Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus ROG Strix GL503VS Scar Edition Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ROG Strix SCAR Edition GL503VS review – GTX 1070 and a 144Hz GSync IPS display in a 15-inch gaming laptop

60 Comments

  1. Bobby

    November 23, 2017 at 12:37 pm

    What’s the response time of the screen? I thought I had seen somewhere it was 3ms or 5ms but I don’t see that anywhere now. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:44 am

      I don't have the tools to measure that. Should be good according to Asus, I'ved read something about 7 ms (GtG – i think)

    • Amshuman G

      March 29, 2018 at 12:49 am

      The response time is 7ms as written on the ASUS website thanx to its IPS-like that is VA panel.

  2. Nilay

    November 23, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    Hi. Can you compare this against MSI Raider GE63VR 7RF?
    I believe they are perfect competition of each other.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:45 am

      I didn't review the Raider, so can't share any insiders about it

    • grapejuice

      December 20, 2017 at 11:34 pm

      I agree on this. Hopefully someone will send you a unit so you can compare them

  3. Matt

    November 23, 2017 at 3:28 pm

    Thank you so much for being the first to do a detailed review. A lot of us have been waiting on this model and haven't purchased yet!

    Questions:

    –I'm a bit saddened by the contrast ratio on the display, despite the ultra high refresh. Was this noticeable to you? Did you enjoy the 144hz?

    –G-Sync and throttling when unplugged: Did you notice that they had a custom power profile to toggle G-Sync on/off automatically?

    –Battery discharge: did the battery discharged while gaming? (This was a well known issue on the GL502VS that hopefully they've addressed)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 24, 2017 at 10:47 am

      1. The SYpder4 sensor that I use records lower brightness and contrast then other sensors. I'd say in reality it's probably better than what I got.
      2. Hmmm, no. Didn't look into this.
      3. Wasn't aware that was an issue and actually I didn't check. I played games for a couple of hours at a time and didn't get any low battery warnings, but again, I didn't specifically check if it discharged or not. I already returned the laptop and can't check anymore

    • Amshuman G

      March 29, 2018 at 12:54 am

      I did purchase this laptop couple of months ago, and I have to say- I thoroughly enjoy the 144Hz display and there is none like it at this price point. There is no on/off for G-SYNC, its always on and hence the poor battery backup. Third, battery doesnt discharge when plugged in and gaming. It charges fairly good while gaming too that is for example : I started playing Overwatch at 40% battery and after about 3 hrs I saw it to be full.
      Hope this helps you making a purchase. Glad to help

  4. mystiq

    November 24, 2017 at 11:49 pm

    good review, and the first review GL503VS on the entire internet hahaha,

    andrei, is that true that thunderbolt 3 has no support for 4 lane 40gb/s ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2017 at 4:57 am

      As far as I can tell, it only has a 2x PCie lines port, but I don't have an eGPU to properly test it out

      • mystiq

        November 25, 2017 at 11:56 am

        would you mind to test the MSI GE63VR Raider please ? the unit has come with (GTX1060 or GTX1070).

  5. Wulf

    November 28, 2017 at 2:21 am

    i actually picked this up for about 1700 USD (about the price of the other slim, 1070 laptops) since some websites offered a small discount on Cyber Monday/ Black Friday with free shipping. This review actually helped me pick this one out, since i was thinking "whats the point of getting a 60hz display with a 1070?" and at the discounted price, i think its worth it. Even if the price drops down the line, for what i paid for, i wont even be mad :D THANK YOU M8

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2017 at 6:58 am

      nice, let us know how you feel about it if you have the time.

      • Wulf

        November 29, 2017 at 1:13 am

        I wont be getting it till the 8th of next month, but i'll let ya know how it goes once i get it

        • Wulf

          December 12, 2017 at 3:00 am

          So I've had the laptop for over a week now, and some updates on it. It's quite good, while doing school work like docs and what-not it's pretty silent and getting about roughly 3 hours on the battery, a little bit more at times when its at the lowest brightness settings (library lights are really bright, with almost no glare in my experience so far) . While gaming, i keep it plugged it to take advantage of the 144 hz (since on battery it's gotta be configured to run at full power) but when I'm out, like say school the balanced settings is really nice for light gaming. With the ASUS Gaming center I can keep the laptop running a little bit hotter while keeping it at like 20% fan speed. Haven't experienced any thermal throttling even at almost 70C on both the CPU and GPU, in my experience it's really great. Thanks again for this review m8, it got me to purchase this laptop since it's the only actually review with this hardware

          • Andrei Girbea

            December 12, 2017 at 11:15 am

            Great it works for you and thanks for the feedback.

  6. Vendoz

    December 14, 2017 at 6:44 am

    I bought this laptop a week ago. The laptop is really a great and beautifull machine, but i think is too much louder. CPU and GPU temps never reach the 80°, but the lapton remains fresh.

    I hope some bios update to improve my fan's situation… i don't know if i will keep this machine, only for noise!

  7. Bram

    December 23, 2017 at 5:11 am

    Hello,

    Your honest review caused me to buy this laptop. I will get it tomorrow and i'm so excited. I will let you know more once he has arrived!

    Thanks in advance :)

  8. foodle

    December 31, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    I've had one for about a month. A couple of days ago, in the middle of a gaming session, it suddenly shutdown. Now it won't boot on battery or AC. Completely dead. Great specs, but build-quality and reliability are problems.

    Screen was really nice. 1070 performance was good. Fans were very loud. You'll want to use headphones. Keyboard was not great. Also, unlike the review, I found the trackpad really bad. Did not track finger movement well. Two finger scroll worked poorly.

    • Haziq

      February 21, 2018 at 6:27 am

      Is it still not working? Was it the black screen of death or was there just no power at all?

  9. Steven Colin

    January 3, 2018 at 12:59 am

    Does it drops fps while playing game??? I hear temparature of Asus gl503vs is 90 degree and will it okay if i play game 4-5 hours a day??? Thanks for read my comment. Hope you feedback to me!

    • Wulf

      February 20, 2018 at 12:22 am

      I haven't had a single issue with it so far. I had a lan party with my friends that lasted about 10 hours and i didnt have a single performance drop. The fans did kick up pretty high but didn't thermal throttle at all. but of course mileage will vary sometimes.

    • Amshuman G

      March 29, 2018 at 12:57 am

      No it will not. Just as Wulf said Ive played hrs continuously and never has it reacher more than 77C and throttled. But the fans do get loud.

  10. Sam

    January 4, 2018 at 11:46 am

    I'll be replacing my awful Clevo P775DM3 with this as soon as I can. I was looking at the GE63VR Raider but the ASUS looks much better and benefits from an IPS display over the MSI's TN panel. This review, the display and the looks of the ASUS have me sold. Thank's for a great write up!

  11. Giuseppe

    January 11, 2018 at 7:13 am

    Hi guys, i have a gl503vm1 with a strange problem of banding. I give you some screen. Is this normal (i don't think so). I will appreciate an answer, please, and thank you so much.

    imagebam.com/image/226292714594633

    imagebam.com/image/41db09714594683

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2018 at 1:04 pm

      Hmmm, no, that's not normal. Send it back and ask for a replacement.

      • Giuseppe

        January 17, 2018 at 12:51 pm

        Hi… amazon send to me a new unit and this have the problem too… i think it's a fault series at this point. I really don't know what to do…

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 17, 2018 at 2:40 pm

          well, personally I wouldn't keep a unit with a defective screen. But, can you upload some pics of the entire screen though, with different solid-color backgrounds? I can judge accurately the issue base don those pictures you sent earlier.

          • Giuseppe

            January 17, 2018 at 3:10 pm

            Thank you for your reply. Here some pics with both defective units.

            imagebam.com/image/4b942c721807433

            imagebam.com/image/9f96e3721807653

            The last one is a comparison with my tv connected with hdmi, that show a correct blacks.

            My pc have an auo53ed panel, both pc's.

            My only option is to give them back even the new one and buy a gl703vm hoping in a good screen… What you think?

          • Andrei Girbea

            January 18, 2018 at 5:27 am

            But is that a movie? Did you try with other sources and other players? And does it do the same with static high resolution images? Perhaps it's a codec/movie-source issue, and not a faulty screen?

          • Giuseppe

            January 18, 2018 at 8:19 am

            I can't reply on your comment below… anyway i tried the display with every content, games, movies, videos, images… basically it seems to do this problem with black and grey gradients, and searching on web it seems a problem of nvidia that doesnt supporto dithering… the only way to fix this in monitor that have this problem is to force on control panel 6bcp color profile, but this is not possible on my asus (only 8bcp) and the trick to force 6 bcp doesnt work.

            I already contacted amazon to send back both pc's… when they refund me with cash, i will buy a gl703vm (the same pc in 17 inch) that not suffer from this problem… i know this because i contacted a guy that own this a couple of days ago and not have any problem).

            I hope this story will end next week because those pc's send me to hell… worse experience ever. Anyway other region (i live in italy) seems to have a different display that is good.

          • Andrei Girbea

            January 19, 2018 at 12:56 pm

            weird, I didn't notice the same issue with my sample over here in Romania. Too bad you had to go through this and I hope the 703 works well for you.

          • Giuseppe

            February 8, 2018 at 8:49 am

            Hi, i just wanted to update you… gl703vm (italy) have a perfect screen finally (except for a small bleed on dx low corner on black pattern and max brightness).

            Finally i have a working pc after 1 month of patience and 3 pc's sended back. Just to laugh a little, even the first gl703vm that amazon sended to me was defective (spacebar not working). I think that asus have just a bad control-quality when assembly.

            This actual (working) pc is the 4 unit… never happened in my life such a thing. In other aspects this laptop is just awesome, solid build quality and feedback, good screen, 1060 push very well (even 4k 30fps).

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 8, 2018 at 4:46 pm

            Hopefully this one will do good for you. Sry to hear their QC is so crap, one more reason to buy from big stores that handle returns well.

  12. Mike

    January 15, 2018 at 11:00 am

    Can I turn G sync off for better battery life? And how long would the battery life be if I were to code on it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2018 at 1:11 pm

      No, that's not possible. The integrated chip within the CPU is disabled and the Nvidia chip always active, hence the shorter battery life. For coding, I'd say battery life should be similar to what I got in my browsing tests, but that depends on how taxing the programs you're using are on the CPU.

      • Almas

        February 26, 2018 at 4:31 pm

        Andrei Girbea, please tell me who is the best in fiability and temp?
        Asus gl503vs
        Msi GE63vr 7rg
        Msi Gs63vr
        Clevo p950
        Thank You!

        • Amshuman G

          March 29, 2018 at 1:01 am

          Hey man, I have not used the Clevo but have used the MSi GE73VR and ROG GL503VS, I say you go with the ASUS cuz MSi has super bad customer support, not that ASUS has good suport but its much better than MSi. Glad to help. Check for the Clevos QC and CS online. :)

    • MJJ

      January 16, 2018 at 8:33 pm

      Hey I assume you were/are looking for a notebook to code and game on as well — as I'm looking for just that too, what did you end up going with?

      • colosh

        January 27, 2018 at 2:35 pm

        Hey hello I'm just looking for a laptop which is usable for both gaming and programming on it.. Had you already made your decision? Please tell me if you found anything!

  13. OldLadle

    January 25, 2018 at 9:50 pm

    Do you happen to know if this laptop is capable of having 2 ssd's?

  14. Abdurrahman

    February 11, 2018 at 3:36 pm

    Are the viewing angles good? Because that's mostly what I'm looking for, I watch a lot of videos when I'm not gaming and having to look at it from a certain angle to get the best colours is very irritating. Most matte displays tend to drastically change colour when viewed slightly off angle. Can you recommend some laptops with good displays which have wide viewing angles? Thanks

  15. jony

    February 13, 2018 at 3:34 pm

    I received my GL-503 VS in December after some wait for inventory online. Runing plugged in its great. However, on battery its got pretty serious issues. I get around an hour on battery, but its almost unplayable as the system down throttles really bad, and I start to encounter all sorts of lag, sound issues and more.
    The REALLY bad part is some simple text editing and web browsing work will drain the entire battery in just over an hour and half. While it’s a gaming spec machine, being able to use as a work machine during the day is a big thing for me on a laptop for $1900+
    I’ve been in touch with Asus about the power issues (as well as Xoticpc, who I bought the PC from, and followed their fixes – resetting drivers, and the board etc), but no changes so far.
    Guess I’ll see what they have to say from there….

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 16, 2018 at 4:02 am

      That's the case with laptops with GSync, like this one, with the always on dedicated graphics. 1.5 hours seems very short though, perhaps you can try to keep it on Power Saving and lower the screen's brightness? Could also use HWConfig and monitor the battery drain during your use. You'd have to launch he app in Sensors mode and scroll down to the Battery section.

  16. Davmar

    February 15, 2018 at 8:44 am

    Great review! I purchased this laptop partly because of this review!

  17. Davmar

    February 22, 2018 at 2:02 pm

    I received my GL503VS yesterday. I ordered it through HIDevoultion, I got the thermal upgrades and reinstalled windows. No bloat ware problems, machine runs great smooth as butter. Screen is amazing and a 1070 with i7 Kaby lake crushes games on a 1080p /144hz panel. I’ve played CSGO, PUBG and For Honor, on high settings the games are buttery smooth with FPS fluxations between 150-200 respectively. As for noise. If your not gaming it’s silent. After a few hours of gaming you do hear the fans but nothing that is distracting. I played about 3 hours of CSGO and in a lull in the action I heard a slight humming sound, I removed my headphones and listened for a bit, sitting there and listening to the fans, it was not that annoying as for noise level. I was expecting louder from the reviews I read. Got up and walked around the room and went into another room, just to see if the fans were actually noticeable. And they were not bad, yeah you can hear what sounds like a fan, but it’s not overwhelming. Like i said you hear the humming sound. Sitting at the desk, yeah, you will hear fan noise but it’s not really that bad, and with headphones on you barely hear anything. I love the keyboard. At first I was afraid I would not like it. I found the left cntrl key to be a little small but that’s my only gripe. The keys feel great and responsive, and it’s enjoyable to play on. My hands or palms never felt any warmth while gaming. Was quite cool. The computer itself it thin, sleek and light. I love the look. I highly recommend.

    • Ayush

      February 24, 2018 at 8:10 am

      Hey can you pls post cpu and gpu temperatures of your gl503vs because that is what preventing from buying this instead of the msi ge63vr raider( both have almost everything same except for the per key rgb and 7 heat pipes on msi while the Asus has thunderbolt 3 and ips/gsync display) also pls comment on the battvery life aswell

    • Almas

      February 26, 2018 at 3:16 pm

      I want to buy this laptop but i don't know how is the temps in Games?

      • Davmar

        February 27, 2018 at 9:38 am

        my cpu and gpu thermals are repasted, so my temps may not be an accurate picture of stock performance. Yesterday I played about 3 hours of Black Desert Online and when I logged out I hit the ROG button to view gpu and cpu cores temps. My cpu temps were fluctuating between 70-74. I think this computer does a good job on heat displacement regardless.

        • Ayush

          March 1, 2018 at 8:19 am

          Well thanks for the reply but I anyways ordered the MSI ge63vr raider.

        • Krl

          March 1, 2018 at 7:30 pm

          I play Black Desert Online, I was seriously buying this laptop due to the fact that I move around and I'm just waiting for Nvidia 20 series to come out to build a decent desktop. Do you do node wars? What are your FPS settings in wars on medium vs high. Thanks a lot.

  18. Skarm

    February 28, 2018 at 6:49 pm

    Is this laptop compatible with liquid metal paste for a repaste? If you are unaware you know a way I can find out? (to be specific Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut)

    • Davmar

      March 1, 2018 at 10:01 am

      Yes, it is.

      • Skarm

        March 8, 2018 at 3:21 pm

        You did it to your own system? how well does it fair?

  19. Steve

    March 13, 2018 at 12:10 pm

    anyone confirm if the TB3 is x4 or x2?

    Thanks!

  20. Sadique

    March 31, 2018 at 4:42 am

    Can anyone please tell me what is the manufacturing date or release date of this laptop?

  21. Tuan

    April 24, 2018 at 1:11 am

    This is such a well written and detailed review. Good job man, people should be writing at this level when reviewing products.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *