Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Dell Inspiron 13 7000 (7347) review – an affordable 2-in-1 13 incher

227 Comments

  1. Carlos

    October 16, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    Hi, wondering which I’d get more value from: this Dell Inspiron 13 or a 2015 MBA 13″ 128GB. Both are about $999. I’ll be mostly using it for Photoshop work. Might also use Premier sometimes. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 16, 2015 at 7:38 pm

      The MBA packs a faster processor, but I’d guess you can get more RAM and a larger SSD on the Dell for $999, right? Also, with the Dell you get the form factor and the touchscreen.

  2. john

    November 6, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    There are some drawbacks with this machine to be sure. I wouldn’t characterize battery removal that requires one to take out 12 screws as a piece of cake, seriously, a piece of cake? That’s right we all carry a micro Phillips screwdriver all the time to get to a battery, I mean you never know…..
    Now let’s talk about reliability. A common problem with the Dell line and this model in particular is that they don’t want to power up at times. In posts on many blogs and Dells own site the standard procedure is to remove the battery and discharge the power switch. While not an uncommon problem with other machines, we aren’t having a piece of cake with them, we just snap out the battery, no real time for cake. Some have had to replace their motherboard, once again not likely an unusual occurrence with other models, however when it is a business machine, 7 to 10 days of repairs is an issue. My recommendation is when you purchase a Dell, to also purchase and keep with you a lenovo, HP, or other brand as a backup so you know you are covered……

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2015 at 11:37 am

      You’re right, it could be easy for someone who’s experienced with such stuff, but otherwise complicated. I’ve toned down that section, thanks for the heads up.

      Reliability is something I for one find impossible to address in such posts. I get to use these devices for about 1-2 weeks and there’s only that much I can observe in that period. The products I own I treat more in depth and usually come with a follow-up review after a few months. My XPS 13 series is one example.

      I feel the best way to find out about reliability issues is to go through the user reviews on sites like amazon or bestbuy, but also the forums on notebookreview.com . That’s what I do when I try to buy something for myself. Reviews like this one are just one step of the search and help narrow down options.

      At the end of the day, any laptop can break. From the premium brands down to the low end OEMs, and that’s why I advise people to get extended warranty, if possible.

  3. Steve Guiloff

    January 24, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    Hey Andrei. Just a comment on the security slot. Kensington locks do not fit in the security slot. Looking on the internet i found the nobel wedge lock will fit, but could not get confirmation from dell (i had a chat with someone from dell accesories but they did not have any information about the lock). I’m buying a lock from Nobel (quite overprized by the way) and expect it will work fine.

    • Steve Guiloff

      January 24, 2016 at 8:14 pm

      en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19599332

  4. Clare

    April 28, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Does anyone else have a problem with the plastic coating peeling off the cover – just around each far corner on the lid. So disappointing as my Dell has not done a lot of work and has been carefully looked after.

  5. Jacob M

    July 25, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    I found that the screen cracks very easily when closed because there is no support on the curved corners. I heard a crack when I picked mine up with one hand from the table. Upon opening it, I found a spider crack in the upper left corner. Dell support said that this was not covered by the warranty. I’ve owned it for less than a month.

  6. Nancy

    August 20, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    Can you plug it in to cigarette lighter with adapter or slot in vehicle?

  7. Frank

    August 27, 2016 at 10:41 pm

    Hi

    I have noticed that my Dell Inspiron 13 7000 series does not have the same screen resolution on images than text.

    Every time I am on internet the headers looks a little burry and the text content on the website looks perfect.

    I just tried to reinstall the video drivers but It is sitll the same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *