Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 15 review (2020 G532LWS model – Core i9, RTX 2070 Super 115W)

13 Comments

  1. Geoff

    June 11, 2020 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks again for min brightness :)

  2. Lakshay Kakkar

    July 21, 2020 at 5:34 pm

    What are the ambient room temperatures during thermal testing? Also, can you please check how well they have applied liquid metal to the CPU? I've seen some people point out that they've not applied it properly.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2020 at 7:03 pm

      24 C for all our tests.

      • Lakshay Kakkar

        July 28, 2020 at 6:44 am

        Thanks for the reply. Also please let us know, are the fans at max speeds during Cinebench/prime95 run in turbo mode? Because I noted this behaviour in my Asus Scar 3 – the fans won't ramp up to 100% unless I'm gaming or have both CPU and GPU working hard, and fans will be around 75-80% during Cinebench workloads. And manually setting fans to 100% did help reduce temperatures during prime95 and similar CPU only workloads like Handbrake, etc.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 29, 2020 at 10:48 pm

          they're working the same ay you're explaining, and that's normal

      • Lakshay Kakkar

        July 28, 2020 at 12:35 pm

        Also, the RTX 2060 offered on the Scar 15 G532LV is 115W, instead of 90W. So kindly make this correction in the review.

  3. Jatin Goyal

    August 6, 2020 at 9:05 pm

    I feel that the previous Scar 3 was much more cooler on the GPU. Ultrabookreview's last year Scar 3 review shows a lot cooler temperatures on the GPU. Do you know any reason for this? Actually I saw a few chinese reviews which said that GPU is even thermal throttling at 86-87 degrees on the Scar 15. Can we have a word with Asus regarding this, somehow? Because this feels abnormal to me.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 7, 2020 at 12:13 pm

      I noticed that as well. I thought there might have been something wrong with my early sample, but if other reviews confirm it, then it might be something else. I'll ask Asus about it.

  4. Arda Kacar

    August 9, 2020 at 12:00 am

    I am very nervous/curious about the problem with dpc latency. Is it that much of an issue or can you feel the spikes during gaming,watching etc. It would be great if someone gave info regarding that

  5. Aditya Deshpande

    August 9, 2020 at 3:08 pm

    I have a G15(G512LV) i7-10750H and RTX 2060(115w). It has the same body as scar 3 just with liquid metal now. Stress-testing withh Aida64(cpu only) + Heaven gets my gpu to 86°C(thermal limit) and even after undervolt(-80) and TS limits my cpu goes well above 90°C. I am sure there's an issue with new models as even Scar 15 is not showing that great results as Scar 3 did. I would love if you can take this to Asus and give your thoughts on this too

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2020 at 3:13 pm

      working on it, should be up next week.

      • Aditya Deshpande

        August 10, 2020 at 1:06 am

        Thank you sir, if you find the same things please do contact asus about it.

  6. Pau Chun Chun

    September 28, 2020 at 2:59 pm

    Can you review the Strix Scar 17 with the i7-107875H and rtx 2070 super?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *