Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus GX501 Zephyrus Derek Sullivan Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus ROG GX501 Zephyrus review – thin-and-light laptop with Max-Q GTX 1080 graphics

20 Comments

  1. Brian Hobbs

    July 3, 2017 at 3:39 pm

    Max-Q certification is supposed to have a 40dB ceiling. Can you talk more about your 50dB readings? Would you say it's noticeably much quieter in general than other 1070- or 1080-style laptops?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 3, 2017 at 4:57 pm

      I'm pretty sure their spec is at ear level. I can't imagine the limit being 40dB at the fan exhaust. My readings in the back we're pretty close to the fans – not somewhere you'll normally be.

  2. Nicolò

    July 10, 2017 at 6:16 am

    In your opinion, excluding the ridiculous price that razer choosed for its laptop, which one is better between the asus zephyrus and the razer blade pro?
    Considering the touchpad, build quality and additional features ( 4k touch screen, excellent speakers etc. ) it would be a nice battle between the two in my opinion

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 10, 2017 at 6:32 am

      Tough call. If you can get over the keyboard and the price, the RBP is a pretty decent laptop. I could not get used to that keyboard, though, no matter how hard I tried. I'm very much accustomed to the Asus keyboard now.

      I think I'd probably pick the GX501. Realistically, the only thing the RBP has over the Asus is the trackpad. Maybe the build quality as well, but the RBP is significantly thicker and heavier. That 120 hz FHD screen is much more suitable for gaming than the 4k screen. I'd also rather not deal with the CPU throttling on the RBP.

      • Nicoló

        July 11, 2017 at 3:06 am

        Makes sense haha, thanks for your opinion :)

  3. David

    August 6, 2017 at 12:14 pm

    Hi Derek,

    Great review as always. What would you go for out of the Asus Zephrus, Razer Blade Pro and Aorus X7DT v7 QHD? And why?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 6, 2017 at 12:52 pm

      Funny you should ask – I was just talking about this with someone, yesterday.

      First, let's just take the RBP out of the equation, as it has the same heft of the Aorus X7 DT and worse performance than the Zephyrus. On top of that, it's much too expensive, possibly has Gsync issues and also is thermally challenged.

      The other two choices are different animals and it'll all come down to whether or not you value portability over a little better performance and more hard disk space.

      Both screens are 120hz and have about the same pixel densities. The Zephyrus screen has a slight edge being IPS. Both keyboards and trackpads are good. The Aorus outperforms the Zephyrus, for sure, but it's a lot larger – the main trade-off. But the Aorus has 2x m.2 SSD slots and a 2.5" slot, while the Zephyrus only has a single m.2. the Aorus also has a battery nearly twice the size and can handle over double the RAM.

      To answer your question now, do I think the Zephyrus is the better machine? In many ways, yes. But could I live with it? For me – no. In my case I'm actually sticking with the Aorus X7 DT and it's mainly because I have a 2 TB 2.5" SSD, 32gb of RAM and a 1 TB m.2 SSD that would go to waste if I stuck with the Zephyrus. If I didn't need all that though, I'd probably stick with the Zephyrus.

      Hope this helps!

      • David

        August 6, 2017 at 1:00 pm

        Really helpful. So you prefer the Zeprhus screen even though it's 1080p vs QHD on the X7 DT?

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 6, 2017 at 1:16 pm

          Well because it's FHD, games will play the same or even better, even though the GPU is throttled. It's also IPS, so the viewing angles and contrast are better. Even though the resolution is higher, the Aorus display is still a larger display, so the pixel density is only 26ppi higher than the FHD display. Depending on how close you are, you might not be able to tell the difference in sharpness.

          There's minor trade-offs to both but I consider both screens to be excellent and could live with either. Literally, the only thing I don't care for on the Aorus is when looking at it from above when it's on a desk. The vertical viewing angles are just not as good as an IPS screen.

          • David

            August 6, 2017 at 1:22 pm

            Great, been back and forth between the two for a while and was going for the X7 DT but if the difference between the screen is negligble the Zephrus seems the better as I don't need lots of storage. One last question, how much quieter is the Zephrus if at all? Thanks again

          • Derek Sullivan

            August 6, 2017 at 1:26 pm

            My sound meter says they both are nearly the same, but it didn't take into account the time and how annoying the fans are. I found the Aorus to be ok but I much prefer the Zephyrus, as the fan noise is directed downward and away from the user. Any sound created is very dampened.

  4. David

    August 8, 2017 at 8:00 am

    Hi Derek just looking at where best to buy the Zephrus in the UK and from Amazon Hi Devolution have customised options with up to 24GB Ram and also up to 2T PCIe SSD but they are much more expensive (circa £1k for the top specs). What are your thoughts on this given the limited 512Gb standard storage and 16GB Ram? Worth the extra investment? Thanks

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 8, 2017 at 9:24 am

      2TB PCIe drives are expensive – there's not much way around it. If you can source the drive and ram and do it yourself, I'd say go that route. If it were me, I'd definitely be updating it myself over paying that much for more storage. It's a pretty involved teardown though, and not very straightforward, so I can see paying the extra to have someone else do it. Is it worth it? For me, I would do it if I had no other choice. But everyone is different and most could probably live with 512GB and deal with external storage. Don't forget that TB3 port can support an external drive as well.

      • David

        August 9, 2017 at 11:27 am

        Hi Derek do you have an ETA on the X7 DT review.
        Thanks

        • Derek Sullivan

          August 9, 2017 at 11:41 am

          It's done. Andrei is editing it and should have it up today.

  5. matheus

    August 9, 2017 at 10:29 am

    hey derek
    i would like to know about the moving plate.. does it get dust when you use zephyrus for a long time?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 9, 2017 at 10:34 am

      Long term, I'm not sure the extent of it. I didn't use it long enough to find out. I think it's safe to assume it collects dust though, otherwise Asus wouldn't have included a phillips screwdriver to take the bottom cover off. They actually include maintenance directions on how to properly clean it.

      • matheus

        August 9, 2017 at 10:39 am

        Thank you for helping =)

  6. Akhil

    August 14, 2017 at 9:43 am

    Hi Derek, fantastic review. I was looking for something as indepth as this. I have a couple of questions which I'd greatly appreciate your answer to.

    1.) How durable did this laptop feel to you? If I were to purchase it, I would want a minimum of 3 years of function, do you think the build quality, thermals and such would give me this?

    2.) The competitor to the Zephyrus seems to be the Asus Triton 700, to my knowledge they seem to have the exact same, if not similar specs. What is your opinion on the Asus Triton 700 over the Zephyrus? Which one seems like a better investment?

    Thank you in advance!

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 14, 2017 at 9:58 am

      With the exception of the bottom panel, the laptop is pretty well built and durable. Could easily last 3 years. But that bottom panel is the wild card. It's a little flimsy and it's a mechanical moving part, so there's no telling if and when it'll break. As much as I got my power cord caught in it, I could certainly see something snagging an edge and potentially harming the cover. The good news is that even without the cover, the laptop will still work. You'd either have to replace it or put some new rubber feet on the bottom though.

      As for the Acer, I have no opinion on it. It's still not released, so there's no telling how well it compares to the Asus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *