Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Swift 7 S7-371 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Acer Swift 7 S7-371 review – thin-and-light ultraportable with Kaby lake fanless hardware

11 Comments

  1. Wojtek

    September 16, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    Thx for the review.
    Can you tell me please when can we expect the ux510 preview?

  2. Danilo

    September 19, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    I will wait for Thunderbolt 3, Kaby Lake, DDR4, 15.6, <4lb

  3. Jeremy

    September 20, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Hideous looking laptop, I thought they were targeting the high-end market.
    Its too squarish looking in my opinion and I also wonder why they went with a gold only body with no other alternatives. Maybe it’s the shade of gold but it makes it look cheap. Would rather get a Zenbook 3 with 1 port or the Yoga 910.

  4. Bob

    October 9, 2016 at 9:05 am

    Felt so upset when arrived to SSD SATA M2. Performance and Bottlenecks in this connection are so weird that should be banned from any PC.
    Acer always failing to step to the next level.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 9, 2016 at 9:48 am

      Well, yes, they should probably offer PCIe at this price point. Yet I don’t think that’s going to be a major deal-breaker for most.

  5. Tom

    October 14, 2016 at 9:06 pm

    Andrei, thanks for the review. For a couple of years now I’ve been anticipating that laptops would be <1cm thick and <1kg with a big screen. So I'm excited to see the first laptop under a cm. The thing that's preventing me from pulling out my credit card today is: 1) screen is only HD and the glossy problem you pointed out. 2) SSD is SATA instead of PCIe. I still think this is the future of laptops. If this had higher resolution display in this same body and switch to a PCIe SSD I'd own my first acer laptop. I agree with you it would be great to fit a larger display in this same body and I'm excited to see that day.

    P.S. How does the touchpad click. Is there an actual physical movement or not. I prefer having no movement.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 15, 2016 at 4:36 am

      There’s a physical click, like with most clickpads. The only ones with no movement at all are the Forcetouch surfaces on the Macbook, as far as I know, or those with separate click buttons.

  6. Tom

    October 14, 2016 at 9:13 pm

    2 more questions:
    1) Does the 1cm thickness include the feet. I.e. is it really less than 1cm high when placed on a desk?
    2) There appears to be a hole on the left side of the laptop the side of the laptop that doesn’t have the USB type C ports. What is that hole for?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 15, 2016 at 4:38 am

      1. It’s 1 cm without the rubber feet as far as I remember. The feet are very slim though, I’d say under 1 mm.
      2. That’s for connecting a security lock (Kensington Lock or something similar, it’s an unconventional pin and I’m not sure what’s compatible).

  7. Sammy

    October 26, 2016 at 11:22 am

    Wow, "editor-in-chief", your writing certainly does need editing (many typos and the like)!
    Thanks for your informative review, though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *