Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Sony Vaio Duo 13 review – a big step forward

38 Comments

  1. Mike

    June 18, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Awesome review, i’ve been looking at picking up this devices for awhile now, any leads on a est shipping date? or perhaps you might have a guesstimation on when it will be available here in the US?

    thnx

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 18, 2013 at 8:41 am

      not sure, the best i can do is offer the estimates on Sony’s webstore. But you can check them out yourself as well

  2. shingo

    June 18, 2013 at 5:06 am

    Great review!
    I also care a lot about the battery life. It seems like it will meet all my needs!

  3. Elliot Ma

    June 18, 2013 at 8:58 am

    I love your Review of the sony pro 13 and duo 13, It is really awesome. Your reports are the best, I havn’t see a Review as good as you In my country. Thanks A lot.

  4. hello man

    June 18, 2013 at 10:58 am

    hi
    its really too bad that sony didnt include 2x slots for ram. this will effect gaming performance

  5. Joe

    June 18, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Thanx for Good Review ! Just one question: Are all versions of DUO-13 come with Sim Card slot for 3G connectivity or it is ONLY an extra option for additional 150USD which “cheaper” models don’t have?? In the review do you mean that actually all models (even for 1399$) come with 3G connectivity which is upgradable till LTE one?? Sorry, I’m a bit confused because when I two times called to SONY CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER in USA and then corresponded with them for 2days they confirmed that a sim card version of DUO-13 comes as an extra option ONLY which 1399 and 1899$ ready to ship models DON’T HAVE.. And I hope that 3/4G connectivity in this model is not for United States ONLY, because I’m going to use it worldwide ;) THANKS !

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2013 at 8:48 am

      From what I know, the base version does not offer the 3G/4G modem, but you can buy it as an extra option, for $149 . That’s how things are over here, can’t confirm if that’s so in the US though. The modem worked fine over here (Romania, Europe), but on 3G, I don’t have a 4G plan yet

      • ehab

        July 6, 2013 at 6:16 am

        So if I ordered from the US with AT&T 4G LTE wireless mobile broadband option, Can I replace the sim card with any other operater abroad or is it locked for AT&T only

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 6, 2013 at 3:09 pm

          Hmmm, not sure what to say about that. You’d better ask Sony

          • ehab

            July 7, 2013 at 6:12 am

            Thanks for your reply. Both Sony and AT&T don’t know or pretend not to know whether it is locked or not

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 7, 2013 at 8:29 am

            then head over to the Duo 13 owner’s lounge on notebookreview.com and see if someone bought this model and can share some light…

  6. DavidC1

    June 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

    The HD 4600 designation is wrong. It’s HD 4400. There will be significant differences between the two. Early benchmarks put it at nearly 2x.

    The HWINFO is just not displaying it right, and categorizing all GT2 graphics as HD 4600.

  7. 3rain3ug

    June 19, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    What you think… when it get’s cheaper ?
    ( the duo 11 is still on its start price point or ? )
    Any Chance to get the i7-4650U in it in europe ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 19, 2013 at 9:02 pm

      i do think the duo 11 will get cheaper. and hopefully we will have the 4650U in Europe, I’ll try to confirm this with sony

      • Sebb

        August 18, 2013 at 1:04 pm

        Did you ever get any more information regarding the Intel 4650U for this machine?
        Looking to place a order for one of these tho been hearing more and more that they might add the 4650U Q4 this year.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm

          No, I don’t know anything else about this config. My contacts at Sony said they will let me know if they have any updates on this configuration. I’ll shoot them another email, but I doubt I’ll find anything new

          • Phil

            October 10, 2013 at 3:56 pm

            Did you find out about the 4650u being available in Europe?

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 10, 2013 at 5:08 pm

            No, i had no word about that…

  8. AlexZh

    June 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks for the great review once again. Could you please tell me – how sturdier Duo 13 feels? Looks like the screen is still wobbling if touched in open position – is it annoying? How it feels in comparison with other touch screen laptops?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 23, 2013 at 4:36 pm

      it’s pretty solid, sturdier than many of the other laptops I’ve tested.

  9. Mark 55

    June 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Hi, thanks for the review. Do you know what the vertical angle is in degrees? It looks about 70. I want to test the angle on an old laptop to see if I can get on with it.

    Also, do you have any news on the n-trig stylus? I have heard that there are meant to be new drivers coming soon, that will allow pressure sensitivity in programs like Photoshop, but I have not heard anything definitive. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2013 at 8:49 am

      No, nothing new on the stylus. And I can’t say exactly what’s the inclination of the screen, I had to send the unit back… 60-70 sounds about right

  10. John

    June 28, 2013 at 6:07 am

    Excellent review and excellent product. Do you know if the device supports 802.11ac?

    Thanks for the reviews. Keep up the good work.

  11. Peter

    June 29, 2013 at 6:33 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Great review. I’m very close to pulling the trigger on the Duo 13. I think it’s probably the best hybrid laptop available at this time which is what I’m looking for. The question is: Should I get the i7-4500 processor now or wait a month for the i7-4650 CPU? How significant is the difference between these two processors?

    I’m expecting alot from this computer as I plan to use it as my “desktop”, laptop, and tablet. The most CPU intensive tasks would be for photo editing and trading stocks/options (for which I plan to add a monitor and use charting/trading software).

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2013 at 10:28 am

      Hey Peter. I haven’t tested either of the i7s til now so really can’t tell you much about them, other from what others wrote in their articles. Even so, the 4650 should be faster when it comes to graphics. So if you do care about that (games, maybe video editing), it could be a good idea to wait

    • Julius

      July 2, 2013 at 2:50 pm

      I have to make the same decision…the i7-4650U has a 300MHz higher clock-speed (3.3GHz vs 3GHz) than the i7-4500U while also having 100MHz lower minimal clock-speed (1.7GHz vs 1.8Ghz). In addition the i7-4650U sport a HD5000 which should be about 25-30% faster than the HD4000 (compared to about 10-15% faster HD4400 in relation to HD4000).
      You can see this benefits in reviews from the Macbook Air 2013 compared to other new Haswell 4500U/4200U devices.
      I’ve decided to wait and see, what comes up next. Maybe the Samsung ATIV Q will have the i7-4650U (but I doubt this), so I think one month isn’t realistic … the winter-line from SONY will come out somewhere around end of September-Octobre … not nice, but this is the information I’ve got from SONY…
      So if you can wait until fall, I’ll recommend you to do so

  12. T Harmon

    July 1, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I didn’t hear what type of digitizer the stylus used. Could you please repeat that? I mainly want to know if the stylus is pressure sensitive, and if it can be used with industry standard programs such as Corel Painter and Adobe Photoshop.

    The previous version (Duo 11) used n-trig drivers, which do not work with Photoshop in terms of pressure sensitivity. I see that the n-trig no longer has Sony listed on their website, which is a good sign. It means that Sony may have decided to go with a competitor. Could you please provide the graphic artist community with a review of this product in conjunction with Photoshop?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2013 at 5:16 pm

      It’s still an NTrig stylus from what I could tell. Didn’t have enough time to test it as much as I wanted as I had to send it back very fast. I’ll see if I could get my hand on it again and have a Photoshop video.

  13. Pennyfan

    August 19, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    The biggest disappointing part of this machine is the digitizer, it uses WinTab API instead of the more common WinTab API, that makes this digitizer incompatible with most graphic softwares including the Adobe series.
    Up until know, there is no good news about either Sony or Adobe is working to get this fix, this is the only reason I am not buying the Sony Duo 13 and put my hope on the next Windows Surface Pro.

  14. lorre

    August 20, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    hi i am a graphic designer and i am always using the adobe pack… sometimes 2 programs at ones, would this computer hold up to the many hours of work and the programs or will it crash.
    cuz the gadgets are pretty amazing to work with the camera scanner and the pen for photoshop and so.
    if you dont recommend me this one with of the ultrabook works for my field.
    thanks
    L

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2013 at 7:58 am

      lorre, as reported most Photoshop programs don’t work very well with the N-Trig digitizer on the Duo 13. Hopefully Adobe and Sony will work out some software updates in the future.

  15. Tunc

    August 23, 2013 at 2:46 am

    I have one question:
    How well the front camera work in video calls when it is in laptop mode?
    Considering that the hinge keep the screen at a fixed angle which is not looking straight to the user, doesn’t it show the ceiling?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2013 at 10:13 am

      if you have it on a desk, then it’s ok. otherwise, framing might be difficult

  16. Elizabeth

    August 27, 2014 at 5:30 am

    I’m selling mine it’s just under a month old asking 1200 with box Its a great laptop I’m just not really not techie, not into the hole touch screen windows 8 thing. Happy with the old basic laptop. If anyone interested email me: l2theizo@gmail.com

    Sony vaio duo13

    svD13223cxb
    Processor: Intel Core i5-4200u /1.60ghz
    Graphics: intel hd graphics 4400
    Display: 13.3/ 1920×1080
    total memory: 4GB
    storage: approx. 128 GB( solid state drive)
    compatibility and performance in a 64bit environment varies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *