. I am not sure if that is even normal.

  2. asdf

    May 24, 2018 at 10:26 pm

    I object to your use of the word "motorized".

  3. Newbie

    July 8, 2018 at 1:14 pm

    My laptop acer predator helios 300 come with i5 8300h gtx 1060 6gb .Now my ram just 4gb brand sk hynix 2400mhz. I would like to add 8gb . Can i chg with ram 2666mhz ?

  4. Tim Yogerst

    August 21, 2018 at 5:16 pm

    With the 4+ core Windows licensing, that 6-core i7 becomes a $300+ upgrade in most cases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *