Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 5 14 review (2021 Flex 5 14ALC05 model, AMD Ryzen 7 5700U)

9 Comments

  1. Peter

    April 26, 2021 at 8:43 am

    Nice review! Would be great if you could test the single-core performance as well.

    Ah shoot I see the CB single-core score already. Nevermind :D

  2. A.

    April 29, 2021 at 1:44 pm

    The reason why I skipped the convertibles from Lenovo (even though I would have enjoyed one) were the hinges. A quick search for "lenovo hinges class action" returns plenty of results on this theme:

    classaction.org/blog/unusable-lenovo-flex-5-yoga-730-2-in-1-laptops-plagued-by-screen-defect-class-action-claims

    sauderschelkopf.com/investigations/lenovo-yoga-broken-hinges-class-action-lawsuit/

    topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/consumer-products/electronics/lenovo-class-action-lawsuit-says-yoga-touchscreen-laptops-are-defective/

    topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/consumer-products/judge-allows-class-action-lawsuit-against-lenovo-over-two-in-one-computer-to-proceed/

    With a sigh, I decided to go with a safer design, so I bought myself a clamshell (Lenovo Yoga Slim 7, an otherwise excellent device).

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 30, 2021 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks. That's a good point and something buyers should consider, but unfortunately, reliability issues are impossible for me to call out in reviews, as I'm only using these laptops for weeks, rarely months. I wasn't aware it's that bad with the Lenovo laptops. I'll add a mention in the article.

  3. N

    May 22, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Nice review, thanks, but with one or maybe 2 big mistakes,
    it has not got the HDMI 2.0, but only HDMI 1.4b (is limited to 4k at max 30Hz)
    and next crippling, by the
    https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/IdeaPad/IdeaPad_Flex_5_14ALC05
    there is no DisplayPort over USB-C mentioned, just
    1x USB-C 3.2 Gen 1 (support data transfer, Power Delivery 3.0)

    But for 15" version 15ALC05
    they have in specifications
    https://psref.lenovo.com/Product/IdeaPad/IdeaPad_5_15ALC05
    1xUSB-C 3.2 Gen 1 (support data transfer, Power Delivery 3.0 and DisplayPort 1.2)
    and the USB-C 3.2 Gen 1 is limited to just 5Gbit/s, so it will not probably fully support even the DP1.2

    So for these stupid crimplings I had to cancel my order, because I need to connect 2 displays with [email protected]
    But if someone is happy with FullHD displays, it could work for him.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2021 at 10:06 am

      Thanks. I haven't tested those out but I also have the Ideapad 14 with 5700U and will double-check the connections.

  4. Charlie

    June 5, 2021 at 6:30 pm

    The screen is not something special but if you are working for everyday tasks it is excellent. It is not for photographers or graphics specialists but For Web, compiling code etc is fine. You are exaggerating that the screen in completely useless. I used in also in rooms with strong lights and it was fine.

    • Rahul

      June 14, 2021 at 5:52 pm

      True. The explanation seems like other manufacturers are providing better display in this price segment and performance point of view.

  5. Charlie

    June 5, 2021 at 6:46 pm

    The problem with the screen is that it is uncalibrated out of the box. THis is why the colors looked washed out.

    If you add that calibration profile to windows setting:
    notebookcheck.net/uploads/tx_nbc2/N140HCA_E5B__CMN__________N140HCA_E5B.icm

    You will see that is like replacing the screen completely with a new one. Amazed !

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 5, 2021 at 6:55 pm

      Charlie, I'm glad you're happy with the screen on your laptop. I was not, but the beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and I'm just used to higher quality panels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *