Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Predator 17 G9-793 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Acer Predator 17 G9-793 review – gaming laptop with Nvidia GTX 1070 graphics

29 Comments

  1. Nathan Brown

    September 21, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    What happens if you turn off G-Sync? Can Optimus be turned on? What about battery life with Optimus?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2016 at 2:57 pm

      That’s not how this works as far as I’m aware. The Intel chip is disabled so there’s no Optimus at all, which means that even if you switch GSync off you’re not going to get increased battery life, as the Nvidia chip would still be running.

      • Nathan Brown

        September 21, 2016 at 4:25 pm

        Some G Sync laptops before had manual switches. Would be handy. I do not need a GTX 1070 for web browsing, it’s overkill.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 22, 2016 at 4:05 am

          Well, GSync can be switched off from the Nvidia Panel if I remember correctly, but again, that’s not changing anything about the fact that the integrated chip is not available. You should look for implementations of 1070 with Optimus, but I can’t think of any. There are some for 1060 though.

  2. Ewan

    September 26, 2016 at 12:54 am

    My P870DM-G has near identical specs — the HDD is only 1TB though and no internal optical drive.
    The main differences are my CPU is the Intel Core i7-6700K Processor (8M Cache up to 4.0 GHz).
    And my video cards are dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 980M SLI with 8GB GDDR5 VRAM and G-Sync.
    As far as I can determine, it is very close to the newer GTX 1070, with both having superior performance to the to the GTX 980. Perhaps my 980Ms run a little cooler though?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2016 at 3:47 am

      It might not run cooler, as these newer iterations usually get tweaked cooling systems and the 980M and 1070 have the same max TDP as far as I know. Plus, with the 1070 being faster, it might not have to run at the same loads for a given task. What I mean by that is if the 980M would have to run at 80% in a given game, the 1070 will probably run at a lower load for the same experience.

      • Ewan

        September 26, 2016 at 6:40 am

        Yes, that could well be the case with the more modern card. But for those looking for a poor man’s 1070 perhaps 980M SLI graphics solution might be worth a look, i.e. run out models on special?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 26, 2016 at 10:28 am

          Yes, but on a laptop an SLI option means you’ll end up with something huge. And I don’t think a 980M SLI is going to be cheaper than a 1070 or a 1080 . Not really worth the trade-in imo, but it might depends on each particular case

          • Ewan

            September 26, 2016 at 12:12 pm

            Yes but your Acer Predator is huge too, even WITH the 1070. I’m just grateful, thanks to the MXM interface, the graphics are upgrade-able in the future. Ditto the desktop type Intel Core i7-6700K Processor, as I understand it is not soldered in — hard to imagine it needing to be upgraded though!
            No not really portable, but these big beasts should be thought of more as ‘transportable’ gaming rigs.

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 26, 2016 at 4:17 pm

            Yes, yours has a few interesting features and yes, this Acer isn’t a lot smaller or a lot lighter. But I’d reckon yours was quite pricey?

          • Ewan

            September 26, 2016 at 12:28 pm

            Haha, annoying cover lights! My P870DM-G has them too. I can’t say they made much of an impression on me thus far either way. I guess I only see them when the cover closed. Do they serve to indicate the state of charge the battery is at perhaps, or is it purely cosmetic?

            hidevolution.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/p/8/p870dm_4.jpg

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 26, 2016 at 4:18 pm

            My biggest nit with these is that they make the laptop a no-go for strict professional environments with strict requirements, as well as for some schools. I don’t understand why manufacturers keep ignoring this fact.

          • Ewan

            September 26, 2016 at 7:54 pm

            Full disclosure is that my P870DM-G was not quite new but still has the bulk of the 20 months extended warranty –from June 2016. But checking the local ClClevo builder, Metabox’s website, to replicate my system using 1070 graphics brings the total build to over AUD $4000.

            affordablelaptops.com.au/contents/en-us/p3198_metabox-p870dm2-g_clevo.html

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 27, 2016 at 3:37 am

            That’s a lot, but computers are quite expensive over there, right? I’m seeing an Asus G752VS going for around 3500 AUD.

      • Ewan

        September 27, 2016 at 1:12 am

        Plain, yet Pascal, the smaller and lighter GTX 1070 equipped notebook maybe the Gigabyte P57X v6. No 4K screen, or even G-Sync, but there is a HDMI 2.0 output allowing 4K out put to an external monitor and at the same time promising better battery life. The case design is plain and nondescript and the specs otherwise are somewhat modest.
        At the end of the day the price is less than AUD $3K in Australia, which is what I ended up paying for a few months old, fully decked out gaming laptop which happens to have a longer warranty anyway — 20 months.

        • Ewan

          September 27, 2016 at 4:16 am

          For that price I am seeing FHD display only and a 256GB SSD. Upgrade to your test unit’s specs and it drifts easly to north of AUD $4K+

          • Ewan

            September 27, 2016 at 4:20 am

            Oh Asus, not Acer, the Acer Predator 17 G9-793 with 1070 graphics has not yet arrived down under as far as far as I can see.

          • Andrei Girbea

            September 27, 2016 at 6:43 am

            True, the 4K screen is especially damn expensive. Clevos and the like are usually well priced, so I don’t expect the ROG or this Predator to go cheaper.

  3. Ewan

    September 26, 2016 at 3:47 am

    The P870DM-G graphics are listed as, ‘Upgradeable MXM 3.0b; double GPU’
    Whatever that means?
    Anyway, in five years time — how long I am predicting the GTX 1070 and 980M SLi graphics will be good for — I’ll find out if there is an upgrade option.

  4. Nathan Brown

    October 1, 2016 at 4:47 am

    What would happen if you disable/underclock cores on the CPU, does the battery life improve?

    Also, does the Low TDP Setting in the Windows Power Settings (in Advanced) change the battery much. An example is this, laptopmag.com/articles/increase-battery-life-dell-xps-13

    The XPS 13 got 40 Mins extra Web Browsing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 1, 2016 at 2:49 pm

      Undervolting the CPU helps with battery life to some extent, disabling cores might as well, but I never tried it tbo.

      The Battery life profile should also boost battery life, If you look at this pictures of playing a 1080p movie, the CPU runs at around 2.1 Ghz for the msot part. With the lowest power profile and Battery Saving activate its frequency should drop and the battery life increase.

      However, if you’re actually interested in long battery life on such hardware, I’d advise getting something with Nvidia Optimus and no GSync, which has an active integrated Intel HD graphics chip that runs with basic tasks, and the dedicated Nvidia chip would only jump in when needed. Not sure if there are any with 1070 graphics, but worth a look.

  5. Ewan

    October 1, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    Oh the 1070 only has 3GB of memory and yet there is 32GB of RAM?
    My older W370ET — 17″ matt, full-HD, GTX660M 2GB DDR5 VRAM — has a removable battery pack.
    I guess this feature has been removed in laptops because it was realised few people ever bought a second battery pack. Although now I am reading that the overall life of replaceable laptop batteries was poor, a significant decline in less than two years.
    Large gaming laptops have performance first and foremost in mind and are not really designed to be unplugged for very long, but if you are desperate there are always power banks; I keep one in my locker at work.

    There is new battery advancements too on the way, i.e. the anode-free li-metal battery that could achieve an energy density of up to 500 Wh/kg – about twice the capacity of the current cells found in Tesla’s vehicles for example.

  6. Fabio

    November 8, 2016 at 8:45 am

    would you prefer this laptop or the msi ge62 vr with gtx 1060? need help, i heard that the acer predator heats up very fast… ill wait for your reply guys. thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 9, 2016 at 3:53 am

      well, they're different, you can't really compare them. Still, what I can say is the Predator doesn't heat up fast and doesn't get that hot either, as you can see in the Temperatures section.

  7. P

    November 10, 2016 at 5:05 am

    Is this a hands-on review or a speculative one based on specs and last year's model?

    I only ask as a number of key details seem a bit off – like the 8Gb 1070 being listed as having 3Gb VRAM.

  8. Shahriar Farkhan

    December 30, 2016 at 1:02 pm

    I bought this on sale for $1499 USD 1070/16GB/512GB SSD/1TB HD – Some thoughts that may differ from what the article states:
    The thermals are great the CPU does not throttle – Witcher 3 at full ULTRA and the CPU sits at 74-80ºC while the laptop sits on my laptop and my thighs are warm but NOT toasty.
    The backlight bleed is an issue. I was lucky – mine has a tiny amount on one corner not annoying. I watched a guy return his because it was amazingly bad. I need to see what happens when you put it in a bag and their's pressure on the screen's back – Maybe it will get worse.
    The keyboard is better than the 502VS (1070) and the MSI GS63VR I tried. The MSI has good feel but the keyboard backlighting left something to be desired on glare. I actually type quite well on it.
    It's a tank weight wise and only a few backpacks will hold it because ACER decided on something so wide 12.7 inches across which makes it hard to fit in most 17.3" backpacks. That being said, I use it on my lap in front of the TV on the couch and it's fine, the ergonomics work for me.

  9. Joyce

    June 4, 2017 at 7:11 am

    Help please: I just bought Acer Predator G9-793-784F – Gaming Laptop for € 2249
    It has a very poor connection to my wifi. It interrupts the whole time. It seems the driver doesn't know what to do. I tried several places in the room, but it still doesnt work.Poor connection to my printer, facebook and on-line stuff. I am not a computer expert.
    Can someone advise me what to do?

    • Svper

      June 18, 2017 at 6:39 pm

      You are better off checking the acer forums or a tech support forum. Acer has known wifi issues perhaps there is a driver you can download on their website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *