Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

MSI Creator 17 2020 review – performance notebook with a mini LED display

11 Comments

  1. j

    July 24, 2020 at 6:31 pm

    awww man that's disappointing. but thank you so much for the review, you've probably just saved me a lot of money. it's probably between the gen 3 thinkpad p1/x1 or the new 16" macbook pro. wish the p1/x1's would use AMD's ryzens.

  2. Undecided

    July 26, 2020 at 11:33 am

    Same here 'J'. So much potential wasted here, when they could have attracted so many new customers with this new LED screen technology. Now also patiently awaiting the Thinkpad P1, P15 or even the P17 models, but they seem to be struggling with these releases. Apple has now entered a period of uncertainty with their just announced alternative chip replacement philosophy. Onset of a 2 years in limbo, with only hardcore Apple enthusiasts possibly purchasing a current MacBook Pro 16. Thanks UltraBookReview for conducting these extensive tests for us. You also saved me a lot of money.

    • vladx

      July 29, 2020 at 11:20 pm

      After undervolting the CPU (i7-10875H) I achieved 506 single core/ 4272 multi core in Cinebench R20 which is in line with Ryzen 4900HS so choosing Intel instead of AMD should be of no concern really.

  3. vladx

    July 29, 2020 at 12:33 am

    Hi, I own this laptop. Please test for "color banding" caused by MSI True Color interfering with the Intel Graphics drivers:

    https://imgur.com/BqgWymF

    If you get this issue as well please report it to MSI so it can get higher priority. Thanks!

  4. vladx

    July 29, 2020 at 1:05 am

    "Undervolting is disabled by default, and I couldn’t figure out how to enable it in the advanced BIOS settings"

    In order to unlock the hidden BIOS menu and make undervolting possible, you need to press a specific keys combination which I can send it to your email address if you want(I don't want to put it here publicly as I don't think MSI would approve).

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 29, 2020 at 10:49 pm

      Please post it publically. I tried the combination that I know that it works in some of Gaming laptops, but it didn't work on that unit.

      • vladx

        July 29, 2020 at 11:11 pm

        Ok, the combination is Left Alt + Right Ctrl + Right Shift + F2 (you might need to combine Fn + F2 or Win+ F2 depending on how the keyboard layout). Please report back the max undervolt value for CPU Core and Cache your unit achieved, mine was capped at -120 mV.

        Lastly, do you have any idea was Type C support is disabled by default? I enabled it now after unlocking the hidden BIOS menu so I'm wondering why MSI did that.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2020 at 5:18 pm

          weirdly, that didn't work on this sample

        • vladx

          August 4, 2020 at 5:26 pm

          Try disabling FN shortcuts with Fn + ESC and then try again with just <b>Left Alt + Right Ctrl + Right Shift + F2</b> without any Fn required. Also make sure to try it at least 5-10 times, it doesn't register the combination every time I attempt it for me either.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2020 at 5:42 pm

          Thanks, but I no longer have the sample around. I know this is finicky, I've experienced it on other MSI laptops in the past, but somehow it just didn't work on this sample. Anyway, I cannot retest and upload updated results

        • vladx

          August 4, 2020 at 5:36 pm

          Oh, also make sure to switch to the 2nd tab in the BIOS where the advanced options are located when you attempt the combination, I'm not sure it works if you attempt it in the default tab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *