Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 review – an excellent and affordable mid-range 15-inch laptop

12 Comments

  1. Zaid

    July 20, 2017 at 10:50 pm

    can I have your opinion between Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 with Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ, which will you prefer as your daily laptop and to do some work.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2017 at 2:31 am

      They're not really the same, the A515 is a more affordable option and Asus's alternative is the X556 line. The Vivobook S15 is a thinner, more compact and lighter unit, but with a small battery. IF you don't care about portability all that much, the Aspire 5 is probably the more practical choice.

      • Zaid

        July 21, 2017 at 3:08 am

        Thank you for your reply.. really help a lot now..
        BTW love your review.. keep it up!!

  2. George

    August 2, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    Hi there if you are able to, can you provide links to purchase this ? (multiple websites if possible)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2017 at 4:49 pm

      It's not widely available for now, you'll have to give it a few more weeks if you can

    • StepOne

      August 2, 2017 at 6:03 pm

      This is the official link provided by Acer for purchase. This model is $600 with mx150.

      microcenter.com/product/481303/Aspire_5_A515-51G-52R1_156_Laptop_Computer_-_Black

  3. Eli

    September 3, 2017 at 3:51 am

    Hey, I wanted to know which one is better overall if I wanted to buy a new laptop:
    This aspire a5 or the Acer Aspire E 15 (E5-575G-57D4) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2017 at 4:43 am

      Are they similarly configured? OR do they get different parts?

  4. Jack

    September 16, 2017 at 2:58 am

    I purchased this laptop a couple weeks ago. The problem that I'm having is that it says upgradable to 20gb ram but I can't find where this spare slot is to upgrade it. Any help would be awesome. I called acer…. wasn't helpful at all and their knowledge of their own product was embarrassing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:41 am

      There's a single DIMM that can take an up to 16 GB stick, and there's also 4 GB soldered on the motherboard. Yours probably comes with a smaller DIMM, you'd have to replace it with a 16 GB one

      • Jack

        September 16, 2017 at 2:06 pm

        Thank you I found it. Your awesome!

  5. Rishabh Soni

    September 19, 2017 at 7:25 am

    Is it good laptop for programming purpose
    In c, c++, java,Python etc..
    I m beginner and I m confuse is this laptop good for me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *