Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX430 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX430 series (UX430UQ) review – a compact 14-inch ultraportable for the average user

47 Comments

  1. Aleksey

    February 24, 2017 at 8:50 am

    Does it support external 4k display @60Hz via USB-C?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2017 at 9:18 am

      No, because it doesn't get a Thunderbolt 3 port.

  2. Paul Cheung

    February 24, 2017 at 1:56 pm

    Is this replacing the UX410 that was announced last October?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2017 at 9:11 am

      No, they will be available side by side as far as I can ell. The UX410 is a little thicker, heavier and cheaper, plus has better IO. This one focuses more on portability.

  3. Antony

    February 25, 2017 at 6:25 am

    Is it better to take this one instead of ux330ua(top version)? It seems that ux430uq has better hinger(as u said) and much better keyboard?Am i right? I have used a little bit ux330ua and the thing that i dont like is the fan systems. Comparing to ux330ua fan system – is it much noisy?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2017 at 9:15 am

      I wouldn't say much better keyboard, I was actually quite happy with the one of the UX330 as well and I think they are the same. I did get less typos on this one, but it might be I was just in a better mood, i can't tell for sure.

      I like that the screen goes back more on this one, that's a really limiting factor on the UX330. Otherwise, the hinges seem to have similar mechanisms.

      As for the fans, unfortunately I don't have the proper tools to professionally record noise levels, so I can't say for sure if one is noisier than the others and have to rely on my memory and subjective opinion. I'd reckon they're about he same. The main issue is the fact that the fans becomes active sooner than it should on both, and not it's peak noise level.

      • Antony

        February 26, 2017 at 2:00 pm

        Thanks for the response!

        I've read from one of the review (not yours :) that was about ux410uq) : "But the display cover is left quite a different impression. It is easy to succumb to curl, and hinges were not as stringent as we would like. Even a small laptop shaking led to the fact that the cover has changed its position." Could you please comment this? I am asking because i think that ux430 and ux410 based on the same platform. But the ux410 came out with hdd so dont wanna buy it.

        BTW: You do the best reviews. Good notebook pictures and amazing content. Absolutely love your work. Thanks guys and keep going!

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 27, 2017 at 9:40 am

          They are similar but the build is a little different, since the UX430 is slimmer and thus I think it gets slightly better materials. I haven't seen the UX410 or UX310 live, so can't be 100% sure, but that's their entry level Zenbook so it makes sense to be a little more flimsy.

  4. Mac

    February 25, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    Hi! Does it support 4k 60hz video by micro hdmi? Does it have 2.0 hdmi tecnology? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 26, 2017 at 9:45 am

      Kaby Lake U doesn't offer native HDMI 2.0 support, so the answer is no as far as I can tell.

  5. Ken Wong

    February 27, 2017 at 12:34 am

    When do you think it will be available for the US market?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 9:41 am

      Good question, but the answer is I don't know. I don't have any insiders at Asus North America and their decisions have been quite weird lately, with some models only available in Europe and only some in the US. Could try to get in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter.

  6. Tom

    February 27, 2017 at 12:49 am

    Thanks for the review. I've been checking for the ux4 line daily since I saw your great comparison write up last year. I'm stuck waiting for the ux3410, ux410, or ux430, I don't even care which one I get at this point, I just want one released in the US! (the ux490 is beautiful, but likely too expensive and too few I/O) Do you have any dates I can look forward to?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 9:42 am

      No, as I said earlier, I don't have any insiders with Asus North AMerica, try to get in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter. A comparison article between those models should be helpful I think, these are similar in many ways and I think most buyers would have a hard time telling their particularities apart. Thanks for the idea :P

    • Antony

      February 28, 2017 at 5:49 pm

      I have it available in my country. I mean ux410 but I don't want to have HDD. It doesn't make sense and this is excess weight. Actually I almost bought ux410 but then saw ux430 )) and decided to wait:)

      • JS

        March 2, 2017 at 9:37 pm

        What country is this? I can't find any info on where to buy it except Australia and it seems overpriced.

        • Antony

          March 7, 2017 at 1:36 pm

          Its Ukraine, but i can see it in EU countries, if we are talking about ux410uq. I've called several time to our Asus and they said that they dont know when, it was annonced that it should be in Ukraine in spring(i.e. march) but it doesnt and noone knows when it come out. I cant wait already, asus so unpredictable. If they will not delivery it till next week i guess i will go for ux410uq(but i dont know why they put this shitty hdd :( )

  7. Jakob

    February 27, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks for a great review. It says on asus' website that it has "Type C USB3.0 (USB3.1 GEN1) support display". Does this mean that it has displayport through the USB type C connector and that it can drive a 4k monitorn at 60 Hz?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 5:31 pm

      I'm not 100% sure on that, but from what I know USB3.1 gen1 only supports 4K at 30 Hz. You'd need gen 2 (Thunderbolt 3) for 60 Hz.

      • Jakob

        February 28, 2017 at 4:25 pm

        Ok thank you for your answer. I only ask because I know that displayport via usb C is a thing, and it's difficult to tell what they mean with "support display".

  8. Niss

    March 6, 2017 at 5:11 am

    Would it be possible to set up a custom fan program (with speedfan for example)? A program that keeps the fans off under a certain temperature etc. Or has Asus restricted that?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2017 at 6:38 am

      Haven't tried it actually and I no longer have the test unit. Will look it up on the next Zenbook I get to test.

      • Niss

        March 6, 2017 at 6:57 pm

        Great, thanks!

    • JK

      March 8, 2017 at 3:00 pm

      I use NoteBookFanControl in my UX410UQ (with Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile) so I guess it's possible in UX430 also.

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 8, 2017 at 3:01 pm

        Does it make a difference? Does it help keeping the fan quiet in daily use and can you actually force it completely off?

        • JK

          March 8, 2017 at 3:24 pm

          Yes it does, the fan does not spin until the CPU temperature reaches ~60 degrees celsius.

  9. Anton

    March 6, 2017 at 7:01 pm

    Seems like an amazing laptop, how come only ultrabookreview has reviewed it so far?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2017 at 3:04 am

      there are other reviews as well, perhaps not in English. We got to play with a pre-production unit, as this is not yet shipping in most regions.

  10. JS

    March 8, 2017 at 12:51 pm

    The UX430UA is currently available at BestBuy in Canada for $899CD, just fyi!

    • Antony

      March 10, 2017 at 7:36 am

      Thanks and congrats to you :)

  11. JK

    March 13, 2017 at 1:49 pm

    Do you remember was the touchpad noisy when touching it like this?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BdLQmvO-ig

    I tried UX430UQ in store and the touchpad and also the part where you lay your wrists made that kind of noise when touching it.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

      Hmmm, I personally didn't find the trackpad as noisy as in this clip. However, most trackpads rattle a little bit when tapped firmer, but again, I don't remember this one being particularly bothering.

  12. Laura

    March 13, 2017 at 10:22 pm

    When will the Asus UX430UA be released?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

      Can't tell, you'd have to ask the Asus representatives in your country.

  13. Chris

    March 14, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    Is the weight/dimension difference with UX410UQ noticeable? It's about 1.4kg vs 1.2kg, and 18.95mm vs ~15mm for thickness?

    UX430 isn't available in my country yet but UX410 is :) I'm thinking it if would be worth the wait

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:39 pm

      Personally, I'd say not that much in daily use. But every bit counts on an ultraportable.

    • Chris

      March 18, 2017 at 1:08 am

      Ah I see, I like that 410 can add more ram though. But the premium quality of 430 is enticing. Will check it out in person though to compare weight.

  14. Frank Benfield

    March 15, 2017 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the great review Andrei.
    I'm currently using a 2011 model ASUS ZenBook.
    I've been hanging out for the release of the UX430 series and this morning into my inbox pinged an ASUS email announcing the availability of the:
    "ZenBook UX430UQ (Grey)" at AU$1499 which is about US$1154 at today's exchange rate. No price for the UX430UA which is the model I'll buy as I'm not a gamer and according to my reading of your review the A model will be sufficient for my needs.
    Cheers.
    Frank
    Australia
    For your information.

  15. Antony

    March 17, 2017 at 8:07 am

    Do you have any plans to make review for Lenovo Thinkpad t470s? Its 1.3 kg so it looks like Ultrabook :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm

      probably not, since I don't have any contacts with Lenovo as of the last years and their products are too expensive over here to just buy for reviews. But i'll do my best to snag one

  16. Francisco

    March 17, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    Looking to buy one of these as my daliy driver for java development at university.

    Do you feel like there are better alternatives at this price point taking in account weight and battery life? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2017 at 5:55 pm

      Not if you're looking for a 14-incher with a similar weight and price, but there are some 13-inch options. Not necessarily better though.

      • Perry

        March 18, 2017 at 9:09 pm

        Is there a similar option at 13/14 inch with a good keyboard?

  17. Manuel Baptista

    March 18, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    Do you think the laptop is thick. I was looking for a thin ultrabook and this is thicker than the ux330ua for example.

  18. Loe

    March 21, 2017 at 6:46 am

    For starters congratulations for the site. Great reviews, excellent work.
    I'm looking for a portable laptop (ultrabook), however I'd like the biggest screen possible and these Zenbooks look nice.
    Do you believe it is worth to wait for the Deluxe 490UA? the price difference will be big between the 430 and the Deluxe.
    Also, are there any alternatives? The XPS13 are great but the screen is smaller.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *