Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus TUF Gaming FX505DV review (AMD Ryzen 7, Nvidia RTX 2060 90W)

26 Comments

  1. Arturo

    February 5, 2020 at 9:26 pm

    I bought the model FX505DV NH74 (ASUS – 15.6" Laptop – AMD Ryzen 7 – 16GB Memory – NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 – 512GB SSD – Stealth Black)

    May I add a second SSD in this version? I want to add an 1T SSD. this is the SSD:

    ddtech.mx/producto/unidad-de-estado-solido-ssd-m-2-gen-3-x4-1tb-addlink-s68-ad1tbs68m2p

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2020 at 9:36 pm

      Does it come with an M.2 or a 2.5" SSD? If it comes with an M.2, then no, you can't add another M.2. See the picture of the internals, it shows the M.2 and the 2.5" storages

      • Aquib

        March 10, 2020 at 11:52 am

        Should i buy this or go for a fx505gt which has Gtx 1650 120 hz display 16 gig ram and a i7 9750h 9th gen

  2. Emmanuel

    February 25, 2020 at 8:05 pm

    I love this kind of attention to detail.

  3. SR

    March 18, 2020 at 8:59 pm

    I bought this laptop (FX505DV-NH74) without really reading reviews, based solely on the less than $1k price tag. I've only had a few hours to play with it, but the first thing I want to complain about is that when I popped open the back cover (which is a bit of a pain to get open with all the plastic latches on top of the several screws) one of the pem nuts broke in the lower right corner. Pretty aggrevating, but I guess shouldn't be an issue as I don't plan on constantly opening the back cover. I just put in my 2TB HDD and closed it back up.

    While trying to set it up to my liking and play some COD: Modern Warfare, I found all of the graphics settings are set to make it run with the Radeon Vega and NOT the Nvidia RTX 2060 which is the reason I bought this thing in the first place. It looks to me like you can't run the laptop panel with the Nvidia, but instead that is only there to run an external monitor. Am I correct on this? I have not played with the Armoury Crate app yet, just with the GEForce Experience and GEForce apps so far. I played through a few games of MW last night, a couple on the laptop display and a couple on an external display, and I'll say the gaming experience was 10x better on the external display. I was able to get about 60fps externally, but the GPU was running 80-85C the entire time which worried me. On the included display it was topping out around 50fps, though I don't remember looking at the GPU temp at that time. It was also a bit laggy on the laptop display. I was pretty disappointed in the performance to be quite frank. I just built a desktop PC with nearly the same specs and using the same external monitor and I see 120fps with GPU temps that never exceed 60C even after hours of play. I know there's a lot of thermal dynamics that go into effect here, but it's essentially the same GPU and GPU RAM in both rigs and I'd expect a little bit of a closer experience.

    I guess long story short, this is my first foray into a decent gaming laptop. I expected more than what I got, but for the sub $1k price point should I be content? Or should I send it back and spend a couple hundred more on something that will give me closer to 100fps on MW? Are there settings I should be looking at that I haven't come across yet with this notebook?

    Also, as a side note, I think the panel I got on my laptop is different from any listed in your review. It says I have a "144 Hz FHD IPS-Type". I can't find a model number or anything. In the NVIDIA control panel when I try to select use the NVIDIA GPU for everything, it shows that the Radeon Vega is running the display and there's nothing I can do to change that.
    (My whole description:
    ASUS TUF Gaming Laptop
    15.6" 144 Hz FHD IPS-Type
    AMD Ryzen 7 R7-3750H
    GeForce RTX 2060
    16 GB DDR4
    512 GB PCIe SSD
    Gigabit Wi-Fi 5
    Windows 10 Home
    FX505DV-NH74)

    and last but not least, thanks for such a detailed review. I love all of that technical information.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 18, 2020 at 9:07 pm

      1. Of course you can run games with the Nvidia GPU. Try to Force Modern Warfare onto the Nvidia chip from Nvidia panel, should work.
      2. You can use HWinbfo to find the panel details. There's a single 144 Hz option as far as I know
      3. The article includes logs and details on how to weak the performance. Compare them with your results and then decide if this is what you need or not.

  4. slow21

    March 29, 2020 at 2:33 am

    battery life performs really bad. if it's easy to remove the battery like other laptops, i'd remove the battery.

  5. kaerubingo

    March 30, 2020 at 2:30 pm

    Hello, I just read your review and it makes me more confused.
    Actually I am an Asus fan, so when it comes to gaming laptops with my budget around $1000, my eyes lay on ROG G531GU-I566G2T with i5-9300 and Nvidia GTX 1660 Ti 6GB. But after I read your review with the same budget I get this with RTX 2060 6GB.
    So I like to ask, which one do you think better? The ROG or TUF one? And why you think that the best.
    I also like if you give me recommendation other than Asus but cover my budget. Maybe it can Lenovo, Acer or MSI and also the reason why you think that the best with that budget?

    Your answer really appreciate.

    Thank you

    • SR

      March 30, 2020 at 6:06 pm

      I would suggest looking elsewhere. I'm returning my purchase and trying to NOT have to pay the $150 restocking fee to Newegg.
      My reasons for the return:
      First was the broken pem-nut when I opened the back cover using the Asus instructions. I think that it was already broken before I tried to open it as the plastic didn't look like a new break as it looked a little faded already. I can't prove it though.
      Second is that this thing runs REALLY hot. Really hot. I had it shut down on my a couple of times sitting on my desk. And you get no warning, it just shuts down.
      Third is the noise of the fans. They are extraordinarily loud. With all the noise, I would think they'd do a better job cooling, but they don't. The GPU is running at 80C+ nearly the second I start a game with moderate settings. I was able to make it run a little bit cooler by playing on an external monitor, closing the lid of the laptop, and turning it upside down. Still, it only dropped to 75C but was even louder.
      Fourth, the touchpad was very sluggish and would lock up constantly while just browsing the web with Chrome or MS Edge.
      Last, and not as big of a deal, but the battery on this thing drains stupid fast. Even on their economy settings. I had to plug in after about an hour of web browsing. I didn't realize the monitor didn't dim automagically when unplugged like my old laptop did, so I'm sure you could double the battery time on it by tweaking settings, but still…only an hour.

      I guess I was looking for a little more quality, but under the $1k price point it's going to be very tough to find. I ended up spending a couple hundred more and getting a MSI GE75-9SE Raider. It's got a current gen CPU (i7 9-series), and mostly the same specs as this Asus rig. I've been VERY happy with that thing. It runs cool, is much quieter, looks nicer, and the control over the RGB down to the single buttons is pretty fun to play with. It's also a bigger monitor (17.3"), so even though it was slightly more expensive, I think it's an even better deal than this one. I don't think I'll look to Asus again for a Laptop. I'll still search them out for new Motherboards and maybe power supplies.

  6. Yosrii

    April 1, 2020 at 12:47 am

    Hello
    Thanks for your hard-working I've got a question I saw some benchmarks for the same laptop and it got only 30-40 fps on ultra mood and another games like NDF and others with 30fps too so what is the problem ??

  7. David

    April 29, 2020 at 5:10 am

    I take it 80-85c is fairly standard for the FX505DV?
    And mine has – Windows – Silent – Performance – Turbo..

    Performance and turbo for gaming right ? Turbo does sound like a jet plane however. Headphones yes but don’t want the thing to collapse after a few months. Not used to gaming laptops.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 29, 2020 at 10:21 am

      YOu can log temperatures with HWinfo and see how your unit does. Turbo is what I'd recommend for gaming if you can cope with the noise.

      • David

        April 29, 2020 at 1:09 pm

        I’m guessing fan noise is fine as it’s expected with this model range.. and 80-85c is normal at load

  8. Victor Arhire

    April 30, 2020 at 7:49 pm

    I have this laptop for 4 moths now, i use it with a laptop stand with 4 fans and in games the CPU/GPU does not go over 80 degrees Celsius. It is a good laptop, best one at this price with RTX 2060.

  9. Grayson

    May 7, 2020 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks for your review! It was definitely the best one out there I found for this laptop.
    So I bought this thing about a month ago, and its generally underperforming compared to the results you showed. For example, I run Battlefield 5 with low settings on and can only muster about 45 frames in the campaign mode. However, in benchmarks mine seems to be running just as expected with similar results to yours. Could the discrepancy between the in game performance of my model and the one you tested be due to the ssd and RAM upgrades you made? I saw you said "the gaming experience is highly impacted by having dual-channel memory on this platform, so make sure to add an extra RAM stick if you get a configuration that comes with just a single stick out of the box". Do you think that upgrade would be really so crucial to make a 30 frame difference and such a drastic difference on what settings I can run on?
    (Also, I have all the same settings on otherwise you listed such as turbo mode and making sure the GPU is configured right in the Nvidia control panel).
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2020 at 8:19 pm

      You can use HWinfo and log the GPU performance with games. If that's similar to my unit, than everything works fine. Dual-Channel RAM makes a very big difference on this laptop and it's definitely something I'd recommend. The SSD doesn't make much difference in games, it just helps with loading times.

      • Grayson

        May 7, 2020 at 9:49 pm

        Yeah everything seems to be the same, so the reason for the discrepancy is probably the ram? If so, what do you recommend looking into so far as options for that?

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 8, 2020 at 11:28 am

          I'd go with the same stick that you have installed already. Use hwinfo to find more about it

      • David

        May 8, 2020 at 3:37 am

        I’ve found if go into Nvidia Panel and Mark most games to 60fps or 48fps depending on the game. You lower CPU temps and fans speeds massively. For most games difference is negligible. Change CPU speed in power to 99%. I’m usually between 70-80 for most high end gaming now.

  10. dfdr

    May 24, 2020 at 8:41 am

    where can i change cpu speed?

  11. Mike

    June 23, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    I’ve had this laptop for almost 9 months now and so far I’ve been contented with its performance. Definitely a bang for the buck. Question though, I run it on demanding games like COD: MW and use it sometimes for rendering (Lumion 9): Is it normal for the GPU temperature to go as high as 85-87•C? I’m a little bit worried on the electronics, looking at the long-term aspect.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 24, 2020 at 10:30 am

      yes, this thew FX series runs hot. In theory, the GPU can handle that kind of temperatures, but heat and electronics don't play well together longterm. I'd look into investing in a cooling pad, or at least raise the laptop's back end from the desk when playing games by a few centimeters, see how that impacts the temperatures.

  12. SR

    June 24, 2020 at 5:21 pm

    This is the major reason I sent mine back. It actually had shut itself off on me a couple of times mid-game because the GPU overheated. The fan noise was out of control, and I just couldn't be satisfied long term with that. The way I found it worked best was with a separate monitor, while the computer case is closed and sitting upside down so the fans are blowing upwards. They didn't seem to work as hard, so they weren't as loud, and my GPU temp hovered around 80C. GPU hovered around 86C when opened and operating normally, and that really was with only moderate settings for the game (COD:MW).

    The MSI Raider GS75 I picked up instead runs 10x better with very similar specs. My GPU has never gone over 75, and normally operates at 65C with near max settings (I turn off Ray-Tracing—COD just isn't ready for it). The fan noise is easily 6dB less. The chassis looks cooler IMO too, but that's just my opinion. I did like the style of the Asus too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *