Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Vivobook Pro N752 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Asus Vivobook Pro N752 series (N752VX) review – 17-inch laptop for professionals

45 Comments

  1. Panos

    February 23, 2016 at 7:40 pm

    Might i ask if you have plans on testing this model or the FHD one for pwm?

    Regards
    Panos

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 23, 2016 at 10:16 pm

      I don’t think I can test the FHD version and I don’t have the tools to test for PWM either.

  2. John

    March 3, 2016 at 2:44 am

    Thank you so much for reviewing this refresh. Do you know when they plan to release this line of laptops? I’m specifically interested in the asus n552 line, and it seems they would be released alongside the N752.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 3, 2016 at 9:45 pm

      They are already available in some parts of the world

      • John

        March 4, 2016 at 4:06 am

        Ahh yes, I can see that. Do you know when the US availability date will be? Your review hints at this being a great year for the N series.Thank you for the quick reply!

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 4, 2016 at 12:36 pm

          No, sry, you could try contacting Asus North America on Facebook or Twitter and see what they have to say about it.

  3. Anna

    March 4, 2016 at 10:16 am

    I so have understood that for 1,700 dollars I can buy a laptop at the highest level for Asus ? )))
    Nvidia 970M – Nvidia 980M
    IPS
    Core i7-6700HQ

  4. Ute

    March 12, 2016 at 4:27 pm

    Dear Andrei, great review, Thanx. I want to buy the N752 now ;-)
    A small question about the look: Is the aluminium-lid (cover) of the N752 a bit brighter and browner than the lid of the N751? It seems so and I don’t like the grey of the N71 :(

    And another thing: Do you guess/know, if I will have many issues with scaling of i.e. Windows 10 and MS Office 2016 an Internet Browsers, if I choose the UHD display (instead of FHD)?
    Appreciate your answer. Kind reards, Ute

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2016 at 4:01 pm

      I’d say they’re the same, but I don’t have them side by side for comparison. Windows 10, Chrome/Edge/Firefox and Office 2013 scale well, I’d reckon Office 2016 does so as well. You’ll have issues with some software from smaller third party developers, which might not have been updated properly. But I haven’t run into scaling issue with the standard programs I’m using on my machines

  5. Jorge

    March 21, 2016 at 5:24 pm

    The asus website for N752 (asusworld.it/model.asp?p=2475260) says the memory module is 16GB DDR4 at 3200MHz.

    I want to upgrade to 32 GB, but all the sticks I’ve found are 2133MHz. Will it be compatible?

  6. Jorge

    March 21, 2016 at 5:24 pm

    also, thanks for the great review

  7. Andreas

    April 4, 2016 at 5:01 am

    i’m planing to buy this laptop , but the version without SSD , i want to install by myself a SAMSUNG SSD M2 950 PRO , will it work?

    Does this ASUS laptop NVMe gen3 with 4 lanes???

  8. Ivan

    April 9, 2016 at 1:42 pm

    Great review.
    Can you confirm FHD version of N752VX supports NVMe SSD like Samsung 950 pro?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 13, 2016 at 10:20 am

      I’m not 100% positive on that, since I haven’t personally tried it. But it should support them.

  9. Richard Payne

    April 15, 2016 at 5:42 am

    Where can I buy N752VW, it hard to find ex-stock in EU.
    Why ASUS store is not listed in Store?
    Does it come with 2 or 3 year warranty?

  10. Hamid

    April 28, 2016 at 8:31 am

    great spec, good performance just if it was able in the market and people could buy it we would be happy. (when it is in market or how can I request for a customized one?)
    the other point is the battery which is so light for such a powerful device.
    is there any chance to replace the battery with for example a 9 Cells or a 6 cells one?

    • Marko

      May 3, 2016 at 2:32 pm

      The only drawback compared to the N751 is that the battery is not user-replaceable anymore.

      Speaking of, the battery is rated at 48Wh compared to last year’s 56Wh unit but interestingly enough, that doesn’t seem to affect battery life as much. It appears that the updated Core i7-6700HQ deals better with power consumption compared to its Haswell counterpart from the N751 and thus compensating for the lowered battery capacity.

  11. Nao

    June 16, 2016 at 5:01 am

    I wonder why they took the external subwoofer from new N series? I have an n45sf which the subwoofer proven much helpful delivers better bass and the overall sound. Doesn’t N means multimedia? Which should bring perfection not just in visual, but also in audio. This is so confusing.

  12. Chris

    July 26, 2016 at 9:44 am

    Hi Andrei,

    The product code of the asus tested, was it something like N752VX-GC256R or N752VX-GC193T ?

    I found some reviews that say the ssd is only up to 500MBps like a normal ssd, yet on the Asus website the speeds say up to 1500MBps, so maybe the ones ending with T or R are different. I’d like to buy the same one you tested here.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2016 at 2:59 pm

      If the configuration comes with a small 128 GB SSD, it could be as slow as you mention, as small size NVMe drives are much slower than larger ones (128 << 256 <<512). I can't comment on those name codes, Asus have a weird way of naming their products, with different codes in each regions. You could however ask the shop for details of the drive, if they have any. Size would be a decent starting point, and model name would be more useful.

  13. Buse Cristian

    August 17, 2016 at 10:50 pm

    Buna ziua,
    Interesant articol. In legatura cu acest model (ASUS N752VX), versiunea cu display IPS cand va aparea in Romania si la ce pret ar putea ajunge?
    Multumesc!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2016 at 7:50 am

      Please keep your comments in English, so everyone can understand them. I can’t really comment on this laptop’s availability in Romania, from what I’m seeing right now it’s not available in any of the big stores. From what I know, the only configurations that were available in Romania came with the FHD IPS screen, not the UHD panel. You can look at the Aspire V17 Nitro instead, which was available with the 4K screen and might still be

  14. Sofia Rocha

    September 2, 2016 at 12:03 pm

    Hi, thanks for your review! I am not being able to find this model with the UHD screen in Europe anywhere… where did you get yours?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2016 at 9:26 am

      Mine was a test sample. You could look at the Aspire Nitro V17 if as an alternative

  15. Cosmin

    October 21, 2016 at 6:02 am

    Hi, can I install ssd without to take it off the DVD-rom?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 21, 2016 at 10:24 am

      I don’t really understand what you’re asking, but yes, you cna put an SSD in the available bays without replacing the optical drive. The types of storage are explained in the Hardware section.

      • jeytsav

        October 28, 2016 at 5:20 am

        Hello Andrei

        As I can understand from the picture (http://cdn.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/hardware1.jpg) , there is only one slot for the storage device (on the left). Since it is mentioned that this laptop has a dual storage drive support, can you tell me where the second slot is? maybe deeper in the case?

        Thanks in advance :)
        John

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 30, 2016 at 2:04 pm

          There's a M.2 80 mm bay (under the RAM slots in the picture) and the 2.5" inch bay that you're mentioning

  16. D W Buckley

    December 7, 2016 at 7:05 am

    This does fill in a lot of info from other reviews that I have seen. I have the N752VX-GC190T bought in the UK and it had no sound from the 125GB SSD drive. The Asus team were fantastic sending links to download all the drivers for the motherboard and soon it was up and running. Great Laptop great Asus help team.

  17. Vladimir

    January 3, 2017 at 8:25 pm

    I have FHD version of this lap top. It is less than a month old. I have SEVERE LIGHT BLEEDING on 2 out of 4 sides of the screen! Complained to Asus office in my country (Serbia) and they told me that "there is no defect on my lap top, that i reported". In the store wher I buy, they told me that that ammount of light bleeding is normal, and it is everything but not normal! Ridiculously silly answer, for problem that is sooo common on ASUS lap tops and monitors. You can find video on you tube with paralel review of 20 same ASUS gaming monitors, where more than half of them have unacceptable light bleeding issues. ASUS MANAGERS , IT IS TIME TO DO SOMETHING WITH QUALITY CONTROL IN YOUR PRODUCITON LINES! Nobody wants to spend 1000+ $ for lap top with this kind of screen problem! Watch out!

  18. Vlad

    February 1, 2017 at 3:22 am

    Hello

    what eill be the successor of n752vx.
    no news on asus site about n series.

    they seem to be disappeared.

    any design change for the new model with kaby lake processor?

    thanks.

  19. Ernst

    February 1, 2017 at 5:31 pm

    FYI,

    N752VX, HD display, 256GB SSD pcie x4, 1 TB HGST HD.

    I replaced the SSD pcie x4 card with a NVME 256 MB Samsung 951.
    Up-scaled to 32 GB memory, 1TB SSD 2,5" and replaced the Wifi card with the newest from Intel, WLAN-AC 8265.
    Bluetooth 4.2 etc..
    Everything running like crazy on Windows 10 64 bit.
    Only to get Bluetooth to work it was necessary to delete the old "hidden" drivers repeatedly until the Bluetooth device showed up again.
    Back cover comes of real easy with no strings attached.

  20. laurentiu serban

    February 12, 2017 at 2:54 pm

    Salut, Andrei!
    Întreaga gamă de notebook-uri ASUS VivoBook Pro N752VX au tastatura iluminată, sau numai modelele high-end a acestei game? De exemplu, m-ar încânta să achiziționez acest model ASUS VivoBook Pro N752VX-GC189T, însă nu specifică acest lucru punctual!
    Mulțumesc!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2017 at 4:53 pm

      all of them, from what I know. Please keep the discussion in English, thanks

      • laurentiu serban

        February 14, 2017 at 5:03 pm

        Thank you, appreciate it!
        In the meantime, I ordered and arrived to my flat in Germany, but i've got stucked with a serious issue!
        Could you, please, let me know why no media player assigned to this notebook, doesn't work? I use often "km player", but not even when i am switching to Groove or Windows Media Player, i receive errors and messages, like: missing file! What do you think i should do?
        Thank you!

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 14, 2017 at 5:18 pm

          Just install the player you want and use that one to play your content.

          • laurentiu serban

            February 14, 2017 at 5:35 pm

            I've been trying for the last 8 hours to do this, none worked so far,.. a bit disappointed with this purchase, up until now i've had 4 Acer Notebooks, worked flawless compared to Asus!
            I thought you had experienced such an issue like me, when first used, maybe you'll be able to provide me a link or something, in order to cope better with this malfunction i got!
            Sorry, i'm pissed with it right now, I am due to return to the store and get back to Acer!

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 15, 2017 at 5:08 am

            That looks like a software issue and I haven't heard of it before. Perhaps Google can help you out, but I don't see how installing the software you'd want won't allow you to run any type of clips.

  21. laurentiu serban

    February 15, 2017 at 5:40 am

    Actually, i figured that out,.. partially! I must to enable admin to have permission over the requested files for opening,.. sadly, i should set this permission for each folder and file one at the time! So strange when you're connecting an old external HDD, this requirement is emerging all of the sudden!

  22. dadavfc

    February 23, 2017 at 10:44 am

    Andrei, thanks a lot, it was an amazing review!
    Just one question: it will be a problem with this non replaceable battery? Otherwise I think that this laptop is a force to be reckoned with…

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 23, 2017 at 11:04 am

      The battery can be replaced if needed, you'd just have to go past the back panel. It's not as easy as just swapping it out like on older laptops, but it can be replaced, as long as you find a compatible one of course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *