Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook Flip S UX370UA Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ZenBook Flip S UX370UA impressions – the vanity 2-in-1 laptop

8 Comments

  1. drz

    August 16, 2017 at 6:14 am

    Good review. I question Asus choice of core i5/7. I think they should have gone with core i5y/i7y (core m). These are almost as fast in geekbench! They are also more suitable for this kind of device and it would have attracted people like me as I can not tolerate annoying fans. Otherwise a perfect device. But I won't touch it unless it comes fanless later (like the UX360CA).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2017 at 3:17 pm

      Well, Core Y is expensive and not that easy to cool. I'm a big fan of fanless experiences too, but I'm not so sure the Core i7y would run well on this build. If I were designing the product, I would have made it a little thicker and tweaked the fan profile so the fan won't kick under a certain threshold.

  2. Ben

    August 31, 2017 at 4:55 am

    Hey!

    Thanks for the great review. This is the machine at the top of my list right now, but also considering the UX360UA. (I have good luck with Asus, and I figure I'll stay with them for now.)

    Intel just released their info on the Kaby Lake-R chips, and Asus's site now lists this laptop with the 8000 series chips. From your experience, do you think this model will actually receive that upgrade, and is it worth waiting?

    I'm also thinking to wait for the i5 version to come out, since I don't need it for anything heavy. Again, based on your experience, any idea when the i5 might be out? (either 7th gen or 8th gen)

    Other's I was considering are the newly announced UX461, and UX331. The convertible ability is nice, but not essential after all. Possibly the HP Spectre or Dell XPS13 too, but again, I prefer Asus.

    Thanks, and keep up the great work!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2017 at 12:57 pm

      The quad-core KB-R would make little sense in this chassis. Perhaps an update will be available with Coffeelake Core Y later on.

  3. Marcello Patruno

    September 5, 2017 at 8:40 am

    Hello,
    thank you for the excellent testing work that you do, I have had not a fair experience with a few Asus pc, and after seen and touched with hands the HP Spectre X360 I felt that is structurally much better than the Asus machines I owned till today, is it there many difference between the i7-7500U of the HP Spectre X360 and the Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7500U CPU of Asus Zenbook Flip UX370 please?

    Kind regards
    Marcello Patruno

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 6, 2017 at 12:37 pm

      Performance wise, the i7-7500U throttles faster on the UX370, but whether you'll actually see that in real use depends on your usage.

  4. Art Boyle

    September 16, 2017 at 1:00 am

    Thanks for this review! I'm thinking of buying one very soon however I saw a review on YouTube that indicated the keyboard tray was very bendy and flexed to much and that the screen bounced around as you used the machine because the bins didn't hold it firmly enough. I think your review much more thorough, did you experience anything similar?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:39 am

      There is a little bit of flex in the main chassis, yes, but it's nowhere as bad as you're saying.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *