Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

Portable Gaming laptops with Nvidia GTX 970M and 980M graphics

By Andrei Girbea , updated on February 11, 2017

My list of the best gaming ultrabooks available in stores is one of the most appreciated posts here on Ultrabookreview.com and that’s why, for those of you that want the ultimate gaming experience in a thin and light laptop, I’ve put together this post, a collection of all the ultraportables that bundle the Nvidia GTX 970M and 980M graphics chips.

I’m not going to include all the available gaming laptops with Nvidia 970M/980M graphics in here, I’ll try to stick with the thinner and lighter models only, but I will mention some of the best other larger options as well, in case you do want the extra features, extra storage options and improved cooling solutions those would provide and don’t mind somewhat sacrificing portability.

As you can see in some of the reviews here on the site (like this one, for instance), and as many other reviewers reported, these mobile implementations of Nvidia’s Maxwell architecture are actually a major leap from the predecessors, the GTX 870M and 880M chips (based on the Kepler architecture), both in terms of performance and efficiency.

These solutions are not only 20-50% faster in most recent games and applications (follow these posts on DigitalTrends and Tom’s Hardware for some exact numbers) , but they require less energy, which leads to a couple of aspects. On one side, they run cooler and quieter, which actually makes them more viable options for ultra-portable notebooks with thin cases, and on the other, because they are more efficient, can handle games on battery for a longer time each charge.

Nvidia 970M and 980M promise excellent performance with low noise and heat

Nvidia 970M and 980M promise excellent performance with low noise and heat

But we’re not going to get in depth about the platform here, this post is about the laptops, so check them out below.

They are listed alphabetically, clicking on the links on each model’s name takes you to a more detailed article about that product, the official listing on the manufacturer’s website or my review, while clicking on the price takes you to a page where you can check out up-to-date prices and potential discounts.

Update: Updated versions of the laptops mentioned in this article are available in this list of Nvidia GTX 1070 and 1080 laptops, as well as in this post about the GTX 1060 powered portable gaming ultrabooks.

Nvidia GTX 980M gaming laptops

There are two versions of this chip, one with 4 GB of DDR5 vRAM, and another with 8 GB of vRAM. The latter is better suited for 4K gaming, might not be as widely available and usually requires custom,  more massive cooling.

ModelScreenHardwareGraphicsWeight
Alienware 1515.6″ IPS UHD matteCore i7-4710HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 4 GB7.1 lbs / 3.22 kg
unique design, bulky – 1.33 inch thick, akward keyboard, 4 RAM slots and 3 storage slots (2xM.2 and 1×2.5″), can onyl take up to 16 GB of RAM, no optical drive, solid performance, Optimus, runs hot and the cooling system is loud, 92 Wh battery (encased), not the best audio, Optional Graphics Amplifier, 970M model also available
Starting list price: $2349 – discounts available here
Asus G752JY17.3″ IPS FHD or UHD matteCore i7-6700HQ / max 64 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 4 GB8.79 lbs / 3.99 kg
unique design, bulky – 1.7 inch thick, gaming keyboard, 4 RAM slots and 3 storage slots (2x PCIe 3rd gen and 1x 2.5″), solid performance, no Optimus, capable cooling system, 66 Wh battery (non-removable)
Starting list price: $2499 – discounts available here
Falcon Northwest TLX15.6″ IPS FHD matteup to i7-4930MX / max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 8 GBup to 7.1 lbs / 3.2 kg
interesting design and several color options, 1.7 inch thick, gaming keyboard, 4 RAM slots and multiple storage slots (2 x mSATA RAID 0/1 + 2.5″), fast performance, multiple CPU and GPU options (970M and Quadro models available), Optimus, 78 Wh battery, expensive, custom built (that’s why it takes 3-4 weeks to ship)
Starting list price: $3149
Gigabyte P35X15.6″ IPS FHD or WQHD+ matteCore i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 8 GB5.1 lbs / 2.3 kg
simple design and thick case (1.9 inch), excellent WQHD+ IPD dispaly, 2 RAM slots (16 GB max) and multiple storage slots (2 x mATA and 1 x 2.5″), optical bay can be ditched for a 2.5″ cradle, fast performance, Optimus, gets hot and loud under load, some build quality issues, poor keyboard, 76 Wh battery
Starting list price: $1899 – discounts available here
MSI GT72S Dominator Pro G17.3″ TN FHD matteCore i7-5700HQ or i7-6820HK/ max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 8 GB8.4 lbs / 3.81 kg
nice design but rather thick case (1.9 inch), gaming keyboard, the TN panel isn’t great, 4 RAM slots and multiple storage slots (4 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), fast performance, manual graphics switching that require restarts – no Optimus, capable cooling system, 87 Wh battery (non-removable), rather poor wifi, more powerful processor available as extra option
Starting list price: $2299 – discounts available here
MAINGEAR NOMAD 1717.3″ TN FHD matteup to Core i7-4980MQ / max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 980M 8 GB8.4 lbs / 3.81 kg
similar configuration to the MSI GT72 above, different aluminum design, slightly cheaper
Starting list price: $2099

So far, the only portable machine in this list is the Gigabyte P35X V3, but squeezing this kind of graphics inside a slimmer body does lead to high temperatures, noise and throttling under load, which means that you’re probably better with a full-size laptop if you want to fully benefit from the Maxwell 980M GTX chip. Still, if you can deal with higher thermals and some performance drop, the P35X remains an interesting device and for the time being, one of the most capable portable laptop ever built. You can find out more about this laptop in Derek’s detailed article available over here.

Some rumors also mention a potential GTX 980M version of the Asus GX500, called the GX500JMC, but I could not confirm them and I actually find it hard to believe Asus will be able to squeeze this chip inside such a thin body, knowing the throttling issues of the Asus NX500.

There are also some 980M configurations from custom shops. For instance, the Sager NP9150 / Clevo P150EM gaming notebooks can be paired with the 980M chip for a good price. On top of these, if you need extra power in a laptop-like computer and really don’t care about portability, you could consider the Clevo P370SM /EUROCOM Panther 5 Mobile Supercomputer with desktop CPU processors and SLI GTX 980M graphics.

I will update this section as often as possible, but if you spot any mistakes or any new laptops that should make it in here, please drop me a line in the comments section at the end of this post. For now though, let’s jump ahead to the larger pool of GTX 970M equipped notebooks.

Nvidia GTX 970M gaming laptops

Just like with the 980M, there are two versions of the 970M chip as well, one with 3 GB of DDR5 vRAM, and another with 6 GB of vRAM. Besides that, according to benchmarks and reviews, a 970M chip is roughly 15-20% slower than a 980M version, but also runs cooler, quieter and demands less energy, so you’ll find it as part of cheaper or more portable devices.

ModelScreenHardwareGraphicsWeight
Asus ROG G752VT17.3″ IPS FHD matteCore i7-6700HQ / max 64 GB RAM / 2xSSD + HDDNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB8.79 lbs/3.99 kg
unique design, good keyboard, 4 RAM slots and triple-storage options (2x PCIe 3rd gen slots), room for upgrades, good performance, capable cooling system, 66 Wh battery, great display, nice price tag
Starting list price: $1599 – discounts available here
Clevo P650SE / Sager NP865115.6″ FHD, WQHD+ or UHD(4K)
Core i7-4720HQ / max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB5.50 lbs/2.49 kg
rather heavy and bulky (0.98″ thick), several screen options (the base FHD matte panel is pretty crappy though), 4 RAM and multiple storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2 x 2.5″ 7mm), 60 Wh battery, great keyboard and trackpad, solid IO, customizable, excellent price
Starting list price: $1249
CYBERPOWER Fangbook Edge15.6″ FHD or UHD(4K)
Core i7-4870HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB4.36 lbs/1.98 kg
slim simple design (0.78″ thick), options for a FHD matte or a 4K glossy display, 2 RAM and dual storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), 48 Wh battery, multiple customization options, good price, similar to the Origin PC EVO15-S (lower end configurations available thus cheaper)
Starting list price: $1699
Gigabyte P35W15.6″ IPS FHD matteCore i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB4.85 lbs/2.2 kg
similar to the P35X v3 mentioned in the previous section, but with the GTX 970M graphics chip
Starting list price: $1749 – discounts available here
Gigabyte Aorus X3 Plus13.9″ IPS QHD+ matteCore i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / mSATA storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB4.12 lbs / 1.9 kg
compact aluminum casing, sleek design, 3 x mSATA storage options (RAID support), without an optical drive, macro keys on the keyboard, poor speakers, potential throttling under load
Starting list price: $1999 – discounts available here
Gigabyte P34W14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB3.8 lbs / 1.71 kg
a more compact version of the P35W v3, built on the same hardware platform, but with fewer storage options ( 1 x mSATA and 1 x 2.5″), without an optical drive, with Wi-Fi N only and with a smaller 61 Wh battery, throttles under serious load
Starting list price: $1649 – discounts available here
Gigabyte Aorus X7 Pro17.3″ IPS FHD matteCore i7-4870HQ / max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storage2 x Nvidia GTX 970M 3 GB SLI
6.1 lbs / 2.76 kg
thin body (0.9 inch – 23 mm), 4 RAM slots, supports quadruple storage solutions ( 3 x mSATA RAID 0 and 1 x 2.5″), 73 Wh battery, 2 built-in speakers and 2 built-in subwoofers
Starting list price: $2599 – discounts available here
MSI GS40 Phantom14.0″ IPS FHDCore i7-6700HQ/ max 32 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB3.57 lbs/1.6 kg
compact and light 14-inch laptop, SteelSeries keyboard, 2 RAM and multiple storage slots (1 x M.2 + 2.5″ bay), supports PCIe gen3 storage and DDR4 memory, solid performance, includes an integrated DAC
Starting list price: $1599
MSI GE62 Apache Pro15.6″ IPS FHDCore i7-5700HQ or i7-6700HQ/ max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB5.29 lbs/2.39 kg
full size 15-inch laptop, design a bit dated, optical drive included, good screen but rather dim, SteelSeries keyboard, 2 RAM and multiple storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), USB 3.1 slot, solid performance, capable cooling system, small 51 Wh battery
Starting list price: $1499 – discounts available here
MSI GS60 Ghost Pro 3K or 4K15.6″ IPS WQHD+ / 4K glossyCore i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB4.32 lbs/1.96 kg
our detailed review available here – compact and interesting design, annoying logo on the hood, good display although glossy, a cheaper option with a FHD display also available, SteelSeries keyboard, 2 RAM and multiple storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), good performance, capable cooling system, small 52 Wh battery
Starting list price: $1999 – discounts available here
MSI GS70 Stealth Pro17.3″ IPS FHD matte
Core i7-4710HQ or i7-5700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 3 GB5.9 lbs/2.66 kg
interesting and very thin design, silver, red and black versions, nice display, gaming keyboard, 2 RAM and multiple storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), good performance, 60 Wh battery
Starting list price: $1799 – discounts available here
MSI GT72S Dominator G17.3″ TN FHD matteCore i5-5700HQ / max 32 GB RAM / SSD storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB8.4 lbs/3.81 kg
nice design but rather thick case, gaming keyboard, the TN panel isn’t great, 4 RAM slots and multiple storage slots (4 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), only an 128 GB SSD included with this configuration, good performance, capable cooling system, 87 Wh battery (non-removable), rather expensive
Starting list price: $1899 – discounts available here
Origin PC EVO15-S15.6″ FHD or UHD(4K)
Core i7-4710HQ / max 16 GB RAM / SSD + HDD storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB4.3 lbs/1.95 kg
slim simple design (0.78″ thick), very light for a 17 incher, red backlit keyboard, options for a FHD matte or a 4K glossy display, 2 RAM and dual storage slots (2 x M.2 RAID 0 + 2.5″), multiple customization options
Starting list price: $2299
Razer Blade 14 201614.0″ QHD+ touch
Core i7-6700HQ / max 16 GB RAM / M.2 storageNvidia GTX 970M 6 GB4.1 lbs / 1.9 kg
very sleek design, very good performance, nice keyboard and trackpad, runs hot, Thunderbolt 3 on the latest model, base version is cheaper than in the past
Starting list price: $1999 – discounts available here

There’s also a rumored Gigabyte P37 series with a GTX 970M graphics chip. Judging by its name, this is going to be a thin and light 17 incher.

Then we have the standard sized MSI GT70 (17.3 inch display) and GT60 (15.6 inch display) Dominator series, both bundling the 970M 6GB chip. These are full-size laptops, with the 15 incher weighing 7.7 lbs and the 17 incher 8.6 pounds. Both sell for $1499 an up.

Last but not least we have a few Clevo configurations that are expected to be updated with an SLI dual GTX 970M solution (the P375SMA, 17 incher) or a single 970M chip (the P15SMA, 15 incher).

Wrap-up

That’s about it for now, but like I already said above, I’m going to keep the list up-to-date and add new info as soon as possible. However, in case you spot any errors or you find any other products that are available in stores and haven’t been included, feel free to get in touch with me in the comments section.

Updated versions of the laptops mentioned in this article are available in this list of Nvidia GTX 1070 and 1080 laptops, as well as in this post about the GTX 1060 powered portable gaming ultrabooks.

That aside, if these laptops are not exactly what you need, then you should also check out some of the other posts here on the site, especially my collection of the best gaming ultrabooks of the moment, as well as my long list of all the ultrabooks that are worth your attention these days.

And if you have any questions or need help picking something, again, get in touch, I’m around to help.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at Ultrabookreview.com. I never liked carrying big laptops around and that fueled my passion for mobile computers back in the 2000s. Things have changed much since then, but I'm still interested in the topic and in the meantime I've owned and tested hundreds of thin and lights, so I know a thing or two about them. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

96 Comments

  1. Rob

    November 11, 2014 at 5:05 am

    Your link for the P34w v3 links to the p35. Do you have any information on when the P34w v3 will be available for purchase? I’m debating between waiting on that or grabbing the v2 for a few bucks less, your opinion?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 11, 2014 at 9:36 am

      you’re right, thanks. xoticpc.com have the P34w v3 listed on their site, you should ask them when it might be shipping. I don’t have any insides at Gigabyte so can’t tell you much about that :(

      • Alex

        November 22, 2014 at 10:42 pm

        Do you know what the Gigabyte P35W v3 is made out of? Is the shell plastic or some type of metal?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 23, 2014 at 4:59 pm

          Can’t say for sure but since the P35W V2 uses metal for the lid cover and the interior (plam-rest, keyboard area), I’d say the P35W v3 should go for the same approach

      • Anthony

        January 9, 2015 at 12:00 pm

        What about eurocom ??? They offer the best gaming (and not only) laptops out there… I have a maxed out eurocom panther 5se with dual 980m

        • James Cygnus

          January 9, 2015 at 7:18 pm

          Eurocom Panther 5se = 5.5kg+?

          I think you’re pushing the definition of “mobile” in that range mate…

          • Anthony

            January 16, 2015 at 8:48 am

            What does weight have to do with anything? It fits in a bag, you can move it wherever you want… therefore mobile

          • James Cygnus

            January 19, 2015 at 6:28 pm

            Using your logic a small desktop PC is portable too. I can fit many into a gym bag…

    • Mathieu

      November 11, 2014 at 6:18 pm

      It’s gonna be available in early December. Some rumors were talking about December 3rd.

    • Joe

      January 2, 2015 at 7:48 pm

      Do any of these gaming laptops feature a touch screen? Also do you know if any of these laptops would be good for video editing? I am looking to buy a laptop for mild gaming and video and photo editing but have been having issues finding information on windows laptops that are specifically good for video editing or what specs to look for. Thanks!

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 3, 2015 at 10:55 am

        Laptops with powerful processors, plenty of RAM and dedicated graphics should handle video editing well. I can’t say out of the top of my mind which of these have a touchscreen, you’ll have to check out each model yourself. Most don’t though (all the units that have a matte screen, for example).

      • Anthony

        January 16, 2015 at 8:48 am

        Get a Eurocom Panther 5 laptop

        I have a Panther 5SE

  2. Matt S.

    November 11, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    I recommend adding the Falcon Northwest TLX to this list. At only 7 lbs, it has the option of a GTX 980 and is within a couple hundred bucks of the Asus G751JY. Still probably a bit too expensive for me but gives a great idea of whats out there for those who enjoy reading your articles.

  3. Henry

    November 13, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    Is the Razer Blade 14 the only upcoming option with both a high(er) end graphics chip AND a touchscreen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2014 at 4:11 pm

      for now. but more should be available soon

  4. Anthony

    November 25, 2014 at 5:41 am

    What are the storage options for the CYBERPOWER Fangbook Edge?

  5. Mike

    December 9, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    I think you missed Aorus X7 Pro. It has dual GTX 970M in SLI, and weight 6.6 lbs.

  6. Felipe

    December 16, 2014 at 2:59 am

    None caught my eye as much as the evo15-s from origin, can you elaborate a little more on that one?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 18, 2014 at 11:16 am

      I’ll try to cover it in a more detailed post in the next few weeks

    • James Cygnus

      December 26, 2014 at 7:27 am

      The Origin evo15-s looks a LOT like my MSI Ghsot Pro 3K from a chasis/layout.

      I suspect it may be a rebrand.

  7. Justin

    December 26, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    I think you made an error on the evo-15s. that bad boy is a 15 inch laptop not a 17 inch one.

  8. Justin

    December 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    I believe the Evo-15s from origin is missing labeled here. It is a 15 inch laptop. I wish it was 17 inches though.

  9. Enrico

    January 7, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Thanks for keeping this list up to date.

    According to the ROG forum, the battery of the G751JY does not seem to be removable: rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?52776-Notes-before-buying-G751-series&p=445174&viewfull=1#post445174

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 7, 2015 at 10:19 pm

      It’s not . Check out my review of the g751jy here on the site, in the reviews section, for more details

  10. David P

    January 10, 2015 at 4:55 pm

    Is there some reason why Alienware is not included? Additionally, I cannot seem to find Alienware product reviews on the website here.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 11, 2015 at 5:16 pm

      I haven’t considered them portable enough. Haven’t checked the new releases at CES yet. And there are now reviews cause I’m not in the US and Alienware laptops are extremely difficult to come by over here.

      • Brandon G

        March 18, 2015 at 2:45 am

        I just got a brand new one with the GTX 970m and they are actually quite a bit more manageable then before. Obviously this was due to a couple sacrifices, the biggest being the optical drive (biggest in saving size and weight). I got the Alienware 17 R2 and while it is still very heavy it is also quite thin now compared to the older ones. I really am liking it so far, upgrading the RAM to 16 and a full on SSD tomorrow and I think I will like it more after that.

  11. giuseppe

    January 15, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    Hi andrei …MSI gt72 has a poor wifi reception ? the speakers are powerful sound ??

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2015 at 5:16 pm

      Haven’t personally reviewed the GT72. Try to find some owners and reviews online and see if they could help.

    • James Cygnus

      January 15, 2015 at 6:04 pm

      giuseppe – are you asking questions or making statements?

      • Andrei Girbea

        January 15, 2015 at 7:10 pm

        He’s asking, hence the ? at the end of what he said :)

  12. giuseppe

    January 15, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    I’m looking for a good notebook with a brightness and high contrast with a good audio sound and a good graphics card …. and not too hot do I recommend? budget 2000

  13. Richard Chu

    January 19, 2015 at 2:54 am

    Your list of laptops seem to ignore many of the Clevo / Sager gaming laptops, is there a reason for that?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2015 at 4:09 pm

      WE,, yes, they are too heavy for me to consider them “portable”. Weight might not matter much to some of you, but it sure does to me…

    • James Cygnus

      January 19, 2015 at 6:27 pm

      Weight + they look like a hippo mated with a stack of bricks…

  14. hi-phile

    January 21, 2015 at 1:32 am

    Regarding Clevo/Sager I think you should reconsider the newer P650 slim line which are not thick and ugly and they have 15.6″ IPS displays with either the Nvidia GTX 970M or 980M graphics.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 21, 2015 at 12:46 pm

      will check it out

      • cisco

        April 28, 2015 at 12:28 am

        Any reason the best value slim notebook is not on this list, the Clevo P650SE / Sager NP8651 Comes with high end quad core i7 and gtx 970 for under $1250 usd.

        gizmodo.com/the-best-thin-gaming-laptop-for-every-need-1699528863

      • noone

        April 29, 2015 at 11:00 am

        So, you haven’t checked it out, have you?

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 29, 2015 at 2:29 pm

          It was on the list. But the list ain’t short, you know :)

  15. anton

    January 27, 2015 at 8:38 pm

    Hi Andrei, I’m student that want to buy light ultrabook with dedicated GPU for school and gaming as well. I found that gigabyte weight p34w-v3 with 1.71kg and I think its perfect for me. I also found that it has different specification from what you listed here on official : gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5325#kf

    I looking for your thoughts on that ultrabook and gigabyte brand overall. Also I concern about how easy to upgrade this laptop in the future (ssd to hdd). There is a p34K version coming up with 965m and the questions is it worth to wait if i’m not looking best performance at video games but stable temperature as well. isn’t 970m require more cooling and laptop would overheat? Gigabyte postpone it release to late January and I think people saying something went wrong.

    Thanks
    anton

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 27, 2015 at 9:16 pm

      MY experience with Gigabyte laptops is unfortunately extremely limited because these are not available in my part of the world. I’ve heard mostly good things about their units, but it’s better to try to talk with someone who owns Gigabyte laptops. The Owner’s Lounge section on the notebookreview.com forums is where I’d start and then go through reviews on Amazon, xcaliberpc.com and other websites that actually sell them.

      Not sure what to expect from the 965M. If you’re looking at the recently launched desktop version, the GTX 960, it’s quite a significant downgrade from the 970. The same might happen with the mobile chips, but these are just suppositions. We’d have to wait for some actual reviews before concluding anything.

  16. Rob

    February 5, 2015 at 2:36 am

    It looks like the blade 2015 is available for purchase with the 970m. After really researching the p34w v3 for the past month I feel like it’s priced almost the same as the blade. For me there are three key differences between the two and I’d like your input.

    1. While the aluminum body of the blade may look and feel nice I’ve heard that it’s sub optimal for gaming as it conducts heat much better and as such can feel very hot under loads.

    2. The combo headphone/mic port will allow me to use the convenient bose/apple earbuds + microphone which I really prefer.

    3. I’m completely spoiled by my wife’s macbook air and have been dieing to find a PC with a similar trackpad. It sounds like the blade’s is up to par but I’ve never had a chance to use it. Thoughts? Also, I heard the trackpad not being clickable is a huge drawback.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2015 at 11:07 am

      1. Yes, heat spreads through metallic bodies quickly.
      3. I don’t have any hands-on experience with this latest Blade, but I’ve yet to find a trackpad that comes close to the one of the Macs on any Windows laptop.

      • ag

        March 29, 2015 at 6:56 pm

        Is there a huge difference between razer blade 2015 and the fangbook?
        the razer is sooo sexy but the fangbook has higher specs.. what would you recommend? I want to play GTA5 online, elders scrolls online, and DAYZ SA.

  17. Frumpy Knickers

    February 5, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    I have the Gigabyte P25W (v1) and I have to say that I am extremely satisfied with it. I have not had any issues with it except 10mths later the battery sometimes fails to be recognised as present so it thinks it’s on AC. Fortunately, Gigabyte give a 2yr guarantee and 1yr on the battery so I am going to get it replaced before the battery warranty expires. I have not really gamed much on it but it would work with everything on max usually when I tried a year ago with its 770M – thou that’s a little outdated by now. With regards to the look, basically everyone notices it and comments on how nice it is. The yellow is pleasant and the silver trim makes it look sporty. The keyboard is extremely comfortable to type on and the trackpad is good though the buttons could have been raised. It really is the business.

    I am looking to upgrade it to a much lighter laptop (p25W is 2.6kg) but wanted 15.6″, at least a 965M/970M with a 1920×1080/2880×1620 resoultion with weight at 2kg or less. Compared to the 770M in my P25W, the 965M is still better so don’t mind it’s the ‘low spec’ version of the 900M series.

    I am coming up with the P35W v3 but that is 2.3kg. The P34W v3 looks good at 1.80kg so would be significantly lighter than the P25W but has a 14″ screen with 1920×1080 res, so I would lose 1″ off the display..not sure if this is a deal breaker.

    The main thing I would miss are the 4 x speakers plus the 1 x woofer that the P25W comes with. The P35W v3 has only 2 speakers + 1 x woofer but the P34W only has 2 x speakers and 0 woofer..thou I am intending to sort out a home cinema system/streamer etc so this won’t matter in the long run.

    Unfortunately, there does not seem to be any other company that produces such powerful laptops in a low weight package. I am surprised that other companies with years of building their own laptops have failed to excel in this aspect and a newcomer to the scene like Gigabyte has trumped them on its first outing.

    Can anybody please suggest any others I might have missed?

  18. sarp

    February 8, 2015 at 12:32 am

    Sager has this model for 1521$ and it comes with GTX980m which is unbeatable.

    xoticpc.com/sager-np8672-clevo-p670sg-p-7800.html

    You can’t find anything close to this price with a 980 GPU. It is also aluminum unlike Asus G751 horrible rubber material! (I know bc i use a g75)

  19. Matt

    February 9, 2015 at 4:06 pm

    Hi I am in Australia, please keep in mind. I am looking for a gaming laptop, I am looking to spend around $2k to 2.5k. I play mostly coh2 and will be playing witcher when it comes. I was thinking to get a 4k display laptop will the gtx 970 6gb be enough power to run this?? or should i go for a 3k display? Is heat going to be an issue? I want this Laptop future proofed should i go sli will that fit my price range?

    I was thinking 16 gb ram basic i7 cpu one ssd as boot,operating sys and my fav games. A 2nd hdd 1tb for storage. win 7.

    This is a lot of money for me and would like your help to get the right one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 9, 2015 at 4:22 pm

      I’m not familiar with those games, so maybe others could pitch in.

      Still, personally I’d rather get a smaller resolution screen so that device will be able to run future titles better, but even so the 970M chip might not run most games at 3K resolution with Ultra details. I’ve recently tested a laptop with 980M graphics (albeit only the 4 GB version, but still faster than a 970M chip) and here’s what to expect: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/5919-asus-g751jy-review/#a5, but that one only came with a 1080p display.

      Anyway, you haven’t mention anything about the screen size you’d prefer.

  20. Matt

    February 9, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    I like the Asus that you recommended in the link. Can i get it with windows 7?I like the design however for gaming at 1080p it seems expensive. If i am going to drop 2k on a laptop I would like to be able to game at at least 3k. The size does not worry me nor the weight. My main concern is that it does not heat up and cause problems. I did not realize how much the 970m is cut down. The 980m is almost equal to a gtx 970. If i am only going to game at 1080p the the cheaper 970m will do.

    I was wondering could i go with the cheapest model in the review and put my own ssd in and save $400?

    nice review

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 9, 2015 at 8:57 pm

      Yes, you could put the SSD in yourself if it’s going to end up cheaper this way. And yes, for gaming at 1080p the 970M config should suffice today. But you’ll probably have to shave off some details on some of the future launches. Better see if that particular config is available in your country though, Asus have a tendency of not offering all their models everywhere.

  21. Pepe

    February 27, 2015 at 8:47 am

    You said that Asus G751 uses Optimus, but according to users there is no optimus there:
    rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?52651-G751JY-Does-Not-Have-Optimus

    Not having optimus is extremely important if you want to use the Laptop with Oculus Rift DK2 (or CV1), since the HDMI port will not be limited to 60Hz wich is the speed of Intel HD Graphics cards.

    You could review in your report if the HDMI port is wired to the iGPU (if any) o to the dGPU

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 27, 2015 at 10:54 am

      Hi, thanks, there’s indeed no Optimus on this laptop and the integrated graphics are disabled.

  22. cliffton

    March 1, 2015 at 4:29 am

    “It’s been launched and is not part of the list above.” Should read “is now part of the list”

  23. K

    March 6, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    There is also new EON15-S with 980M: originpc.com/gaming/laptops/eon15-s-thin/

  24. Rob

    March 18, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    I can’t decide between the Razer Blade and the Origin EVO15-S and it’s driving me crazy. Any info to sway me in either direction would be much appreciated!

    • Derek Sullivan

      March 23, 2015 at 2:46 am

      I had the same dilemma. I ended up going with the GS60(practically the same as the Origin) because of upgradability and screen resolution. From my point of view, it wasn’t work the extra few hundred dollars to have a higher pixel density and touch, just to be limited to 512GB of storage. I’ve tested both and the Razer Blade is definitely the better build and has better battery life. Everything else is either a tie or more towards the Origin/GS60 because of options. I personally like gaming on a 15.6″ screen better than 14″ too.

      • Pepe

        March 23, 2015 at 4:33 pm

        Does anyone tried to use the GS60 or Origin with the Oculus Rift DK2.
        I don´t know if GS60 uses optimus tech (MSI doesn´t give clue about that). Optimus tech kills DK2 performance.

  25. bhupinder

    March 31, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    Is the Asus G751JY portable enough to carry to college and other works? And can i work on it by keeping it on my lap?? (works other than gaming).. Thanks..

  26. Uros

    April 5, 2015 at 9:48 pm

    Hi! I was wondering if you might know if the razer blade 14 and alienware 13/15 are the only TOUCH capable 4K-ish laptops with gtx 970m in the world?

    Thank you

  27. vaibhav

    April 6, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    Hi!!! I m from india … can i get a laptop with nvidia 980m graphic card in the budget of 70 to 80k indian rupee

  28. jinishans

    April 9, 2015 at 1:20 am

    I’m just waiting for my Alienware 15′ 4K IPS 970M from costco to be delivered tomorrow, my first time exp to 4k display. Did went with Alienware cos of their port which can be used to extend GC later maybe 1-2yr later with desktop GPU as well. Really thrilled to see it in action after reading those raving reviews. Its still less than 2k.

  29. Mattallenmsn

    April 9, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Hi,

    I am considering buying the Gigabyte Aorus X3 Plus v3 with its hi res display, if I set the graphics in games to run at 1080p fullscreen would it still render the game to the full size of the screen with NVidia’s technology (ie to the edges of the bezels) or would it be restricted to a 1080p segment of the full screen size? I have seen a few reviews of the screen that indicate that the GTX 970m found in it is perfect for 1080p gaming so I wonder whether that is a sensible option.

    I am mainly interested in the X3 for portability plus it has a semi reasonable battery life of around 5 hours video playback for when I fly. Other than that I would consider the already mentioned Clevo P670 which in the UK comes in the guise of a PCspecialist custom built laptop with options for a 3k screen and a 980m any feedback would be useful especially regarding the screen scaling issue with 1080p settings on a 3/4k screen.

    Many thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 9, 2015 at 11:02 pm

      There’s an option to either play in a smaller window or stretch games across the entire screen, and I believe it’s somewhere in the Nvidia Panel but I’m not entirely sure. So that shouldn’t be a concern. BTW, we have a review of the Aorus X3 Plus here on the site (older graphics though), you might want to check it out.

      Can’t comment on the Clevo P670, I’ve yet to seen it in action.

      • Mattallenmsn

        April 14, 2015 at 4:49 pm

        Hi Andrei,

        Would you like a link to the UK rebranded Clevo P670 from a custom PC builder site, it may give you some information that you would like? It is a very customizable chasis and certainly worth a look.

        Thanks for your help with the above question it is nice that you pay attention to posts, I will follow your future articles closely.

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 14, 2015 at 6:32 pm

          Sure

          • Mattallenmsn

            April 14, 2015 at 6:41 pm

            pcspecialist.co.uk/notebooks/defiance-15/

            There you go…. not advertising just for research purposes only ;)

            As we say in my part of the world, ‘have a gander’.

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 16, 2015 at 2:18 pm

            Thanks. Can’t say much from the specs. The implementation makes all the difference, that’s why I said I can’t comment on it, because I’ve never seen it lived and never actually got to test it. And I couldn’t find any proper review online either.

    • jinishans

      April 10, 2015 at 1:45 am

      I just recd my AWare 15 4k today, with 970M, scalling was a big issue i’m facing now. It doesn’t allow to change it to HD settings, icons are big, keep getting alerts that i’ve changed it to HD and recommended is 4k. The biggest issue is lot of Win Apps are not scaling well for 4k. Totally dissatisfied within 2hrs. Need to see if there’s a easy fix otherwise it has to goback and I’ll get a regular HD screen laptop instead of this 4k screen stuff.

  30. Dinuke

    April 14, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    Dear Andrei,
    Thank you so much for your diligent postings. I’m an audio engineer and want to switch from Mac to the pc platform to run a DAW (digital audio workstation). Im looking for if possible, a 13 inch, (15 if not possible), i7, 32gb ram, hybrid ssd sata. What models would you recommend? It has to be quiet and really efficient.
    Thanks for your help,
    Take care and God bless you :-)

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 14, 2015 at 4:36 pm

      Budget? The amount of RAM takes all the available 13 inchers of your list…

  31. Al Archibald

    June 5, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    I have just purchased a DinoPC Phoenix 15.6″ DinoPC is a UK custom PC builder who stocks some standard models, but you can specify a wide range of upgrades.

    Base spec is:

    CPU: Intel Core i7 4710MQ
    Operating System: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
    RAM: 16GB Corsair 1600mhz Vengeance Sodimm (2x8GB)
    Hard Drive: Kingston 240GB SSD – Upgraded to 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
    Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 8GB
    Optical Drive: 8x DVD±RW S-ATA Slimline
    Battery: Lithium Ion 8 Cell Laptop Battery
    Power Adapter: 180W AC Power Adapter UK
    Screen: 15.6″ Matte Full-HD LED (1920×1080)
    Webcam: 2.0 Megapixel Built-in Webcam
    Card Reader: 9 in 1 Card Reader
    Wifi: 802.11n Wifi + Bluetooth Mini PCI-E Upgraded to Intel Dual Band AC 7260 Wifi 867Mbps + Bluetooth

  32. freddy

    June 23, 2015 at 2:36 am

    Please note: the MSI G60 and G70 are NOT IPS panels. They are TN panels

  33. Iosif

    July 10, 2015 at 7:19 am

    Hello, I’m from Romania,seeing that you are also from the same country. Could you recommend something up to 8200 Ron(1800-1900 EUR) as a gaming laptop?

    ASUS ROG series are the most bought gaming laptops in RO and the most affordable? MSI,Alienware and others have a price tag that I simply can’t afford.

    Thing is that I want something with broadwell and 970 or 980, the latest ROG laptops have only haswell. Now I know it’s not that HUGE of a difference between Haswell and Broadwell, but still, I would like haswell. Buying from abroad is also not the best thing for me, I’m not that trusting in the international warranty. Also if something goes wrong with the laptop I will have to wait weeks,possibly even months till I get it returned.

    Should I wait till ASUS comes with the newer ROG laptops? When would that be,if it’s 2-3 months, I can wait….

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 10, 2015 at 9:21 am

      Hi Iosif. I’d reckon you’re looking at the G751 series? If yes, I’m not ware of a Broadwell update, but I will ask my contacts at Asus and get back with a reply if once I know anything. In terms of CPU power though, Broadwell is really a minor update over Haswell.

      • Iosif

        July 10, 2015 at 12:18 pm

        Yes I was looking at the latest G751, I’ve googled in hopes of finding out some news about ASUS launching a newer high end gaming laptop series but so far nothing. It can’t be that far away but I would just like to now if it’s worth the wait or if I should orient myself towards something else.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 10, 2015 at 9:42 pm

          I’ll let you know if I find anything. So far, I haven’t

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 13, 2015 at 5:32 pm

          Hi Iosif, the G751 won’t be updated with Broadwell CPUs. There will be a brand new G752 model coming with Skylake in late Q4 this year though.

          • Iosif

            July 14, 2015 at 1:38 pm

            Thanks for the info, I think I will wait, It’s 4-5 months so it’s not that far off,especially when I’m looking at spending so much money on a laptop.

  34. memory

    July 14, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    http://www.ultrabookreview.com/5337-msi-gs60-ghost-pro-3k-review/

    In the GS60 review, the author wrote: “The ugliest part of the entire laptop (which happens to be on the lid) is the badge they chose. It’s a shield with a dragon inside it, with the text “Gaming G series”,” and I totally agree. Everything about this laptop is nice, but I can’t imagine bringing it to work.

    So I have been keeping my eyes on PX60 but I haven’t been able to find any review on it so far. There are however reviews on PE60 and PE70 that could have similar rating to PX60. What do you think about PX60 so far?

    My main usage will be multimedia (movies, photo editing, coding) with some light gaming.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 14, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      It’s hard to say anything about the PX60, like you said it’s new and there are no reviews out there. On top of that, my experience with MSI laptops is very limited, because MSI does not ship their machines in my current country.

  35. HR

    August 21, 2015 at 9:57 am

    I just noticed that the MSI GS30 2m is “missing” from the alternatives section below the list. It of course does not include a GTX970m or 980m, but with a GTX 970 in the docking station it even offers superior graphics performance than the laptops in the list. At the same time, the notebook is only 13 inch, which makes it very portable. Only once it leaves the docking station, you are stuck with intel iris graphics.

    However, unless one really wants to use the laptop for portable gaming, something like the clunky MSI GS70 makes little sense if you can get better performance from a smaller notebook + docking station. I think mentioning the GS30+docking station would make a lot of sense for people who do not want to buy a desktop computer and laptop separately.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2015 at 9:47 am

      That’s a solution, but for me the whole purpose of these machines is to be able to grab them along where you want to play your games. In this case that’s not going to be exactly possible, you’ll only be able to game where the docking resides…

  36. FlufyDuffy

    October 12, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    Any thoughts on the Medion Erazer X7835? Also sports a 980m and seems like a fair machine.

  37. Gianni

    January 18, 2016 at 11:29 am

    Hi guys,

    good topic, but honestly I cannot find a eshop in Europe that matches the prices the listed one. Furthermore I am fu****ing lost in the choice. I would like to have a solid build with a budget of 1700-1800. I like the RoG, now also g752 is out but very expensive. On Amazon you can get the 970m 3GB build for 1700€. I guess a little bit overpriced. My goal is to play games in 1080 at max but full graphic details if possible. Mandatory NVidia cards.

    What is your advice as far as Jan 2016?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 18, 2016 at 2:10 pm

      The Asus G751GY and the Gigabyte P35X are some of the most affordable gaming laptops with Nvidia 980M graphics. They should be withing your budget and the Asus would be my first option, if its size is not an inconvenient.

      Otherwise, you’d have to go for something with a 970M graphics chip, and the Asus G751VT, MSI GE72 and Gigabyte P37W are some of the affordable options.

      • Gianni

        January 18, 2016 at 2:19 pm

        Hi thanks a lot for your answer,

        Weight/Size is not a problem, could you give me some links of eshop which can ship across Europe?

        Very appreciated!

  38. Gaby

    January 27, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    Hi. Reading since a long time your reviews. Great Job, thanks for all this. I learned a lot today.

    Thus, I’m still inbetween 3 gamer laptops for my work (Asus G752 vs. Acer Aspire vn7-792G vs Acer predator 17 G9-791 – MSI are too expensive – Budget in the range of the 3 others ok here in Switzerland).

    Use is not for gaming but working as interior architect and needing the laptop to work in 2 workspaces during the week (where bigger screens could be available) to do typing and e-mailing, surfing for pictures, a lot of renderings and brochure editions with a heavy pictures.

    The laptop and me will travel every day. Nvidia 960 to 980 a must, 17,3 screen or 15” not decides. Weight better light but performances more important.

    Do you have a proper review for graphic users ? What do you suggest ?

    Merci from Switzerland !

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 28, 2016 at 2:14 pm

      Well, the G72 and the Predator 17 should be great options. Go for the options with the 970M graphics, 32 GB of RAM (or more if needed), SSD+HDD storage. If the budget allows, the Acer is available with a wide-gamut 4K screen, as I reckon color accuracy is important in your line of work? The Asus will get a similar panel somewhere in the future as well.

      As for the VN&-792G, I’m currently reviewing one and it’s a good laptop, but not in the same class as the other two. It’s lighter and slimmer, but also gets hotter under load. Just in case you can’t get the Predator with the 4K screen in your budget, it could be an option. If you can only find this with 16 GB of RAM, you might want to upgrade the memory to 32 GB.

  39. Dirk

    January 29, 2016 at 6:43 am

    Where’s the Orynx Pro? system76.com/laptops/oryx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *