Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus G771JW / G771 Andrei Girbea Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Asus G771JW / G771 review – a capable 17 inch multimedia laptop

59 Comments

  1. Nukos

    September 18, 2014 at 1:50 am

    Is there a chance for you to open more of the internal. I’m curious if it really is a dual-fan design, seeing that the exhaust port on the side.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 18, 2014 at 9:13 am

      I’ll try to do this today and will get back

  2. jj

    September 24, 2014 at 5:03 am

    Thank you so much mike for an extremely informative and
    Great site. I’m on a quest to find a desktop replacement for my aging core 2 quad machine and have my eyes on the new Asus N751, N551, G751 and the older G750.

    Any plans to get asus to send you the n751 and g751 to review?

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2014 at 8:41 am

      I’m reviewing the N551 right now. Not sure about the N751, but the G751 is definitely coming in a few weeks in a beastly config (with the Nvidia GTX 980 chip :P). So stay close

      • alit putra

        September 27, 2014 at 8:36 am

        are you surious nVidia GTX 980 ?
        not GTX 880 one ?

  3. Erik Jamin

    September 27, 2014 at 6:17 am

    I still don’t understand why they even bother putting weak graphics card in their so called gaming laptop while this next gen gaming era has just begun. I thought the real purpose for gaming laptop is to be able to play recent or even upcoming video games with maxed out graphics settings with decent performance as well. Yet they still put 860m or even 850m in their laptop instead of 880m or 880m SLI. What’s the point of having a gaming laptop that has so underpowered graphics card? Seriously why don’t they just make a real gaming laptop with the performance worth spend the money. I can barely find a gaming laptop out there with 880m equipped in it. Btw the article is great though. Keep up the good work.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 27, 2014 at 12:56 pm

      I don’t see this as a gaming laptop. That’s the G751 which will offer GTX 980 graphics. As a larger and fairly affordable multimedia laptop though, this G771 does have a chance imh.

  4. Rajiv

    October 6, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Nice review Andries.
    Just wondering whether the G771 is an upgrade of G750JZ or a model to fill the gapjust below G750JZ. Just looking at the specs, doesn’t look like an upgrade except for the exterior looks and less weight. What’s your view ? I still prefer the G750JZ as a power machine.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 6, 2014 at 4:41 pm

      It’s not, it’s a new model that sits somewhere between the old N750 and the new G751.

  5. Ryan

    October 20, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Is this a Maxwell 860 or Kepler?

  6. Kerry

    November 29, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    So Should I Go for this one or the G751?

  7. Adrian

    December 17, 2014 at 3:31 am

    Nice review…. Keep up the good work. Thank you

  8. Anant

    December 25, 2014 at 1:13 am

    Hi Andrew,
    Thank you very much for perfect review. So, would like to ask you, is there anything new in this product G751 for coming 2015 year?, or where can I find a detailed review?

  9. Anant

    December 25, 2014 at 4:07 am

    Hi Andrei,
    Thank you for nice review. I was just wondering that where Can I buy the ASUS G771JW Laptop. Because, in ASUS site it shows that ASUS G771JM 17.3-inch Gaming Notebook – Black Aluminum – G771JM-DH71-CA .

    So, I could not find anywhere the ASUU G771 JW series. Please advise me where can I get the ASUS G771 JW Laptop.
    Thanks

  10. Rob

    January 6, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    Hi, Im considering this Asus – Republic of Gamers G Series 17.3″ Laptop – Intel Core i7 – 8GB Memory – 1TB Hard Drive – Black Model: G771JM. I am also considering TOSHIBA SATELLITE RADIUS P55W-B5318. I want a great performing laptop. I know the Toshiba bends in various positions which Im not interested in. I will be working from this computer and need really good resolution. I will be designing plan from CT and MRI and will be logging in remotely to various customers servers. So Im more concerned with a better performing laptop than I am with anything else. Im not really a gamer but figured getting a gamer laptop that I would most likely get great performing laptop. I don’t mind spending in this price range but would prefer to remain as inexpensive as possible. If I could buy a $200 laptop that would serve my needs that would be fine with me. Guess I just want the best performing laptop. I was looking at Macbook Pro with retina but that is getting higher than Im comfortable spending, maybe in the future. Thanks for any and all recommendations. Which would you recommend.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 7, 2015 at 10:08 pm

      This is surely a capable laptop. if you’re not playing games you could get the JT model with Nvidia 970m graphics and the upgrade the ram and storage yourself.

      I’m not familiar with that Toshiba, so can’t comment on that.

      There are some cheaper options though, like the Asus G771, for instance. Powerful laptops aren’t exactly my field, i’ve only reviewed a few, so I’m probably not the best person to ask for advice from. sry

  11. Jonas

    January 8, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    SO, I just bought this laptop and this may seem like a stupid question, but is the audio Jack for speaker input really placed on the right side where my hand is?? It kinda gets in the way

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 9, 2015 at 6:26 pm

      Maybe an L shape 3.5 mm jack will help, if it’s possible to replace the cable on what you’re using.

  12. Paul S

    January 22, 2015 at 5:27 am

    Thank you for clarifying the heat concerns in terms of gaming i’m having as I’m wondering if the 300 dollar savings between this model and the G751JT model. I think I will just spend the extra dough to get an improved cooling system with the 751 and the nicer 970 graphics.

  13. Intrepidtron

    January 28, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    How does the G771JW compare to the G771JM? Does the G771JM suffer from the same throttling issues as the G771JW, or has that problem been solved as with the G551JM (which you also reviewed).

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 28, 2015 at 9:14 pm

      I can’t say for sure. And I can’t say whether the retail version of the G771JW suffer from any throttling as well. As mentioned in the review, I tested a pre-production model and things might have been fixed for the final retails versions. There’s actually a fair chance that happens, since the G551JM that I tested was faster than the G771JW and had a smaller body, thus a greater chance og overheating and throttling. And it did not.

      Best thing you can do is to try to find some actual users, people who bought the retail versions, and ask them about the throttling.

      • Intrepidtron

        January 29, 2015 at 2:37 pm

        The model G771JM is the same as the G771JW then?

        Thanks.

  14. Tudor Bercea

    January 30, 2015 at 1:58 am

    I recently ordered a G771JM-T7017D from pcgarage.ro
    On the website they mention there are only 2 RAM slots available, but I’ve seen other G771 models which allegedly have 4 slots. My question is: are there any other RAM slots, perhaps harder to access that require you to disassemble the laptop to get to them, or are there just 2 RAM slots?
    Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 9:31 am

      There are two more behind the motherboard if I remember correctly and only two are accessible through the service bay on the back. But why would you want to have access to those?

      • Tudor Bercea

        January 30, 2015 at 12:51 pm

        Because I want to insert more RAM from my old laptop.
        I just got my G771 and although I’m not really an expert, I’ll take my chance and try to disassemble it. I have looked all over the internet for a disassembly tutorial and haven’t found any yet. Do you know any tutorials that would shouw me how to get to those hidden ram slots?

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 30, 2015 at 2:49 pm

          I see that model has only 8 gigs of RAM. I’d reckon there’s one stick or two put in those DIMMs on the back and those accessible are free? Is that so?

          Opening the laptop to get access to those other two dimms is quite complicated though, I don’t have a guide and might void warranty.

  15. Tudor Bercea

    January 30, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    Well the deed’s been done.
    I disassembled the laptop and I’ve just finished putting it back together. It was pretty unknown territory for me but I did it. Apparently even windows mentions that the PC has only 1 out of 4 ram slots occupied. So that means that beside the 2 slots in the accessible bay area, there are 2 more hidden slots!

    However, I’ve only opened the back of the laptop and couldn’t see them, so the only place they could be is right behind the keyboard. I didn’t have the courage to completely disassemble my PC because I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to put it back together, but at least now I know there are 4 ram slots in total and I will probably send my laptop into service to upgrade the other empty ram slots.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      Good, you’re a brave one :P Yes, those slots are behind the keyboard, on the other side of the motherboard. You can either unscrew the motherboard from the bottom to get to them, or remove the keyboard. Just be careful about static charges and disconnect the battery before proceeding. I haven’t done it so can’t help much.

  16. Marius

    January 30, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    I need to know the steps for install Win8.1 for G 771. Please help me.

  17. Muz

    February 14, 2015 at 2:38 pm

    Is it possible to upgrade the graphics for the Asus G771? Will be using this machine for work only: Cinema 4D and Adobe CS. Your thoughts?

    Thanks

  18. Jacek

    February 25, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    Hi,
    What about M.2 SSD can it be on SATA3 or it has to be PCie?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2015 at 6:09 pm

      It’s a SATA M.2 from what I know, PCIe drives won’t work. I’m not 100% sure though.

      • jacek

        February 26, 2015 at 10:47 am

        But the disk which you tested on this laptop was PCIe

        SSD SAMSUNG XP941 MZHPU256HCGL-00004 M.2 256GB PCI Express

        I tried M.2 Sata 3 and it didnt work (Dysk SSD A-Data Premier Pro SP900M.2 2280 128GB SATA3 8cm (ASP900NS38-128GM-C)

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 26, 2015 at 7:35 pm

          Darn, so sorry, I got confused but double checked it right now. Yes, the G771 actually works with PCI-E sticks, thus a standard M.2 is not compatible (the slot only works in PCI-E mode and lacks a connection to the SATA controller). I found mentions of other people complaining about this same thing in the past months. Sry for the confusion :(

  19. Marius Ionescu

    June 10, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    Hello, i got an Asus G771JW with GTX 960m inside, windows 8.1 doesn’t seem to be compatible with my dedicated video processor, any idea? Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 10, 2015 at 2:56 pm

      What do you mean it’s not compatible? The laptop ships with Windows 8.1 by default, right?

  20. Emmanuel

    July 24, 2015 at 9:11 am

    How much is the G771 Asus Laptop and can I get some in Ghana?

  21. cosmin

    August 10, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    Great review :-)
    Thanks!

    Is font large enough for this resolution, or kinda small ?

  22. alex

    August 17, 2015 at 8:03 am

    Hi, what are your thoughts on the latest improved version of this laptop with the GTX 960M and 4GB of DDR5 memory? I plan to buy it and use it as an occasional gamer but mostly work and fun multimedia and surfing? can you give me any information that I might find useful? here in Serbia it costs about 1200e so do you have any other reccomendations in the similar price range with a 17,3 display and a strong graphic card with a i7 inside?

    Thank you :)

  23. cosmin

    August 17, 2015 at 9:26 am

    This would be my ideal laptop,
    but I cannot stand the red keyboard,

    do you have in mind a similar laptop ?
    but with a keyboard which is not red :-)

    • Giant Pineapple

      October 8, 2015 at 9:39 am

      While a little more expensive, the Digital Storm gaming laptops great performance from a gaming laptop, and have a lot of customisation options on the website (digitalstorm.com/gaming-laptops.asp) .

  24. Giant Pineapple

    October 8, 2015 at 4:01 am

    Does anyone know how much RAM this laptop is capable of? (I think there’s a limit…). I want to put these in skycomp.com.au/ddr3l-1866mhz-16gb-2×204-sodimm-unbuffered-10-10-10-32-black-pcb-1-35v.html?CAWELAID=120121040000244091&CAGPSPN=pla&catargetid=120121040000219073&cadevice=c but I was wondering if the laptop would be ok with even more.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2015 at 8:14 am

      Not sure if the 16 GB DIMMs will work here. It’s supposed to handle up to 32 GB of RAM, so 8 GB DIMMs only. Haven’t tried 16 gigs ones, perhaps you can ask other owners on the forums on notebookreview.com

      • Giant Pineapple

        October 8, 2015 at 9:35 am

        Thanks for your help, I’ll make sure to have a look!

    • Jacek

      April 28, 2016 at 9:57 am

      Hi and how about adding ram upt to 32 GB is it possible?

  25. Robert Hristov

    October 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    Hello ultrabookreview team,

    Thank you for the good review.
    I recenty bought G771JW with GTX 960m (2gb) and I experience a huge amount of thermal throttling.
    I took it to the service, they changed the whole motherboard and I still have the same issue. I can’t play any game due to the huge fps drops that occur each second or two.
    Do you have a solution for this problem and is every single G771JW device having this issue, and if so, why is ASUS continuing to place this model on the market?

    P.S. I also read multiple complaints in the ROG forums for this model and still haven’t found a solution.

    Best regards,

    Robert Hristov

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2015 at 2:18 pm

      Hmm, I don’t think there’s much you could do, except for:

      1. Lower in-game details to the point where the hardware no longer throttles
      2. Try to downclock the GPU. Not sure if it’s even possible, but is worth a look

      • Rober Hristov

        October 11, 2015 at 2:29 pm

        In-game tests (per example Battlefield 4) show that I can run it on High at 60 fps.
        This is why I bought 1100 euro machine. If I lower the settings to Low… I could’ve just bought 750 euro worth machine. :)

        P.S. Even on lowest settings I experience the same problem. (on really undemanding games like BF4 and FIFA 16)

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

          Yeah, I know it sucks, but I can’t think of something else. Sry

          • John John

            December 4, 2015 at 6:51 am

            Yeah so i bought G771JW model and had it for 6 days untill I decided to return it. Beautiful machine on the outside, screen looks great keyboard great mouse pad er…3 out of 10

            Now function is impaired by heat, it seems they rushed this model or something so it only has 2 states normal – no load= 40 degrees Celsius and full load =80 + degrees Celsius

            it seems wiered as even if you down clock it by 30 % to 2.2 GHz from 3.6 Ghz (yess funny thing it comes overclocked out of the box – turbo boost 2.0 tech at it’s finest)THE TEMPERATURE JUMPS TO 80

            SO What? well in a play session the keyboard over hits- not the inner components BUT THE FRIKIN KEYBOARD- and the surrounding aluminum casing

            How bad can it be? – Imagine u can fry an egg on it – seriously, temp stays at 80degrees if anything 3D related is on the screen – this includes browsing- open a free unity web browser game and enjoy your 80 degrees – ironically fan speed doesn’t go to 100 % stays around 86% initially for quite a while untill going full speed which tells me it’s by design

            2 long cooper wires pass trough it’s body to the only fan on the left which helps with distributing the heat evenly on your keyboard hands – in case you’re playing

            SO….reducing it from 3.6 to 2.2 and cutting up the turbo boost and reducing graphic clock gets you about 10 degrees less in load so the whole thing runs at 70 degrees – and yes it does heat the whole thing after a short gaming session, as the thermal thronging starts now both in games and in browsing as you reduced it’s capability by 30%

            Conclusion Poorest laptop ever, a piece of crap not meant for gaming, DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS YOU LIKE PAIN, troubleshooting it will be a pain and your experience will suck BADLY, no support for windows 7 so no drivers on manufacturer so don’t even think about it unless u own win 8 or higher

            No long gaming sessions as the heat will probably scare you into giving it up (if not the throttle will)
            No point in playing with the clock speeds as it seems Nvidia clocked the GPU by factory to go to 80 degrees = as a sweet performance point in their pretty little heads. At 100 % fan speed that’s 3k+ RPM temp is still at 80% after 30seconds of stress testing of processor or GPU (so not together, o no! because they are on the same FAN they heat each other up )

            O com’on u just hate asus!
            Not true I own a x751L machine that has cool palm rest, and doesn’t pass 40 degrees in browsing NOR GAMING so it’s possible (850M Gpu + Full HD. Honestly after this Frustrating frustrating experience i would just buy another x751L but it seems it’s not on the market here anymore…. now if i want similar specs from asus i need to pay double…

    • Giant Pineapple

      October 11, 2015 at 8:21 pm

      I bought my G771JW from msy.com.au as their version featured a 4GB GTX 960M, and I have had no issues with thermal throttling. Perhaps you should return yours and see if you can find a different configuration of the G771JW.

  26. Ciprian Adumitroaie

    November 12, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    Hello,

    In the first of all I want to ask you if you had throttling problems only in games with the tested laptop or in windows to when you did multitasking?

    I’ve also bought a G771JW version featured a 4GB GDDR5 GTX 960M, with i7-4720HQ, 1TB and 8 GB of RAM, you think that this should throttle in games but most of all when I do heavy widows multitasking and online streaming or I should reinstall windows (I have it from one week now..)?

    I also had a GL552JX i7-4720HQ 16GB, 1TB, GeForce GTX 950M 4GB DDR3 for a week and I think it was handling better multitasking that this..

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 13, 2015 at 2:47 pm

      Sry Ciprian, this review is more than a year old, I can’t remember anything besides what I wrote in the article.

  27. dany

    June 3, 2016 at 8:07 am

    its posible to change the video card on this laptop ????

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 3, 2016 at 8:08 am

      NO, that’s actually impossible on pretty much all the existing laptops, with very few exceptions.

  28. Sergio de Jesus Sufy

    August 7, 2016 at 9:59 am

    I’m about to buy a used laptop, do you recommend the g771 or the g551

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *