Lenovo Yoga 9i review (2022 model – Intel Core i7-1260P, OLED)

27 Comments

  1. Aurelio

    April 20, 2022 at 7:15 am

    Hi, Derek,
    I've really been appreciating (very much so) all of your latest reviews.

    It produces a sensation similar to talking to a friend: good flow, interesting facts, accessible language. I really like it.

    When you talked about that "white-coating-prejudice" on the G14, I was eating that up with a spoon! (I had a very similar opinion prior to never have seen the white G14 in person). Now you're talking about the sound and construction of this laptop and here I am, spoon in hand once again… :-p

    I thoroughly enjoyed all the detailed information in this article. Overall, I only wish you could have done a slightly deeper coverage of the active pen included with this model, but we can't turn you into an illustrator overnight… :-)

  2. Lorry

    April 21, 2022 at 5:18 am

    Flagship laptop, newest processor, biggest 75Wh battery, sweet-spot resolution, yet only 4 HOUR battery life. Not too surprising based on what we've seen from 12th Gen H45 but still astounding.

    Curious how same Asus ZenBook hardware with U-series Intel and Ryzen fare. It is certainly strange to see most manufacturers switching to Intel P & H-series on premium ultrabooks meant to "do-it-all", which includes portability from battery life.

    Personally I'd like to see more battery-focused ultrabooks with 9 Watt chips (Intel i5-1230U and upcoming Ryzen Dragon-Crest CPU). Last year, Lenovo X1 Nano was the first laptop to successfully pull this off.

    • DavidC1

      April 25, 2022 at 11:06 am

      There seems to be something fishy about this system/config. Other reviews are saying the battery isn't stellar but 12 hour on video is way better than under 11 hours in total idle and 0% brightness.

      7W on idle is something that I bet I can go in there and easily drop it by 2W. Something is preventing the CPU from kicking into package idle.

      I speculate even 3W is possible and that 4W reduction will apply uniformly to all the tests Ultrabookreview has done.

      You are talking going from 10 hours in idle to 20-something hours and 6 hours to 10 hours in video playback. Even the worst case scenario you'd get 6 which is a far cry from 4 here.

  3. DM

    April 22, 2022 at 6:10 am

    Any idea if Lenovo is planning on releasing a non 2-in-1 model of this? Like they did last year with the Slim 9i (with the poor touchpad)

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 22, 2022 at 4:10 pm

      No idea at this point. They might. Why do you want a non 2-in-a version though? Matte screen?

  4. Aurelio

    May 2, 2022 at 3:33 am

    Is there any chance you guys are reviewing a laptop with the i5 1240p processor, like the Acer Swift 3?
    I am still hopeful of a more moderate battery performance with a smaller/simpler display and a lower speed/power CPU like the 1240p.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 2, 2022 at 3:49 am

      I don't have anything on my radar with that processor yet. Andrei might though. He usually reviews the Acer stuff anyways.

      • Aurelio

        May 2, 2022 at 4:48 am

        Thank you for the quick reply, Derek! :-)
        I was wondering because Acer has a big global launch of their laptops on the 18th of this month, and I thought that maybe they were eager to have some reliable reviews to go with it.

  5. Colin Brown

    May 6, 2022 at 6:53 pm

    I've got a base MacBook pro 14 and an 11" M1 iPad Pro but I'd really like to switch to a 2-in-1. Do you think I should choose this over the Surface Pro 8? Thanks! I don't want to lose too much of the excellent screen/speakers of the MBP when I switch.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 6, 2022 at 10:45 pm

      I haven't reviewed the Surface Pro 8 yet so I can't make a full comparison between it and this Yoga. Being Oled, the screen on the Yoga is probably better than that on the surface pro 8, which is still IPS. If you have the latest MacBook pro 14, the mini led is very close to looking like OLED so the yoga would be closest to your Macbook. But the Yoga screen is not 120hz like the MacBook or Surface Pro is, so you'll have to weigh accordingly what you prefer.

      Without even touching it, I can say without a doubt that the Surface Pro is a better "notepad" than the Yoga. The keyboard flips back better on the Surface models and is way more portable and "tablet-like". I'd only call the Yoga adequate in comparison. Take this with a grain of salt because I'm only speaking from experience from my year with the surface pro 3 & 4. I'm sure MS hasn't ruined it though – it's probably an even better experience than I had, which was already excellent.

      The Yoga is a better laptop though. That's probably the biggest thing to get over with on the Surface Pro, which is the kickstand. It'll never "feel" like a laptop but it'll be close. In other words, it's good enough but there will be some points where a laptop would be easier to place on your lap. You really just have to pay attention to how you currently use your laptop and determine if a Surface Pro would fit your routine. If you have an ipad pro with the keyboard folio, it's a close approximation to what a Surface pro is like.

      Hope this helps.

  6. pat

    May 8, 2022 at 9:41 pm

    do you have any info if PWM pulse width modulation is used when dimming the screen?
    I was told all OLED screens use it and if so then next question is at what frequency?
    I dont want to end up with headaches and/or eye strain after buying this.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 9, 2022 at 8:50 pm

      Unfortunately I don't have the equipment to check for PWM, sorry.

      NBC has the 4k panel clocked at 239hz. They didn't get the 3k panel like I did though.

  7. Kurt

    May 9, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    Hi, is there a typical "graininess" that existed on older laptops with OLED Touchscreens?

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 9, 2022 at 8:45 pm

      What do you mean by graininess? Like a texture on the screen itself?

      • Kurt

        May 9, 2022 at 9:43 pm

        https://www.ultrabookreview.com/49253-asus-zenbook-14x-oled/

        The other reviewer here mentioned it a few times being an issue caused by touch digitizer on OLED displays. I was wondering if Lenovo's implementation might be different from Asus.

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 10, 2022 at 8:34 am

        we don't have the tools to test for PWM, but from what I'm seeing, this is no longer an issue with most of the modern Samsung OLED panels.

      • Derek Sullivan

        May 10, 2022 at 1:04 pm

        Hi Kurt. It was present on my model but it I didn't find it that bad. I only noticed it when typing on Word where the screen is mostly white. It's hard to describe how bad it is though because my threshold is probably different than others. I pretty much wrote it off as being the digitizer.

      • Kurt

        May 10, 2022 at 11:11 am

        Good to know, thanks!

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 10, 2022 at 11:59 am

        Kurt, sry, I miss-replied earlier.

        On what you asked, the graininess is still present on all the Asus touch OLED laptops, but the issue is with the touch/digitizer layer, not with the OLED panel. Derek has also noticed some graininess in Word on the Lenovo, but there's no way to tell for sure if it's the same as on the Asus laptops. I haven't seen other reviewers complaining about it, so perhaps it bothers me more than others.

        Take it with a grain of salt, though, since neither I or Derek had both an Asus and Lenovo touch OLED side by side for a proper comparison. I had the Asus models, he had the Lenovos, and we're cross-checking impressions.

  8. Kurt

    May 10, 2022 at 9:43 pm

    Ahh okay thanks for a detailed answer!

    I owned a HP Envy OLED touchscreen laptop few years ago that had this problem which made me return it because videos and text looked very pixelated despite resolution being "4K". And recently noticed Alex from Linus Media Group mentioning it a few times in their OLED laptop reviews.

    I was considering buying new Lenovo Yoga 7 14 laptop with 2.8K OLED Touchscreen, which I guess is the same one on all the recent Asus and Lenovo laptops.

    notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Yoga-7-convertible-to-launch-this-July-with-14-inch-2-8K-OLED-touchscreen-option-AMD-Ryzen-6000U-APUs-and-USB4-connector.616905.0.html

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 11, 2022 at 8:55 am

      It's probably the same screen, yes. I'm keeping an eye on that one as well, when available, for a review.

  9. Alberto

    May 12, 2022 at 1:12 pm

    Hardware Canucks (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFQuUcQ_tko) says the display it's 90Hz, are you sure 100% it is instead 60Hz? Did you check the settings? (reddit.com/r/Lenovo/comments/ueo8kt/the_lenovo_spec_was_wrong_the_yoga_9i_14_gen_7/)

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 12, 2022 at 2:51 pm

      I originally thought this too because it appeared to be the exact same screen as what I saw on the IdeaPad Slim 7. But I checked everywhere for the settings and mine only allowed 60hz. Turns out after looking at the hwinfo specs, it wasn't the same screen after all. I even checked with Lenovo to confirm and they said 60hz only. The marketing literature they provided me also said 60hz.

      There might be another option out there that's 90hz though. It's still not on Lenovo's site, so I don't know what options there are going to be. They still only have their base model on sale so who knows.

      • Derek Sullivan

        May 12, 2022 at 2:58 pm

        I did just now reach out to Lenovo again to comment. We'll see what they say.

      • Alberto

        May 12, 2022 at 5:11 pm

        Thank you very much for your consideration and availability! Lenovo is not really transparent because also notebookcheck.net claims: "Interestingly, the panel on our test unit was set to 60 Hz. Users may want to check the display settings to make sure 90 Hz is enabled." (https://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-Core-i7-1260P-debut-Lenovo-Yoga-9-14IAP7-convertible-review.616256.0.html)
        Anyway, you are not the only one who says is 60Hz, even their website describes the display as 60Hz. This is really confusing.

      • Derek Sullivan

        May 13, 2022 at 1:02 am

        That makes me feel a little less crazy – NBC is pretty thorough too. Hoo boy, and on top of that The Verge just got their review in and they have it as 60Hz. lol

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 12, 2022 at 6:56 pm

      Lenovo just got back to me. Apparently it is 90 Hz and it was an error in the reviewer specs I got sent. It doesn't explain why I was only seeing 60hz, but they did do a factory reset on my unit and we're able to see 60 and 90 Hz options. So I wasn't going crazy when I first got it, but I must have just done something that removed it as an option…

      Regardless, thanks for bringing this to my attention. I'll update the article/specs shortly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *