Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook UX410UQ Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX410UQ (UX3410UQ) review – multimedia notebook in a portable package

16 Comments

  1. edi

    June 30, 2017 at 6:38 am

    Swift 3 or ux410?

  2. Ed Lawrence

    July 15, 2017 at 6:42 pm

    Hi Andrei, I'm considering getting the UX410 with an i5 for £799 from AO.com, as an upgrade from my UX305 with an M3 processor (which is hard to buy nowadays, but used to retail at £550). I've assumed the UX410 is 'better', along with assuming the i5 is better than the M3. However I'm not sure it's £250 better – the UX305 is practically silent compared to the always-on fan of the UX410, and the M processor has some advantages over the i. Can I be confident that the UX410 is really an upgrade, or is the difference not worth £250?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 4:21 am

      Hy, performance wise the UX410 is better. It also gets a larger screen, more ports, upgradeable RAM and storage and a slightly better keyboard imo. On the other hand, the UX410 is noisier (CPU with fan, that can be addressed with that small piece of software mentioned in the post) and heavier, so if you ask me you shouldn't upgrade unless the M3 UX305 is no longer powerful enough to do what you require it to do.

  3. Ivan

    July 23, 2017 at 5:35 am

    Hi Andrei, I'm considering getting this (UX410UQ) or the UX430UQ. What would you recommend for an incoming freshman law student? Is the fan really that bothersome?

  4. Robert

    July 29, 2017 at 6:23 am

    Andrei, can you please tell me how annoying fan noise on this laptop truly is? Is it just audible or is it like something that is just too much and does not occur on most of the other laptops?

  5. Axel

    August 18, 2017 at 2:00 am

    I have the UX410UQ and added an 128GB PM961.
    In AS SSD I get 1390 MB/s read and 740 MB/s write.
    In Crystal it is 1820 MB/s read and 790 MB/s write.
    All drivers are newest available. I tested with older drivers (esp. VMMe) but always with worse results.
    Is the 128GB really so slow? Did you guys with 1850/1650 MB/s install anything special??
    Thanks a lot!
    BTW if anybody is unsure if he should buy the UX410: I would never buy it again but I can't return it. The keyboard is flexible crap, the click touchpad is plastic crap and sooo annoying, only the top is aluminum, everything else cheap plastic. No thanks. Go for Dell if you can.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 1:06 pm

      1. If you'll look through he comments on the UX430 review here on the site you'll notice the m.2 slot is hooked to PCIe 2.0 lanes, so an NVMe slot won't run at full speed on this laptop. I can't tell for sure what are the limits though, you'll need to dig further. But, do you really tell the difference in daily use? If so, in what kind of application? If you're using a 128 GB SSD I'd reckon it's just for OS and software, and personally I really doubt you can tell the difference between 1.8 and 2.5+ Gbs reads. I for one can't, at least.

      PS: Is there a Dell alternative for this laptop? Which one?

  6. Axel

    August 20, 2017 at 12:41 am

    I agree, in daily use I probably wouldn't recognize any difference. Only when copying large files or many small files, because my PM961 also has a bad 4k speed of 45 / 130 MB/s. Generally a 256GB PM961 in other laptops performs twice as fast and this is maybe a difference one can recognize.

    I just wondered why my write speed is only 750 instead of 1600 as most of the owners in the ux430uq comments mentioned. I wonder if they used Samsungs newest NVMe drivers as I did.

    And as a Dell alternative I would recommend a refurbished XPS13 which is way better quality and used still better and cheaper than a new UX410uq. I also like the Latitude 5480 or 7480 which have a great keyboard, touchpad and display. The former models 5470 or 7450 are available very cheap as refurbished versions. (I know that these laptops are slightly bigger than the UX410)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2017 at 7:30 am

      Unfortunately I can't help with the speeds, i no longer have the laptop around and never tried adding a faster drive on my sample in the first time, perhaps others can pitch in. You could also drop a comment in here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/14425-asus-zenbook-ux430-review/ , there are more people following that post and some of them upgraded the storage.

      On the other topic, yes, it's true the XPS and those Latitudes are nicer laptops, but I don't think it's fair comparing a new product to refurbished ones. Yes, you can get good value with refurbs and it's an option to consider, but I'd reckon most regular buyers would be more comfortable buying a new product. And as a new product, this Zenbook is a pretty solid option for the price imo.

  7. Axel

    August 21, 2017 at 12:00 am

    One more word to the laptop: A thing about the UX410UQ that really made me mad is the fact that everything is made of cheap plastic except the screen cover. The former Zenbooks where made of an aluminum unibody. But almost none of the review sites I read mentioned that fact. They always hyped the nicely cover of brushed aluminum. So I thought the whole laptop is made of aluminum parts. Unfortunately I bought it here in South East Asia and cannot return it. I'd wish that review sites more clearly describe the material of a laptop.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2017 at 2:57 am

      The inner deck is aluminum as well, at least that was the case with our review sample. Are you sure it's different with your unit? Put your teeth on the surface, it might sound strange but you'll feel the difference between plastic and metal this way. The underbelly is indeed made out of plastic. These are clearly mentioned in our article :)

  8. Axel

    August 25, 2017 at 1:10 am

    Yes, everything is made of plastic, except the cover with the ASUS logo. I bought mine in Vietnam and the model number is UX410UQK – with a K at the end. Maybe ASUS produced a cheaper plastic version of the UX410UQ for the Vietnames market. Cause here really nobody cares about the material or quality and when I mention the material everybody looks at me as if I am an extraterrestrian ;-)
    Well, I will try to find out if there are different models of the UX410UQ. The Vietnamese Asus website lists prices of USD700 for the 410UQ (with i5, 4GB and HDD) and USD900 for the 430UA (with i5, 8GB and 256GB SSD). What where the prices in US?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 4:16 am

      They're not available in the US, but over here in Europe their a little under 1000 EUR for the i7 configuration with 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD. The Ux410 is a little cheaper than the 430.

  9. Mickey

    September 8, 2017 at 3:42 pm

    Hi, If i wanted to play some games such as dota 2 and fifa on this laptop would it be able to run? In the review it was mentioned in the battery section that you wouldn't get much from gaming but it is unclear to me if it is just in regards to the battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 11, 2017 at 5:03 pm

      It's in regards to battery. Gaming performance is explained in the Hardware and Performance section. Such games should run fine on the 940MX chip, although you might have to trim down graphics settings in the latest Fifa releases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *