Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX430 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX430 series (UX430UQ) review – a compact 14-inch ultraportable for the average user

204 Comments

  1. Henri

    May 21, 2017 at 4:10 pm

    Hi! I must ask, specially you who use NoteBook FanControl to make your UX430UQ run silent, don't you experience any coil whine? I personally find it more annoying than the fan… or is it just my unit with the coil whine? I have had this notebook for 5 weeks now and I have multiple dead pixels so I have to send it for repair, maybe I should mention about coil whine too if you don't experience any.

    • christof

      May 22, 2017 at 4:54 am

      It is indeed sad to hear, that you are suffering from this! I have the UX410 and was afraid too to get to hear coil whine too. Fortunately my book is totally silent when using nbfc. I have had about 10 different ultrabooks the last two years and the most annoying thing i noticed with around 85% of them was coil whine. It tends to be common these days, so I was positively surprised to get an ultrabook without any noises!

      Are there any other experiencing coil whine (electrical buzzing)

      • Tom

        June 10, 2017 at 11:18 am

        My UX430UQ is so loud with coil whine it's embarassing for Asus.

        Total piece of shit …..

      • Dave

        June 14, 2017 at 4:46 pm

        Which fan configuration do you use for the UX430UQ? I just bought mine and I'm trying to use Notebook Fan Control, but when I set it up, I don't see the specific laptop model I have. There is no UX430UQ option available.

        • Tom

          June 30, 2017 at 11:54 am

          You use the UX360UAK profile

  2. Taufiq

    May 22, 2017 at 4:33 am

    Hi I'm currently staying in Canada and am desperately looking for the royal blue version of this ux430 model. I've searched everywhere with no luck on my side. If anyone could tell me where I could get this blue version will be really helpful.

    • Jeff

      July 20, 2017 at 7:45 pm

      The ux430UA is on best buy for 899 rn in canada. Im planning on buying one too…

  3. Beatsing

    May 25, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    Hi,
    Nice review. I bought this based on your review. I've been using it for over a week now but my battery doesn't seem to last as long as yours. On light browsing at 30 %brightness wifi on with Internet Explorer I'm getting 5 to 7 hours. Watching YouTube wifi on 1080 I'm getting 5.5 hours. Is my battery defective? Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 25, 2017 at 4:35 pm

      Are you using the Balanced Power mode? And are you running other things at the same time while watching Youtube? 5 to 7 h of browsing sounds about right, my test of light browsing consists of mostly typing in Google Drive with only one more tab open, our site, hence the longer running times.

      • Beatsing

        May 25, 2017 at 7:25 pm

        Thanks for your prompt reply. Yes I'm using balanced power mode. Only running YouTube on 1 tab gets about 5.5 hours which seems a bit low compared with your battery. On light browsing I have 2 tabs open it barely gets 7 hours. If I open multiple tabs it runs out in 5 hours. What do you think? Is there software that you'd recommend to test it? Thanks

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 26, 2017 at 7:33 am

          You can use download HWinfo, launch it in Sensors mode (there's going to be a check-in when you launch the app, it's intuitive) and scroll down to the battery section and see if your readings are similar to mine. The Screen's brightness can have an impact, if you have it setup higher than I had it.

          • beatsing

            May 27, 2017 at 2:58 am

            Hi, Thanks for your reply. I downloaded hwinfo64, and the battery is rated 50000mwh, and discharge 10305mw. Not sure why there is a large difference as I'm only running edge with 2-3 tabs, light browsing, wifi on, 30% brightness.

  4. Juan

    May 27, 2017 at 11:55 am

    Hi Mike, excellent review. You said storage is upgradeable, is it true? By the pictures you take it doesn't feel like you can replace the ssd.
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2017 at 3:39 pm

      Of course you can, the SSD can be easily removed, it's hold in place by that single screw: http://cdn.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/internals-general-view.jpg

    • Jane

      May 27, 2017 at 3:46 pm

      It's possible to upgrade it. Just note that the new SSD there will be connected to the PCI-E Connector of the South Bridge. Meaning that it's not connected directly to the CPU. It could be nothing to worry about, but Asus supplied the South Bridge a PCI-E Connector which supports only PCI-E 2.0, but not PCI-E 3.0. You can read here more of how it affects on the speeds of Writing and Reading.

  5. Dan

    May 27, 2017 at 1:15 pm

    Anyone knows if there will be a newer version (Perhaps UX450UQ) being reannouced of in 29 May, at Asus Press?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2017 at 3:41 pm

      I'd reckon there will be an update by the time Nvidia launched a replacements for the 940MX chip, but I don't think that will happen before the end of the summer. If you don't care that much about graphics though, this should be fine till the next Intel hardware is released, towards the end of the year.

  6. Mario Quimi

    May 30, 2017 at 12:59 am

    Hi Andrei, great review, I really like this laptop but I can't find it in USA, Do you know when will be available in USA? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 30, 2017 at 3:25 am

      Unfortunately, no, I don't have any insiders with Asus North America. Could try getting in touch with them on Facebook or Twitter and see if they have anything to say about thos

    • Tom

      May 30, 2017 at 10:58 am

      It recently became available from Costco, however they only have the most expensive version. I7 with the discreet graphics for $1300

      • Joe

        May 30, 2017 at 11:21 pm

        Hey Tom, is this in the Costco in Canada? If possible would be able to tell me which location? Because best buy sells the intel i5 with the graphics card. For $1300 too

      • nico

        June 3, 2017 at 2:27 pm

        and I noticed that even though it is the highest spec configuration, it doesn't seem to come with the fingerprint reader and they only have the Grey option. I have no idea what ASUS have in mind with these differences across regions

  7. Bob

    May 31, 2017 at 9:27 pm

    How can I control the fan speed? First day using it and it seems to roar like crazy even doing nothing

  8. Tom

    June 1, 2017 at 4:59 am

    Hello, Thank you for your review. I would like to buy this model and want to ask you. Is it full aluminium. Its hard to recognise what is plastic (except display black frame) what is colored aluminium. I am also thinking about model ux410 which is better equpied for almost same price, but according to some picture this lower model should be made from plastic. So how it is with ux430? Does it looks more durable for daily use? Thank you for your answer

  9. nico

    June 3, 2017 at 2:23 pm

    This review is from March. We are almost in June and the laptops are not available in the US yet, nor there is any release date mentioned by anyone. Are these ghosts laptops or what? Are they ever coming out in the US? Does anyone know anything about their release in the US?

    • Kane

      June 5, 2017 at 10:03 pm

      Now at Costco.com for $999

      ASUS ZenBook UX430UQ Laptop – Intel Core i7 – 2GB NVIDIA Graphics – 1080p

  10. Shawn

    June 6, 2017 at 9:42 pm

    Hay great review, I saw this system bestbuy and loved it. However I can't seem to get one with a US keyboard where did you get yours?

  11. Dieter

    June 7, 2017 at 8:20 am

    Hi, just wanted to add something; I bought this ultrabook (UX410UA-GV024T) for my GF's son to use in high school and I set it up last week. I set it up (removed bloatware, put OnlyOffice on it and adjusted the settings a slight bit), and while configuring Windows Hello I noticed I could set up face recognition. Hadn't really paid it any mind before.

    Anyhow, now it's gone with its owner to his dad's and I can't check, but setting up the same (cause I thought it was cool) with my boat-sized HP Zbook 15 I found I could do the fingerprint sensor (not present on the UX410UA), which is pretty crappy, but not the face recognition, which struck me as a lot cooler.

    Then I went to research it and doing face recognition with Windows Hello, would have to mean that the ASUS UX410UA comes equipped with Intel RealSense 3D camera. Googled it and there's nowhere I can read that this ultrabook actually has this feature. Even when sites specifically mention the feature they say it doesn't have it.

    When I see the ultrabook again on Friday I'll confirm in Device Manager, but I'm pretty sure face recognition with Windows Hello was present.

    Anyone have any similar experiences? Am I losing it?

    Btw I thought it a great machine for the few hours I got to play with it. My version didn't have NIL coating or sharp edges, and never got under real heavy load, so I haven't noticed any downsides yet.

  12. Claudio

    June 8, 2017 at 2:32 pm

    Hey
    I bought today the asus zenbook ux430
    I'm also complaining about the noise, what did you do to reduce the noise?

    • Dieter

      June 8, 2017 at 4:19 pm

      You can use Notebook Fan Control to alter the temperatures at which the fan kicks in, but make sure you know what you're doing, as the cooler the processor runs, the longer its life expectancy, and if you turn it off completely, you might well fry your laptop.

      Check out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6hYPZXtlK0

  13. claudio

    June 8, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    hey!
    today, i bought a ux 430! but, he do very noise.
    how i can fix it?

  14. Maud

    June 15, 2017 at 8:38 am

    Which laptop would you recommend between the ux430ua and the ux330ua ?
    Which is the best overall?

    Are there laptops that don't have fan and noise issues ?

  15. Emre Kaan Özkan

    June 15, 2017 at 2:50 pm

    My laptops had a coil whine this version is 430uq i replace this pc the new 430uq.
    are the all 430uq had same problem ?? but ı want buy same versıon

    • Tom

      June 15, 2017 at 4:32 pm

      My UX430UQ has also coil whine and afaik it's a known problem for the Zenbooks (+ the noisy fan).

      If you get lucky you may get one with lower coil whine (every pc and laptop has coil whine but normally the frequency is too high for the human ear, only if one does shit while engineering or use low quality coils / materials it's a problem).

  16. claudio

    June 17, 2017 at 10:23 am

    hey! thanks for the advice! my asus zenbook No longer makes noise. but, i play dragon ball xenoverse 2. in 20 min fo game, my ultrabook It gets very hot. is normal? Can I play or does it spoil the pc?
    the normal temperature is 37/40. is normal?

    • Tom

      June 17, 2017 at 1:09 pm

      37/40 is normal, between 33-46 depending on the temperature outside or in the room and if idle or browsing/gaming/running stuff.

      How hot does your laptop get while playing?

      • claudio

        June 19, 2017 at 8:02 pm

        70 graus
        how you can ten hours watching movies in 1080p?

        • Tom

          June 23, 2017 at 5:33 pm

          I'm not sure I understand what you're saying.

          • claudio

            June 28, 2017 at 11:34 am

            hey!
            in my asus ux430, i can 9 hours if i have the wifi off. but if i have the wifi on and see videos in youtube in google chrome, my asus only can 4/5 hours. your asus can 8 hours in youtube. is normal?

  17. Jane

    June 24, 2017 at 7:42 am

    Hey, Anyone here who had upgraded it SSD from SanDisk (OEM) to a NVMe SSD, such as 960 PRO, had issues or problems later with the UX430UQ's Touchpad? If so, how did you fix the touchpad?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 25, 2017 at 11:10 am

      What kind of problems? I"m curious cause the SSD should not have anything to do with the touchpad, they are not even remotely close. That could mean your problem is driver based?

      • Jane

        July 1, 2017 at 7:45 pm

        Well it appears that it was just a matter of drivers. I actually reinstalled the OS and things went ok.

  18. Richard

    June 26, 2017 at 7:22 am

    Is the UQ version suitable for high res video editing? Not on professional level though.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 26, 2017 at 4:18 pm

      Depends on your expectations. The Core i7 with 16 GB of RAM is good enough for Premiere and 1080p editing, but the performance is still limited to what you can get from a Core U processor.

  19. Lisa and brian

    June 30, 2017 at 5:58 am

    Hi, great review. Do you know which m.2 drives are compatable with the ux430? Most of the m.2 drives won't work on this machine (source asus mail). Im looking for a 512gb m.2 to change the 128gb i have…do you know a cheap one which will work on this machine? Thanks in advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 30, 2017 at 6:48 am

      What do you mean most won't work? On the contrary, most should work imo.

      • Lisa and brian

        July 2, 2017 at 8:06 am

        I've got a list from Asus of some m.2 ssd drives that are not compatable with the ux430. On this list, there are some Sandisks that work and other don't. There's also a Samsung m.2 ssd on the list that isn't working on the ux430 …so before I buy a 512gb or 1tb m.2 ssd I really like to know which are compatable? It would be cool if you can check out which 512gb or 1tb drive definately work on the ux430? Asus' list is very short and they are still testing so therefor I ask you. Hope you can help us out :-)

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 2, 2017 at 4:11 pm

          I've seen reports of the Samsung 950 and 960 pro working. Care to make the list from Asus public here?

          • Lisa and brian

            July 5, 2017 at 6:16 pm

            Yes sure! Here's the list: https://ibb.co/mLAWKa (don't look at the red, they are still testing with those)

            Do you think the Samsung 850 Evo m.2 1TB will work? I would like to buy that one, because it's cheap in our country, but it is a risc because the PM961 Samsung is not working and Asus also didn''t test 1tb drives. Do you think there is a limit till 512gb or is that not possible? By the way do you know which motherboard the ux430 uses?

    • Dieter

      June 30, 2017 at 7:07 am

      All the cheap ones will probably work. IT's the NVMe etc. that won't work as you connect it through PCIe instead of SATA. UX410 is SATA 3 interface, but there's another slot so you can add 512 GB instead of having to switch it out.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 30, 2017 at 7:25 am

        That's not true. As far as I know both the UX410 and UX430 use PCIe 2.0 X4 lanes, so PCIe M.2 will work, and NVMe drives will work too, but not at their highest speeds.

        Also see this thread: http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/asus-zenbook-ux310uq-does-the-m-2-slot-support-pcie-ssd.796362/ . The UX310 and UX410 get the same motherboard, with slight variations on the UX430, but not on the M.2 slot.

        There are also Jane's comments a while ago that offer details on the choice of SSD drive.

      • Lisa and brian

        July 2, 2017 at 8:09 am

        Like Adrei Girbea said, it doens't matter if it is nvme m.2 or an m.2 ssd on sata speed, it's all about the m.2 connector. All m.2 2280 ssd's will fit, but not all wil WORK. And we are talking about the ux430, not the ux410. And the ux430 only has 1 m.2 slot.

        • Ty

          July 9, 2017 at 2:59 pm

          A data point.

          I have the UX430UQ. I replaced the ssd with a Samsung SM951 Ahci m.2 ssd.

          Crystal disk mark shows:
          1540 MB/s read and 1562 MB/s write for sequential
          47.7 MB/s read and 138.9 MB/s write for random 4K.

  20. Po-wei

    July 7, 2017 at 3:29 am

    Does UX430's panel use PWM to adjust the brightness?

    • Tom

      July 10, 2017 at 11:04 am

      According to this test (most famous notebook test site in germany) it does not use PWM for brightness adjustment.

      In germany the UX430UQ is sold has UX3430UQ for whatever weird marketing reason.

      notebookcheck.com/Asus-Zenbook-UX3430UQ-7500U-940MX-512-GB-Laptop.225094.0.html

      "Flackern / PWM nicht festgestellt" = Flickering / PWM not ascertained.

  21. Ryan

    July 16, 2017 at 6:25 am

    Hi, Andrei,

    Great review!! Like it very much. I'm Ryan. I'm in a dilemma of choosing a ultrabook between Acer Swift 3 14" and this Asia UX430 right now. For me, the main concern is the weight, quality, performance and price. The Asus UX430 has a lighter weight and a better screen which is both good for me, because I may travel with it a lot and work in some bright areas. But Asus's price is much higher than Acer swift. And I don't like the micro HDMI either. However, Acer swift comes with close performance and better price but lack of a good screen. So, what do you think? And may I ask for some advice from you? Thanks very very much.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 8:40 am

      Do you consider the Swift 3 14 with the matte screen and no dedicated graphics, or the newer model with a glossy screen and Nvidia graphics?

      If it's the former, then it would really depend on whether you want to spend the extra for the Asus, which is a nicer laptop: lighter, better screen, better build quality, larger battery. But for what it costs, that Swift 3 offers excellent value, as long as you can live with the dim screen, extra weight and don't plan to use it outside or in strong light.

      If it's the updated version, then I can't comment yet, I'm working on a review right now that will include my opinions on it, since it's changed quite a bit from the existing Swift 3.

      • Ryan

        July 16, 2017 at 8:53 am

        Hi Andrew, thanks for your reply. It does help me think. Actually I'm considering the Swift without dedicated graphics, the cheaper one. So you mean the Asus has its reasons to be higher priced one. I pay more, I get a better laptop. And if I pay less, Acer does a fairly good job too. It's just the swift 3 is not as good as Zenbook UX430 yet. Am I right?

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 16, 2017 at 9:09 am

          yep

          • Ryan

            July 16, 2017 at 9:27 am

            Okay! Got it. Thanks very much Andrei!

  22. Danny

    July 16, 2017 at 10:01 am

    Can someone help me decide between Asus zenbook ux330ua which has intel i7, 16gb ram and 512gb ssd but no graphics card VS Asus zenbook ux430uq intel i5, 512gb ssd and 16gb ram with the Nvidia 2gb graphics card. I honestly don't need graphics card. How much of a difference will the intel i7 VS intel i5 make? I really don't like the bezel on the ux330ua but it has better specs. They both are the same price. $1299 Cad. What do I do?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 3:15 pm

      Little to no difference at all with daily use, and the i5 will also run a little cooler.

      If they're the same price I'd get the UX430, imo it's a nicer laptop and the bigger screen makes it more comfortable to use.

      • Danny

        July 16, 2017 at 4:00 pm

        I see Everyone talking about the fan noise. Exactly how bad is it and does every laptop have it? Has Asus created a bios to fix it or do I still depend on the notebook fan control app? I feel like notebook fan control is a lot harder r to use. Is that right? Anyone made the fan control for ux430uq? Also has the fan noise helped with actually cooling the laptop?

  23. TRTB

    July 24, 2017 at 1:08 am

    Me again. Do you know if this one can be charged via USB-C? And does the screen use PWM flickering? Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *