Asus Transformer Book Flip TP500LA/LN review

107 Comments

  1. Teree

    March 12, 2015 at 2:52 am

    I bought a asus transformer book flip 3 months ago, my husband tried to install an anti virus for me but on the half way the lscreen became blackout out. He turned off and on, as soon as inserted the password the screen became blank again. We tried to press f5 nothing happens. We brought it back to Future Shop they told us we have to ship it to repair since we still have warranty. Can anyone tell me what is the problem?

  2. Stevo

    March 18, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    After buying this laptop, I found that it could not detect my router signal. I updated drivers and BIOS, but it did not fix the problem. I called Asus and they told me that this model was not built to detect 5 GHz Wifi signals. So if you have a broadband router signal for streaming or gaming at 5 GHz, this laptop will be the weakest link.

  3. Chin

    March 25, 2015 at 1:54 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I am going to buy TP500LN and the only available highest specs in Malaysia is only:
    Processor: i7-4510U
    Graphic: NVIDIA GT840M
    Memory: 4GB RAM
    Storage: 500GB HDD + 24GB SSD (can’t find 1TB HDD + 24GB SSD in Malaysia)

    My question is:
    1. How many RAM slot for this laptop? And maximum can up to how many RAM support?
    2. Can I upgrade the SSD without touching the HDD? (remain 500GB HDD but upgrade SSD to 128GB SSD maybe?)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2015 at 11:54 am

      1. That’s written in the review. One slot.
      2. The SSD is used for caching, I don’t know whether the BIOS allows you to use it as a regular drive.

  4. PatJ

    April 2, 2015 at 3:12 am

    Have the TP500L with the i7 processor. Has a 1366 x 768 px TN screen. Want to update to an ips screen 1920 x 1020. Can I just update the screen or is there more to it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2015 at 7:57 am

      In theory, you might be able to upgrade the screen if you can find the compatible IPS panel. In practice, that’s very complicated and you need to make sure you know what you’re doing or go to an authorized Asus service/reseller for the upgrade.

  5. Firdaus

    April 5, 2015 at 5:23 am

    Hye Andrei, I was owned the Tp500LN(i-Core 3). Do you think I should exchange it with Lenovo Yoga or not? I don’t which are better between Yoga and this Flip Book.

  6. Ahmed Wael

    June 6, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Does this device harmonics with :
    1- linux
    2- android .

  7. Dennis

    September 18, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Hello Andrei,
    I need a ultrabook fast and with a GOOD battery (5/6 hours for university,i will use Microsoft Word/wi-fi/Google chrome).sometimes i play games (no new games).
    Which is best for You?
    Tp300lj= i7 5500u, 4gb ram, GeForce 920 2gb, 500gb hdd (50watt-hours battery)
    Tp500lb=i7 5550u,8gb ram,GeForce 940 2gb,hdd 2tb (48watt-hours battery)

    There is a best pc for 800 euro?
    Thank you
    Dennis

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 18, 2015 at 11:46 pm

      I wouldn’t get either of those if you want 5-6 hours of battery life. I’d rather aim at the Core i5-5200U processor, 8 GB of RAM and SSD storage.

      • Dennis

        September 19, 2015 at 1:07 pm

        Thanks for your comment,
        Which one do you suggest me?
        Tp300 haven t a good battery?

  8. steveh

    November 23, 2015 at 5:14 am

    I am looking at one from costco.com and it’s the TP500, i3 processor,8GB memory, 500GB HDD. What enhancements have been made on the screen? it’s $100 off, going for $394.99 on Nov.26-30, 2015. Looks like a good buy at the end of it market life. Is it a deal at that price?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2015 at 10:37 am

      That’s probably the HD screen with a TN panel, similar to the one on this review unit, which is pretty poor. But you won’t find a similar 2-in-1 within that budget.

  9. Marcos Paulo

    January 12, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    do you know if its possible upgrade the 24GB SSD board of TP500LN OR even install a 128GB SSD board in a TP500LA?

    I dont want to remove the HDD…

    • Marcos Paulo

      January 14, 2016 at 1:45 pm

      Elucidating: not “upgrade the board” but upgrade the SSD given my notebook DOES HAVE a board to mSATA SSD

  10. andy

    February 3, 2016 at 10:16 am

    Does anyone know the part number for the 1920 1080 screen? Im hoping its a direct upgrade for the 1366 768 screen. that is if the motherboard works with 2ch lvds

    • AhSyaBiMoSa

      May 13, 2017 at 11:08 am

      hi. did you change your screen? i'm asking because i would like to know if this laptop (1366×768) can change to FHD screen (1080). Thanks.

  11. Eric

    April 5, 2016 at 2:03 am

    How exactly do you remove the battery? I’ve taken apart my laptop and unscrewed all of the additional screws connected to the battery, but it’s still latched onto the rest of the hardware via a connector that I can’t remove.

  12. yassin

    July 5, 2016 at 1:05 am

    can anyone please tell me if any msata ssd will work, after looking at the 24gb card pre-installed in the computer(tp500ln-dn109h)I saw that it runs at 0.35a and I wanted to replace it with a larger storage card but it is rated at the same voltage but 1.7a, so can anyone tell me if it will work or not?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *