Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus Vivobook TP501UA Asus On one hand the Asus TP501UA is a good 15-inch convertible, nicely built and capable of handling daily activities and games, if you opt for the TP501UB model with dedicated graphics. On the other, Asus bundle this series with a crappy TN screen and a 38 Wh battery, when the competition gets IPS panels and larger batteries on their 15-inch convertibles. These need to be compensated with affordable price tags, otherwise the Vivobooks TP501s are going to be hard sells. Asus Vivobook TP501UA On one hand the Asus TP501UA is a good 15-inch convertible, nicely built and capable of handling daily activities and games, if you opt for the TP501UB model with dedicated graphics. On the other, Asus bundle this series with a crappy TN screen and a 38 Wh battery, when the competition gets IPS panels and larger batteries on their 15-inch convertibles. These need to be compensated with affordable price tags, otherwise the Vivobooks TP501s are going to be hard sells. Andrei Girbea 3.5 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/asus-vivobook-tp501ua-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 3.5 5

Asus Vivobook TP501UA review – 15-inch convertible notebook

9 Comments

  1. Klabu

    May 29, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    You should hurry to update your review, as it seems that asks used a much better screen (not tn, but ips), a chassis of aluminum and even a stronger battery. I, other words you review as it is now is completely worthless, which is a real pity, because it is accurate and well made, only it reviews a product that does not exist. So please hurry up! It seems, the new product is now on the market for at least 2-3 months!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 29, 2016 at 4:04 pm

      I’ve reviewed a certain product, at that time. In the meantime things might have changed, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to modify the existing review of that product :)

      • Klabu

        June 1, 2016 at 2:37 pm

        What about writing a new one on the new VivoBook TP 501, actually on the market? I would greatly appreciate it.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 1, 2016 at 4:27 pm

          I couldn’t get it for tests till now. I’ll ask, but here’s no guarantee.

  2. Valentin Petrov

    June 4, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    Bought it from Best Buy. It is well designed except few nuisances like the misleading and non-well responsible bilingual keyboard. It came with many pre-installed applications and was EXTREMELY slow. Changed the original 1 Tb Seagate to an SSD. The speed increased to acceptable. But I am a programmer. So when I started some intense calculations and network communications, BANG! It crushed showing only a black screen. After this, no signs of life unless I shut it down.The behavior is consistent and first and single experience of such kind in my practice. My software (causing the breakdown) runs on all sort of machines without any problems. SoI cant use this laptop for work and this was the reason I have bought it.
    I shall stay away from Asus laptops in the future.

    • Malcolm Hollett

      June 21, 2017 at 5:21 pm

      I've had a very similar experience to you. In my opinion, the laptop is trash if you intend to use it for any sort of programming and is an just an overall pain for everyday use

  3. Dylan

    August 24, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    Hi I bought one of this model
    I found out I cannot be wake up from sleep by keyboard or touchpad
    Is it normal for this model? (I don’t know Asus cancelled this feature or not)
    Anyone can help me with my problem? I will very appreciate

  4. Marcos Tiberio Fonseca Gargallo

    April 11, 2017 at 9:49 am

    BAD cooling system, my laptop is broken after exactly a year and no warranty from the supplier since I changed the HDD to a SSD and the RAM from 8 to 12GB.

  5. Richard Beasley

    November 27, 2017 at 10:44 pm

    The current all plastic 2 in 1 as of Nov 2017 the TP510UA has a Gen 8 processor, 8 G of DDR4 with half shared with the integrated 620 Intel graphics adapter only one dime is filled with RAM so you have a single phase memory and half is lost to the graphics.

    With a slight bit of effort this could have been a winner, but as it is I am feeling ripped off. It's either add some RAM, as ASUS screems voiding the warranty as I deal with removing the motherboard or send it back to Amazon.
    I don't have any idea what the screen is but it works fine.
    I am tired of the BS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *