Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus ROG Strix SCAR Edition GL703GS Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

REVIEW: Asus ROG Strix GL703GS SCAR Edition – i7-8750H, GTX 1070 and 17-inch screen with GSync

22 Comments

  1. jayson

    May 3, 2018 at 5:48 am

    Hi Admin,

    Is the GTX 1070 graphics in this model 6gb? I saw specs in some online stores this model has gtx1070 8gb. Please clarify my confusion.

    Thanks in advance. Your reviews are helping consumers a lot in choosing our prefered units.

  2. mastafish

    May 5, 2018 at 6:31 am

    Thank you for the color calibration!!! Can't wait to unbox mine and start gaming. Great review and now I know what to expect!! I also bought some Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut which I'm hoping will reduce temperatures enough to make the fans run quieter. Cheers my fellow Scar Edition gamers!!!

    • Mike RFX

      May 20, 2018 at 9:28 pm

      Hey Mastafish, so any follow up on Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut temps and fan noise reduction if any? Can you provide us some numbers? Thank you

  3. Mathias

    May 5, 2018 at 7:32 pm

    Hi Andrei.

    I got this Laptop last Week and i really love it. Got a bit of Screen-Bleeding but i can live with that. I was able to undervolt the CPU to -160 mv and it is still running stable.
    One Question:
    On your Pictures of the Mainboard there is one Label "Xbox Module". Do you know what that means? Whats it`s purpose?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 9:58 am

      Could be an integrated XBox One Wireless controller, that's been part of some other Asus ROG laptops. But I can't see the exact module on this laptop, just the inscription, so it's either not installed or behind the motherboard.

  4. jon

    May 6, 2018 at 12:05 pm

    thanks for the review, i'm looking for a laptop with max budget 1900$,my main use is programming and watching movies and gaming(but it's not the first priority), and i really want to get this laptop, but I'm sensitive to noise,i can handle wearing headphone while gaming, but not while daily use,so is it louder than the average noise level of most of laptops while daily use ??… and if you can recommend me another laptop even if it has GTX 1060, i will be really thankful.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 10:01 am

      The thing is, if you don't want this primarily for gaming, you should probably get something without GSync, that will last longer on battery. There are options out there.

      On the other hand, all the thinner gaming laptops get noisy fans, there's just no way around it. This particular laptop isn't very noisy with daily use and it shouldn't get very noisy with programming software either, but with games it will be fairly noisy.

  5. ahmed

    May 6, 2018 at 12:13 pm

    Great review, if it hasn't been for the loud fans, it would have been a perfect one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 10:01 am

      there's no way around them on a thinner gaming laptop

  6. edbert

    May 7, 2018 at 11:35 pm

    I got one last week, and already have sent it back due to horrible crashing and BSODs, even after a format and re-install of a clean Win10 Enterprise.

    I'm not turned off, I've a 20+ year love affair with Asus and ordered another one already.

    • Jory

      May 16, 2018 at 3:55 pm

      From Where did you order it ?

  7. Mohamed Badawi

    May 8, 2018 at 2:11 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Have you tried nvdia optimus on this laptop as on paper it should support it, and how it is affecting battery life?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 8, 2018 at 11:19 am

      There's no Optimus, this has GSync and the Intel chip id disabled.

  8. Iskan

    May 8, 2018 at 11:19 pm

    Clevo PA71ES-G is another great alternative. According to pundits over at Notebookreview forum, MSI Stealth line is riddled with issues, ASUS has poor thermal design as with poor QC and A/S, and Aorus is heavily overpriced. So really there are only two lightweight 17" players here: MSI GE73 Raider and Clevo PA71.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 9, 2018 at 10:42 am

      thanks, updated and added the Clevo as a suggestion as well.

  9. Starrbuck

    May 9, 2018 at 9:03 pm

    The ROG logo on the back of the screen is backlit.

  10. Evgeniy

    May 10, 2018 at 12:22 pm

    Thanks for review!

  11. Arka Banerjee

    May 15, 2018 at 10:40 pm

    Hi admin….,in terms of gaming performance and thermals, which one is better between this one and the msi ge73 8rf. I really do rely on ultrabookreview reviews and this one is very important to know for me

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 17, 2018 at 11:14 am

      I haven't reviewed the GE73, but you should check notebookcheck for more details, they have very indepth reviews as well.

  12. Luis

    May 16, 2018 at 4:36 pm

    I could do a review on YouTube, I'm interested in this notebook but before buying I would like a full review

  13. Ooi Yin Ken

    May 17, 2018 at 11:55 am

    Was into acer nitro v17 since 2017 , 1 year reading ur review
    Got into action this Monday , but Malaysia Acer has stopped this product

    Then got recommended this 17inch scar edi , as I again read ur review , bought it yesterday.

    Just want to exclaim my thanks here , ur website is really helpful ..
    As it expose all the truth for laptop , which is so important for us consumer.

    Thank you and God bless you !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *