Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Lenovo Ideapad 320S-14IKB Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Lenovo IdeaPad 320S 14 review – affordable and compact 14-inch notebook

45 Comments

  1. The Hieu

    June 28, 2017 at 1:27 am

    Thanks for reviewer !
    Many people say that Lenovo Latop installed spyware, that is Lenovo Services Engine (LSE). They advise shouldn't use Lenovo Laptop. Is that true ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2017 at 3:11 am

      I'm aware of this controversy, there are many articles online about the spyware in the Lenovo laptops. Personally, I recommend formatting the drive and installing a clean Windows on any laptop, and I think that should get rid of any issues. Could sound ignorant, but I just choose no to bog my mind with such things.

      • The Hieu

        August 11, 2017 at 5:04 am

        I have just bought Lenovo ideapad 320S with specs i3-7100/4gb/1TB/NoVga in Viet Nam market. It's only 500$. But, I'm very disappointed that it's only equipped 30Wh battery (3 -4 hours use), i was hoping it was 52Wh.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 11, 2017 at 6:54 am

          Ha, that's weird, I didn't knew that's even an option. Could try to see if it's not a 52 Wh battery with a large amount of battery wear. 30 Wh is really minuscule.

          • Nick

            August 25, 2017 at 5:41 am

            In Belgium the ideapad 320s-14 is also sold with a Lithium-Polymer 2 cell, 30 WHr battery for on average 650-700 euros. It's really too little battery time to go for this model.

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 26, 2017 at 4:17 am

            Wasn't aware of that, I'll add a headsup in the battery section. Thanks.

  2. Nikolaj

    July 18, 2017 at 2:27 pm

    When reading about the 320s on Lenovos website, it mentions the following: "Upgrade with an additional 16 GB Intel Optane SSD". But I can't find any models with the Intel Optane. Is it possible to buy one without Optane and then installing it myself? And if so, is it possible to install the Optane on all models or do I need to buy a specific model?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 18, 2017 at 2:56 pm

      The Optane SSD is a regular 80 mm stick that goes into the M.2 slot and acts as SSD caching, meant to boost performance for laptops with a HDD for a low price. I don't see why you couldn't add one yourself, it's just as easy as adding a regular 80 mm SSD, but I've never tried one and I can't tell what to expect in terms of performance. This article should help though: anandtech.com/show/11210/the-intel-optane-memory-ssd-review-32gb-of-kaby-lake-caching

  3. Pete Borini

    July 20, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    I picked this one up at Staples for $479 (normally $719) this past Sunday (7/16/17). Huge value for the $$. staples.com/office/supplies/StaplesProductDisplay?storeId=10001&catalogIdentifier=2&partNumber=2716358&langid=-1&cid=PS:GooglePLAs:2716358&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=2716358&KPID=2716358&cvosrc=PLA.google-SALES.Computers&cvo_crid=39506884422&cvo_campaign=176606382&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcHLBRAqEiwA-j4AyFTMXffqek8iLX-Z1xAolrJzhtAQjJGhFgNjTN-0ycg_uUkVk_CHjRoCuzcQAvD_BwE

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 20, 2017 at 4:06 pm

      Unfortunately I can't see what's this about, somehow staples.com and target.com do not load in my country or for my Internet provider, but I'll just leave the link here. $480 sound amazing, what's the configuration you got?

    • Pete Borini

      July 26, 2017 at 8:59 am

      Just a follow-up here. The 320s I picked up from Staples for $479 on july 16th did NOT come with a backlit keyboard. Some of the reviews mentioned that it did come with it, but I believe that feature might only be available when purchased online.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 26, 2017 at 11:57 am

        Thanks for the follow-up, much appreciated. Does it get the 1920 x 1080 px IPS screen?

  4. Pete Borini

    July 20, 2017 at 3:06 pm

    Is there a guide to replacing the wireless chip in this model (the 320S)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 20, 2017 at 4:08 pm

      No but it's very easy. Buy the chip you want (Intel 7265 and 8260 usually work very well), turn off the laptop, touch a metallic grounded object, take the back panel out , remove the Wi-Fi chip, put the new wi-fi chip instead in the exact same position, put the back panel in place and that's it. Test the existing wireless first though, perhaps it's good enough for what you need and there's no need to change it.

  5. Nikolaj

    July 21, 2017 at 6:05 pm

    Would you recommend the new 14" 320s or the slightly older 14" 510s with the similar specs and the 510s is a little bit cheaper. In my case the specs are i5-7200U CPU, 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD. The only big differences I see, is 320s has a bigger battery (52 Wh and the 510s has 45 Wh) and the 320s is smaller than the 510s (which isn't a huge problem for me). There are of cause also some minor differences. But which one would you recommend?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 22, 2017 at 4:21 am

      What's the price difference? The newer model gets the bigger battery and the possibility to use M.2 SSD storage on top of the 2.5" regular storage (not sure if that matters to you, though), but that 510s gets a backlit keyboard. Otherwise these two are very similar in terms of weight, size, screen, keyboard, IO and performance. If you're just interested in specs and value, the cheaper option wins.

  6. Kshitij

    July 25, 2017 at 3:24 pm

    By any chance, were you able to get your hands on a lower spec model of 320s (with 7th gen, just HDD not SSD, 8GB RAM, only integrated Intel 620Graphics not Nvidea) ?

    Even if not, how much downgrade we expect from this model in terms of being able to handle low to medium gaming capabilities?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 2:57 am

      NO. The HDD takes a big toll on everyday performance. And as far as gaming goes, you can Google about Intel HD 620 and see how it performs. It can handle FHD gaming with low details with most titles, but for higher details you'll have to drop to HD resolutions

  7. John Thomas

    August 8, 2017 at 8:03 am

    Hi, here in India only the i5 7th gen, 4gb ram, 1 Tb HDD model is available.
    Is it possible to replace the HDD with an SSD? If so how to do I choose the right one. Also is upgrading the ram possible?

  8. JJ

    August 9, 2017 at 5:32 pm

    Hello Andrei,
    I am comparing Apple Macbook Air 2017 with Lenovo Ideapad 320s(i3 7th generation/1 TB hdd/4gb ram).
    Macbook for $820 v/s Ideapad 320s for $620.
    Usage-Basic surfing,Youtube, Reading,Video calling, Office basic stuff.
    Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 3:17 am

      I would not consider the MBA in this day and age due to its crappy TN screen and I would advise buying a computer with 8 GB of RAM or at least the possibility to upgrade it. Also, for $800 you can also get 13-inch ultraportbales from Asus, Acer, Dell, etc.

      • Jj

        August 10, 2017 at 4:58 am

        All the other ultra portable are above $1250 here in India. I have a budget of $800-$850 dollars.
        What would you suggest then?
        Thank you

  9. Nilay Sanghvi

    August 10, 2017 at 8:16 am

    Please review Lenovo ideapad 720s.

  10. KH

    August 10, 2017 at 3:15 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    How would this perform as a business laptop running Windows 10 Professional with MS Office Pro (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) and Outlook.

    Configured as follows: I5 7200U; 12GB DDR4; 1TB HDDR; IntelHD 620; 15.6" touch screen display

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 11, 2017 at 3:12 am

      if you don't need special features like TPM, anti-theft, etc, it would do just fine for those tasks. However, I'd put an SSD inside, it's going to make a very big difference with everyday use.

  11. Hamza

    August 10, 2017 at 5:09 pm

    Hi. Should i get a Dell Inspiron 13 7000 2 in 1 or the Lenovo 320S? Both have the same specs.

  12. Joni

    August 15, 2017 at 11:50 am

    I just ordered the i7/8GB RAM/256GB version for 1250€ in Finland. I was wondeing do you have photos without the metal case which hide the DIMM slots?

    This site is reclaiming that the RAM is soldered on so you couldn't upgrade it: laptopmain.com/lenovo-ideapad-720s-disassembly-ssd-ram-upgrade-options/

    I hope this is not true and I have the options to go 512GB SSD and 16GB RAM in the future if I need to upgrade.

    Do you also consider that the wifi card should be replaced at first?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 15, 2017 at 4:13 pm

      Did you actually look at the gallery in the article? This pic is there: http://cdn.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/internals-ram-dimm.jpg . The link you mentioned points to the 720S, not the 320S. I didn't look past the shield on the 720S, but this kind of shields is normally used on laptops with an accessible DIMM.

      About the Wi-Fi, I'd test it first and see if it's good enough for what you need, and only consider replacing it if it's not.

      • Joni

        August 18, 2017 at 1:33 am

        Thanks for your reply!

        I'm sorry I meant to post this to the 720S, my mistake! I just opened the page from browsing history and opened wrong article. Guess these computers are so similarly looking, hah.

        The shield was something that video reviewers had no courage to remove, afraid that their warranty if voided or something.

        I found also a guide about removing the plate meanwhile.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 18, 2017 at 1:08 pm

          Removing that is shield easy, it's hold in place by a few pins that you'll have to loosen up with a flat-tip screw driver. If you did remove it on your laptop I'd appreciate if you can confirm that there's a DIMM beneath.

          • Remo

            September 27, 2017 at 9:07 am

            Hello andrei,
            How many slots are there for ram sticks?
            I just bought the i3 model with 4gb of ram and i want to possibly add another 4gb stick for dual channel for increased graphics and system performance. i can only do this if there is 2 slots. Can you confirm?

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 27, 2017 at 9:19 am

            1 slot.

  13. Aaron

    August 22, 2017 at 9:12 pm

    Is the cpu replaceable in the i3 model with something such as an I 7 ?

  14. Pete Borini

    August 26, 2017 at 7:16 am

    My daughter and I found our 14" 320S for an amazing $479 back on July 16th here in the US. We bought it for her to use as her primary laptop went she went to college. We've since discovered that the configuration we bought did not include a backlit keyboard AND did not include an Ethernet port. We found an adapter that allowed us to use her college's Ethernet connection but I urge you to check the specs of the unit you buy to make absolutely sure it has the features you think it does. Every review of the 320S mentioned the backlit keyboard and the online manual clearly showed an Ethernet port. The laptop we bought at Staples contained neither.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 12:52 pm

      My test sample did not come with a backlit keyboard, so not EVERY review :)

  15. Lou

    September 1, 2017 at 2:52 pm

    I saw that you said you guys had some custom settings for the screen. Where can I find this? Because I bought one and would like to try it out.

  16. Michael

    September 14, 2017 at 3:35 am

    Hi Andrei,
    Does the M2 slot use PCIe or SATA protocol? I'm looking to install an SSD as a boot drive. Thanks!

  17. Arnold

    September 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

    Hi, is it ram upgradable or soldered in 320s?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2017 at 2:54 pm

      It's upgradeable, you could have found that if you read the article :)

  18. Arnold

    September 14, 2017 at 2:01 pm

    Good day, I have this with i3, 4gb and 128 ssd, i would like to add HDD drive. Maybe you know what thickness is of HDD? Usual 9.5 mm, or 7mm?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2017 at 2:55 pm

      My unit came with a LiteON CV3-DE256, which is a 7 mm drive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *