Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Dell Inspiron 15 3543 Dell For the price, this Dell Inspiron 15 is a great laptop. From what I’ve been seeing, $350 usually gets you a laptop with and Atom or Celeron processor, 2GB of ram, a horrible screen and cheap design issues. In this package, you’re getting an i3, 4GB of RAM, a semi-decent screen(with touch!), a DVD burner and durable build quality. Dell Inspiron 15 3543 For the price, this Dell Inspiron 15 is a great laptop. From what I’ve been seeing, $350 usually gets you a laptop with and Atom or Celeron processor, 2GB of ram, a horrible screen and cheap design issues. In this package, you’re getting an i3, 4GB of RAM, a semi-decent screen(with touch!), a DVD burner and durable build quality. Derek Sullivan 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/dell-inspiron-15-3543-main.jpg Derek Sullivan 4 5

Dell Inspiron 15 3000 review – a budget 15-inch laptop

26 Comments

  1. vinay

    July 27, 2015 at 8:20 am

    Hey! I am a programmer and I am little tight on my budget.Do you suggest me this laptop and can I use this laptop with some programming softwares?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 27, 2015 at 1:15 pm

      That’s a tough one – it really depends on what type of programmer you are. The processor should be ok but compiling will obviously take longer than a full quad core. Depending on what you’re doing, ram could also be an issue. The HDD could likely be your bottleneck depending on what type of programming you do. On top of that, I’m not sure I’d like staring at a TN screen for long coding sessions either. But if budget was an issue, I’m sure you could make it work – you just won’t be as productive as if it were an i5/i7 with 8GB of ram with an SSD. I’ve done plenty of light coding on an ivy bridge i5-3317U with 4gb of ram, so this one would be no different. Large programs are going to compile slowly though and if you run out of ram, it’s going to be drastically slower using a spinning HDD’s swap space!

  2. Raksha

    August 12, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    Well I have started to do my computer science engineering… And I want to buy a laptop..which laptop do you suggest??i pefer dell or lenovo with 1TB hard drive
    and the budget is 680$ to 700$!!!please do suggest…

  3. Spitfire

    August 20, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    hey, i have a budget of 33,000 INR and I’m hoping to find a ci5 laptop for decent gaming and study. Can you please suggest a laptop or two?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 22, 2015 at 12:55 pm

      You’re going to be hard pressed to find an i5 at that price. Maybe the Acer E5? If you can afford a little more, the i5 Inspiron 15 is good. Maybe the Lenovo G50-70 but the build quality isn’t as robust.

      • Spitfire

        September 12, 2015 at 6:54 am

        Much appreciated for your input. Say, if the budget is notched up to around 50,000 or so, what would you recommend?

        • Derek Sullivan

          September 13, 2015 at 1:01 am

          At that price you would be able to get the i5 version of the Inspiron 15 in this review. If you’re patient, you could also get a Lenovo Yoga 500. They have been going on sale on Amazon pretty frequently lately.

  4. ashen

    September 2, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    i used intel dual core 2.6ghz desktop with a 2Gb(ddr-2) ram ,320gb hard drive,n videa gt220 video card and a crt monitor.is this i3 3543 model better than that desktop?specially for watch movies and play games

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 2, 2015 at 4:58 pm

      Depending on which dual core CPU you have, the Dell might lag behind a little bit. Judging from your graphics card though, I’m guessing you probably have a Core2 Duo, which the i3-5005U should outperform in most areas even though it’s not 2.6Ghz. That graphics card is very dated and I’m pretty sure all Intel integrated graphics options will outperform a GT 220 with exception to Atom which might actually be equivalent. So yes, I’d say the Dell is better

  5. Bz

    September 21, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    Hey again. Can you suggest laptops fit for both gaming and college/office use. Budget roughly being 60,000 (around a grand).
    Thank you.

    • Derek Sullivan

      September 22, 2015 at 1:29 am

      If you can get one with a FHD screen, you can’t go wrong with the Asus UX303. There’s both a standard model and a model with dedicated graphics, but they both share the same chassis. Another good option is the V15 Nitro from Acer. Review can be found here. B etter gsming options are going to cost you a lot more. Also, since Skylake is coming out, the Broadwell prices are going to drop – so keep an eye out for that if Skylake isn’t a must-have option for you

    • Imogen

      September 22, 2015 at 11:11 am

      You can also try the Asus ROG GL552.

  6. sujit

    December 15, 2015 at 1:35 pm

    Hi

    I want laptop for development/coding purpose. Can you please let me know which is good in DELL and HP

  7. ogbodo collins

    February 22, 2016 at 8:11 am

    Please is the OS upgradeable to windows 10? ……urgent please reply

    • Derek Sullivan

      February 22, 2016 at 1:08 pm

      Check Dell’s driver database and make sure they have updated drivers. If so, then yes.

  8. Ben

    May 3, 2016 at 3:47 am

    What’s the average price of this computer now? I mean how much can I buy it from anywhere including eBay and other websites where you can find cheap stuff.

    • Derek Sullivan

      May 3, 2016 at 1:26 pm

      The availability of this one is much lower now. It’s still $400 in all the places I can look. Looks like you can save $50 or so on ebay or if you shop refurbished. Check out Dell’s outlet site and try to pair it up when they have a 25-30% off coupon. Coupons can be found here

  9. Signe Maris B.

    July 18, 2016 at 6:41 pm

    Your suggestion to replace the HDD really intrigued me. It’s my first time ever to consider changing my laptop’s hardware. Is getting an SSD a pretty easy DIY project, and if so, then do you have any recommended products in the way of SSDs (specific to this laptop)?

  10. Kris

    December 25, 2016 at 6:36 am

    Hey there,
    Just wanted to give you a heart-felt thumbs up on your awesome review. Concise, to the point, yet very detailed, I truly gained a bit more knowledge and understanding of the "cheaper" laptop. So thanks for taking your time (obvious job duty aside) and please know that your efforts were not lost on me! Thanks again, keep up the good work, and Happy Holidays

  11. Wes

    January 27, 2018 at 10:40 pm

    This is a horrific laptop! I would never recommend it to anyone! It's a decent performing laptop, but the WiFi card is terrible. It's hit and miss as to whether or not I will actually be able to connect to a WiFi access point and I frequently use lose connection. Contacted Dell support while still under warranty and they sent me around in circles for months until my warranty expired and then refused to help me because I was no longer under warranty.

  12. gigi

    March 28, 2019 at 3:48 am

    do you know if this laptop works with the game sims 4?

  13. Lewis Dyer

    August 6, 2019 at 6:15 pm

    My daughter starts college in a couple weeks and I'm looking for one that she can use . Will the Dell Inspiron 15 3000 be good for her to use ? She will not need much memory because its all web based and google drive. If the 15 3000 is not a good choice what would you recommend ? My budget is around 700 max . Thank you for your response in advanced .

    -Lewis D

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 6, 2019 at 7:20 pm

      Hi Lewis,

      This article and laptop are very old and don't properly represent the Inspiron 15 3000 laptops available today. On top of that, I haven't reviewed a budget laptop in some time, as I've been handling more gaming variety as of late. Andrei put together and article about affordable laptops though – perhaps you might find your answer there: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/1834-best-budget-ultrabooks/

      Also if you post your question there, he'll be able to respond.

  14. Adam Barrish

    August 27, 2019 at 5:26 pm

    Hi, my name is Adam, and I was wondering if you could perhaps do an article on the Lenovo Thinkpad t430. Can you do it?

  15. Adam Barrish

    August 27, 2019 at 9:00 pm

    I posted a comment a few minutes ago, but I'd like another question answered that I didn't have then. So, I'm trying to start a gaming YouTube channel. I need 2 Desktop PCs, but they would need to run some pretty graphics intensive games, and be able to edit videos, live stream games, and be able to have enough USB ports for a microphone and face camera. They each need to be under $1k. What would you suggest?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *