Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX430 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX430 series (UX430UQ) review – a compact 14-inch ultraportable for the average user

112 Comments

  1. Aleksey

    February 24, 2017 at 8:50 am

    Does it support external 4k display @60Hz via USB-C?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2017 at 9:18 am

      No, because it doesn't get a Thunderbolt 3 port.

  2. Paul Cheung

    February 24, 2017 at 1:56 pm

    Is this replacing the UX410 that was announced last October?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2017 at 9:11 am

      No, they will be available side by side as far as I can ell. The UX410 is a little thicker, heavier and cheaper, plus has better IO. This one focuses more on portability.

  3. Antony

    February 25, 2017 at 6:25 am

    Is it better to take this one instead of ux330ua(top version)? It seems that ux430uq has better hinger(as u said) and much better keyboard?Am i right? I have used a little bit ux330ua and the thing that i dont like is the fan systems. Comparing to ux330ua fan system – is it much noisy?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2017 at 9:15 am

      I wouldn't say much better keyboard, I was actually quite happy with the one of the UX330 as well and I think they are the same. I did get less typos on this one, but it might be I was just in a better mood, i can't tell for sure.

      I like that the screen goes back more on this one, that's a really limiting factor on the UX330. Otherwise, the hinges seem to have similar mechanisms.

      As for the fans, unfortunately I don't have the proper tools to professionally record noise levels, so I can't say for sure if one is noisier than the others and have to rely on my memory and subjective opinion. I'd reckon they're about he same. The main issue is the fact that the fans becomes active sooner than it should on both, and not it's peak noise level.

      • Antony

        February 26, 2017 at 2:00 pm

        Thanks for the response!

        I've read from one of the review (not yours :) that was about ux410uq) : "But the display cover is left quite a different impression. It is easy to succumb to curl, and hinges were not as stringent as we would like. Even a small laptop shaking led to the fact that the cover has changed its position." Could you please comment this? I am asking because i think that ux430 and ux410 based on the same platform. But the ux410 came out with hdd so dont wanna buy it.

        BTW: You do the best reviews. Good notebook pictures and amazing content. Absolutely love your work. Thanks guys and keep going!

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 27, 2017 at 9:40 am

          They are similar but the build is a little different, since the UX430 is slimmer and thus I think it gets slightly better materials. I haven't seen the UX410 or UX310 live, so can't be 100% sure, but that's their entry level Zenbook so it makes sense to be a little more flimsy.

  4. Mac

    February 25, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    Hi! Does it support 4k 60hz video by micro hdmi? Does it have 2.0 hdmi tecnology? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 26, 2017 at 9:45 am

      Kaby Lake U doesn't offer native HDMI 2.0 support, so the answer is no as far as I can tell.

  5. Ken Wong

    February 27, 2017 at 12:34 am

    When do you think it will be available for the US market?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 9:41 am

      Good question, but the answer is I don't know. I don't have any insiders at Asus North America and their decisions have been quite weird lately, with some models only available in Europe and only some in the US. Could try to get in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter.

  6. Tom

    February 27, 2017 at 12:49 am

    Thanks for the review. I've been checking for the ux4 line daily since I saw your great comparison write up last year. I'm stuck waiting for the ux3410, ux410, or ux430, I don't even care which one I get at this point, I just want one released in the US! (the ux490 is beautiful, but likely too expensive and too few I/O) Do you have any dates I can look forward to?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 9:42 am

      No, as I said earlier, I don't have any insiders with Asus North AMerica, try to get in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter. A comparison article between those models should be helpful I think, these are similar in many ways and I think most buyers would have a hard time telling their particularities apart. Thanks for the idea :P

    • Antony

      February 28, 2017 at 5:49 pm

      I have it available in my country. I mean ux410 but I don't want to have HDD. It doesn't make sense and this is excess weight. Actually I almost bought ux410 but then saw ux430 )) and decided to wait:)

      • JS

        March 2, 2017 at 9:37 pm

        What country is this? I can't find any info on where to buy it except Australia and it seems overpriced.

        • Antony

          March 7, 2017 at 1:36 pm

          Its Ukraine, but i can see it in EU countries, if we are talking about ux410uq. I've called several time to our Asus and they said that they dont know when, it was annonced that it should be in Ukraine in spring(i.e. march) but it doesnt and noone knows when it come out. I cant wait already, asus so unpredictable. If they will not delivery it till next week i guess i will go for ux410uq(but i dont know why they put this shitty hdd :( )

  7. Jakob

    February 27, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks for a great review. It says on asus' website that it has "Type C USB3.0 (USB3.1 GEN1) support display". Does this mean that it has displayport through the USB type C connector and that it can drive a 4k monitorn at 60 Hz?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2017 at 5:31 pm

      I'm not 100% sure on that, but from what I know USB3.1 gen1 only supports 4K at 30 Hz. You'd need gen 2 (Thunderbolt 3) for 60 Hz.

      • Jakob

        February 28, 2017 at 4:25 pm

        Ok thank you for your answer. I only ask because I know that displayport via usb C is a thing, and it's difficult to tell what they mean with "support display".

  8. Niss

    March 6, 2017 at 5:11 am

    Would it be possible to set up a custom fan program (with speedfan for example)? A program that keeps the fans off under a certain temperature etc. Or has Asus restricted that?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2017 at 6:38 am

      Haven't tried it actually and I no longer have the test unit. Will look it up on the next Zenbook I get to test.

      • Niss

        March 6, 2017 at 6:57 pm

        Great, thanks!

    • JK

      March 8, 2017 at 3:00 pm

      I use NoteBookFanControl in my UX410UQ (with Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile) so I guess it's possible in UX430 also.

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 8, 2017 at 3:01 pm

        Does it make a difference? Does it help keeping the fan quiet in daily use and can you actually force it completely off?

        • JK

          March 8, 2017 at 3:24 pm

          Yes it does, the fan does not spin until the CPU temperature reaches ~60 degrees celsius.

      • Cody From Canada

        April 1, 2017 at 1:05 pm

        Did anyone find out if the Zenbook Flip profile worked with the UX430?

        • Cody From Canada

          April 2, 2017 at 1:07 pm

          See my comments below but the Zenbook Flip profile on Notebook Fan Control works perfectly with the UX430. It's a whole new laptop without the fan constantly kicking it. Amazing.

  9. Anton

    March 6, 2017 at 7:01 pm

    Seems like an amazing laptop, how come only ultrabookreview has reviewed it so far?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2017 at 3:04 am

      there are other reviews as well, perhaps not in English. We got to play with a pre-production unit, as this is not yet shipping in most regions.

  10. JS

    March 8, 2017 at 12:51 pm

    The UX430UA is currently available at BestBuy in Canada for $899CD, just fyi!

    • Antony

      March 10, 2017 at 7:36 am

      Thanks and congrats to you :)

  11. JK

    March 13, 2017 at 1:49 pm

    Do you remember was the touchpad noisy when touching it like this?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BdLQmvO-ig

    I tried UX430UQ in store and the touchpad and also the part where you lay your wrists made that kind of noise when touching it.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

      Hmmm, I personally didn't find the trackpad as noisy as in this clip. However, most trackpads rattle a little bit when tapped firmer, but again, I don't remember this one being particularly bothering.

  12. Laura

    March 13, 2017 at 10:22 pm

    When will the Asus UX430UA be released?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

      Can't tell, you'd have to ask the Asus representatives in your country.

  13. Chris

    March 14, 2017 at 10:51 pm

    Is the weight/dimension difference with UX410UQ noticeable? It's about 1.4kg vs 1.2kg, and 18.95mm vs ~15mm for thickness?

    UX430 isn't available in my country yet but UX410 is :) I'm thinking it if would be worth the wait

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:39 pm

      Personally, I'd say not that much in daily use. But every bit counts on an ultraportable.

    • Chris

      March 18, 2017 at 1:08 am

      Ah I see, I like that 410 can add more ram though. But the premium quality of 430 is enticing. Will check it out in person though to compare weight.

  14. Frank Benfield

    March 15, 2017 at 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the great review Andrei.
    I'm currently using a 2011 model ASUS ZenBook.
    I've been hanging out for the release of the UX430 series and this morning into my inbox pinged an ASUS email announcing the availability of the:
    "ZenBook UX430UQ (Grey)" at AU$1499 which is about US$1154 at today's exchange rate. No price for the UX430UA which is the model I'll buy as I'm not a gamer and according to my reading of your review the A model will be sufficient for my needs.
    Cheers.
    Frank
    Australia
    For your information.

  15. Antony

    March 17, 2017 at 8:07 am

    Do you have any plans to make review for Lenovo Thinkpad t470s? Its 1.3 kg so it looks like Ultrabook :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm

      probably not, since I don't have any contacts with Lenovo as of the last years and their products are too expensive over here to just buy for reviews. But i'll do my best to snag one

  16. Francisco

    March 17, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    Looking to buy one of these as my daliy driver for java development at university.

    Do you feel like there are better alternatives at this price point taking in account weight and battery life? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2017 at 5:55 pm

      Not if you're looking for a 14-incher with a similar weight and price, but there are some 13-inch options. Not necessarily better though.

      • Perry

        March 18, 2017 at 9:09 pm

        Is there a similar option at 13/14 inch with a good keyboard?

  17. Manuel Baptista

    March 18, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    Do you think the laptop is thick. I was looking for a thin ultrabook and this is thicker than the ux330ua for example.

  18. Loe

    March 21, 2017 at 6:46 am

    For starters congratulations for the site. Great reviews, excellent work.
    I'm looking for a portable laptop (ultrabook), however I'd like the biggest screen possible and these Zenbooks look nice.
    Do you believe it is worth to wait for the Deluxe 490UA? the price difference will be big between the 430 and the Deluxe.
    Also, are there any alternatives? The XPS13 are great but the screen is smaller.

  19. Kenneth Mykland

    March 23, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    Hi there! Nice review! I'm wanting to by an ultra portable laptop for general school work, but also some 3D max work. I've been looking at either the Acer swift 5 or the ASUS ZENBOOK UX430UQ-PURE1 or Pure 2. Both the pure 1 and 2 have the NVIDIA Gefore 940MX graphic, but Pure 2 has 8gb RAM vs the 4gb RAM in the Pure 1. Which model of the UX430 series would you recommend for my use? I'm only considering the Swift 5 because of it's cheaper price! Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 28, 2017 at 6:56 am

      I wouldn't get a computer with just 4 GB of RAM this day, especially one that doesn't allow the RAM to be upgraded, like this one. Between the Sift and the UX430 I'd go with the latter, given it's withing the budget. I expect the Swift to be cheaper though

  20. Asam Kiem

    March 28, 2017 at 9:39 am

    Hi! Just purchased the 430UA, and so far I am quite satisfied. (Thanks for the review btw, just tipped me onto the side of buying) However, I tried installing the calibrated profile which you so generously linked, but I couldn't really get it to work. So, how do I install said profile?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 28, 2017 at 12:24 pm

      • Asam Kiem

        March 28, 2017 at 2:06 pm

        Thanks! I couldn't find the mentioned "Colour Management" -section though. It seems weird, seeing as this is (to my belief) a standard Windows 10 OS. Confused, can you help?

        • Asam Kiem

          March 28, 2017 at 2:22 pm

          Nevermind, found it… Feeling quite stupid. Not a noticeable difference, but i guess im just not that nitpicky.

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 28, 2017 at 3:41 pm

          right click on desktop > display settings > advanced display settings > color management . I think that's what they're referring to.

  21. Alex

    March 28, 2017 at 10:18 pm

    Hey, I live in Canada and was looking at 330ua till I saw this and fell in love with the bezel and speakers in comparison to the 330ua. However the battery on this is expected 9hrs vs in 330ua which has 12hrs. Can you tell me which store in canada has this laptop with intel i7, 16gb ram and 512gb ssd? So far I've only seen the i5, 8gb ram and 256gb ssd version in bestbuy.

    • Ian

      March 30, 2017 at 10:42 am

      BestBuy seems to have the i7 16gb model listed on their website but it is out of stock both in store and online. I just got my UX430 (the i5 version) from bestbuy and until it came in stock it also said the same thing. Keep watching the BestBuy site as it might suddenly be listed as in stock. As far as I can tell they are the only retailer to have this laptop (I've been waiting for it a while now so I've been tracking its progress).

      • Alex

        April 2, 2017 at 2:41 pm

        Hey, I double checked best buy Canada. Both laptops are Intel i5, one is 256gb add and the other is 512gb sad with graphics card I believe. If someone finds Intel i7 version please let me know. And if you guys can upload a video on YouTube it would be greatly appreciated. I want to hear the fan noise

  22. Cody From Canada

    April 1, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    Hi All, just bought the UX430UA in Canada at Best Buy for $799 (on sale). The laptop is amazing other than one thing, THE FAN IS ALWAYS ON!!! It's unbelievable how much it kicks in and as Andrei says, it is annoying and, to me, aggressive. I'm coming from a chromebook which was fanless so maybe I'm a little more sensitive to it but it's so bad that I'm thinking of taking the UX430 back to bestbuy. I'm going to try the notebookfancontrol application and see what happens because if I can get the fan to stop whirring it'd be the perfect laptop for $800CAD (I5-7200, 256SSD, 8GB Ram Edition). Does anyone know what profile to use with notebookfancontrol or does anyone else have any other solutions to get the fan to not come on as much?

    • JK

      April 2, 2017 at 12:38 pm

      Try the Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile. That works for my UX410UQ.

      • Cody From Canada

        April 2, 2017 at 3:36 pm

        Hey JK, thanks for the reply. I did use that profile and it works like a dream. Thanks a lot for posting as like I said, if I didn't have this notebook fan control app and profile, there is no way I would have kept the UX430UA.

    • Cody From Canada

      April 2, 2017 at 1:05 pm

      Hi all (again), just wanted to update you on my recent findings with using note book fan control and the UX430CA. I couldn't wait for a response on here to determine which profile to use from the fan control app, so I took a chance and just installed notebook fan control app and used the Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile. It works like a charm for the UX430CA. Without notebook fan control app controlling the fan and making it so it doesn't come on all the time, there is no way I would have kept the machine. The fan just came on way too much for my liking. Now that the fan issue is fixed this I'm loving the machine and couldn't even tell you at what temp the fan kicks in because the machine hasn't gotten hot enough for the fan to kick in. (I believe from an above post it may kick in at around 60 degrees). So for what I'm using this machine for, which is just browsing the web and using Excel and Office, the temp rarely reaches 60 degrees Celsius. My feelings on the machine in general, screen = great, keyboard = awesome, responsive, good feel to it, speed of computer in general = ridiculous, battery = Very good, I've been using it quite a bit with screen brightness at around 50-60% percent and it's lasted me around 4 hours of use with about 5-6 hours remaining. If anyone else wants to know anything more about this machine just ask on here and I'll try and remember to respond to it.

      • Alex

        April 2, 2017 at 3:03 pm

        Hey what do you mean using the Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile on the zenbook ux430ua. What is this app? Can you please specify all this because I'm a bit lost.

        • Cody From Canada

          April 2, 2017 at 3:34 pm

          So the fan on the UX430UA is constantly running, so much so that I was going to take it back to Best Buy. I found this app called Notebook Fan Control. It basically alters the fan settings (by selecting a specific profile within the app) that makes it so the fan doesn't kick on all the time. However, within the app it'self, there isn't a UX430UA profile. So I used the closest profile I could find which was the Zenbook Flip profile within the notebook fan control app. Once that profile was applied to my machine (the UX430UA) the fan doesn't come on near as much. So, at the end of the day, even though there isn't a specific fan control plan for the UX430, using the Zenbook flip profile within the notebook fan control app seems to work just fine. I'm not going to post a youtube video just cause I don't have time to do that, just know that it kicks on for every single thing you do and it's annoying enough that I was going to take the UX430 back. Open up Chrome browser, fan kicks on, open up Windows Explorer fan kicks on, do something processor heavy and you can actually hear the fan motor increase in speed, totally unacceptable in my opinion. Does that make a bit more sense?

          • Alex

            April 4, 2017 at 7:43 am

            Yes your feedback helped a lot! Would you be able to put a link to the app? Also did you find this change in profile affect any heat issues with the laptop and also your battery life? I apologize for all the questions, but I feel this may help others as well. Thank you once again.

          • Jay

            April 4, 2017 at 11:17 pm

            Hey, can you please put a link to the app? also did you notice any changes in battery, performance and heat? will this affect when the laptop is working demanding tasks and possibility of slowing it down?

          • Cody From Canada

            April 5, 2017 at 9:01 pm

            Hi guys, so here is the link for Notebook Fan Control (use at your own risk, I am not a professional);

            https://github.com/hirschmann/nbfc/releases

            Alex – using the app and changing the profile didn't have any affect on heat issue with my machine. I am really only using it for web browsing and Microsoft office use so I'm not pushing it that hard at all which is why I felt safe using the fan control app. There is an option within the app to have the CPU temperature showing in the tool bar by the clock. Usual temperature that I see is around 30-35 degrees Celsius. Now I have no idea what the temperature was before I was using the fan control app because I didn't know what the temperature was at all, just that the fan was coming on on every single thing I did and I hated it. Fan control app doesn't affect battery life that I've noticed. The battery has been stellar for me. I'm sure the fan will kick on once the CPU gets to 60 degrees (JK mentioned this above), but I've never had the CPU get close to that so I'm still not really sure when it comes on. When I put the computer to sleep or shut the computer down I do notice that the fan will come on for around 3-5 seconds as the computer is shutting down.

            Jay – I wish I could help you more and tell you about heat temp when pushing the CPU but I just haven't done that. I don't game or do any graphic stuff so I can't really answer your question. But I do know (from JK's Mar. 8 comment) that apparently the fan will kick in once the CPU reaches a temperature of 60 degrees. Like I said above, I haven't gotten the temp that high for what I'm doing with it. I don't think that the computer will slow down when doing intensive tasks, the app just controls the fan I'm pretty sure. The kinda brutal thing here is that you're going to have to try it out to see what happens because there isn't a lot of data on the net about this issue as the UX430 is still relatively new I believe. Obviously keep me posted on what ever you find out as I believe this is one of the only site and conversations where this is happening (that I know of or have found anyway).

          • Alex

            April 6, 2017 at 6:05 am

            Hey Cody,

            You have been so helpful! i hope to test out the laptop for myself and see if the fan will bother me or not. How long does the battery last you and in what configuration?

          • Cody From Canada

            April 6, 2017 at 12:05 pm

            Hey Alex, no problem at all. The battery life, for what I'm using it for, is really really good. I'd say I use it probably 2-3 hours a night, 50% screen brightness and it lasts me like around 3-4 days. It's been unbelievable actually. Again, light usage in my opinion but the screen is still on, doing web browsing and some MS office usage. For the profile, I'm just using the balanced battery profile. I'm real curious to hear your feedback on the fan issue when you get it so please keep me posted on here.

      • Kenneth

        April 2, 2017 at 6:03 pm

        Hi Cody! I just picked up an UX430UQ as well in Norway. I totally agree on the fan issue and it`s a little bit annoying… However when I work with 3D modelling in 3D Max I should expect the fan to kick in and help cool the processor down when under heavy load. But then again it runs pretty high speed with only MySQL Workbench running! I downloaded the Notebook Fan Control 1.5.0, but I`m a little bit sceptical of running this software!? Could it potentially damage my core and processor if things get a bit too hot or am I just paranoid? Cheers for any advice and sharing of experiences!

        • JK

          April 5, 2017 at 8:35 pm

          I don't think it will allow the processor temperature to get too hot. It allows the fan to rotate at full speed when temperature reaches around 70 celsius degrees. With UX410 I have tested with some benchmark software and the temperature don't get hotter than that.

        • Cody From Canada

          April 5, 2017 at 9:06 pm

          Hey Kenneth, I wish I knew the answer to that but I don't do any of that heavy lifting with my machine. I read somewhere online that the CPU can resist temp's up to 100 degrees Celsius (verify this again through you're own research). Honestly, I don't see a problem in installing the app, seeing if it works and how it performs and if you don't like it just uninstall the app. Obviously up to you and keep in mind that I'm not a professional, just speaking from experience. Like I said before this laptop is a totally different machine with the use of this app. Let me know what you decide to do.

    • Alex

      April 2, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      Hey can you post a YouTube video with the fan noise sound? Like how loud is it actually??

    • Karl

      April 5, 2017 at 1:38 pm

      Hey Cody,

      I'm in the same situation, also bought from Best Buy Canada for $799 and loving this laptop so far. But the fans constantly on are definitely annoying. I read somewhere changing the profile to power saver would help but it hasn't for me.

      Hoping for a solution to get the fans silent too

      • Cody From Canada

        April 5, 2017 at 9:08 pm

        Hey Karl, I tried switching the power profile to power saver mode and it did nothing. I've put the link to the fan control app in a response above if you want to give that a try.

  23. Ganges

    April 2, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    Hi!!
    Do any of you have the Nvidia GT 940MX version?
    Do you think it significantly influences WEIGHT, BATTERY and NOISE/FAN?

    I need this laptop for work, but I also like to occasionally edit holiday/weekend full hd videos (4-5min long) and I'm torn between buying the dedicated graphic card version or not.

    Happy to ear that the fan control app worked though!

    Thanks!

    • Cody From Canada

      April 5, 2017 at 9:12 pm

      Hi Ganges, I don't have the Nvidia edition, just the Intel HD graphics card.

  24. Chris

    April 5, 2017 at 5:56 am

    Hey guys,

    How is the brightness of this notebook in comparison with Macbooks?

    Thanks!

    • Cody From Canada

      April 5, 2017 at 9:11 pm

      Hey Chris, the screen and brightness on this laptop is awesome. In my opinion though, the retina display on the Macbook is really tough to beat. I will say that when I'm in bed with the lights out I can't turn the brightness down enough. Even at the lowest brightness setting it's still pretty bright. Haven't put this on full brightness because it would hurt my eyes I feel. haha.

      • Chris

        April 6, 2017 at 6:13 am

        Hi Cody, thanks for that. How is it for outdoor usage (travel)? :)

        • Cody From Canada

          April 6, 2017 at 12:06 pm

          I haven't used it outside, very light weight and compact for travelling though.

  25. Justin

    April 6, 2017 at 8:55 am

    Hi! What a great review!
    Have you got the model of UX530 series? I'm very intersted at UX530UX, featuring a 15-inch screen and Nvida GTX950. How much do you think UX530UX will cost?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 6, 2017 at 9:32 am

      I don't know if I'll review the UX530 for the time being

  26. Janine

    April 6, 2017 at 11:51 pm

    Has anyone had trouble with web connectivity? In comparison to other devices myself or others have been using on a few different networks, I seem to be having more difficulty connecting or losing connection pretty frequently.

    Also, has anyone found good protective accessories (sleeve, keyboard cover)? I liked the Incase Icon sleeve but everything is designed for macs I'm finding, and for keyboard covers the keyboard on this machine seems to be pretty unique.

    • Cody From Canada

      April 7, 2017 at 6:52 pm

      Hey Janine, I actually have noticed that I have been dropping connections on my home network. Sometimes can take up to 30 seconds once I wake the laptop up, sometimes it's already connected. I'm going to keep an eye on it and if the problem persists I'm going to be getting in touch with ASUS customer service. My guess is they will just get me to update the wireless card's driver but we'll see. Either way I'll keep you posted and also keep us posted on here if you find a fix.

      • Janine

        April 20, 2017 at 10:56 pm

        Any update on connectivity? Mine seems to be getting worse I just haven't done anything about it yet. I have the UA model.

  27. Ian

    April 7, 2017 at 9:33 am

    Gaming Performance: The i5 7200u Intel HD 620 version of this laptop is actually surprisingly capable of some light gaming. I, quite informally, tested the system with the following games and achieved the following average framerates at Medium to Low settings at 1366×768 and 60hz screen:

    Skyrim (vanilla) Med: ~45 Low: ~60
    Overwatch Low: 30-40
    Mass Effect 3 Med: 40-50 Low: ~60
    BioShock Infinite Low: ~30
    Borderlands 2 Med: ~45 Low: ~55
    Batman Arkham City Med: ~30 Low: ~40
    Fallout 4 Low: ~25
    Civilization 5 Med: ~60

    CPU stayed below 75 degrees even during longer play (1-2 hours). Turning off FRAPS might get you a few more frames. Pushing things to 1080p would be tough in games newer than about 2010. Fallout was unplayable at 1080 as was Overwatch. As long as you're not into maxing out settings you can get some very playable frames in a decent, albeit slightly older, list of games.

  28. Charles

    April 7, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    Hi. Does anyone know if the 8gb of RAM on the i5 version can be upgraded? Thanks

  29. Jose

    April 8, 2017 at 9:12 am

    Hi can I charge this with usb type c ?

    • Jakob

      April 10, 2017 at 9:53 am

      No, I asked asus and it can not charge over usb-c. It supports displayport 1.2 though.

  30. Incentivo Xing

    April 11, 2017 at 10:18 am

    Asus Zenbook UX430UA-GV018T, Intel Core i7-7500u 2.70GHz Processor / 8GB DDR4 Memory / 512GB SSD Storage / 14" FHD (1920 x 1080) LED Display / Intel HD Graphics 620 / 802.11AC WiFi + BT / USB Type C Gen 1 Port / USB3.0 Port / Micro HDMi Port / Windows 10
    In the Phils, this specs sell for $1200.

  31. shadow987

    April 11, 2017 at 10:50 am

    I want to configure a gesture like swipe back on a browser as on macbook. Do you know how to set up it ? I installed the latest driver Asus Precision Touchpad made by Elan and tab Elan is not shown on mouse properties ?

    Have you got a solution to personalize gestures touchpad not by windows 10 settings ?

    Thanks you

    • JK

      April 12, 2017 at 1:48 pm

      I guess you can't do that otherwise than installing a Chrome extension for it called TouchpadSwipe: chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/touchpadswipe/hbolfopmehcpecgmcompfpgapnbgbhio

  32. Jane

    April 13, 2017 at 9:49 am

    Hey, thanks for the very helpful review!

    I'm looking for the same laptop configuration as UX430UQ – but with a newer PCI-e (& NMVe) interface for a very powerful SSD. (I'd upgrade it to some Samsung 960 PRO or what)

    Do you know when will it be released, or why don't Asus already make a configuration like that with a PCI-e SSD too?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 13, 2017 at 3:48 pm

      I believe a PCIe SSD should be compatible with this laptop, based on the connector. Our test unit came with a SATA SSD, but that could be replaced with a faster stick. Perhaps someone who owns the laptop can offer more details on this matter?

      • Jane

        April 13, 2017 at 7:15 pm

        Wow! It sounds like good news for me… Let me make sure that I got you right: If the configuration includes a M.2 interface already (for SSDs), does it actually mean that I can seperately buy another SSD which is M.2 but supports NMVe technologies and install it in the place instead the one there was before?

        I've read here (see a link below) that "The key thing to remember about M.2 is that it is a "form factor", a shape. The "bus" — the data pathway over which the data travels to and from an M.2 drive — is distinct from M.2 itself and can vary. And it can make all the difference." (SATA3 and PCI-e are different buses!)

        http://www.computershopper.com/feature/2017-guide-the-best-m.2-solid-state-drives-tested

        They also said: "Now, to reiterate an important point: A drive may come in the M.2 form factor, but that says nothing about the bus that it makes use of. Determining that is just as important as making sure it fits."

        Now. The real question is: Will I be able to upgrade the given SanDisk SSD to an SSD Samsung 960 PRO PCI-e x4 (Supports NMVe) M.2?

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 14, 2017 at 3:34 am

          It depends on the form of the M.2 connector. Laptops with a B+M key usually only support SATA SSDs, laptops with a B and M key M.2 slots usually support PCIe SSDs. There's an explanation in here: https://rog.asus.com/articles/maximus-motherboards/buying-an-m-2-ssd-how-to-tell-which-is-which/

          And based on this picture, this laptop comes with an M key: http://cdn.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/internals-ssd.jpg

          Again, I'm not 100% sure cause I haven't actually tested an NVMe drive on this laptop. While what I said is usually true, there might be exceptions. Perhaps you can buy the drive from a place that accepts returns, so you'd be safe in case it actually doesn't work

          • Jane

            April 14, 2017 at 7:38 am

            Wow. An amazing thing to learn about now. And yeah, I could figure it too when looking at the pic. So using the site you gave me, I summarize things with the questions given there:

            So the questions are:
            Q1: Whether your motherboard/notebook supports M.2 SATA or M.2 PCI-Express (hint: check the specs page!)
            A1: We just saw that a M.2 SSD with a M key connector support PCI-Express. According to the official Asus Product page, it's not mentioned anywhere. I tried to ask the facebook customers services, but the guy working there isn't that professional to even understand terms like SATA or PCI-e. I've read somewhere that all of motherboards which planned for Kaby Lake (7th Generation) support PCI-E 3. And since ASUS UX430UQ has i7-7500U, then it also means that its motherboard support PCI-E…

            Q2: The maximum length of SSD drive supported (2232 to 22110) (hint: it should say on the PCB)
            A2: I can't tell. It looks like 2280 but measures or more checks are needed.

            Q3: The type of keying (B/M/B+M) supported by the motherboard/notebook socket
            A3: We just saw that at the pic that the connector is clearly M key.

            Q4: If it is PCI Express, whether it supports 2x or 4x PCI-Express
            A4: M key supports 4x. As said here:
            "A 'B' keying (pins 12-19) gives PCI Express SSDs up to 2x lanes of bandwidth, while a 'M' keying (pins 59-66) provides PCI Express SSDs with up to 4x lanes of bandwidth."

            So, thank you so MUCH for your help! I deeply enjoyed and appriciate it. Looking forward to hear from you more.

            And I don't think that any store that keeps its reputitation would let me just open the product box and return it if it doesn't fit (at least not in my country…)

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 14, 2017 at 9:33 am

            q1 – don't have a clear answer for that. In theory, it should support PCie speeds.
            q2 – it's a 2280 as far as i can tell. Check the drive that came with the laptop (can see the exact code in the HWinfo picture)
            q3 – M key, yes
            q4 – again, can't tell for sure

            Amazon usually allows return and most others offer 30 day returns, at least that's how things are in Europe :P

            Also, can't check the model number of the motherboard, because I no longer have the laptop, It was sent back to Asus after the article was posted.

            What you could do is wait for others to post their opinions, perhaps someone else tried to put the 960 Pro inside this laptop. You can also go on the forums on notebookreview.com and open a thread with your questions, people there might be able to help more than I can.

  33. Henri

    April 14, 2017 at 5:10 am

    Hi, did you notice any backlight bleeding? I just bought this same model and there is some bleeding on bottom left corner. It isn't that bad, but it's definitely noticeable when watching videos with dark scenes. How ever knowing it's there is extremely annoying and I still have time to return this unit.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 14, 2017 at 6:17 am

      IMO some bleeding is to be expected with laptops with matte screen. If it's noticeable on anything but a black background, then it's a problem and you could return it, but there's no guarantee the replacement won't have any bleeding. I didn't notice anything out of ordinary on my test sample.

      • Henri

        April 14, 2017 at 2:29 pm

        You are probably right. It might be a bit gamble and could end up with worse screen. Other than that minor bleed it's a fine screen. It was just interesting notice, since notebookcheck didn't find any bleeding with ux410ua. It's same panel with matte surface.

    • Jane

      April 14, 2017 at 7:48 am

      Hey, can you check inside your laptop Hardware manager what the model of the motherboard is?

      Thanks!

      • Henri

        April 14, 2017 at 2:36 pm

        Hi, sorry but it doesn't say anything specific. Only manufacturer: ASUSTeK COMUPER INC. nothing about model. Cpu-z gives motherboard model as UX430UQ, so that doesn't help either.

        • Jane

          April 14, 2017 at 4:23 pm

          Yeah, thanks anyways! :)

  34. Jane

    April 14, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    As continued to what we discussed earlier, I used your advice to look up for some new details in Notebookreview Forums. And I found that: (It's very short thread to read and the guys really tested M.2 Samsung PCI-E 950 PRO & 960 PRO SSDs in their new Asus UX410/310UQ)

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/asus-zenbook-ux310uq-does-the-m-2-slot-support-pcie-ssd.796362/

    Summarizely, they had these speeds:
    950 PRO: 1650/9xx MB/s.
    960 PRO: 1850/1650 MS/s.

    But then one guy figured out the reason for why it wasn't getting even faster. And he said:
    "Did some searches from the internet and found someone using AIDA64 confirmed that UX410 PCIe controller is connected to the south bridge and can only support up to PCIe 2.0 x 4. I also used AIDA64 confirmed myself, UX310 can only support up to PCIe 2.0 x 4 as well. So the maximum speed our any NVMe SSD will be limited to below 2GB/s……too bad."

    – – – – Now I ask you: What is the difference between PCIe 2.0 and PCIe 3.0? Is it a bottleneck made by the CPU (i7 7500U has only 12 lanes), or is it made by the motherboard controller?

    – – – – Either way, do you recommend me to await until Asus will upgrade their new line of zenbooks for PCIe 3.0? I usually use MATLAB and Adobe Premiere PRO (for video).

    • Jane

      April 14, 2017 at 4:32 pm

      950 PRO: Read/Write 1650/9xx MB/s.
      960 PRO: Read/Write 1850/1650 MB/s.

      • Chris

        April 17, 2017 at 11:22 pm

        If you're still planning to do this, please post your results here. I'm thinking of doing this too if UQ arrives in my country. As of this time, only UA is available. :)

  35. Ralph

    April 15, 2017 at 10:34 am

    Hi! Which is better? A Macbook Air (recent specs) or Asus UX430UA? They have the same price here though so it's really hard to pick. Don't mind using Windows or iOS. Thank you!

  36. Slava

    April 18, 2017 at 10:05 am

    Hello everybody. Thank you for the article. Very helpful when choosing my laptop. Today bought in Guangzhou (China) UX430 GRAY (chinese number U4100U)- I5, 940MX, 256SSD. The cheapest price that I could find in Guangzhou is 5288 RMB (about 768 US$).
    A really great laptop. Very light and stylish.
    To solve the fan problem, I used the NoteBookFanControl profile – Zenbook Flip UX360UAK profile. Works great.
    How to set the color profile of the author. The blue tint disappeared. Screen and brightness on this laptop is really awesome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *