Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus ROG Strix GL503VS Scar Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ROG Strix GL503VS review – GTX 1070 and a 144Hz GSync IPS display in a 15-inch gaming laptop

12 Comments

  1. Bobby

    November 23, 2017 at 12:37 pm

    What’s the response time of the screen? I thought I had seen somewhere it was 3ms or 5ms but I don’t see that anywhere now. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:44 am

      I don't have the tools to measure that. Should be good according to Asus, I'ved read something about 7 ms (GtG – i think)

  2. Nilay

    November 23, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    Hi. Can you compare this against MSI Raider GE63VR 7RF?
    I believe they are perfect competition of each other.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:45 am

      I didn't review the Raider, so can't share any insiders about it

  3. Matt

    November 23, 2017 at 3:28 pm

    Thank you so much for being the first to do a detailed review. A lot of us have been waiting on this model and haven't purchased yet!

    Questions:

    –I'm a bit saddened by the contrast ratio on the display, despite the ultra high refresh. Was this noticeable to you? Did you enjoy the 144hz?

    –G-Sync and throttling when unplugged: Did you notice that they had a custom power profile to toggle G-Sync on/off automatically?

    –Battery discharge: did the battery discharged while gaming? (This was a well known issue on the GL502VS that hopefully they've addressed)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:47 am

      1. The SYpder4 sensor that I use records lower brightness and contrast then other sensors. I'd say in reality it's probably better than what I got.
      2. Hmmm, no. Didn't look into this.
      3. Wasn't aware that was an issue and actually I didn't check. I played games for a couple of hours at a time and didn't get any low battery warnings, but again, I didn't specifically check if it discharged or not. I already returned the laptop and can't check anymore

  4. mystiq

    November 24, 2017 at 11:49 pm

    good review, and the first review GL503VS on the entire internet hahaha,

    andrei, is that true that thunderbolt 3 has no support for 4 lane 40gb/s ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2017 at 4:57 am

      As far as I can tell, it only has a 2x PCie lines port, but I don't have an eGPU to properly test it out

      • mystiq

        November 25, 2017 at 11:56 am

        would you mind to test the MSI GE63VR Raider please ? the unit has come with (GTX1060 or GTX1070).

  5. Wulf

    November 28, 2017 at 2:21 am

    i actually picked this up for about 1700 USD (about the price of the other slim, 1070 laptops) since some websites offered a small discount on Cyber Monday/ Black Friday with free shipping. This review actually helped me pick this one out, since i was thinking "whats the point of getting a 60hz display with a 1070?" and at the discounted price, i think its worth it. Even if the price drops down the line, for what i paid for, i wont even be mad :D THANK YOU M8

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2017 at 6:58 am

      nice, let us know how you feel about it if you have the time.

      • Wulf

        November 29, 2017 at 1:13 am

        I wont be getting it till the 8th of next month, but i'll let ya know how it goes once i get it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *