Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Strix SCAR Edition GL703GS Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

REVIEW: Asus ROG Strix GL703GS SCAR Edition – i7-8750H, GTX 1070 and 17-inch screen with GSync

52 Comments

  1. jayson

    May 3, 2018 at 5:48 am

    Hi Admin,

    Is the GTX 1070 graphics in this model 6gb? I saw specs in some online stores this model has gtx1070 8gb. Please clarify my confusion.

    Thanks in advance. Your reviews are helping consumers a lot in choosing our prefered units.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 3, 2018 at 10:25 am

      8, that was a mistake on our end, the GTX 1070 comes with 8 GB of Vram. This pic from HWinfo confirms it: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/hwinfo.png

      • sergio

        June 7, 2018 at 9:30 pm

        Salut Andrei,o intrebare rapida : ce ai alege dintre Asus Gl703gs modelul asta pe care l-ai prezentat cu Aorus scan.co.uk/products/173-aorus-x7-v6-cf1-120hz-qhd-g-sync-i7-6820hk-16gb-ddr4-512gb-m2-pcie-ssdplus1tb-hdd-8gb-gtx-1070-w si modelul asta ?? multumesc anticipat si tine-o tot asa !!

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 8, 2018 at 9:58 am

          Daca sunt la acelasi pret, as merge pe Asus. Procesorul i7-8750H e mult peste 6820-ul ala.

  2. mastafish

    May 5, 2018 at 6:31 am

    Thank you for the color calibration!!! Can't wait to unbox mine and start gaming. Great review and now I know what to expect!! I also bought some Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut which I'm hoping will reduce temperatures enough to make the fans run quieter. Cheers my fellow Scar Edition gamers!!!

    • Mike RFX

      May 20, 2018 at 9:28 pm

      Hey Mastafish, so any follow up on Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut temps and fan noise reduction if any? Can you provide us some numbers? Thank you

      • fejern

        August 28, 2018 at 7:11 pm

        It is not recommended to use liquid metal on the 8750h because unlike previous generations the flip chip is not perfectly flat.
        Very dangerous to use conductonauot.

  3. Mathias

    May 5, 2018 at 7:32 pm

    Hi Andrei.

    I got this Laptop last Week and i really love it. Got a bit of Screen-Bleeding but i can live with that. I was able to undervolt the CPU to -160 mv and it is still running stable.
    One Question:
    On your Pictures of the Mainboard there is one Label "Xbox Module". Do you know what that means? Whats it`s purpose?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 9:58 am

      Could be an integrated XBox One Wireless controller, that's been part of some other Asus ROG laptops. But I can't see the exact module on this laptop, just the inscription, so it's either not installed or behind the motherboard.

  4. jon

    May 6, 2018 at 12:05 pm

    thanks for the review, i'm looking for a laptop with max budget 1900$,my main use is programming and watching movies and gaming(but it's not the first priority), and i really want to get this laptop, but I'm sensitive to noise,i can handle wearing headphone while gaming, but not while daily use,so is it louder than the average noise level of most of laptops while daily use ??… and if you can recommend me another laptop even if it has GTX 1060, i will be really thankful.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 10:01 am

      The thing is, if you don't want this primarily for gaming, you should probably get something without GSync, that will last longer on battery. There are options out there.

      On the other hand, all the thinner gaming laptops get noisy fans, there's just no way around it. This particular laptop isn't very noisy with daily use and it shouldn't get very noisy with programming software either, but with games it will be fairly noisy.

  5. ahmed

    May 6, 2018 at 12:13 pm

    Great review, if it hasn't been for the loud fans, it would have been a perfect one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 7, 2018 at 10:01 am

      there's no way around them on a thinner gaming laptop

  6. edbert

    May 7, 2018 at 11:35 pm

    I got one last week, and already have sent it back due to horrible crashing and BSODs, even after a format and re-install of a clean Win10 Enterprise.

    I'm not turned off, I've a 20+ year love affair with Asus and ordered another one already.

    • Jory

      May 16, 2018 at 3:55 pm

      From Where did you order it ?

      • edbert

        June 5, 2018 at 3:05 pm

        I ordered from Amazon, the reseller was a real problem, they told me to return it then wanted to charge a $400 "restocking fee". I'm withholding their name for now, it has been three weeks since they got the machine and so far they have not refunded a penny.

        The good news is that the replacement is working great, I'll confess to seeing two BSODs in the last 3+ weeks, so far always when one particular game is running, but it is in open beta so…who knows. This second unit is perfectly acceptable in the stability department.

        • M.Can

          September 28, 2018 at 3:02 pm

          Edbert would mind informing me about how is your laptop doing so far? it acurred to me the products of may and june are mostly defective, becouse there are no negative feedbacks in July and September. Yet still I don`t intend to play laptop lottery with 2k$. Also did you get all updates with Asus update utility? Have you done any undervolting etc, thanks in advance and good luck mate.

          • edbert

            September 28, 2018 at 5:17 pm

            I am currently on my third unit, all were made before July. Reseller will not offer another RMA. Asus says to send it in, but I know of people who wait weeks to action and Asus will probably say (like the reseller does) that they cannot find anything wrong with it.

            I have updated all of the Asus software/drivers/utilities (not all were accomplished with Asus Update tool) and have patched the BIOS with the only update available. I have NOT experimented with undervolting. I have some experience with overclocking and thought it was like underclocking. I understand that is not the case but since I'm new to the technique I'm reluctant to start without instructions specific to my unit.

            That said, yes, my $2K "gaming laptop" works great for anything I want to do with it …EXCEPT PLAY GAMES. I get 10 to 20 minutes before it BSODs.

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 28, 2018 at 5:31 pm

            Undervolting the CPU is simple and safe and explained here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10167-laptop-undervolting-overcloking/ . It's imo simpler and safer to perform than overcloking. These CPUs can easily undervolt to at least -100 mV, but you can start with a safer level, like -80mV. I haven't yet found a 8750H laptop that's unstable at -100 mV.

            No need to stress test with Prime, you can use Cinebench R15 and just run the multicore test several times in a loop. If it doesn't BSOD, you can try to play your games next and see if it helps. It would also help to log your temperatures and CPU/GPU frequencies with HWinfo, before and after undervolting. Launch in sensor mode, right click on the field of interest and then select show graph. It's pretty intuitive, you'll get a log similar to the one we have in the performance section.

            Of course, all these might solve nothing. But if thermals cause the BSODs, undervolting might help. Up to you.

          • Ed Bert

            October 3, 2018 at 1:45 am

            My reply is for Andrei, but his post did not have a reply button.

            I just wanted to reply to say 1.) I am not ignoring you. 2.) I did not mess with the stress tool yet but I have ThrottleStop 8.70 set like this…

            Voltage Default (cannot go lower only higher)
            Offset Voltage -102.5mV
            VCCIN Default (cannot go lower only higher)
            IccMax 128.00A

            I set it to log to txt and played a game (I chose one of the most problematic ones…Armored Warfare) for about an hour with infrequent pauses in between battles. Exporting the TXT to CSV shows the highest CPU temp was 76C, and this is in a room that is about 76F. I'm not sure if that is good or bad, and I have no metrics from "before", but the good news is that I played for about an hour and no crash or BSOD.

            Way too soon to say solved, and even if it is not truly solved this is better, I owe you a big ole THANK YOU!

            Do you think that my undervolt is too aggressive? Maybe that is what the stress test was for. To be honest, the fans (set to dynamic in ROG Game Center) stayed a little quieter than they did when I was crashing before, I'm thinking that meant my temps are lower now.

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 3, 2018 at 11:24 am

            Hi Ed. I'm glad this helped. I don't think the undervolt is too aggressive, I've had 8750Hs run perfectly stable at -120mV and even a bit lower.

            As for the temperatures, they're better than what I got on the test unit ( https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/perf-temps-gaming-undervolted-balanced.png ), although they're highly dependent on each game. Either way, they should be lower than on the default profile. I wouldn't worry about stress testing, just keep using the laptop and see how it goes on the long term.

  7. Mohamed Badawi

    May 8, 2018 at 2:11 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Have you tried nvdia optimus on this laptop as on paper it should support it, and how it is affecting battery life?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 8, 2018 at 11:19 am

      There's no Optimus, this has GSync and the Intel chip id disabled.

  8. Iskan

    May 8, 2018 at 11:19 pm

    Clevo PA71ES-G is another great alternative. According to pundits over at Notebookreview forum, MSI Stealth line is riddled with issues, ASUS has poor thermal design as with poor QC and A/S, and Aorus is heavily overpriced. So really there are only two lightweight 17" players here: MSI GE73 Raider and Clevo PA71.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 9, 2018 at 10:42 am

      thanks, updated and added the Clevo as a suggestion as well.

  9. Starrbuck

    May 9, 2018 at 9:03 pm

    The ROG logo on the back of the screen is backlit.

  10. Evgeniy

    May 10, 2018 at 12:22 pm

    Thanks for review!

  11. Arka Banerjee

    May 15, 2018 at 10:40 pm

    Hi admin….,in terms of gaming performance and thermals, which one is better between this one and the msi ge73 8rf. I really do rely on ultrabookreview reviews and this one is very important to know for me

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 17, 2018 at 11:14 am

      I haven't reviewed the GE73, but you should check notebookcheck for more details, they have very indepth reviews as well.

    • manuel

      June 14, 2018 at 11:41 am

      Did you buy any of them? I am also doubting between those 2. I wish the new scar II came also in 17.3 since it seems like they finally improved the heat problems

  12. Luis

    May 16, 2018 at 4:36 pm

    I could do a review on YouTube, I'm interested in this notebook but before buying I would like a full review

  13. Ooi Yin Ken

    May 17, 2018 at 11:55 am

    Was into acer nitro v17 since 2017 , 1 year reading ur review
    Got into action this Monday , but Malaysia Acer has stopped this product

    Then got recommended this 17inch scar edi , as I again read ur review , bought it yesterday.

    Just want to exclaim my thanks here , ur website is really helpful ..
    As it expose all the truth for laptop , which is so important for us consumer.

    Thank you and God bless you !

  14. Casey

    June 25, 2018 at 10:50 pm

    Is there anyway to improve battery life? Perhaps upgrading the battery yourself? Maybe there’s some kind of software?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2018 at 4:16 pm

      Not really. Undervolting should help a little bit, keeping the CPU's speed low and dimming the screen

  15. Mark

    July 16, 2018 at 12:09 am

    Really good review, thx.

  16. Max

    July 18, 2018 at 5:32 pm

    One thing i'm worry is noise and heat, good review :)

  17. Tom

    July 20, 2018 at 5:29 pm

    Great review. Really helped me make my decision (thanks!) and have no complaints since getting mine about a month ago. I went with the 17.3", Core i7-8750HQ processor, 16 GB of RAM, GTX 1070 graphics, 512GB PCIe SSD/1 TB HDD – Runs super smooth.

    Cons are well covered above and typical for this type of product: Volume of fans is bearable. You're not buying it for battery life, but still infinitely more practical than a desktop. Heats up but won't turn your room into a sauna. The lack of Thunderbolt 3 is a bit lame, and a 4k resolution would have been nice but you can work around both of these.

    One thing you didn't mention was that it comes with a neat backpack, gaming mouse and gaming headset – great little perk which I think sets it apart from the MSI rivals.

    Hands down best laptop on the market for under £2k IMO.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 23, 2018 at 10:11 pm

      Thanks, they don't include those accessories over here. Will add to the review.

      • Alush

        October 7, 2018 at 4:10 pm

        Hy there.could you recomend a good gaming laptop for me?i want to chose between this asus and the acer predator helios 500.on paper specs are the same 1070 gpu with i7 gen8 144hz screen.but dont know witch is better.from what i know the asus has cooling problems while the acer is better at it.plus the acer has a thunderbolt.i am rly confused about these 2.rly would like some advice.ps i live in romania and if you could also recomend a place where to buy them that would be great.

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 8, 2018 at 12:54 pm

          We haven't reviewed the Helios 500 so can't comment on its subterfuges. Both should be good buys, with pros and cons. Try to read several good reviews and figure out which is the better pick for you

  18. Can Yuksel

    July 24, 2018 at 12:49 am

    Hi,

    Instead of gaming I consider this laptop for video editing (adobe products) and 3d render works. However, color accuracy and Adobe RGB color performance(75% as far as I know) bothers me. Battery performance is no problem at all. Would you recommend this laptop for video editing(also for color grading) or should I go with Dell XPS series?

    Thanks for great review!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 24, 2018 at 12:45 pm

      I don't think that screen is accurate enough for color grading. I'd go with something else, there are 15 and 17 inch laptops with 100% ARGB screens out there

  19. Hari

    October 5, 2018 at 1:05 pm

    Thank you for the great review. This is one of my target that I want buy.
    Can you give your opinion which one is better for daily usage at college and gaming? Asus ROG GL703GS or MSI GS73VR 8RF ?

    Sorry for my bad English
    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2018 at 12:49 pm

      Both are good options, with pros and cons. Read reviews and try to figure out which one better suits your needs.

  20. hexaae

    December 7, 2018 at 5:45 pm

    ASUS GL703GS-E5012T

    THREE BIG ISSUES:
    1. BSODs and freezes while playing (updated everything or even out-of-the-box)
    2. panel AUO B173HAN03.2 [AUO329D] is faulty showing ugly inverse ghosting trails (e.g. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_qXG8TjcSE )
    3. all USB3.x ports disconnect frequently while copying big amount of files (20GB) from external USB3.0 drive to internal disks, even from out-of-the-box config and after factory reset

    Sent RMA, but I'm afraid these are "common issues" reported by many other users

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2018 at 4:34 pm

      1. you might be able to do something about that by undervolting the CPU. See some of the other comments above.

      Unfortunately I haven't tested 2 and 3 during my limited time with the laptop

      • hexaae

        December 9, 2018 at 5:53 pm

        Yep, but it still freezes after undervolting -150mV (core and cache) with ThrottleStop unfortunately. Contacted ASUS for RMA in the meanwhile… temps are in the "normal" range for gaming laptop (CPU 88°C, GPU 78°C) :(
        3 seems ok for some other users so mine might be just a faulty unit with power issues.

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 10, 2018 at 2:40 pm

          Well, QC is problematic with a lot of laptops these days and you unfortunately draw a short straw. Good thing you can RMA.

    • Aedthicz

      December 9, 2018 at 10:07 pm

      I have this problem too. Game freezes for like 1 second during long sessions of gaming… I didn't find any solution for that, i don't even know why this happening.

  21. Aedthicz

    December 9, 2018 at 10:05 pm

    I've just bought this laptop. It came with 1x16gb of ram. If i add another 1×16, total of 32gb would be any difference in game performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 10, 2018 at 2:41 pm

      No, 16 GB are mostly enough for gaming

    • Hexaae

      December 10, 2018 at 7:00 pm

      Of course. Dual channel makes a big difference as usual. From my tests on my GL703GS Lords of the Fallen (demanding on both cpu and gpu) switched from 89-93fps to 109-113 in dual channel (2x16GB filling the empty ram slot)…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *