Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Predator Helios 300 PH315-51 The Helios 300 is Acer's mind-range gaming laptop built on Intel Core H processors and 1060 graphics and overall one of the best value notebooks in this market. The excellent pricing and solid performance are its main selling points, alongside a nice keyboard, alright IO and a fairly good screen with 144 Hz refresh rate on the updated 2018 model. There are however still some aspects to improve, like the size of the battery, arguable design decisions and rather lackluster speakers. Read on for more details. https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/helios-300-main.jpg Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5 0

Acer Predator Helios 300 review (PH315-51 model – Core i7-8750H, GTX 1060, 144 Hz screen)

17 Comments

  1. David Tavdi

    June 22, 2018 at 5:59 pm

    Great review, but you left out an important item. Is the panel a 60hz or 144hz like mentioned on Amazon? Thanks

    • Gg

      July 18, 2018 at 12:21 pm

      It is 144

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 19, 2018 at 11:13 am

        Yes, it's 144 Hz

        • Donald

          October 18, 2018 at 3:35 pm

          but why the other website did not show it is a 144hz panel

          panelook.com/B156HAN06.0%20HW2A_AUO_15.6_LCM_overview_29973.html

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 18, 2018 at 3:43 pm

            There are actually two screen options for this laptop, one is 60 Hz and another 144 Hz.

  2. Bob

    July 24, 2018 at 2:30 am

    Are there supposed to be new options to compete with this(same price range or lower) releasing next month? I’m still not sure if I should really aim for 144hz. I’m mainly interested in playing Fortnite as far as gaming goes right now so the better refresh rate would be appreciated. However, I haven’t even experienced 60hz so I’m thinking i should be fine with something cheaper/better build/gaming looks.

    • Bob

      July 24, 2018 at 2:38 am

      Also need to mention that I’m a student who will value lightweight and portability as well. Adding on to why I want less gaming looks too

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 24, 2018 at 12:46 pm

      The Helios 300 has been one of the most affordable 1060 laptops since launch, so I'd say probably not. Have a look at what Dell and Lenovo have to offer.

      • Roger

        August 25, 2018 at 8:58 pm

        This have a 144hz panel, and it isn't anything.

    • John

      December 17, 2018 at 6:46 am

      Fortnite…… You are a cancer on all the gaming races.

  3. Deepa Kukrety

    September 26, 2018 at 6:33 pm

    Hi there could you please tell me the model no. Of the laptop that you reviewed the one with the GTX 1060 the 8th gen I7 and dual storage ….. I want to buy it on Amazon India so I will be needing the India model no.
    Thank you very much for your help

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2018 at 7:12 pm

      I'm not in India, I cannot do that for you. Use the search function on amazon and look for the configuration you want…

  4. Jacob C

    October 21, 2018 at 9:23 am

    Do you have the calibrated color profile for the 144hz screen like you did the 60hz panel? If so could you post it as well? Thanks.

  5. Tanmay

    March 12, 2019 at 9:40 pm

    Speed is on point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *