Intel Core i5-5200U vs Core i7-5500U – which one’s the better deal?

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on March 16, 2015

Most of the Broadwell U powered laptops you can find in stores right now are available with both Core i5 and i7 processors, and among them, the Core i5-5200Us and the Core i7-5500Us are some of the most popular options, as they are the base models in their classes (mid-range for the i5, high-end for the i7).

In this post we’re going to have these two side by side in a short comparison. At the time of this article I’ve already tested several configurations powered by the i7 CPU, as well as one powered by the i5 processor, the Dell XPS 13 2015 (here’s the full review).

Keep in mind that both of these are low-voltage processors from Intel’s Broadwell U platform, designed to provide a solid balance between performance and efficiency, but neither are very powerful and should not be your first picks if speed is what you primarily want in your laptop. If you do plan on getting a highly portable everyday laptop and don’t know for sure which of the two CPUS provides the best bang for the buck, then this post will answer most of your questions.

For starters, let’s have a quick look at the specs.

Intel Core i5-5200U (Ark)
Intel Core i7-5500U (Ark)
Processor Base Frequency 2.2 GHz 2.4 GHz
TurboBoost Max Frequency 2.7 GHz 3.0 GHz
Cache 3 MB 4 MB
TDP 15 W 15 W
Memory Size up to 16 GB DDR3, dual-channel up to 16 GB DDR3, dual-channel
Graphics Intel HD 5500 Intel HD 5500
Graphics Frequency 300 – 900 MHz 300 – 950 MHz

On a first look there’s not a lot extra offered by the i7 processor. It has 33% more cache memory and both the CPU and the integrated Intel HD 5500 graphics run at slightly higher frequencies than on the i5, but in everyday use you’ll hardly actually notice the difference between the two, if they would be placed on similar configurations (more about that in a second).

In fact, both can handle browsing, text editing, all sorts of multimedia content and even some casual or less demanding games. The i7 is 5-15% faster at high loads, but from my experience that’s nearly impossible to observe with the bare eye, even when having them side by side.

I’ve ran a couple of benchmarks and they also back-up what I’ve said above. Check the numbers. And make sure you also read the observations below.

Intel Core i5-5200U
Intel Core i7-5500U
Cinebench R11.5 CPU 2.84 pts 3.23 pts
Cinebench R11.5 CPU – single core 1.18 pts 1.43 pts
Cinebench R15 CPU 259 cb 290 cb
Cinebench R15 CPU – single core 100 cb 111 cb
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 1 86.66 fps 99.14 fps
x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 – Pass 2 16.23 fps 18.12 fps
Cinebench R11.5 GPU 24.63 fps 27.62 fps
Cinebench R15 GPU 30.22 fps 32.29 fps
3DMark 11 P1147 P1207
3D Mark – Cloud Gate 5057 5557
3D Mark – Sky Driver 2713 2770

And some gaming results, with all the titles running on 1366 x 768 px resolution with LOW graphic details.

Intel Core i5-5200U
Intel Core i7-5500U
Dirt 3 30 fps 32 fps
Tomb Raider
46 fps 48 fps
Bioshock Infinite 29 fps 31 fps

The numbers above are of course affected by the other hardware components in your computer and should only be taken just as a general reference.

Both test computers were running Windows 8.1, but the i5 was paired with 4 GB of RAM and an SSD, while the i7 was paired with 16 GB of RAM and a 7200 rpm HDD. On the other hand, one of the more recent laptops tested recently, which included the Core i7-5500U processor, 12 GB of RAM and an SSD, scored lower than the reference used above, as you can see here.

So what I’m saying is there are many variables that can affect benchmark results. But even so, the long story here is fairly simple: the Intel Core i7-5500U is not significantly faster in any way than the Core i5-5200U processor. And the difference between them is barely noticeable in daily use. 

The i7 is however more expensive, by about $100. Thus, if you want a thin and light ultraportable for casual daily activities, a Broadwell U Core i5 processor would suffice and the i7 won’t offer a lot more on top. The i5 will also be slightly more efficient, as it runs at lower frequencies, which should only translate in roughly 5-10% longer battery life (varies which each implementation though).

Still, there’s another aspect to consider. Most manufacturers tend to bundle the i5 CPU with lower-end configurations only. That could include in some cases just 4 GB of RAM (which is most of the time soldered on the motherboard, thus not upgradeable), limited storage space (which again might not be upgradeable, although that’s not usually the case), but also other features like a lower resolution display or slower connectivity options (Wi-Fi N vs AC). Thus in some cases you might just be compelled to get the i7 anyway, which will generally cost you several hundreds extra, as this processor will usually be bundled with other upgrades.

Wrap-up

So at the end of the day, while the Intel Core i7-5500U is not significantly faster than the Core i5-5200U processor, it does provide a 5-15% boost in some applications, especially those that require a great deal or resources. If that’s not the case and you only want a computer for casual use and everyday activities, the i5 should be your pick, if the available configurations suit your other needs and requirements (apart from processing power).

On the other hand, if you do need the speed, you should also consider the 28W versions of the Broadwell U processors, specifically the i7s, which are 10-30% faster than the 15W i7s and also bundle more capable graphics, but sacrifice battery life to some extent. Still, that’s something we’ll address in another article.

For now, that’s about it. That’s what I consider you should know about the Intel Core i7-5500U / i5-5200U processors and hopefully the article will help you better understand the differences between the two and decide which is the better pick for what you need. If you’ve got any questions or anything to add to the post, the comments section is open and I’m around to reply. And if you’re interested in Broadwell ultrabooks, you should definitely check out this other article, a complete list of all the Broadwell powered ultraportables available in stores.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

132 Comments

  1. kiran kumar patra

    June 13, 2015 at 1:20 am

    I need your help
    I am planing to buy a hp laptop pavilion 15ab032tx which has 5th gen i5 5200u processor with 8gb ram and nvidia 940m gpu ,screen resolution 1920*1080
    Will it be good deal for daily use and gaming ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 11:24 am

      Should be OK as long as you don’t expect to run the latest titles at high details. The 940M chip is only a mid-range solution.

  2. yash jadhav

    June 16, 2015 at 6:22 am

    Andrei,
    I am in great confusion I need some help
    I am a Computer Engineer
    I will need to work on software and even want to go in graphics designing side means I will like to learn Photoshop,.php,Java etc
    I am confuse between i7-5500 and i5-5200
    hp 15-ab035TX is with i7-5500
    and hp 15-ab032TX is with i5-5200

    so please can you help me which laptop should i buy according to my requirements

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 11:35 am

      I’d get the I7-5500U with 8 GB of RAM or more if the budget allows. Otherwise, I’d prioritize RAM over the CPU. In other words, I’d rather get the i5 with 8 GB of RAM than the I7 with only 4 GB.

  3. Ankit

    June 19, 2015 at 4:52 am

    Very nice review.

    Please help me out with the below query:

    HP Pavilion 15-ab034TX:
    Core i7 5500U(5gen)
    GT840M 2GB
    RAM8GB 1TB HDD.

    OR

    HP Envy 15-k201tx:
    Corei5 5200U(5th gen)
    GTX 850 4GB
    RAM8GB 1TB HDD.

    Which of the above should I prefer?
    My purpose is: Video editing/rendering

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2015 at 8:26 am

      You haven’t said anything about the amount of RAM, but since video editing requires a strong CPU and RAM, I’d get the Core i7 option in this case.

      • Ankit

        June 20, 2015 at 9:28 am

        I did say about the RAM. 8 GB DDR3 in both case.

        Dont you think the graphics card in my i7 model is quite weak than its i5 counterpart?

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 20, 2015 at 10:27 pm

        i don’t thi8nk the graphics would make much of a difference in your usage scenarios. It would in games, but you said nothing about those.

    • Yash jadhav

      June 20, 2015 at 9:26 am

      Bro,
      I had purchased hp pavillion 15-ab032tx
      it consist of 5th gen i5
      Go with ab series its awesome dnt go with envy

      • Ankit

        June 21, 2015 at 10:50 am

        @Yash Jadhav:

        Did you face any problem with envy?

  4. Chris Lamke

    June 19, 2015 at 9:35 pm

    Good review of these two CPUs. This saved me some time comparing them manually. Thank you.

  5. Siddharth Kalra

    June 26, 2015 at 8:17 am

    Hello, i am an architecture student and i want to buy a new laptop. I will be using it for AutoCAD, Revit and other 3d rendering and drawing softwares. I am confused between an i7-5500u paired with geforce 940m and i5-5200u paired with gtx 850m.both have 1600mhz 8gb ram and 5400 rpm sata hard disk. What should i go with?

  6. Santiago

    June 27, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    Could you help me deciding which processor ( i5 or i7) is more convenient for casual gaming and softwares like Matlab, AutoCad in 2D, SolidWorks and engineering apps?
    I have to keep to a budget of u$900. I’m thinking of buying these computers:

    1)Toshiba Satellite S50-CBT2N22
    toshiba.com/us/computers/laptops/satellite/S50/S50-CBT2N22
    Whith:
    8gb RAM
    1Tb Hybrid HDD
    Full HD display

    2)Toshiba Satellite S50-CBT2G22:
    8gb Ram
    1Tb Hybrid Hdd
    2gb Nvidia 930M
    FHD display

    or

    3)Toshiba Satellite L50-CBT2N22
    8gb RAM
    1Tb Hybrid HDD
    Full HD display

    I also want to know if it is worth buying in the first two options the 256Gb SSD instead of the hybrid HDD.
    If not, which configuration do you recomend me?

    Thanks you,
    Santiago.

    • Santiago

      June 27, 2015 at 8:55 pm

      Sorry, i forgot to add the links of options 2 and 3. Here they are.
      2)toshiba.com/us/computers/laptops/satellite/S50/S50-CBT2G22
      3)toshiba.com/us/computers/laptops/satellite/L50/L50-CBT2N22

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2015 at 11:14 am

      I’d get a Core i5 processor with dedicated graphics if you want to play games. Not sure what “casual gaming” means, what kind of titles do you have in mind?

      Of course, if the budget allows, the I7 would show its strength in those software you mention, so at the end of the day you will have to make a trade of. Either the i5 with dedicated graphics, or the i7 without.

      • Santiago

        June 29, 2015 at 3:55 pm

        Hello Andrei, thanks for the reply.
        I decided intregated graphics and more power for that kind of software, i like games such as divinity: original sin and older ones. I dont want to play witcher 3 and that kind of new games in the laptop. I want to see 1080p movies without freezing and get a decent work-laptop for 5+ years.
        I wanted to ask you, if its worth to wait and get the i5 5350H instead of the i7-5500U (is there any difference in performance between these two?). But i dont know if the 5350H is gonna be available for laptops or only the high end 47W i7s will.

        Thanks again! Greetings from Argentina.
        Santiago.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 29, 2015 at 5:36 pm

        I haven’t tested any Broadwell full-voltage CPUs yet in any laptop so I can’t yet tell how they will compare to the Core i7-5500U ULV CPU.

      • Santiago

        June 30, 2015 at 2:12 pm

        Im concerned about the heat using the i5-5350H, if you take the i5-4200H for example and compare it with the 4th gen i7-4500U. Is the performance of the 4200H much better and noticeable? For normal use and using that kind of software will be the 47W a lot hotter than the 15W? Im going to buy a 15.6″ laptop so, will i be ok with 47W, or is better 15W because is more or less the same performance and colder. Im thinking this because the i5-5350H will be only 2 cores.
        Which is your opinion about this?

        Thanks

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 30, 2015 at 3:55 pm

        The H processors are faster. You can find benchmarks on sites like notebookcheck.net and compare the two series. The also run hotter for sure, but that will depend on each implementation.

  7. Thomas

    June 29, 2015 at 10:01 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Would an i7 run less hot than a i5 on a spectre x360 during normal load?
    Only use Photoshop and video editing from time time, rest is office use and surfing.

    Thx,
    Thomas

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2015 at 11:24 am

      Well, no, it would be hotter since it runs at a higher frequency. You won’t see any noticeable difference with casual use though, since in this case neither CPU would actually run at full strength.

      • Thomas

        June 29, 2015 at 1:18 pm

        Thank you!
        Any idea who the best/quickest supplier in Europe would be?
        Would need to be shipped to Italy..

        Thx

  8. jennifer

    June 30, 2015 at 2:49 pm

    please can you assist in recommending a good business laptop under 1000k dollars that has the below configuration:

    i5 5200u, 8gb or 16gb Ram 256 or 512 SSD with a good battery life.

    I was looking at the thinkpad and dell.

    • jennifer

      June 30, 2015 at 2:50 pm

      I run virtual machines on the pc as well. please advise

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 30, 2015 at 3:53 pm

      I don’t think you can get anything like that within your budget. even an i5-5200U with 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB SSD could be a stretch. There’s a detailed list of BRoadwell laptops here, try to narrow them down to those that you like and I could then help with the final decision: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/5165-broadwell-ultrabooks/

  9. Jonathan

    July 13, 2015 at 11:07 am

    Hi Andrei,

    thank you very much for the great review!

    I’m planning to buy a dell xps 13 in Japan, where they have a non-touch i7 model. I’m not sure whether to buy the i7 or i5 version because I’m concerned about the battery life, the price is exactly the same though.

    Is there a significant difference in battery duration between the two models?

    Thanks a lot!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 13, 2015 at 5:50 pm

      With everyday tasks the difference should be minimal (within 30 minutes, I’d say). I expect the i7 to run a bit hotter which will cause the fan to kick in more often.

  10. Riddhi Kanoi

    July 16, 2015 at 1:47 pm

    Hey Andrei,

    I just saw this review of yours and I really wanted your input on laptops.

    So i basically need a laptop for college purposes. Something which will allow me to carry out research and analysis. This requires me to have multiple tabs open most of the time. Apart from that I need something that I can use on a daily basis and something that is lightweight.

    I was planning on buying the HP spectre x360, but I didn’t know if I should buy the i5 version or the i7. I mean, does it make any sense for me to spend an additional $150 to buy the i7? Both the variants have 8gb ram and 256ssd.

    Please let me know your take on this.
    Thank you :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 18, 2015 at 9:06 am

      the i5 should be OK if you only need to have browser tabs open. The i7 would be worth it for photo editing, programming and other such intensive tasks.

  11. V. Anand

    July 19, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    Hey Andrei, can you tell me which is better for Photoshop, a HP ab035tx or Lenovo Z50? Both have i7, but HP is 5th gen i7.
    Also does increasing ram better battery time? Can I change the 4 cell battery of HP into a 6 or 9 cell? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 19, 2015 at 8:56 pm

      the 4th and 5th gen processors are really close in terms of CPU power, so I’d base my decision on the amount of RAM on the configs, as well as their potential shortcomings. I haven’t reviewed either, so can’t share any hidden details, but you should look for some good reviews and know what to expect (and what falls short) from each of them.

  12. Jason

    July 26, 2015 at 5:44 am

    Hey Andrei, I am an IT Professional and use Visual Studio, Eclipse, SQL server 2014 among similar Softwares. Currently using a very old laptop with mere config.

    Can U suggest which ultrabook I should go for? I need a laptop with high performance with minimum lag time
    or should i wait for SKYLAkE ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2015 at 8:31 am

      Hi Jason. Do you need a full-size laptop (15-incher) or something smaller? And do you have a max-budget?

      There are good options available today, but if you can wait till Q1-2015, Skylake should offer a significant performance boost.

      • Jason

        July 27, 2015 at 3:00 pm

        Any thing bw 13-15 inch will do. Budget in the vicinity of 70k-80K INR.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 27, 2015 at 9:29 pm

        What does that mean in USD?

  13. cristian muñoz

    July 28, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    hi Andrei, i need a new pc for work. i use the pc for see youtube, facebook, and use intensive photoshop for edit professional book photographic. i use the pc maybe 5 – to 9 daily hours

    amazon.com/dp/B00PC3ADLG/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=PIFW9IRC9G8A&coliid=I31Q4G8VHJHK2F
    ______________________________________________________
    amazon.com/gp/product/B00Z6BQ6RY/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A14HQ326MGQ4AS

    I want to buy one of those mini desktops. my actual pc has 6 years old and is ->intel core 2 3 gb ram. 500gb hdd. and i have suficient space for save the archives of work.

    please in your opinion ¿what is the better choise?.
    i write you now in bogota, Colombia. tank u

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 30, 2015 at 2:08 pm

      Hi Cristian.

      If you plan to use Photoshop I’d get the Core i7 model out of those two.

      But does it have to be so petit? Not sure what your budget is, but I’ve been looking for a compact PC for pretty much the same things you’d want to do and I decided to just build a desktop into a microATX case. Aim for a Core i5 Haswell desktop processor and you should be golden for a while. Even a Core i3 should be faster than the ULVs inside these barebones.

      The tradeoff is the size of the computer, ofc. But I for one gladly traded that for performance.

  14. Paul

    July 29, 2015 at 6:47 am

    Hello Andrei,

    I’ll have to buy new notebook, since my previous one is not working anymore. I’ve deciding before two models of Asus ZENBOOK series. Here is the links (it is Czech website, but you propably get the main thing about configuration)

    alza.cz/asus-zenbook-ux303la-r4390h-kovovy-d2359510.htm
    alza.cz/asus-zenbook-ux303lb-r4003h-kovovy-d2412960.htm

    I’m not sure, which one will be better. :D Well, 1) has i7 5500U, but no dedicated GPU and 128GB SSD. The 2) has lower CPU, i5 5200U, but it has dedicated GPU and 256GB SSD. Now, which one is better to buy? :D

    My use of NB:
    – School: Taking notes, programing in Java, C++, .NET. Sometimes using VMWare for some linux things (without GUI).
    – Other: Browsing web, watching YouTube and sometimes play WoW or any other game (but since i have powerful desktop pc, gaming on notebook is occasionally when I meet with my friends twice a month for example)

    Thank you for your advice!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 30, 2015 at 2:00 pm

      First, read this post: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/4596-asus-zenbook-ux303la-ux303ln/ . The UX303LB is the updated version of the UX303LN.

      I’d probably get the UX303LA between the two, due to the more powerful processor. But the amount of storage is limited and you’ll probably have to upgrade in the future.

      If it wasn’t for the programming software, I’d say the Core i5 would suffice, but in this case I’d get the faster processor. The Storage can be later upgrade, the CPU cannot.

  15. adrian

    July 30, 2015 at 5:16 pm

    Thanks! I needed this.

  16. chandana

    July 31, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    Hi. I am an electronics engineering student. I wish t buy a laptop which will suffice my needs till I finish my MS , that’s 4 year from now. I want to buy a HP laptop and Ab-032tx and ab035tx seem to be the ones in the stores now. Please enlighten me on the various aspects and suggest a best buy. I wouldn’t mind about the price , though my budget was aroud 55K, if its worth I wouldn’t mind shelling a little more.

    Please reply soon. I need to buy as soon as possible.
    Ty!

  17. Nancy

    August 2, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Adrian,

    Yor web site is extremely helpful. Thank you! After 7 years I am looking for a new laptop,with speed, I am considering a SSD and wanted 16 gig of RAM. It seems so many you can’t upgrade to this RAM if needed. Why is only 8 gig of RAM, without paying dearly the norm? I would like a good keyboard. I like to run 2-3 programs at a time, not graphics or games. This is for home use. Every model I look at there are problems. I was considering a 14 or 15.6 model. Any assistance would be helpful.

  18. Matt

    August 7, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    I need to decide between 2 alienware 13 configurations. One has an i7, the other has the i5, there are no other differences besides the one with the i7 can only have an ssd and the i5 can have either. The one with the i7 is $1600 and the other is $1250 with the configurations I have made. Anyone want to give me a hand here?

  19. William

    August 11, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    Thinking about getting Lenovo Yoga 3 (link below) for college use and occasional GoPro editing. Planning to get a external HDD 5400rpm for storing large files. Would this laptop suffice for editing some videos and offloading to ext HDD when i finish??

    Intel HD Graphics 5500
    256 SSD
    Intel 5th Generation Core i5
    8GB Ram

    bestbuy.com/site/lenovo-yoga-3-2-in-1-14-touch-screen-laptop-intel-core-i5-8gb-memory-256gb-solid-state-drive-black/9598141.p?id=1219704992674&skuId=9598141

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      It should be fine for small projects. Don’t expect to do the kind of work you’ll be doing on a powerful desktop though. I use a similar config with only 4 Gigs of RAM for my on-the-move edits and it does the job.

  20. CNA

    August 13, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Hy, I just wanted to thank you for your cool comparison here.

    I am going to buy a XPS13(2015) and i couldn’t decide between i7 and i5. At the end your comparisson and the fact that i7 is bound to QHD tochscreen ,which means some hours decrease in max. battery life, made me choose the i5 model.

    br.

  21. Bhooshan

    August 14, 2015 at 6:31 pm

    I m confused with hp ab032tx and lenovo z51-70
    Blth have same specs except tge gpu hp has nvidia 940m 2Gb and lenovo has amd r9 M375 4Gb. Plz suggest me one from these both

    • PS

      August 17, 2015 at 11:46 am

      I had the same question before 2 days and i tried to find the answer, and i find that,
      On paper LENOVO z51-70(core i5) is better than HP’s ab032tx LENOVO has some more features like
      1. Backlite keyboard
      2. JBL speakers built-in
      3. More Graphic memory
      4. 8GB of SSD

      lenovo z51-70 is launched recently so i can’t find customer reviews on the web,

      one thing i wanna tell u that the performance of AMD R9 m375 4GB is approximately equal to NVIDIA geforce 940M 2GB in gaming…

      i find some customer reviews of ab032tx, reviews are good.

      And the plus point of HP pavilion series is HP is giving the warranty with ADP (Accidental Damage Protection).

      I don’t know why but i like z51-70 more the hp’s laptop…

    • Sanjay Disodia

      November 20, 2015 at 11:03 am

      i think Navidia is a best graphics than amd..navidia run cool and don’t make too noise…but amd is give a sould little bit while play games…and navidia is working smooth on old game also than amd…so in my point of view ab032tx is good

  22. Ashish

    November 30, 2015 at 5:36 am

    I Dont think so i amd graphic card are very good in gaming than nvidia i have hp ac082tx in which amd 2gb r5 m330 graphic card is there its performance so good i can play gta 5 in high very high texture settings so suggest R9 Series is the class 1 Amd series and you can buy lennovo it will give you great performance with this graphic card

  23. Gautham Reddy

    December 5, 2015 at 4:12 am

    Dell Inspiron 15 i5558-5717SLV Signature Edition (15.6-inch Full HD touchscreen, Intel Core i5, 8GB memory, 1TB HDD, Windows 10) with MaxxAudio.

    I’d b greatful to you, please review on that laptop.

  24. vieira

    January 14, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    Hello,
    I would like to buy a new computer, i do mostly internet, office, pictures, music and i like to play at the game Sims3, thats it.
    i have 2 computers in mind but dont know which one to choose,the one i have now is 10years old still working and its an Asus, i dont know anything about Lenovo. Should i choose a I7 or the graphic?

    cdiscount.com/informatique/ordinateurs-pc-portables/lenovo-pc-portable-z51-70-80k6012kfr/f-10709-80k6012kfr.html#mpos=7|cd
    topachat.com/pages/detail2_cat_est_ordinateurs_puis_rubrique_est_wport_puis_ref_est_in10092903.html

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 17, 2016 at 8:14 pm

      WEll, those are standard laptops and not exactly the kinds I usually cover. I’d suggest heading to notebookcheck.net and search through their reviews, should offer more answers than I can.

  25. Jitze

    January 17, 2016 at 11:00 am

    Is it possible to upgrade the i5 5200u to a better processor? And if it can which one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 17, 2016 at 8:22 pm

      No, processors are not user upgradeable on 99% of the available laptops.

  26. Prakash Shrestha

    February 4, 2016 at 12:09 pm

    I have got dell 5200u. I’m unable to make keyboard back-lit on. Please, Guys help me out.

  27. Mohammad

    February 23, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    Hi
    I am going to buy a laptop for cad work, I am considering asus k501lx or k556ub. The difference between them is as below:
    k501lx (configuration that fits my budget):
    core i5-5200u
    nvidia 940m
    1 TB HDD + 16 GB SSD

    k556ub :
    core i7-6500u
    nvidia 950m
    1 TB HDD (no SSD)

    And another difference is that k501lx weighs 2 kg, but k556ub weighs 2.3 kg and is somewhat thicker but it’s battery capacity is lower

    Which one do you recommend me for cadwork? One has better cpu and weaker gpu and the other one with better gpu but weaker cpu

    • Manuel Ayech

      March 31, 2016 at 3:40 pm

      Hi Mohammad,
      You maybe have already picked one of the two that you mention.
      I can tell you that I am glad with my ASUS Q551LN Core i7 5500u nvidia 940m 1TB hdd no SSD. What I can tell you is that the only positive aspect that I see in the core i5 laptop is the hybrid HDD, and I can tell you that since it is only the bootable part of the disc that is faster, your CAD programs and 3d games will not be improved since they are allocated in the regular HDD. Summarizing, I think you will be better off with the core i7 asus laptop. I am pretty sure that the boot time of the core i5 is well compensated with the overall specs of the core i7 laptop.

  28. Alan

    January 25, 2017 at 7:49 pm

    Is the i5-5200U CPU soldered into the Laptop PC or can it be pulled out?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *