Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Dell G5 15 SE with AMD Ryzen 9 4900H and Radeon RX 5600M graphics

By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , last updated on May 15, 2020

Dell’s Gaming lineup kicks things off in 2020 with a brand-new Dell G5 15 SE (Special Edition) built on AMD Ryzen-H 4000 Series processors and up to AMD Radeon RX 5600M Mobile graphics, unveiled at CES 2020.

It’s now scheduled to be available in stores around May 2020, though, so plenty of time to test and figure out what these new AMD platforms are all about, how they fare against the previous AMD Ryzen-H 3000 implementations and the available Intel/Nvidia models that have dominated the mid and high-tier gaming notebooks in recent years.

This 2020 Dell G5 15 is not just a hardware update of the existing Dell G5 15 5590 SE from 2019, based on Intel Core H processors and Nvidia GTX/RTX graphics, but actually a complete redesign, both in terms of looks, features, and functionality.

Among the new features, the 2020 G5 15 gets an optional RGB keyboard (4-zone), an upgrade from the blue-lit one on the previous G5, as well as an optional 144 IPS Hz screen with FreeSync support and Nvidia G-Sync compatibility.

Dell G5 15 SE – 2020 version Dell G5 15 5590 SE – 2019 version
Screen 15.6 inch, FHD IPS, non-touch, matte, 60 Hz/220-nits or 144Hz/300-nits with FreeSync/ GSync compatibility 15.6 inch, FHD IPS, non-touch, matte, 60 Hz/250-nits or 144Hz/300-nits with improved color accuracy
Processor up to AMD Ryzen-H 4000, with Ryzen 9 4900H CPU (8C, 16T) up to Intel Coffee Lake Core i7-9750H CPU (6C, 12T)
Vide0 Radeon RX Vega and AMD Radeon RX 5600M, with PowerShift Intel UHD and up to Nvidia RTX 2060 80W, with Optimus
Memory up to 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMMs) up to 32 GB DDR4 2666 MHz (2x DIMMs)
Storage 2x M.2 PCIe slots M.2 NVMe slot and 2.5″ bay (without 2.5″ on 90W battery version)
Connectivity Wifi 6 2×2, Bluetooth 5.0 Wifi 5 2×2, Bluetooth 4.2
Ports 1x USB-A 3.2 gen1, 1x USB-A 2.0, 1x USB-C, HDMI 2.0, miniDP, SD card reader, LAN, mic/headphone, Lock 3x USB-A 3.1, 1x USB-C with Thunderbolt 3, HDMI 2.0, miniDP, SD card reader, LAN, mic/headphone, Lock
Battery 51 or 68 Wh, 240W charger 60 or 90 Wh, up to 230 W charger
Size 366 mm or 14.4” (w) x 254 mm or 10” (d) x 21.6 mm or 0.85” (h) 365 mm or 14.3” (w) x 273 mm or 10.8” (d) x 23.7 mm or 0.95” (h)
Weight from 5.5 lbs (2.5 kg) from 5.9 lbs (2.7 kg)
Extras 4-zone RGB backlit keyboard, bottom-placed speakers, webcam blue-backlit keyboard, bottom-placed speakers, webcam

I’m not necessarily sold on the new aesthetics. They remind me of the Lenovo Legion Y720 and older Asus ROG laptops, with the mid-hinged display, fairly thick top and bottom bezels, chunky exhausts on the back and all the ports lined on the sides. To me, this is a step back in terms of design and especially functionality from the 2019 G5, which sported boxier lines and most of the IO on the back edge, keeping cables tucked out of the way.

That’s no longer the case here, but at least the important ports are on the right, and Dell didn’t seem to have compromised on any important feature.

2020 Dell G5 vs last year's boxier and simpler G5 5590

2020 Dell G5 vs last year’s boxier and simpler G5 5590

I’d reckon the hardware implementation had much to do with this redesign. There’s now a big piece of unused space between the exhausts on the back edge, occupied by the redesigned hinge. Perhaps Dell could no longer route the connections around the thermal module, or maybe they just found this to be the optimal implementation, as the previous G5 did run hot and experienced thermal throttling issues on the higher-tier configurations.

For what is worth, the 2020 Dell G5 15 SE not only gets the powerful AMD hardware, but also an up to 68 Wh battery. Dell allowed to configure a larger 90Wh battery option on the 2019 G5 for those willing to drop the 2.5″ storage bay, and that’s no longer an option for the 2020 G5. The more compact chassis left no room for a large battery or a 2.5″ bay.

As for that AMD hardware, while still subject to change, Dell plan to offer the 2020 G5 15 SE with up to eight-core 16-thread Ryzen R9 4900H (and R7 4800H and R5 4600H as well) processors, built on the updated 7nm Zen2 architecture and with improved Radeon embedded graphics.

The R7 4800H marginally outperforms the Intel Core i9-9880H in CPU tests such as 3DMark FireStrike/TimeSpy Physics, but I wouldn’t get hasty with conclusions just yet. AMD are strict on benchmarks and have imposed various NDAs for publishing benchmarks results, around the second part of January, as they’re working on improving drivers and software support on their Zen2 notebooks, both the Ryzen-H and Renoir Ryzen-U variants.

Lower tier variants with Ryzen 5 4600H mobile processors will also be available, with various amounts of RAM and storage. Speaking of RAM, Ryzen 4000 offers support for DDR4 3200 MHz memory, a bump from the 2666 MHz supported by 9th gen Intel Core H CPUs and the 2400 Hz limit on the Ryzen 3000 chips.

2020 Dell G5 15 (left) vs 2019 version (right)

2020 Dell G5 15 (left) vs 2019 version (right)

As for the graphics, early leaks also suggest that the AMD Radeon RX 5600M is nearly a match for Nvidia’s existing RTX 2060 80W implementations. We’ll be able to dive deeper into these AMD platforms past the AMD Keynote on Jan 6th, so stay tuned for our updated articles.

What we can add right now is the fact that the AMD CPU and GPU are supposed to be seamlessly coordinated by AMD’s SmartShift technology, meant to optimize performance and power-use based on your requirements, to provide the snappy experience you’d want, but also efficiently manage power-drain when using the laptop unplugged.

No word on whether the 4000-series AMD hardware will finally add support for undervolting and manual tweaking in AMD Master, with an impact over thermals and performance, something possible on Intel-based systems. Update: It doesn’t.

2020 Dell G5 15 SE with RGB keyboard and AMD hardware

2020 Dell G5 15 SE with RGB keyboard and AMD hardware

All in all, the 2020 Dell G5 15 SE is a first glimpse at the AMD platform that could revolutionize the gaming-notebook industry this year, much like the Zen2 processors did for desktop PCs in 2019.

As mentioned, this series is expected in stores around late May 20, with an MSRP starting price of under 1000 USD in the US. That’s competitive and on par with the current base starting price of the Core i5/ GTX 16 Ti Dell G5 5590, for most likely improved performance. Nonetheless, Dell’s base configurations lack many of the goodies you’ll want in a modern gaming laptop, and you’ll have to significantly bump your budget for the high-tier hardware, the RGB keyboard, and the 144Hz screen, among others.

Look forward to our detailed review of the Dell G5 in the months to come, where we’ll take a deeper dive into the performance, thermals, noise-levels and all those other important aspects that you should account for when shopping for a value gaming laptop.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

27 Comments

  1. Jonas

    January 11, 2020 at 4:50 am

    I really like the aesthetics of the newer model, and I very much prefer to have the fan outlets to the back and connectors on the sides. But I don't like the keyboard, specifically the inclusion of a numpad thing. Is that possibly configurable?

  2. m

    March 31, 2020 at 12:22 pm

    what is the response time of the screen? I never find information aboutit

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 31, 2020 at 5:38 pm

      WE'll have to wait for the reviews for that

  3. AwesomeBlackDude

    April 24, 2020 at 1:41 am

    Any news that catch your eyes on the possibility of upgrading the AMD RX graphic card? What about the Dell motherboard schematics… I'm mostly interested in what type of upgrades?,.. like the mem slots and any chance they'll be the same design as the Asus AMD 4000 series mems variants where they use an 8GB of soldering memory on their board… this causes dual memory channels to switch over to single when going pass the size of the soldering. Hopefully didn't Dell's make the same mistake?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 10:23 am

      NO news for now, we'll have to wait for these to ship first

  4. lol

    April 27, 2020 at 8:13 am

    up to Intel Coffee Lake Core i7-9750H CPU (8C, 16T)

    i7-9750h only got 6c, not 8c

  5. Agent Hunk

    May 6, 2020 at 9:26 pm

    When is it coming out?when is it available from best buy so I can do storepickup?

    I dont trust mail carriers anymore.

    Not after seeing guys RX580 in a box being caved upon delivery.

  6. Rusty

    May 12, 2020 at 7:50 pm

    We are already in May, any news when the G5SE is coming out? Or at least an explanation for the delay, like Covid? Haven't heard any news around that right now, it's completely silent…which makes me a bit worried.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 12, 2020 at 8:33 pm

      No idea, tbh. Haven't heard anything new about it.

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 14, 2020 at 10:04 pm

        Off the record update on this: expect more updates on this G15 and maybe other RX notebooks towards the end of next week.

        • Rog195

          May 19, 2020 at 1:10 am

          In AMDs presentation they said the starting price would be 799$ but you say 999$. What gives?

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 19, 2020 at 10:27 am

          That was the initial preview from CES, right? I saw a few more recent sources claiming $999. Take that with a lump of salt, I'll update once it's listed.

  7. Kane

    May 13, 2020 at 7:06 am

    Yeah I want to get one too… what's the hold-up? You know what sucks about Dell… if you live chat with them… you usually get someone from customer service from India (no doubt outsourcing) who doesn't know and doesn't care about any future or upcoming products… so they won't even bother digging around for you to figure out a release date (or even a ballpark release date)… that's bad customer service for someone who wants to purchase their product, and is waiting for it (all throughout April) and it's just a no call no show no status update no anything…. lame…. I suppose it could be worse though…

  8. Sam

    May 13, 2020 at 1:50 pm

    Im in the same boat as you. Been waiting since April and no word, incredible.

    • Agent Hunk

      May 19, 2020 at 7:11 pm

      799 for base model.
      899 for 4800 with 2 51gb ssd's
      999 for the 4900h with 1tb ssd and 2tb hdd.

      All three price tiers variants will have the 2 16gb sticks of ram.yes 3200.

      I asked chat rep…this what I learned.

      However stores might not allow people to buy it fully upgraded…stores might take out a ram stick and storage and put something else in there or nothing….

      Like the way they did it with GL702ZC at best buy….

      I'm ordering online for the 4909 one with 2 16gb sticks of 3200mhz ram,windows 10 pro os,and the two drives 1tb and 2tb…

      At least from dell you won't have to worry about getting half the parts in it…it will come fully upgraded for the 4900….

      I'm sure this is how they are going to do the 3 different variants. .

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 19, 2020 at 8:06 pm

        Come on, there's no way those configs would go for that low. Look at the 9th gen Intel pricing for a ballpark comparison.

        • Agent Hunk

          May 19, 2020 at 10:02 pm

          I am going to say this again like I did before.
          Intel and nvidia are always more.

          AMD and Radeon are always less.

      • Agent Hunk

        May 19, 2020 at 8:50 pm

        512gb ssd's where I put 51gb and correction to 4909 to 4900h.

  9. Agent Hunk

    May 15, 2020 at 2:33 am

    It's been announced wccftech.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 15, 2020 at 10:24 am

      Thanks, noted Looks like my sources were wrong.

      • Agent Hunk

        May 15, 2020 at 8:31 pm

        One source on another site says they start it at 1699.00

        I'm thinking that is not only wrong but insane.

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 15, 2020 at 8:50 pm

          I haven't seen the official pricing details. That might be for the 4900H model

  10. Marius46

    May 24, 2020 at 4:35 am

    They are now available for buying on the DELL US website, so we should expect them shortly worldwide.

    https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/dell-laptops/new-dell-g5-15-special-edition-gaming-laptop/spd/g-series-15-5505-laptop

    Starting from 880$
    AMD Ryzen™ 5 4600H Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
    Windows 10 Home 64-bit English
    8GB, 2x4GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
    256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive

    Up to 1300$
    AMD Ryzen™ 7 4800H Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
    Windows 10 Home 64-bit English
    16GB, 2x8GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
    1TB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive

    • Agent Hunk

      May 24, 2020 at 10:21 pm

      They lied ,starting price was supposed to 799…ces 2020.

      Now the prices are insane….

      What I paid for 2 years ago is insane.
      For the Asus Rog GL702ZC.
      I didnt think about the warranty max extended…

      Now I regret it,asus wants me to send it to them pay 60 diagnostic fee up front and blindly wait on the price…

      I just want a new motherboard and save money my way

      I'm telling ya,if the replacement of a 3 year old machine part is more than 300

      There's a problem….

      Prices and value go down on a specific model overtime…

      I dont know how much that's gonna cost for my old one but I'm trying to find out from via email.

      Im also trying to get refund,but they keep saying to go back to where I purchase it and get a refund,it is way past the refund time.
      I bought from best buy…

      I'm trying to argue asus to give me my money back…what a waste….

      This new model us way up there possibly way past what I paid in total.

      It probably gonna 2,000 dollars just to get
      4900h
      1tb ssd for c drive,
      2tb hdd for d drive,
      32gb of ram 3200mhz,2 16gb sticks
      Plus the 4 year warranty plan..
      Which covers everything…

      Too much ,I will wait until prices are down.

    • Marius46

      May 26, 2020 at 5:25 pm

      Now available in the UK as well:

      https://www.dell.com/en-uk/shop/gaming-laptops/g-series-15-5505-laptop/spd/g-series-15-5505-laptop?~ck=bt

      £999.00

      AMD Ryzen™ 5 4600H Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
      Windows 10 Home 64bit
      8GB, 2x4GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
      256GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive

      £1,149.00

      AMD Ryzen™ 7 4800H Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
      Windows 10 Home 64bit
      16GB, 2x8GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
      512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *