Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Lenovo Ideapad 320S-14IKB Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Lenovo IdeaPad 320S 14 review – affordable and compact 14-inch notebook

12 Comments

  1. The Hieu

    June 28, 2017 at 1:27 am

    Thanks for reviewer !
    Many people say that Lenovo Latop installed spyware, that is Lenovo Services Engine (LSE). They advise shouldn't use Lenovo Laptop. Is that true ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2017 at 3:11 am

      I'm aware of this controversy, there are many articles online about the spyware in the Lenovo laptops. Personally, I recommend formatting the drive and installing a clean Windows on any laptop, and I think that should get rid of any issues. Could sound ignorant, but I just choose no to bog my mind with such things.

  2. Nikolaj

    July 18, 2017 at 2:27 pm

    When reading about the 320s on Lenovos website, it mentions the following: "Upgrade with an additional 16 GB Intel Optane SSD". But I can't find any models with the Intel Optane. Is it possible to buy one without Optane and then installing it myself? And if so, is it possible to install the Optane on all models or do I need to buy a specific model?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 18, 2017 at 2:56 pm

      The Optane SSD is a regular 80 mm stick that goes into the M.2 slot and acts as SSD caching, meant to boost performance for laptops with a HDD for a low price. I don't see why you couldn't add one yourself, it's just as easy as adding a regular 80 mm SSD, but I've never tried one and I can't tell what to expect in terms of performance. This article should help though: anandtech.com/show/11210/the-intel-optane-memory-ssd-review-32gb-of-kaby-lake-caching

  3. Pete Borini

    July 20, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    I picked this one up at Staples for $479 (normally $719) this past Sunday (7/16/17). Huge value for the $$. staples.com/office/supplies/StaplesProductDisplay?storeId=10001&catalogIdentifier=2&partNumber=2716358&langid=-1&cid=PS:GooglePLAs:2716358&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=2716358&KPID=2716358&cvosrc=PLA.google-SALES.Computers&cvo_crid=39506884422&cvo_campaign=176606382&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcHLBRAqEiwA-j4AyFTMXffqek8iLX-Z1xAolrJzhtAQjJGhFgNjTN-0ycg_uUkVk_CHjRoCuzcQAvD_BwE

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 20, 2017 at 4:06 pm

      Unfortunately I can't see what's this about, somehow staples.com and target.com do not load in my country or for my Internet provider, but I'll just leave the link here. $480 sound amazing, what's the configuration you got?

  4. Pete Borini

    July 20, 2017 at 3:06 pm

    Is there a guide to replacing the wireless chip in this model (the 320S)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 20, 2017 at 4:08 pm

      No but it's very easy. Buy the chip you want (Intel 7265 and 8260 usually work very well), turn off the laptop, touch a metallic grounded object, take the back panel out , remove the Wi-Fi chip, put the new wi-fi chip instead in the exact same position, put the back panel in place and that's it. Test the existing wireless first though, perhaps it's good enough for what you need and there's no need to change it.

  5. Nikolaj

    July 21, 2017 at 6:05 pm

    Would you recommend the new 14" 320s or the slightly older 14" 510s with the similar specs and the 510s is a little bit cheaper. In my case the specs are i5-7200U CPU, 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD. The only big differences I see, is 320s has a bigger battery (52 Wh and the 510s has 45 Wh) and the 320s is smaller than the 510s (which isn't a huge problem for me). There are of cause also some minor differences. But which one would you recommend?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 22, 2017 at 4:21 am

      What's the price difference? The newer model gets the bigger battery and the possibility to use M.2 SSD storage on top of the 2.5" regular storage (not sure if that matters to you, though), but that 510s gets a backlit keyboard. Otherwise these two are very similar in terms of weight, size, screen, keyboard, IO and performance. If you're just interested in specs and value, the cheaper option wins.

  6. Kshitij

    July 25, 2017 at 3:24 pm

    By any chance, were you able to get your hands on a lower spec model of 320s (with 7th gen, just HDD not SSD, 8GB RAM, only integrated Intel 620Graphics not Nvidea) ?

    Even if not, how much downgrade we expect from this model in terms of being able to handle low to medium gaming capabilities?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 2:57 am

      NO. The HDD takes a big toll on everyday performance. And as far as gaming goes, you can Google about Intel HD 620 and see how it performs. It can handle FHD gaming with low details with most titles, but for higher details you'll have to drop to HD resolutions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *