Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX430 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX430 series (UX430UQ) review – a compact 14-inch ultraportable for the average user

151 Comments

  1. Henri

    May 21, 2017 at 4:10 pm

    Hi! I must ask, specially you who use NoteBook FanControl to make your UX430UQ run silent, don't you experience any coil whine? I personally find it more annoying than the fan… or is it just my unit with the coil whine? I have had this notebook for 5 weeks now and I have multiple dead pixels so I have to send it for repair, maybe I should mention about coil whine too if you don't experience any.

    • christof

      May 22, 2017 at 4:54 am

      It is indeed sad to hear, that you are suffering from this! I have the UX410 and was afraid too to get to hear coil whine too. Fortunately my book is totally silent when using nbfc. I have had about 10 different ultrabooks the last two years and the most annoying thing i noticed with around 85% of them was coil whine. It tends to be common these days, so I was positively surprised to get an ultrabook without any noises!

      Are there any other experiencing coil whine (electrical buzzing)

  2. Taufiq

    May 22, 2017 at 4:33 am

    Hi I'm currently staying in Canada and am desperately looking for the royal blue version of this ux430 model. I've searched everywhere with no luck on my side. If anyone could tell me where I could get this blue version will be really helpful.

  3. Beatsing

    May 25, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    Hi,
    Nice review. I bought this based on your review. I've been using it for over a week now but my battery doesn't seem to last as long as yours. On light browsing at 30 %brightness wifi on with Internet Explorer I'm getting 5 to 7 hours. Watching YouTube wifi on 1080 I'm getting 5.5 hours. Is my battery defective? Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 25, 2017 at 4:35 pm

      Are you using the Balanced Power mode? And are you running other things at the same time while watching Youtube? 5 to 7 h of browsing sounds about right, my test of light browsing consists of mostly typing in Google Drive with only one more tab open, our site, hence the longer running times.

      • Beatsing

        May 25, 2017 at 7:25 pm

        Thanks for your prompt reply. Yes I'm using balanced power mode. Only running YouTube on 1 tab gets about 5.5 hours which seems a bit low compared with your battery. On light browsing I have 2 tabs open it barely gets 7 hours. If I open multiple tabs it runs out in 5 hours. What do you think? Is there software that you'd recommend to test it? Thanks

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 26, 2017 at 7:33 am

          You can use download HWinfo, launch it in Sensors mode (there's going to be a check-in when you launch the app, it's intuitive) and scroll down to the battery section and see if your readings are similar to mine. The Screen's brightness can have an impact, if you have it setup higher than I had it.

          • beatsing

            May 27, 2017 at 2:58 am

            Hi, Thanks for your reply. I downloaded hwinfo64, and the battery is rated 50000mwh, and discharge 10305mw. Not sure why there is a large difference as I'm only running edge with 2-3 tabs, light browsing, wifi on, 30% brightness.

  4. Juan

    May 27, 2017 at 11:55 am

    Hi Mike, excellent review. You said storage is upgradeable, is it true? By the pictures you take it doesn't feel like you can replace the ssd.
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2017 at 3:39 pm

      Of course you can, the SSD can be easily removed, it's hold in place by that single screw: http://cdn.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/internals-general-view.jpg

    • Jane

      May 27, 2017 at 3:46 pm

      It's possible to upgrade it. Just note that the new SSD there will be connected to the PCI-E Connector of the South Bridge. Meaning that it's not connected directly to the CPU. It could be nothing to worry about, but Asus supplied the South Bridge a PCI-E Connector which supports only PCI-E 2.0, but not PCI-E 3.0. You can read here more of how it affects on the speeds of Writing and Reading.

  5. Dan

    May 27, 2017 at 1:15 pm

    Anyone knows if there will be a newer version (Perhaps UX450UQ) being reannouced of in 29 May, at Asus Press?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2017 at 3:41 pm

      I'd reckon there will be an update by the time Nvidia launched a replacements for the 940MX chip, but I don't think that will happen before the end of the summer. If you don't care that much about graphics though, this should be fine till the next Intel hardware is released, towards the end of the year.

  6. Mario Quimi

    May 30, 2017 at 12:59 am

    Hi Andrei, great review, I really like this laptop but I can't find it in USA, Do you know when will be available in USA? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 30, 2017 at 3:25 am

      Unfortunately, no, I don't have any insiders with Asus North America. Could try getting in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter and see if they have anything to say about thos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *