Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
ASUS ROG Strix GL702ZC Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Asus ROG Strix GL702ZC impressions – what to expect from an AMD Ryzen laptop

19 Comments

  1. Charlie

    August 22, 2017 at 8:02 pm

    For content creators is a super mobile workstation. In raytracerts AMD GPU perform better that nvidia.

  2. sicily428

    August 23, 2017 at 3:02 am

    Is that Ryzen cpu soldered or not onto the motherboard? could you take a photo of that without the heatsink?

  3. Charlie

    August 23, 2017 at 8:20 am

    The problem is that it can not support more tdp with that cooling solution.

    This could be upgradable if proper motherboard firmware would be released.

    Even if Intel make 6core mobile cheaps I do not think in 45w tdp will much the performance not ryzen 1700 in multithreading.

  4. RMg

    August 23, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    Hi, have you tried maybe to undervolt the GPU? The RX 580 usually submit pretty well to undervolting and people say this bring the temperatures down pretty well without hurting performance. This is typical for AMD cards as of late. If you still have the machine it is worth a try.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2017 at 3:46 pm

      No, and I returned it already. Unfortunately my experience with AMD cards is basically null and I didn't think about this when I still had the laptop.

      • Ben Wagner

        October 16, 2017 at 11:47 pm

        your lack of understanding amd cards is clear in the review, but you seem to do a decent job giving facts not traditional talking points. its clear that the 580 due to its clocks on a mobile platform is slightly slower than a 1060 in games and the power is also slightly higher for its lower performance which results in terrible battery life.
        This alone does not make it a bad laptop however. price is the ultimate deciding factor. even a 1060 would give this laptop 1:20 uptime gaming. you should have tried using amd power saving features such as radeon chill to determine effectiveness in this review

  5. Charlie

    August 24, 2017 at 1:04 am

    Do someone know the thickness of the mechanical HDD so to be able to be replaced with a 3 or 4 th 2.5". It makes sense for using it as a mobile workstation.

  6. Vlad

    September 12, 2017 at 4:12 am

    Given the fact that this is basically a desktop system put in a laptop case, I think it is very good. 40W consumed in normal tasks considering this doesn't have any graphics switching option, an 8 core CPU and a power hungry AMD GPU, 17 inch display and a chipset designed for desktop, I think it is pretty good.
    If you look at desktop replacements with Intel desktop CPUs (7700K) you will see that they are ~ same from consumption and acoustics perspective.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 12, 2017 at 4:14 am

      I agree, I just wanted to make sure potential buyers understand that. This is after all a laptop and people might expect to be able to use a laptop on battery :)

      • Jeff

        October 4, 2017 at 9:14 am

        No one would buy this expecting it to last long on a battery. Your review is kind of crap in a way. UEs Nvidia uses less power but that might buy you an extra 15 minutes of battery life at best. Neither AMD/Nvidia mid level GPUS will last long on battery power.

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 4, 2017 at 11:25 am

          :) Look at the TDP/performance ratio of the AMD chip that's included on this laptop and the Nvidia options. Battery life isn't the only issue, temps/noise are as well and they're associated with that higher TDP GPU.

      • Jeff

        October 16, 2017 at 9:07 am

        So why does the AMD GPU not make sense? Because it is not Nvidia? A similar Nvidia 1060 will fair no better with power and heat in a Laptop environment.

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 17, 2017 at 4:37 pm

          Look at the TDP of a 1060 chip. How does it not make more sense inside a laptop?

  7. Den

    September 16, 2017 at 1:57 pm

    Finally a ROG laptop with a powerful and properly socketed cpu(not that BGA calculator-hardware that intel makes for laptops since 2015 and not LGA with enormous socket) …comes with a non-replaceable soldered on mid-level gpu. This is awkward.

  8. Bryan Hernandez

    October 9, 2017 at 12:21 am

    This laptop apparently isn't available in the United States. How would I go about getting my hands on one of these? The Amazon listing doesn't ship to the US.

  9. Othmar

    October 17, 2017 at 11:03 am

    Is it possible to upgrade the RAM modules with higher speed ones?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *