Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus TUF Gaming A17 FA706 II Asus Much like it\'s A15 15-inch sibling, the larger Asus TUF Gaming A17 is a solid performance laptop in the budget-tier segments. Our review model excels in productivity and CPU-demanding loads, thanks to the competent AMD Ryzen 4000 hardware, and is also a fair gamer even on this Nvidia GTX 1650Ti configuration, which add up to its other traits, such as the nice and ergonomic build, the RGB keyboard and the complete IO. The small battery and rather dim and washed out screen might be enough to steer your towards a more premium product though, or even towards the more competitively priced A15 version. Asus TUF Gaming A17 FA706 II Much like it's A15 15-inch sibling, the larger Asus TUF Gaming A17 is a solid performance laptop in the budget-tier segments. Our review model excels in productivity and CPU-demanding loads, thanks to the competent AMD Ryzen 4000 hardware, and is also a fair gamer even on this Nvidia GTX 1650Ti configuration, which add up to its other traits, such as the nice and ergonomic build, the RGB keyboard and the complete IO. The small battery and rather dim and washed out screen might be enough to steer your towards a more premium product though, or even towards the more competitively priced A15 version. Andrei Girbea 4.25 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/asus-tuf-gaming-a17-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.25 5

ASUS TUF Gaming A17 FA706 review (FA706II – Ryzen 7 4800H, GTX 1650 Ti)

24 Comments

  1. Viacheslav

    April 22, 2020 at 2:01 pm

    Hi! Is it possible to disable Vega iGPU anywhere(BIOS or AMD Centre)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 22, 2020 at 3:02 pm

      Haven't checked, but why would you want to?

  2. Viacheslav

    April 23, 2020 at 12:14 am

    There are 2 reasons: input lag & multimonitor performance and problems with Optimus/Enduro. Even w/o any G-SYNC or FreeSync direct access to monitor mean that there minimum lag for output signal to screen (5-9 ms for «120-144»Hz panels and 20-30 ms for 60Hz panels). With Optimus (don't know about AMD) and NVIDIA's Prime on MUXless systems there additional +«20-35»ms lag, because rendering by the discrete NVIDIA card, which then copies the framebuffers for the eDP(LVDS) outputs to the iGPU and iGPU finally output final image to the screen. The HDMI and Display Port outputs are attached to the discrete NVIDIA card on notebooks usually, but combining Prime and direct outputs means that picture on notebook screen would looks like out of sync compared to external TV at the same 60(120)Hz or on different frequencies horrible fps drops and stutters.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 23, 2020 at 10:55 am

      Hmmm, Ok, I've checked. There's no option for it in BIOS, but you can disable it from Device Manager. Would that be enough?

  3. Viacheslav

    April 23, 2020 at 3:48 pm

    I think it should mean that the discrete graphics card have direct access to the display and that is enough. Not all notebooks have it, because it need additional engineering. And power consumption was changed with iGPU off?
    Display is really bad, so waiting for Lenovo or Acer review, maybe they’ll change their minds and release 17in.144Hz with AMD. At least Y540 have an option to disable iGPU in BIOS, but it increases power consumption a lot, maybe on new AMD hardware it is not so bad. Is it any plans to add display response times?
    Overall it would be nice to see an article what was changed on modern 7nm notebooks with AMD hardware. At least as I know they insert the entire chip with the processor and iGPU under one cover and now the processor is no longer with chiplets and there are no RAM delays for write like it is in 3700X according to AIDA64. So we have better results in some memory sensitive games and WinRAR.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 23, 2020 at 8:12 pm

      I don't have the tools to test for display response, but will look into it

  4. Khanh

    April 24, 2020 at 5:49 am

    Very nice review, thank you!

  5. Aaron Robinson

    April 24, 2020 at 3:29 pm

    Hi there, I started looking at laptops since my mediocre HP Pavilion 17.3" hard-drive stopped working in January 2020 (2013 laptop bought new). My specs were:

    AMD A8-5550M APU 2.1 – 3.1 GHz
    AMD Radeon HD 8550G w/768 MB (funny, I know)
    16 GB RAM

    I was renting-to-owning a gaming laptop from October 2017 – December 2018 and due to family financial issues, I had to give it up. I was finally able to play my favorite game Rust @ 55 – 60 fps, before I was getting like 20 fps. Specs were:

    No Compromise Gaming
    Sager NP6872
    i7-7700HQ 2.8 – 3.8 GHz
    NVidia GTX 1050 Ti w/ 4 GB
    500 GB HDD

    So but anyhow, I nearly made my decision for the FX705, but then I found your review of it and was so glad I did because of what you posting regarding the bad thermals, with the very scarce bottom vents hardly anything there.

    1 question I have for this page's FA706 model, does the GTX 1660 Ti version make the model # FA706IU ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 24, 2020 at 3:36 pm

      Yes, II – 1650Ti, IU – 1660Ti, IV- 2060, that's what mostly sets these Asus models apart. Each then get different screens, ram, storage and battery, so you need to check those out. Make sure to get something with 2x RAM sticks, or at least consider that upgrade for the future, it makes a difference in games.

      • Aaron Robinson

        April 24, 2020 at 4:57 pm

        FA706IU has different thermal system ?

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 24, 2020 at 5:16 pm

          • Aaron Robinson

            April 27, 2020 at 4:44 pm

            So the same thermal system but just larger-sized ?

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 27, 2020 at 4:52 pm

            Yes

          • Aaron Robinson

            April 30, 2020 at 10:17 pm

            Do you have a Discord we could chat on? I'd like your help in buying a gaming laptop for my budget.

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 1, 2020 at 7:57 am

            not yet, but you can get in touch over email or ehre. See the Contact page

          • Aaron Robinson

            May 1, 2020 at 3:57 pm

            I don't see a review on your site for the MSI GF75. I'm interested in buying this laptop, but I'm very concerned about the rear thermal dissipation from the rear exhaust. I've spent hours trying to find a good shot of the back with the lid @ 90 degrees (most show it at 45 degrees. It looks like the bottom portion of the lid nearly completely covers the rear exhause and the whole back-side, which I thought is very weird for MSI. Am I just looking at this wrong, or does something not seem quite right with this. I'd like your opinion on this because this is what is preventing me from ordering this laptop right now. The best video I have so far is here:

            https://youtu.be/Z2YaZh44AE4?t=3m19s
            https://youtu.be/Z2YaZh44AE4?t=7m57s

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 1, 2020 at 5:57 pm

            Yes, it kind of looks like the exhaust blows into the screen chin. I haven't touched the GF75 so can't comment on it, but we might have a review unit with 10th gen Intel hardware coming in the next few weeks.

  6. Aastra

    April 28, 2020 at 10:21 am

    waiting for comparison btw refreshed gtx 1650 ddr6 vs gtx 1650 ti. how much the performance increased is it worth to pay extra to buy gtx 1650 ti laptop.

  7. shahmir

    May 1, 2020 at 11:18 pm

    hi, please guide me, i was thinking of buying this Asus TUF A17 laptop with 4800h + 1650ti . do the think the igpu vega graphics 8 and 1650ti has the same performance? and same fps ? . so there is no point of having a dedicate gpu ?

    please say me the difference in performance between igpu vega 8 and dgpu 1650ti

  8. Eitan vineshtock

    May 17, 2020 at 12:02 am

    Hello, im a professional 3d animator and im on the look for a laptop capable of handeling animating in Maya, my body of work is mainly 3d character animation and illustration so its all about being able to move the rigs around in maya and having a good frame rate during playback, sometimes having multiple characters at a scene etc. As far as i know these tasks require mostly a good cpu with fast clock speed as a prime focus. My question is if whether to your opinion this model will be an adequate choice ? Or is there a better choice for my needs ? My other question would be regarding the gpu and if its capable to handle a second monitor, or in my case specificaly a wacom cintique and thus working on two screens.

  9. Sangchan Lee

    May 22, 2020 at 10:30 am

    Hi, I have question about this laptop. is this laptop support 32GB ram for each slot? so can it support totally 64GB memory? I found spec sheet from Asus official web site and that says "Maximum support 32GB" but want to know about is it true or not..

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 22, 2020 at 10:42 am

      I haven't tried it, but I don't see why 32 GB DIMMs won't work.

    • TM

      May 23, 2020 at 5:31 am

      I have an Asus K55A laptop that was said by Asus to support only 8GB of RAM, though the CPU could handle more. A buyer on Amazon said he put 16GB in his and it worked fine with Adobe Photoshop, etc. I have been running 16GB of RAM in mine and likewise no problems in Windows or Linux. So you may very well be able to use 64GB. BTW, this looks like a sweet machine, but it is backordered everywhere as AMD is apparently having trouble keeping up with demand for this Ryzen chip. Nice review here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *