Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire R 11 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Acer Aspire R 11 (R3-131T) review – Braswell on a $249 2-in-1 laptop

26 Comments

  1. fygehy

    July 26, 2015 at 8:07 am

    Finnaly I found something I was looking for a week.
    This is acctualy 1. review on the web of r11 hat actually dissasembled it, congrat!!
    Can you please tell my name of that cable used to connect hdd to board as it looks different from classic ones, or webpage where I can buy it in EU?
    As I wanted to use my ssd but the cable was different…
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2015 at 8:33 am

      Are you sure it’s different? That’s a standard SATA connector from what I can tell, should fit any 2.5″ SSD just fine

      • fygehy

        July 26, 2015 at 7:11 pm

        Well I m not tech type so only thing I know is that I want to add 1tb hdd from my old hp630 to this version so I have 1tb + the one alredy there {64emmc}
        hdd I want to ad is http://www.notebookcheck.net/fileadmin/_migrated/pics/20.JPG and it doesnt fit as cable has thicker connector to board..

    • Steve Peat

      March 6, 2016 at 8:37 am

      awsome review

  2. Susie

    July 27, 2015 at 2:48 am

    Hi, you’re saying this laptop has 8GB ram and is $250? I found one for that price but it is 2GB ram… Can you clear the confusion?
    walmart.com/search/?query=R3-131T

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2015 at 11:06 am

      No, I’m saying the base model will sell for $249, the one you mentioned there from wallmart. The higher end model reviewed here is going to be more expensive.

  3. Android Wheatron

    July 28, 2015 at 11:51 pm

    In reference to Aspire R11 (R3-131t) 32GB SSD Version:

    1) how do I upgrade the capacity of the SSD? I tried looking for the SSD, but it doesn’t appear to exist, so I’m thinking it is just integrated into the motherboard.

    2) there is this small area/void next to the motherboard. The void is filled with a metal brace which can easily be removed. It looks like, from your pics, that this is where a HDD would be. Can a SSD be placed there? And if so, how would I connect it to the motherboard? The plug isn’t present on the motherboard like it is on yours.

    3) can the CPU or GPU be overclocked? I understand that there are no fans, so it would have to be minor overclocking as to not overheat.

    4) aside from the RAM and wifi, is there anything else that can be upgraded?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 30, 2015 at 2:05 pm

      I haven’t see the 32 GB model live.If you have it, could you please take a pick of the internals and send it to me at contact @ ultrabookreview.com . Would help a lot. A macro of the HDD connector (or the lack of it) would help as well.

      From what you’re saying, the base model cannot be upgraded with a HDD. That wouldn’t be the first time Acer went down this route with their most affordable configurations.

      3. No
      4. Not that I can tell.

      • John

        July 31, 2015 at 2:29 am

        The SSD placement is being discussed here as well and includes pictures of the missing connector, if that makes sense.
        techsupportforum.com/forums/f108/aspire-r11-r3-131t-locating-the-ssd-and-other-general-upgrading-questions-1024258.html

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 31, 2015 at 8:24 am

          Got it, thanks. Looks like there’s no way to update the base version with a regular 2.5″ storage bay. I’ll update the post accordingly.

          • Ariane

            October 6, 2015 at 1:17 am

            Hi Andrei,

            Any word on whether the hard drive can be updated? Also, if it can be, which model hard drive would you suggest?

            Thank you.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 6, 2015 at 10:42 am

            If you’re looking at the base model with the 32 eMMC storage, then it cannot. If you’re looking at a unti that already includes a HDD, this one can be replaced with a similar 2.5″ drive.

          • Ariane

            October 6, 2015 at 7:51 pm

            Unfortunately, I was looking at internal hard drives for the base model. Thank you for responding.

  4. John

    July 29, 2015 at 4:40 am

    Very nice convertible netbook, but as usual I see myself wanting moar powa!
    Obviously swapping out the drive for an SSD is a no brainer, as is increasing RAM, but that is basically all that can be done.
    I’d love to see FPGA sockets again on these sort of devices.
    Love the inclusion of the micro switches on the Motherboard below the Ram slot too. ;)

  5. Komang

    August 26, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    wow..thanks for the review..
    how about lenovo yoga 300? request to review it.. ;)

  6. Andre

    August 28, 2015 at 3:30 am

    Hi this acer r11 just come in store at my country. This acer come with intel celeron n3050 and 4GB RAM. Price is about 400$. If this acer r11 have same price with asus transformer T100TAM, which one u’ll choose ? And if u don’t mind please have your reason also. Thank u

  7. Alexandru Steimle

    September 8, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    I seem to have sensitivity problems. When I move the computer or touch the screen the LCD makes like the image where if you press on the screen to hard. But I barely touch the screen. Is this normal? Will it break? I need help. All I really am is worried.

  8. Ano

    September 27, 2015 at 7:44 am

    Hello,
    You said there would be a white one available aswell, but I really can’t find one. Maybe you have an idea?

  9. Iced-T

    November 3, 2015 at 6:03 am

    I have been using this laptop for about 2 weeks and I agree with most of the points here. Do you have any difficulty in connecting and disconnecting the charging cable to the computer? Which acer softwares did u remove to optimize performance?

    I have the 4GBram 500GB model. I set the power settings to maximum performance instead of balanced performance this helps.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2015 at 8:40 am

      I don’t remember anything about the charging tip. You can search for each of the Acer Software on Google and find out what they do. I usually uninstall most of them, except Acer Care and Power Management.

  10. queta

    January 16, 2016 at 2:44 pm

    im having problems with the pointer going every where .what canI do ? I love acer I have a laptop for5 years and a tablet and they work perfect I need some help wit my R11

  11. ash

    January 30, 2016 at 12:16 pm

    any pointers where to get a wifi module upgrade?? i canr find nothing online pointing to anything.. i got the 2gb 500hdd model 2 days ago.. bought 8gb ram before even turning it on.. going to get a big 500gb ssd to fit just wat to upgrade wifi now if possible.. thanks for any help and great review :)

  12. AyTee

    March 30, 2016 at 6:24 am

    could you please give me an advice on what sort of SD card (macro/micro…) may I use for this laptop
    I’m looking for a 64GB with good speed

  13. Iced-T

    April 2, 2016 at 8:32 pm

    When I open about 4 tabs on the browser…the laptop processor always hovers around 100% and the whole system starts to lag.

    Do u have the same problem?

    I usually have fb, youtube and maybe 2 news websites on.

  14. Vivienne Simmons

    April 17, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    Hello, Thanks for the great review.
    I’m semi-literate where technology is concerned, so would appreciate your advice.
    I’m trying to decide whether to buy the Acer Aspire R11 (Intel 3700, 4gb RAM, 500mb drive) or the HP Pavilion X360 with the same spec.
    They are very similar, but I’ve seen contradictory information: e.g. one spec says the Acer processor is faster and it has better quality RAM than the HP; another spec says they have the same speed and RAM.
    I would like to get the better of the two notebooks. Which one would you buy and why please?

  15. Robert

    November 6, 2016 at 6:49 am

    Thanks for review.
    I just wanted to know if the Sata interface of this device is Sata3 or Sata2.
    I've seen many of this Acer laptops (TMB113 and TMB115) with Sata2 and changing the internal HD with SSD can't achieve full speed of Sata3 standard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *